A help desk and an AI agent in one workspace: Fin answers first, your team takes over in the same inbox, and Fin is billed per outcome.
Fin and the human team share one inbox, customer record and knowledge base, so a team does not connect a separate AI tool to its help desk. Every plan includes the Messenger for live chat, a shared inbox with ticketing, inbound email, a public Help Center and conversation ratings, with phone, SMS and WhatsApp billed as used. Seats start at $29 per agent a month on annual terms, and Fin costs $0.99 per outcome, with no charge when the customer asks for a person. Advanced adds workflows and routing; Expert adds SSO, SLAs, multibrand and the HIPAA BAA.
AI agent built into the help deskThe plan table lists Fin as included on Essential, Advanced and Expert, working from the same inbox, customer record and knowledge as the team; there is no separate AI product to connect.Evidence: Help center: Fin and Intercom plans explained, and the home page (2026-10-15)
Billed per outcome, not for every conversationA resolution or Procedure handoff is $0.99, at most one per conversation. Escalations, requests for a person and failed Procedures are not billed, and monthly outcome limits can be set.Evidence: Help center: Fin AI Agent outcomes (2026-10-15)
Channels on the entry planLive chat, inbound email, phone, SMS and WhatsApp reach the inbox on Essential. Chats, inbound WhatsApp and inbox email are free; phone, SMS and bulk messages are billed by usage at listed rates.Evidence: Pricing page and help center: usage-based channels (2026-10-15)
Activity logs and full export on every planTeammate activity logs are kept for one year on all plans, and an admin can export all conversations as JSON to Amazon S3 or Google Cloud Storage.Evidence: Help center: teammate activity logs and conversation export (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want an AI agent to answer first and a full help desk for the rest, and can budget for both seats and per-outcome AI charges.
Good to know
No free plan, and the bill has two parts: seats plus Fin outcomes and channel usage. SSO, SLAs and the HIPAA BAA need the Expert plan.
How Intercom compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Help desk and customer support: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Intercom compared with Freshdesk, Front, Help Scout
Saves engineering timeA help desk and an AI agent in one workspace: Fin answers first, your team takes over in the same inbox, and Fin is billed per outcome.
Worth the priceEmail, live chat, WhatsApp, Facebook and Instagram in one inbox, with a knowledge base and SAML SSO, from $29 per agent on annual terms.
Easy to adoptOne shared inbox where the whole team works email, chat, SMS and social messages together, with tickets, SLAs and CSAT on top.
Worth the priceEmail, live chat, social messaging and a Docs knowledge base on one $25 seat, with SLA policies and CSAT surveys already included.
Overall score
6.6
6.7Best
6.3
6.2
Free option
14-day free trial
14-day free trial
14-day free trial
Free plan
Card to start
No card needed
No card needed
No card needed
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$29/seat/mo
$19/agent/mo
$25/seat/mo
$25/user/mo
Pricing model
Seat + usage
Per seat
Per seat
Per seat
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per seat per month; Fin outcomes, phone, SMS and bulk messages billed by usage
Per agent per month; AI agent sessions, WhatsApp messages and phone billed separately
Per seat per month; Autopilot AI agent billed per conversation
Per user per month; AI Answers and Messages above 2,000 viewers billed by usage
Free option
No free plan; 14-day trial, no card
No free plan on the pricing page; 14-day trial, no card; 6-month Free Program for 2 agents in the help center
No free plan; 14-day trial of Professional, no card
Free plan for 5 users (1 Inbox, 1 Docs site, 100 contacts/mo, no live chat); 15-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (5 agents, annual)
$145/mo on Essential ($29 × 5), computed
$145/mo on Freshdesk Omni Growth ($29 × 5), computed
$325/mo on Professional ($65 × 5), computed; Starter allows one channel type
$125/mo on Standard ($25 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price
$39 per seat on Essential ($39 / $99 / $139 for the three plans)
$35 per agent on Omni Growth ($35 / $95 / $143 Omni; $23 / $66 / $107 Freshdesk)
$85 per seat on Professional ($35 on Starter; Enterprise is annual only)
$30 per user on Standard ($30 / $54 / $90 for the three paid plans)
AI agent pricing
Fin $0.99 per outcome on every plan; qualifications $9.99
First 500 sessions included once per account; then $49 per 100 sessions
Autopilot per conversation: Triage $0.05, Handoff $0.39, Resolution $0.89
$0.75 per resolution (AI Answers) with a monthly spending limit; 3-month free trial for new accounts
Phone
Built in on every plan; numbers and minutes billed by usage
Through Freshcaller, a separately billed Freshworks product; own carrier on Omni Pro and up
Through partner integrations such as Aircall and Dialpad, Professional and up
Through integrations only, such as Aircall (add-on, price not listed)
SLA policies and CSAT
Conversation ratings on every plan; SLAs on Expert ($132)
Default SLA policies on Growth; multiple SLAs and CSAT surveys from Pro ($79 Omni)
Professional ($65), the scenario plan
Standard: one basic SLA policy and CSAT surveys; conditional SLAs from Plus
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (Trust Center, on request)
SOC 2 Type 2 (report on request); ISO/IEC 27001:2022
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (report and certificate on request)
SOC 2 Type II (report by email request); ISO 27001 not stated
HIPAA BAA
Expert plan only, requested through support
Mutually executed with Freshworks; the HIPAA guide lists Freshdesk Enterprise ($89), not the current Omni plans
When the annual contract price meets a threshold Front does not state
Pro only per the help article (demo, 10-user minimum); plan table shows an unpriced Plus add-on
EU data hosting
New workspaces on a contract (Advanced or Expert), through sales
EEA data center chosen at sign-up, every plan
US or EEA, chosen by contacting support; no plan limit stated
No EU option described; hosted on AWS servers in the United States
SSO
SAML on Expert only
SAML on every plan of both editions
SAML SSO and SCIM from Professional; Google and Office 365 sign-in on every plan
SAML on Pro per the help article; plan table shows an unpriced add-on on Standard and Plus
Data export
All conversations to Amazon S3 or Google Cloud Storage; REST API
Whole-account export (XML in the app, JSON through the API)
Full export by request to Front Support; Core API on every plan
Inbox API only; report CSV/XLSX exports leave out conversation threads
Bottom line
From its public pages, Intercom is a full help desk with an AI agent built in, priced per seat plus $0.99 per Fin outcome. SSO, SLAs and the HIPAA BAA need Expert, and a few prices differ between its pages.
From its public pages, Freshdesk Omni offers chat, social messaging, a knowledge base, SAML SSO and EU hosting from $29 per agent, with every plan priced in public. CSAT, multiple SLAs and custom roles start on Pro, and a few pages disagree on payment and plan details.
From its public pages, Front is a team shared inbox with ticketing, SLAs, CSAT and SAML SSO on Professional and an audit log on every plan. Email plus chat starts at $65 per seat, phone runs through partners, and the HIPAA BAA depends on contract size.
From its public pages, Help Scout is the lowest-priced of these five for email, chat, social messaging and a knowledge base for 5 agents, with SLAs, CSAT and a free plan. Phone, EU hosting and a file export of conversations are outside it, and SSO and HIPAA sit on Pro.
Evidence: Intercom: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Freshdesk: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Front: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Help Scout: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; AI agent price published; Essential is shown at $19 to some visitors and $29 to others on the pricing page (a price test); the help center lists $29; Expert has a $139 month-to-month price in the help center, but the pricing FAQs offer monthly billing only on Essential and Advanced; the Pro add-on is from $100/mo on the pricing page and $99/mo in Intercom’s pricing guide; the Early Stage startup price is $65/mo with 6 seats in the help center and $33/mo with 2 seats in the pricing guide
Free plan and trial
3.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan; 14-day trial, no card needed
Price for 5 agents
6.4 / 10, Good
$145/mo: Essential at $29 × 5 agents, annual terms; no add-on needed: live chat, inbound email and the public Help Center are on every plan; assumes the $29 list price in the help center; some visitors see $19 on the pricing page during a price test
Channels and service levels
8.6 / 10, Excellent
phone on the scenario plan; social messaging on the scenario plan; SLA policies on a higher self-serve plan; CSAT surveys on the scenario plan; several brands or knowledge bases on a higher self-serve plan
Compliance and data residency
7.3 / 10, Good
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on a higher self-serve plan, EU data storage enterprise or through sales only (new workspaces on a contract (Advanced or Expert), set up by sales; existing conversations cannot be moved)
Admin, API and data export
8.0 / 10, Excellent
SAML SSO on a higher self-serve plan; custom roles on a higher self-serve plan; audit log on the scenario plan; REST API; ticket export
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Intercom's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Intercom's pricing page and pricing calculator, the Fin pricing page, Intercom's pricing guide, help center articles on plans, seats, billing, the trial, Fin outcomes, usage-based channels, tax, SSO, permissions, activity logs, data export, regional hosting and HIPAA, the security page, the terms of service, the support policy and the API rate-limit docs on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or call the API for this review. The pricing FAQ says Intercom bills in US dollars only.
The plans article lays out the ladder: Essential, Advanced and Expert at $29, $85 and $132 per seat a month on annual terms, or $39, $99 and $139 month to month, with a feature table per plan. Live chat, ticketing, inbound email and the public Help Center are on Essential. The Fin outcomes article lists what is billed at $0.99 (a resolution, including one assumed when the customer leaves without asking for more help, or a Procedure handoff) and what is not (an escalation, a request for a person, a failed Procedure).
Some points need a question. The pricing page ran a price test while we read it: across six loads, Essential showed $19 in some versions and $29 in others, while the help center and FAQ say $29. The help center lists a $139 monthly price for Expert, but the pricing FAQs offer monthly billing only on Essential and Advanced. The Pro add-on is $100 a month on the pricing page and $99 in the pricing guide, and the Early Stage startup offer is $65 a month with 6 seats in one place and $33 with 2 seats in another. Phone per-minute rates appear only inside the calculator.
Strengths
Full help desk on the entry plan
Essential ($29 per seat, annual) includes live chat, ticketing, inbound email, a public Help Center, conversation ratings, and native phone, SMS and WhatsApp billed as used.
vs Help Scout: Help Scout and Front handle phone only through integrations; Freshdesk connects Freshcaller, a separately billed Freshworks product.
Clear rules for AI billing
Fin is $0.99 per outcome, at most one per conversation, with no charge for escalations or requests for a person, and with monthly outcome limits and alerts.
Activity logs on every plan
Teammate activity logs are on all plans and kept for one year, with CSV download, an API and webhooks.
vs Help Scout: Zendesk and Freshdesk keep the audit log on their Enterprise plans, and Help Scout lists none.
Full conversation export to your own storage
An admin can export all conversations as JSON to Amazon S3 or Google Cloud Storage, with attachments and the last two years of history, then hourly or daily.
vs Help Scout: Help Scout exports conversations only through its API; Front’s full export is requested from Support.
Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001
The help center’s compliance article lists Intercom’s SOC 2 Type II report, ISO 27001 and ISO 27018 certificates and a HIPAA attestation report in the Trust Center, available after a request for access.
vs Help Scout: Help Scout states SOC 2 Type II but does not state ISO 27001.
Things to know
SSO, SLAs and the HIPAA BAA need Expert
SAML SSO, custom roles, SLAs, multibrand Messenger and Help Center, and the HIPAA BAA are on Expert ($132 per seat on annual terms), and all seats in a workspace must be on the same plan.
Workaround: The 14-day trial can be started on Expert, which is bought online on annual terms.
Seats plus usage
Fin outcomes ($0.99, qualifications $9.99), phone numbers and minutes, SMS, bulk email and bulk WhatsApp are billed on top of seats. A resolution also counts when the customer leaves after Fin’s answer without asking for more help.
Workaround: The pricing FAQs describe a monthly outcome limit and the Fin outcomes article usage reminders and hard limits; SMS has a default cap of 10,000 segments a month.
EU hosting needs a contract and a new workspace
EU hosting (Dublin) is for new workspaces on Advanced or Expert under a contract, set up by sales. Conversations in an existing workspace cannot be moved, only exported.
Workaround: Settle the data region with sales before building the workspace.
Prices differ between pages
The pricing page shows Essential at $19 or $29 depending on the version served, and the Pro add-on and the Early Stage offer are priced differently on two Intercom pages.
Workaround: The help center plans article lists $29 for Essential; check the price shown at checkout.
Pricing reality
Intercom bills each full seat per month, with all seats on one plan, plus usage. For our scenario, 5 agents on Essential cost 5 × $29 = $145 a month on annual terms ($1,740 a year), or 5 × $39 = $195 month to month (computed), before tax. That covers live chat, ticketing, inbound email, the Help Center and phone software. Fin is billed on top at $0.99 per outcome: Intercom’s own guide shows 3 Essential seats ($87) plus 500 outcomes ($495) at $582 a month. Expert, needed for SSO, SLAs and the HIPAA BAA, is $660 a month for 5 seats on annual terms (computed). Unlimited Copilot is $29 per agent a month yearly or $35 monthly. On annual terms, seats and add-ons cannot be reduced until renewal, and seats added beyond the annual commitment are billed monthly as overages at the standard seat price.
Exit path
An admin can export all conversations as JSON to Amazon S3 or Google Cloud Storage (the last two years, then hourly or daily), and the Conversations API exports up to 90 days per request; Views and contacts export as CSV. Cancelling deletes no data, but the terms say there is no access to customer data 30 days after termination and that Intercom is not an archiving service. Yearly plans renew unless you give written notice at least 30 days before the term ends.
You need native phone, ISO 27001, an admin activity log or a full conversation export.
Pick Help Scout when
You want a free plan for up to 5 users, or a lower 5-agent cost ($125 a month on Standard, annual).
Choose it if
You want an AI agent to answer first and your team to take over in the same inbox.
You want live chat, email, a help center and phone on the entry plan.
You can budget for seats plus per-outcome AI and channel usage.
Look elsewhere if
You need SAML SSO, SLAs or a HIPAA BAA below the Expert plan.
You need EU data hosting without a sales contract.
You want a permanent free plan.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Intercom is a full help desk with an AI agent built in, priced per seat plus $0.99 per Fin outcome. SSO, SLAs and the HIPAA BAA need Expert, and a few prices differ between its pages.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per seat per month; Fin outcomes, phone, SMS and bulk messages billed by usage
Free option
No free plan; 14-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (5 agents, annual)
$145/mo on Essential ($29 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price
$39 per seat on Essential ($39 / $99 / $139 for the three plans)
AI agent pricing
Fin $0.99 per outcome on every plan; qualifications $9.99
Phone
Built in on every plan; numbers and minutes billed by usage
SLA policies and CSAT
Conversation ratings on every plan; SLAs on Expert ($132)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (Trust Center, on request)
HIPAA BAA
Expert plan only, requested through support
EU data hosting
New workspaces on a contract (Advanced or Expert), through sales
SSO
SAML on Expert only
Data export
All conversations to Amazon S3 or Google Cloud Storage; REST API
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Intercom yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We read the pricing, trust, legal, help center and developer pages of three help desks on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 5 agents with email, chat and a knowledge base cost, where SLAs, SSO and HIPAA sit, and who should pick which.