Squarespace review

by Squarespace, Inc.Website builders

A template-based website builder with selling, invoicing and memberships on every plan, from $19 a month billed yearly after a 14-day trial with no card.

Facts checked
  • 14-day free trial
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Easy to adopt (main value)
  • Built-in reach

A polished template site that can sell products, services, courses and memberships from the first plan, without adding a store or membership tool.

Squarespace starts every site from a designed template and a drag-and-drop editor, and every plan can sell products, services, invoices, courses and memberships through Squarespace Payments, Stripe or PayPal. Basic ($19 a month billed yearly) covers a custom domain with a free first year, forms, a blog, unlimited bandwidth and 2 contributors. Higher plans lower the fees on sales rather than unlock selling.

  • Selling and memberships on every planThe plan table lists ecommerce, unlimited products, invoices, gift cards and selling courses, videos and memberships on Basic, with a 2% store fee and a 7% content fee that fall to 0% on higher plans.Evidence: Pricing page, Internet Archive copy of Oct 13, 2026 (2026-10-16)
  • 14-day trial with no cardEvery site starts with a 14-day free trial, no credit card required, and new annual plans can be refunded within 14 days.Evidence: Pricing page FAQ and website refund policy (2026-10-16)
  • Forms that store to CSV, Sheets or emailForm blocks can download submissions to CSV, send them by email or to Google Drive; page passwords and search blocks are part of the editor.Evidence: Help center: form storage, page passwords, adding search (2026-10-16)
Best for
Small businesses, creators and service providers who want a designed site that sells products, services or memberships from day one.
Good to know
There is no free plan, and the security pages we read state no SOC 2 or ISO 27001.

How Squarespace compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Website builders: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Squarespace compared with WordPress.com, Webflow, Wix
MetricSquarespaceWordPress.comWebflowWix
What you're paying forEasy to adoptA polished template site that can sell products, services, courses and memberships from the first plan, without adding a store or membership tool.Worth the priceA managed WordPress site with plugins and unlimited users for $4 a month billed yearly, with your posts and pages free to leave in WordPress’s own format.Saves engineering timeDesign-level control, a CMS and managed hosting in one tool, so a marketing site ships without a developer and passes a security review.Easy to adoptA drag-and-drop business site with multilingual, bookings, payments and a broad compliance file, on one platform that grows with the plan.
Overall score6.37.9Best7.67.2
Free option14-day free trialFree planFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$19/site/mo$4/site/mo$15/site/mo$17/site/mo
Pricing modelTieredTieredTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer site; fees on sales by planPer site; yearly, 2-year, 3-year or monthly termsPer site (Site plan), plus seats on a Workspace plan for teamsPer site; prices vary by country
Free optionNo free plan; 14-day trial, no cardFree plan on a WordPress.com address with ads; 14-day refund on annual plansFree Starter plan on a webflow.io address; 14-day refund on new plansFree plan on a wixsite.com address with Wix ads; 14-day money-back guarantee
Reference scenario (annual)$19/mo on Basic$4/mo on Personal$25/mo on the Premium site plan$17/mo on Light (US price)
Month-to-month price$25 on Basic ($25 / $39 / $65 / $139)$9 on Personal ($9 / $18 / $40 / $70)$39 on Premium ($25 on Basic)Monthly billing offered; price not shown on the plans page
Free custom domainFor 1 year on annual plansFor 1 year on annual and multi-year plansNot included; connect a domain you ownVoucher for 1 year with a first yearly plan
Second editor2 contributors on Basic, unlimited from CoreUnlimited users on every planContent-editing seat $15/mo billed yearly; full seat $392 site collaborators on Light, 5 on Core
Multiple languagesWeglot integration: free for 1 language up to 2,000 wordsThrough a multilingual plugin on Personal and upLocalize add-on from $9/mo billed yearlyWix Multilingual; 3,000 free auto-translation words
Online sellingEvery plan; 2% store fee on Basic, 0% from CorePayment buttons from Premium; WooCommerce store from BusinessEcommerce site plans from $29/mo billed yearly, 2% fee on StandardFrom Core ($29/mo billed yearly)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Not stated; PCI-DSS for built-in paymentsNot stated on the pages we readSOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 42001SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701; PCI DSS Level 1
Refund window14 days on new annual plans; monthly plans not refunded14 days on annual plans, 7 days on monthly14 days on new Site and Workspace plans, monthly or annual14 days on new plans, yearly or monthly
ExportWordPress XML of layout pages and one blog; forms to CSVPosts, pages and comments as XML; full site with a migration pluginCMS to CSV; HTML/CSS code export on a paid Workspace plan (no CMS content)CMS collections and contacts to CSV; blog posts and the site cannot be exported
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Squarespace is the builder that sells from the first plan: products, services and memberships on Basic at $19 a month billed yearly, with fees that fall on higher plans. It states no SOC 2 or ISO 27001, and its export covers only part of a site.From its public pages, WordPress.com is the lowest-cost route to a custom-domain site with a blog, at $4 a month billed yearly, with plugins, unlimited users and a portable export. Check the renewal price at checkout, and note that SOC 2 and ISO 27001 are not stated.From its public pages, Webflow is the designer’s builder here: a full CMS, site search, own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and a code export path. A blog starts on the $25 Premium plan, and extra editors are paid seats.From its public pages, Wix is the most complete all-in-one builder here: multilingual, collaborators and a broad compliance file from Light at $17 a month in the US, with selling from Core. The trade-off is lock-in: the site and its blog cannot be exported.

Evidence: Squarespace: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; WordPress.com: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Webflow: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Wix: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing and plan clarity
9.0 / 10, Excellent
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; the page says paying annually saves up to 36%, while the listed annual prices are 24% to 29% below monthly
Free plan, trial and refunds
6.0 / 10, Good
no free plan; 14-day trial, no card needed; 14-day refund on new annual plans
Price for a small business site
5.5 / 10, Fair
$19/mo on Basic, annual billing; custom domain, form blocks, a blog and 2 contributors; the footer credit can be deleted
Site features
9.2 / 10, Excellent
site search on the scenario plan; several languages as a paid add-on; password-protected pages on the scenario plan; member-only content on the scenario plan; online selling on the scenario plan; a second editor on the scenario plan
Security and compliance
3.3 / 10, Fair
no SOC 2 Type II stated, DPA in the terms, 2FA, SSO enterprise or through sales only, change log not listed
Ownership and exit
4.8 / 10, Fair
partial content export; full-site move not listed; form export; restore on the scenario plan

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Squarespace's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Squarespace's pricing page with its full feature comparison and FAQ, the security page, the brand and logo guidelines, and help center articles on choosing a plan, legacy and platform plans, the website refund policy, exporting content, form storage, page passwords, search, contributor roles, single sign-on, the GDPR and the Made with Squarespace footer on Oct 16, 2026; we did not start a trial or publish a site for this review. The pricing page showed prices in Korean won from our location, so we read the US prices from the Internet Archive copy of Oct 13, 2026.

The pricing page is straightforward: four plans with yearly and monthly prices and a long feature table that shows which fees fall as you move up. Selling is on every plan; what changes is the fee on each sale, the number of contributors, custom code and video storage.

One line does not add up: the page says paying annually saves up to 36%, but the listed prices work out to 24% to 29% off monthly. Single sign-on is described for Premium and Enterprise plans, which are not on the current pricing page.

Strengths

  • Selling and memberships from Basic

    Basic can sell unlimited products, services, courses and memberships and send invoices, with a 2% store fee and a 7% content fee.

    vs WordPress.com: Wix starts payments and memberships on Core ($29), and WordPress.com’s store tools start on Business ($25).

  • Two contributors on Basic, unlimited from Core

    Basic includes 2 contributors with permission roles such as website manager and store manager; Core removes the limit.

    vs Framer: Webflow and Framer bill extra editors as seats.

  • Trial without a card

    Every site starts with a 14-day free trial and no credit card, and new annual plans can be refunded within 14 days.

  • Unlimited bandwidth and storage

    The plan table lists no caps on bandwidth or storage on any plan; video storage grows from 30 minutes on Basic.

Things to know

  • No SOC 2 or ISO 27001 stated

    The security page covers SSL, 2FA, a 24/7 security operations center and PCI-DSS for built-in payment integrations, but names no SOC 2 report or ISO 27001 certificate.

  • Partial content export

    The export is a WordPress XML file with layout pages, one blog and basic blocks; store pages, products, other page types, drafts and styles do not export, and trial sites cannot export.

    Workaround: Form submissions download as CSV.

  • Languages through a third party

    Multilingual sites use the Weglot integration (free for one language up to 2,000 words, then Weglot’s plans) or separate pages built by hand.

  • Monthly plans are not refunded

    The refund policy covers annual plans cancelled within 14 days; monthly plans and renewals are not refunded.

Pricing reality

Squarespace bills per site. For our scenario, one business site with a blog on Basic costs $19 a month billed yearly ($228 a year), or $25 month to month, before tax, with a free domain for the first year on annual terms. Fees on sales are the main variable: Basic charges a 2% online store fee and 7% on digital content and memberships, Core ($29) 0% and 5%, Plus ($49) 0% and 1%, Advanced ($99) none, on top of card rates from 2.9% + $0.30 on Squarespace Payments. Custom code, Mailchimp and Zapier start on Core. Discounts apply only to the first payment. Monthly plans are not refunded.

Exit path

The Import & export panel creates a WordPress XML file with layout pages, one blog with its posts and comments, and text and image blocks; other page types, products, more than one blog, drafts and styles do not export, and trial sites cannot export. Form submissions download as CSV. Deleted pages and blog posts can be restored. Squarespace is an ICANN-accredited registrar, so a domain bought there is transferred out separately.

Compared with

  • Pick Squarespace when
    You want to sell or run memberships on the entry plan and export your blog to WordPress.
    Pick Wix when
    You want built-in multilingual and a vendor-stated SOC 2 and ISO 27001.
  • Pick Squarespace when
    You want selling, invoicing and memberships with no plugins to choose or update.
    Pick WordPress.com when
    You want the lowest entry price and a full export of your posts and pages.
  • Pick Squarespace when
    You want to sell from the same site and give a second contributor access at no extra cost.
    Pick Framer when
    You want a free-form design canvas and a stated SOC 2 and ISO 27001.

Choose it if

  • You want a designed template site that sells products, services or memberships from day one.
  • You want to try it for 14 days without entering a card.
  • Two people will edit the site, or more from Core.

Look elsewhere if

  • A client or partner asks for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 from the vendor.
  • You need a complete export of the site to move it later.
  • You want a permanent free plan.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Squarespace is the builder that sells from the first plan: products, services and memberships on Basic at $19 a month billed yearly, with fees that fall on higher plans. It states no SOC 2 or ISO 27001, and its export covers only part of a site.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer site; fees on sales by plan
Free optionNo free plan; 14-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (annual)$19/mo on Basic
Month-to-month price$25 on Basic ($25 / $39 / $65 / $139)
Free custom domainFor 1 year on annual plans
Second editor2 contributors on Basic, unlimited from Core
Multiple languagesWeglot integration: free for 1 language up to 2,000 words
Online sellingEvery plan; 2% store fee on Basic, 0% from Core
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Not stated; PCI-DSS for built-in payments
Refund window14 days on new annual plans; monthly plans not refunded
ExportWordPress XML of layout pages and one blog; forms to CSV

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Squarespace lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Basic (billed yearly), costs $19/site/mo.

  • SquarespaceLowest price
    Basic
    $19/site/mo
    Billed yearly; $25 month to month
    • Free domain for 1 year on annual terms
    • 2 contributors
    • Sell products, services and memberships (2% store fee, 7% content fee)
    • 30 minutes of video storage
  • Squarespace
    Core
    $29/site/mo
    Billed yearly; $39 month to month
    • Unlimited contributors
    • Custom code and premium integrations
    • 0% store fee, 5% content fee
    • Advanced analytics
  • Squarespace
    Plus
    $49/site/mo
    Billed yearly; $65 month to month
    • Card rate from 2.7% + $0.30
    • 1% content and memberships fee
    • 50 hours of video storage
    • Advanced selling in releases
  • Squarespace
    Advanced
    $99/site/mo
    Billed yearly; $139 month to month
    • Card rate from 2.5% + $0.30
    • 0% content and memberships fee
    • Unlimited video storage
    • Lowest tax-service fee

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: squarespace.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site