Webflow review

by Webflow, Inc.Website builders

A visual website builder and CMS with hosting, sold per site: Basic from $15 and Premium with the CMS from $25 a month billed yearly, plus seats for a team.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Saves engineering time (main value)
  • Compliance included

Design-level control, a CMS and managed hosting in one tool, so a marketing site ships without a developer and passes a security review.

Webflow lets a designer build a site visually with full control of layout, styles and interactions, then publishes it on Webflow hosting with a CMS for blog posts and other content. The Premium site plan ($25 a month billed yearly) covers a custom domain, the CMS with 20,000 items, site search and unlimited form submissions. Webflow states its own SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001 certificate, and a paid Workspace plan can export the site as HTML and CSS.

  • CMS, forms and hosting on one site planPremium lists the Webflow CMS (20,000 items in up to 40 collections), site search, unlimited form submissions with CSV download, automatic backups and a global CDN, so a team does not run a separate CMS or form service.Evidence: Pricing page plan comparison (2026-10-16)
  • Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO certificatesThe security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 42001, and PCI-DSS; the DPA forms part of the agreement and a pre-signed copy can be signed through DocuSign.Evidence: Security page and Data Processing Addendum (2026-10-16)
  • Code export on a paid Workspace planPaid Workspace plans (Core from $19 a month billed yearly) export the site’s HTML, CSS, JavaScript and images with no attribution required; CMS items, localized content and forms do not carry over.Evidence: Help center: How do I export my Webflow site code? (2026-10-16)
Best for
Designers and marketing teams who want pixel-level control and a CMS without a developer, and who may need a vendor with SOC 2 and ISO 27001.
Good to know
A blog needs the CMS on Premium ($25 a month billed yearly), and each extra editor is a paid seat.

How Webflow compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Website builders: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Webflow compared with WordPress.com, Wix, Squarespace
MetricWebflowWordPress.comWixSquarespace
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeDesign-level control, a CMS and managed hosting in one tool, so a marketing site ships without a developer and passes a security review.Worth the priceA managed WordPress site with plugins and unlimited users for $4 a month billed yearly, with your posts and pages free to leave in WordPress’s own format.Easy to adoptA drag-and-drop business site with multilingual, bookings, payments and a broad compliance file, on one platform that grows with the plan.Easy to adoptA polished template site that can sell products, services, courses and memberships from the first plan, without adding a store or membership tool.
Overall score7.67.9Best7.26.3
Free optionFree planFree planFree plan14-day free trial
Card to start–Not measuredNo card neededNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$15/site/mo$4/site/mo$17/site/mo$19/site/mo
Pricing modelTieredTieredTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer site (Site plan), plus seats on a Workspace plan for teamsPer site; yearly, 2-year, 3-year or monthly termsPer site; prices vary by countryPer site; fees on sales by plan
Free optionFree Starter plan on a webflow.io address; 14-day refund on new plansFree plan on a WordPress.com address with ads; 14-day refund on annual plansFree plan on a wixsite.com address with Wix ads; 14-day money-back guaranteeNo free plan; 14-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (annual)$25/mo on the Premium site plan$4/mo on Personal$17/mo on Light (US price)$19/mo on Basic
Month-to-month price$39 on Premium ($25 on Basic)$9 on Personal ($9 / $18 / $40 / $70)Monthly billing offered; price not shown on the plans page$25 on Basic ($25 / $39 / $65 / $139)
Free custom domainNot included; connect a domain you ownFor 1 year on annual and multi-year plansVoucher for 1 year with a first yearly planFor 1 year on annual plans
Second editorContent-editing seat $15/mo billed yearly; full seat $39Unlimited users on every plan2 site collaborators on Light, 5 on Core2 contributors on Basic, unlimited from Core
Multiple languagesLocalize add-on from $9/mo billed yearlyThrough a multilingual plugin on Personal and upWix Multilingual; 3,000 free auto-translation wordsWeglot integration: free for 1 language up to 2,000 words
Online sellingEcommerce site plans from $29/mo billed yearly, 2% fee on StandardPayment buttons from Premium; WooCommerce store from BusinessFrom Core ($29/mo billed yearly)Every plan; 2% store fee on Basic, 0% from Core
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 42001Not stated on the pages we readSOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701; PCI DSS Level 1Not stated; PCI-DSS for built-in payments
Refund window14 days on new Site and Workspace plans, monthly or annual14 days on annual plans, 7 days on monthly14 days on new plans, yearly or monthly14 days on new annual plans; monthly plans not refunded
ExportCMS to CSV; HTML/CSS code export on a paid Workspace plan (no CMS content)Posts, pages and comments as XML; full site with a migration pluginCMS collections and contacts to CSV; blog posts and the site cannot be exportedWordPress XML of layout pages and one blog; forms to CSV
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Webflow is the designer’s builder here: a full CMS, site search, own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and a code export path. A blog starts on the $25 Premium plan, and extra editors are paid seats.From its public pages, WordPress.com is the lowest-cost route to a custom-domain site with a blog, at $4 a month billed yearly, with plugins, unlimited users and a portable export. Check the renewal price at checkout, and note that SOC 2 and ISO 27001 are not stated.From its public pages, Wix is the most complete all-in-one builder here: multilingual, collaborators and a broad compliance file from Light at $17 a month in the US, with selling from Core. The trade-off is lock-in: the site and its blog cannot be exported.From its public pages, Squarespace is the builder that sells from the first plan: products, services and memberships on Basic at $19 a month billed yearly, with fees that fall on higher plans. It states no SOC 2 or ISO 27001, and its export covers only part of a site.

Evidence: Webflow: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; WordPress.com: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Wix: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Squarespace: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing and plan clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; Enterprise priced through sales ("Talk to us"); the plan comparison table labels the $25 Premium plan "Premier" and "CMS" in some column headers
Free plan, trial and refunds
10.0 / 10, Excellent
free plan, blog or CMS, forms, 14-day refund on new annual plans
Price for a small business site
4.6 / 10, Fair
$25/mo on Premium site plan, annual billing; Basic ($15) has no CMS for a blog; the free Starter Workspace includes one full seat
Site features
6.1 / 10, Good
site search on the scenario plan; several languages as a paid add-on; password-protected pages on the scenario plan; member-only content not listed; online selling on a higher plan; a second editor as a paid add-on
Security and compliance
8.5 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, DPA in the terms, 2FA, SSO enterprise or through sales only, change log enterprise or through sales only
Ownership and exit
8.6 / 10, Excellent
content export; full-site move as a paid add-on; form export; restore on the scenario plan

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Webflow's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Webflow's pricing page with its Site, Workspace, add-on and ecommerce tables, the security page, the Data Processing Addendum and subprocessor list, and help center articles on refunds, form submissions, code export, CMS import and export, and the User Accounts sunset on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or publish a site for this review. The help center pages returned an error to our fetch, so we read the same articles through the help center's public article feed.

The structure takes a moment to learn: a Site plan pays for publishing one site, and a separate Workspace plan pays for the people building it. For one owner, the free Starter Workspace (one full seat) plus a Site plan is enough. Basic ($15 a month billed yearly) has no CMS, so a site with a blog needs Premium ($25). The pricing page lists month-to-month prices for every self-serve plan and add-on.

Two things stood out. Webflow ended its own member logins: User Accounts stopped working on Jan 29, 2026, and the help center points to partner apps instead. And the comparison table calls the $25 plan Premium in the plan cards but Premier or CMS in some column headers.

Strengths

  • Full CMS and site search on Premium

    Premium includes the CMS with 20,000 items in 40 collections, scheduled publishing, RSS feeds, site search and unlimited form submissions at $25 a month billed yearly.

    vs Framer: Framer Basic ($10) holds 2 CMS collections and 1,000 items.

  • Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001

    The security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 42001, and PCI-DSS, with 2FA on every plan.

    vs WordPress.com: Squarespace and WordPress.com state neither SOC 2 nor ISO 27001 on the pages we read.

  • A way out as code

    Paid Workspace plans export HTML, CSS, JavaScript and images to host anywhere, and every CMS collection exports to CSV.

    vs Framer: Wix says sites cannot be hosted elsewhere, and Framer’s help center says it does not offer HTML export.

  • Prices for every self-serve plan and add-on

    Yearly and month-to-month prices are listed for Site plans, Workspace plans, seats, bandwidth, localization, analytics and ecommerce plans.

Things to know

  • A blog needs Premium

    Basic ($15 a month billed yearly) has no CMS, so a site with a blog starts at $25 a month billed yearly, or $39 month to month.

  • Extra editors are paid seats

    The free Starter Workspace includes one full seat. More people need a content-editing seat ($15 a month billed yearly) or a full seat ($39).

    Workaround: Free reviewer seats can comment without editing.

  • No built-in member logins

    Webflow User Accounts were retired on Jan 29, 2026; gated content now runs through partner apps such as Outseta or Memberstack.

  • SSO, custom roles and the activity log need sales

    The site activity log is on the Team platform plan ($2,500 a month on an annual contract) and SSO and custom roles on Enterprise, both bought through sales.

Pricing reality

Webflow bills each published site, plus seats for a team. For our scenario, one business site with a blog on Premium costs $25 a month billed yearly ($300 a year), or $39 month to month, before tax; Basic at $15 has no CMS. The free Starter Workspace covers one full seat; each extra content editor is $15 a month billed yearly and each designer seat $39. Extras: Localize from $9 a month for one more language, Analyze from $9, bandwidth beyond 50 GB from $20 a month, and code export through a Workspace plan from $19. Selling online needs an Ecommerce plan from $29 a month with a 2% fee on Standard. New plans can be refunded within 14 days; renewals, seats and add-ons cannot.

Exit path

Every CMS collection exports to CSV, and form submissions download as CSV. Paid Workspace plans export the site’s HTML, CSS, JavaScript and images, but CMS content, localized pages and password protection do not carry over, and forms and site search stop working on the exported copy. When a Site plan ends, the custom domain is removed and the site is unpublished; the project stays in the Workspace.

Compared with

  • Pick Webflow when
    You need a large CMS (20,000 items), code export or a vendor-stated SOC 2 Type II report on a plan bought online.
    Pick Framer when
    You want the lowest price for a designed site with a small blog: Framer Basic is $10 a month billed yearly.
  • Pick Webflow when
    You want design control, a CSV export of your CMS and a route to host the code elsewhere.
    Pick Wix when
    You want built-in multilingual, bookings and selling, and two collaborators on the entry plan.
  • Pick Webflow when
    You want a visual designer with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 stated by the vendor.
    Pick WordPress.com when
    You want the lowest entry price, unlimited users and plugins, and a full XML export of posts and pages.

Choose it if

  • You want to design every detail visually and publish without a developer.
  • Your blog or resource library needs thousands of CMS items.
  • A security review asks for SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 from the vendor.
  • You want the option to export the site’s code later.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need member logins or paywalled content built in.
  • Several people will edit the site and the budget has no room for seats.
  • You want a blog on the cheapest paid plan.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Webflow is the designer’s builder here: a full CMS, site search, own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and a code export path. A blog starts on the $25 Premium plan, and extra editors are paid seats.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer site (Site plan), plus seats on a Workspace plan for teams
Free optionFree Starter plan on a webflow.io address; 14-day refund on new plans
Reference scenario (annual)$25/mo on the Premium site plan
Month-to-month price$39 on Premium ($25 on Basic)
Free custom domainNot included; connect a domain you own
Second editorContent-editing seat $15/mo billed yearly; full seat $39
Multiple languagesLocalize add-on from $9/mo billed yearly
Online sellingEcommerce site plans from $29/mo billed yearly, 2% fee on Standard
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 42001
Refund window14 days on new Site and Workspace plans, monthly or annual
ExportCMS to CSV; HTML/CSS code export on a paid Workspace plan (no CMS content)

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Webflow lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Basic site plan (billed yearly), costs $15/site/mo.

  • WebflowFree
    Starter
    $0/mo
    Free site on a webflow.io address
    • 2 static pages and 50 CMS items
    • 1 GB bandwidth
    • 50 form submissions (lifetime, per the help center)
    • Webflow badge shown
  • WebflowLowest price
    Basic
    $15/site/mo
    Billed yearly; $25 month to month
    • Custom domain, no Webflow badge
    • 300 static pages, 10 GB bandwidth
    • Unlimited form submissions
    • Password protection; no CMS
  • Webflow
    Premium
    $25/site/mo
    Billed yearly; $39 month to month; with 50 GB bandwidth, more for a published add-on fee
    • Webflow CMS: 20,000 items, 40 collections
    • Site search and form file uploads
    • Code components
    • Everything in Basic
  • Webflow
    Ecommerce Standard
    $29/site/mo
    Billed yearly; $42 month to month; 2% transaction fee
    • 500 ecommerce items
    • Custom cart and checkout
    • Stripe and PayPal
    • 3 staff accounts
  • Webflow
    Core Workspace
    $19/mo
    Billed yearly; $28 month to month; a Workspace plan, bought on top of Site plans
    • Code export (HTML, CSS, JavaScript; no CMS content)
    • 10 staging sites
    • Shared Libraries
    • Custom code on staged sites

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: webflow.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site