Front review

by FrontApp, Inc.Help desk and customer support

A shared inbox where a team works email, chat, SMS and social messages together, with ticketing on top, from $25 per seat billed annually.

Facts checked
  • 14-day free trial
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Per seat
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Easy to adopt (main value)
  • Compliance included
  • Saves engineering time

One shared inbox where the whole team works email, chat, SMS and social messages together, with tickets, SLAs and CSAT on top.

Front looks and works like a team email inbox: conversations from email, Front Chat, SMS, Slack, social channels and WhatsApp land in shared inboxes, where teammates assign them, comment inside the thread and write shared drafts. Ticket statuses, SLAs, CSAT surveys and a customer portal sit on top, so support, account management and operations can answer customers in one place. On Professional ($65 per seat, annual) the plan also carries SAML SSO, SCIM, up to 5 workspaces and 2 knowledge bases, and every plan has an admin audit log and Front’s SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.

  • Team collaboration in the inbox itselfThe plan table lists shared inboxes, assignments, internal comments and shared drafts on every plan, and guest accounts that comment on a conversation without needing a license.Evidence: Pricing page plan table (2026-10-15)
  • Channels and service levels on one planProfessional covers email, Front Chat, SMS through providers, Slack, Facebook, Instagram, X and third-party WhatsApp, with ticket SLAs, response time SLA rules and CSAT surveys.Evidence: Pricing page plan table and CSAT help article (2026-10-15)
  • Audit trail and certificates from the startThe admin audit log keeps 365 days of settings changes on all plans; the security page states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 and hosting in the US or the EU; SAML SSO and SCIM start on Professional.Evidence: Audit log help article and security page (2026-10-15)
  • APIs to bring in your own channelsThe developer docs cover a Core API with webhooks, Application Channels for custom messaging and voice channels, a Plugin SDK and a Chat Widget SDK for web, iOS and Android.Evidence: Developer docs (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that answer customers from a shared email inbox and want chat, SMS and social messages, SLAs and CSAT in the same place.
Good to know
Starter connects one channel type, so email plus chat starts on Professional at $65 per seat on annual terms; custom roles are on Enterprise only.

How Front compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Help desk and customer support: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Front compared with Freshdesk, Intercom, Help Scout
MetricFrontFreshdeskIntercomHelp Scout
What you're paying forEasy to adoptOne shared inbox where the whole team works email, chat, SMS and social messages together, with tickets, SLAs and CSAT on top.Worth the priceEmail, live chat, WhatsApp, Facebook and Instagram in one inbox, with a knowledge base and SAML SSO, from $29 per agent on annual terms.Saves engineering timeA help desk and an AI agent in one workspace: Fin answers first, your team takes over in the same inbox, and Fin is billed per outcome.Worth the priceEmail, live chat, social messaging and a Docs knowledge base on one $25 seat, with SLA policies and CSAT surveys already included.
Overall score6.36.7Best6.66.2
Free option14-day free trial14-day free trial14-day free trialFree plan
Card to startNo card neededNo card neededNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$25/seat/mo$19/agent/mo$29/seat/mo$25/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatPer seatSeat + usagePer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer seat per month; Autopilot AI agent billed per conversationPer agent per month; AI agent sessions, WhatsApp messages and phone billed separatelyPer seat per month; Fin outcomes, phone, SMS and bulk messages billed by usagePer user per month; AI Answers and Messages above 2,000 viewers billed by usage
Free optionNo free plan; 14-day trial of Professional, no cardNo free plan on the pricing page; 14-day trial, no card; 6-month Free Program for 2 agents in the help centerNo free plan; 14-day trial, no cardFree plan for 5 users (1 Inbox, 1 Docs site, 100 contacts/mo, no live chat); 15-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (5 agents, annual)$325/mo on Professional ($65 × 5), computed; Starter allows one channel type$145/mo on Freshdesk Omni Growth ($29 × 5), computed$145/mo on Essential ($29 × 5), computed$125/mo on Standard ($25 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price$85 per seat on Professional ($35 on Starter; Enterprise is annual only)$35 per agent on Omni Growth ($35 / $95 / $143 Omni; $23 / $66 / $107 Freshdesk)$39 per seat on Essential ($39 / $99 / $139 for the three plans)$30 per user on Standard ($30 / $54 / $90 for the three paid plans)
AI agent pricingAutopilot per conversation: Triage $0.05, Handoff $0.39, Resolution $0.89First 500 sessions included once per account; then $49 per 100 sessionsFin $0.99 per outcome on every plan; qualifications $9.99$0.75 per resolution (AI Answers) with a monthly spending limit; 3-month free trial for new accounts
PhoneThrough partner integrations such as Aircall and Dialpad, Professional and upThrough Freshcaller, a separately billed Freshworks product; own carrier on Omni Pro and upBuilt in on every plan; numbers and minutes billed by usageThrough integrations only, such as Aircall (add-on, price not listed)
SLA policies and CSATProfessional ($65), the scenario planDefault SLA policies on Growth; multiple SLAs and CSAT surveys from Pro ($79 Omni)Conversation ratings on every plan; SLAs on Expert ($132)Standard: one basic SLA policy and CSAT surveys; conditional SLAs from Plus
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (report and certificate on request)SOC 2 Type 2 (report on request); ISO/IEC 27001:2022SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (Trust Center, on request)SOC 2 Type II (report by email request); ISO 27001 not stated
HIPAA BAAWhen the annual contract price meets a threshold Front does not stateMutually executed with Freshworks; the HIPAA guide lists Freshdesk Enterprise ($89), not the current Omni plansExpert plan only, requested through supportPro only per the help article (demo, 10-user minimum); plan table shows an unpriced Plus add-on
EU data hostingUS or EEA, chosen by contacting support; no plan limit statedEEA data center chosen at sign-up, every planNew workspaces on a contract (Advanced or Expert), through salesNo EU option described; hosted on AWS servers in the United States
SSOSAML SSO and SCIM from Professional; Google and Office 365 sign-in on every planSAML on every plan of both editionsSAML on Expert onlySAML on Pro per the help article; plan table shows an unpriced add-on on Standard and Plus
Data exportFull export by request to Front Support; Core API on every planWhole-account export (XML in the app, JSON through the API)All conversations to Amazon S3 or Google Cloud Storage; REST APIInbox API only; report CSV/XLSX exports leave out conversation threads
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Front is a team shared inbox with ticketing, SLAs, CSAT and SAML SSO on Professional and an audit log on every plan. Email plus chat starts at $65 per seat, phone runs through partners, and the HIPAA BAA depends on contract size.From its public pages, Freshdesk Omni offers chat, social messaging, a knowledge base, SAML SSO and EU hosting from $29 per agent, with every plan priced in public. CSAT, multiple SLAs and custom roles start on Pro, and a few pages disagree on payment and plan details.From its public pages, Intercom is a full help desk with an AI agent built in, priced per seat plus $0.99 per Fin outcome. SSO, SLAs and the HIPAA BAA need Expert, and a few prices differ between its pages.From its public pages, Help Scout is the lowest-priced of these five for email, chat, social messaging and a knowledge base for 5 agents, with SLAs, CSAT and a free plan. Phone, EU hosting and a file export of conversations are outside it, and SSO and HIPAA sit on Pro.

Evidence: Front: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Freshdesk: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Intercom: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Help Scout: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; AI agent price published; the API rate limit add-on is listed for all plans on the pricing page, while the developer docs say it needs Professional or higher; the Professional and Autopilot cards point to a demo or sales, while the compare table and help center describe buying them from billing settings
Free plan and trial
3.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan; 14-day trial, no card needed
Price for 5 agents
3.8 / 10, Fair
$325/mo: Professional at $65 × 5 agents, annual terms; no add-on needed; Starter ($25) allows only one channel type, so email plus chat needs Professional
Channels and service levels
7.5 / 10, Good
phone not listed; social messaging on the scenario plan; SLA policies on the scenario plan; CSAT surveys on the scenario plan; several brands or knowledge bases on the scenario plan
Compliance and data residency
8.3 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA enterprise or through sales only, EU data storage on the scenario plan (EEA hosting is chosen by contacting support or your account representative)
Admin, API and data export
7.1 / 10, Good
SAML SSO on the scenario plan; custom roles enterprise or through sales only; audit log on the scenario plan; REST API; no ticket export described

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Front's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Front's pricing page with its plan comparison table, AI and add-on cards and FAQ, the Success Services price sheet, the security page and the Security and Compliance Handbook it links (dated Oct 2024), the legal pages (SaaS Services Agreement, DPA and HIPAA compliance terms), help center articles on plans and pricing, billing, cancellation, data export, data hosting, CSAT, the audit log, roles, SSO, channel limits, API rate limits, Autopilot pricing and WhatsApp, and the developer docs on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for the trial or call the API for this review. The trust center at trust.front.com is rendered by script only, so the security page's statements are used.

The pricing page is clear on the main lines: Starter $25, Professional $65 and Enterprise $105 per seat a month on annual terms, $35 and $85 month to month for the first two, and a one-channel-type limit on Starter. The help center publishes Autopilot's per-conversation prices along with what counts as a Resolution: no teammate follow-up within 24 hours on Resolve, SMS, WhatsApp and custom channels, or 72 hours on email and the portal.

A few points need a question to Front. The HIPAA terms tie a BAA to an annual contract price threshold they do not state, while the DPA says the service is not designed for HIPAA data. The pricing page offers the API rate-limit add-on on all plans, but the developer docs say Professional or higher. And the Professional card and Autopilot card point to a demo or sales, while the compare table and help center describe buying and switching them on from billing settings.

Strengths

  • A shared inbox the whole team can work in

    Shared inboxes, assignments, internal comments and shared drafts are on every plan, and guests can comment on a conversation without a paid seat. Individual inboxes and calendar sit alongside.

  • SLAs, CSAT and SAML SSO on the scenario plan

    Professional ($65 per seat, annual) includes ticket SLAs, response time SLA rules, CSAT surveys, SAML SSO, SCIM, up to 5 workspaces and 2 knowledge bases.

    vs Intercom: Zendesk starts SLA policies and CSAT on Suite Professional ($115 per agent, annual); Intercom puts SSO, SLAs and multibrand on Expert ($132).

  • Admin audit log on every plan

    The audit log records settings and resource changes for 365 days and exports up to 100,000 rows to CSV, on Starter as well.

    vs Zendesk: Zendesk lists its audit log on Suite Enterprise; Freshdesk lists audit logs on Enterprise.

  • AI agent priced by outcome, with definitions

    Autopilot charges once per conversation at the highest level reached: Triage $0.05, Handoff $0.39, Resolution $0.89. The help center defines each level and lists a 30-day trial with up to 1,000 Resolutions.

    vs Help Scout: Intercom charges $0.99 per Fin outcome; Help Scout charges $0.75 per AI Answers resolution.

  • SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and EU hosting

    The security page states both certifications and hosting in the US or the EU; the hosting policy names no plan limit for the EEA choice.

    vs Help Scout: Help Scout does not state ISO 27001 and hosts data in the US only.

Things to know

  • Starter connects one channel type

    Starter allows a single channel type (email, Front Chat or SMS) and puts Front branding on the chat widget and knowledge base, so email plus chat starts on Professional at $65 per seat on annual terms.

    Workaround: The 14-day trial runs on Professional with no card, so the full channel set can be tried first.

  • Phone runs through partner apps

    Voice and telephony on Professional and up come through integrations such as Aircall and Dialpad; the pricing page lists no phone service billed by Front. Front’s analytics do not track voicemails or IVR.

    Workaround: The developer docs describe Application Channels, which can bring other voice or messaging providers into Front.

  • HIPAA BAA depends on contract size

    Front says it reserves the right to enter into a BAA with customers whose annual contract price meets a threshold the page does not state, and the DPA says the service is not designed for HIPAA data.

    Workaround: Ask Front for the threshold and which terms apply once a BAA is signed.

  • Full export is by request

    A full account export is requested from Front Support and covers shared-inbox conversations, comments and attachments, not individual inboxes, contacts, message templates or tags.

    Workaround: The Core API lists conversations and messages, and contacts and accounts export to CSV in the app.

Pricing reality

Front bills each seat per month, and a plan applies to the whole organization, so Starter and Professional seats cannot be mixed. For our scenario, 5 agents on Professional cost 5 × $65 = $325 a month on annual terms ($3,900 a year), or $425 month to month (computed), before tax. Starter at $25 is cheaper but connects one channel type. Costs rise with Copilot ($20 per seat a month on Starter and Professional), Autopilot per conversation (1,000 Resolutions at $0.89 come to $890, computed), native WhatsApp at Meta’s cost plus a 20% fee, the API rate-limit add-on ($200 a month per 100 requests a minute), and phone or SMS providers. Contracts over $25k require an onboarding package from $10,000. Payments are nonrefundable, and removed seats are not credited.

Exit path

You cancel in billing settings and the plan runs to the end of the term. For 30 days after termination you can log in, search history and see analytics, but not send or use the API; then data is deleted. A full export is requested from Front Support: shared-inbox conversations, messages, comments and attachments as CSV folders by inbox, with the knowledge base as separate files. Individual inboxes, contacts, templates and tags are not included.

Compared with

  • Pick Front when
    You need SAML SSO, an admin audit log and EU data hosting on a plan bought online.
    Pick Help Scout when
    You want a free plan for up to 5 users, or a lower 5-agent cost ($125 a month on Standard, annual).
  • Pick Front when
    You want SLAs, CSAT surveys and an audit log at $65 per seat (Professional, annual) and a team inbox for more than support.
    Pick Zendesk when
    You want native phone in the seat, or a HIPAA BAA on a plan bought online (Suite Professional).
  • Pick Front when
    You want SAML SSO, SLAs and several workspaces and knowledge bases without moving to a top plan.
    Pick Intercom when
    You want native phone billed by usage and a lower 5-agent cost ($145 a month on Essential, annual).

Choose it if

  • Your team already answers customers from a shared email inbox and wants chat, SMS and social messages beside it.
  • You want SLAs, CSAT surveys and SAML SSO without an enterprise contract.
  • Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, an audit log and EU hosting.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need email and live chat together at the Starter price.
  • You need phone calls handled by the help desk vendor itself.
  • You need custom agent roles or a HIPAA BAA without a sales contract.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Front is a team shared inbox with ticketing, SLAs, CSAT and SAML SSO on Professional and an audit log on every plan. Email plus chat starts at $65 per seat, phone runs through partners, and the HIPAA BAA depends on contract size.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer seat per month; Autopilot AI agent billed per conversation
Free optionNo free plan; 14-day trial of Professional, no card
Reference scenario (5 agents, annual)$325/mo on Professional ($65 × 5), computed; Starter allows one channel type
Month-to-month price$85 per seat on Professional ($35 on Starter; Enterprise is annual only)
AI agent pricingAutopilot per conversation: Triage $0.05, Handoff $0.39, Resolution $0.89
PhoneThrough partner integrations such as Aircall and Dialpad, Professional and up
SLA policies and CSATProfessional ($65), the scenario plan
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (report and certificate on request)
HIPAA BAAWhen the annual contract price meets a threshold Front does not state
EU data hostingUS or EEA, chosen by contacting support; no plan limit stated
SSOSAML SSO and SCIM from Professional; Google and Office 365 sign-in on every plan
Data exportFull export by request to Front Support; Core API on every plan

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Front lists 3 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Starter (billed annually), costs $25/seat/mo.

  • Front
    Starter
    $25/seat/mo
    Billed annually; $35 month to month; up to 10 seats
    • One channel type: email, Front Chat or SMS
    • Shared inbox, ticketing, up to 10 rules per workspace
    • 1 workspace and 1 public knowledge base, with Front branding on it and on the chat widget
    • Admin audit log, Google and Office 365 sign-in, API 50 requests/min
  • Front
    Professional
    $65/seat/mo
    Billed annually; $85 month to month; up to 50 seats; the plan used for the 14-day trial
    • Email, Front Chat, SMS, Slack, Facebook, Instagram, X and third-party WhatsApp
    • Ticket SLAs, response time SLA rules and CSAT surveys
    • Customer portal, up to 5 workspaces and 2 knowledge bases
    • SAML SSO and SCIM, webhooks, API 100 requests/min
  • Front
    Enterprise
    $105/seat/mo
    Annual billing only; sold through a demo
    • Custom roles and permissions, IP restrictions, e-discovery extracts
    • Copilot, Smart QA and Smart CSAT included
    • Unlimited rules and macros, up to 50 knowledge bases in several languages
    • Custom reports, unlimited analytics retention, API 200 requests/min

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: front.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site