Framer review

by Framer B.V.Website builders

A design-first website builder with a CMS, AI agents and hosting, from $10 a month per site on yearly billing, with editors and languages priced as add-ons.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Easy to adopt (main value)
  • Worth the price

A designed, fast-to-publish marketing site with a small CMS for $10 a month on yearly billing, built on a canvas that feels like a design tool.

Framer lets designers lay out pages on a free-form canvas and publish them straight to Framer hosting, with AI agents for building and translating. Basic ($10 a month on yearly billing) connects your own domain, removes the badge and includes a CMS with 2 collections, site search and password protection. Framer states an ISO 27001 certificate and a SOC 2 Type 2 audit, and its DPA is part of the terms.

  • Custom domain, CMS and search for $10Basic lists a custom domain, 30 pages, 2 CMS collections with 1,000 items, password protection, site search and 50 GB of bandwidth at $10 a month on yearly billing.Evidence: Pricing page plan comparison (2026-10-16)
  • Forms that send to email, Sheets or a webhookNative forms send submissions to email, Google Sheets or a custom webhook, with built-in spam protection and rate limiting.Evidence: Help center: Adding a contact form (2026-10-16)
  • SOC 2 and ISO 27001 statedThe security page says Framer completed a SOC 2 Type 2 audit and holds ISO 27001; the reports go to Enterprise customers on request, and the DPA is part of the terms.Evidence: Security page and Data Processing Addendum (2026-10-16)
Best for
Designers, freelancers and startups who want a polished marketing site with a small blog at a low yearly price.
Good to know
Each extra editor ($20 a month) and each extra language ($20) is billed on top, and online selling is not offered.

How Framer compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Website builders: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Framer compared with WordPress.com, Webflow, Wix
MetricFramerWordPress.comWebflowWix
What you're paying forEasy to adoptA designed, fast-to-publish marketing site with a small CMS for $10 a month on yearly billing, built on a canvas that feels like a design tool.Worth the priceA managed WordPress site with plugins and unlimited users for $4 a month billed yearly, with your posts and pages free to leave in WordPress’s own format.Saves engineering timeDesign-level control, a CMS and managed hosting in one tool, so a marketing site ships without a developer and passes a security review.Easy to adoptA drag-and-drop business site with multilingual, bookings, payments and a broad compliance file, on one platform that grows with the plan.
Overall score6.27.9Best7.67.2
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measuredNo card needed–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$10/site/mo$4/site/mo$15/site/mo$17/site/mo
Pricing modelTieredTieredTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer site, plus $20 per extra editor and $20 per extra languagePer site; yearly, 2-year, 3-year or monthly termsPer site (Site plan), plus seats on a Workspace plan for teamsPer site; prices vary by country
Free optionFree plan on a Framer domain with the badge; refund within 7 days worldwideFree plan on a WordPress.com address with ads; 14-day refund on annual plansFree Starter plan on a webflow.io address; 14-day refund on new plansFree plan on a wixsite.com address with Wix ads; 14-day money-back guarantee
Reference scenario (annual)$10/mo on Basic$4/mo on Personal$25/mo on the Premium site plan$17/mo on Light (US price)
Month-to-month priceNot listed; the help center says monthly costs more$9 on Personal ($9 / $18 / $40 / $70)$39 on Premium ($25 on Basic)Monthly billing offered; price not shown on the plans page
Free custom domainListed on yearly plans; the help center says Framer does not sell domainsFor 1 year on annual and multi-year plansNot included; connect a domain you ownVoucher for 1 year with a first yearly plan
Second editor$20/mo per editor, $10/mo per content editorUnlimited users on every planContent-editing seat $15/mo billed yearly; full seat $392 site collaborators on Light, 5 on Core
Multiple languages$20 per locale per month, up to 20Through a multilingual plugin on Personal and upLocalize add-on from $9/mo billed yearlyWix Multilingual; 3,000 free auto-translation words
Online sellingNot offeredPayment buttons from Premium; WooCommerce store from BusinessEcommerce site plans from $29/mo billed yearly, 2% fee on StandardFrom Core ($29/mo billed yearly)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001; reports to Enterprise customers on requestNot stated on the pages we readSOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 42001SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701; PCI DSS Level 1
Refund window7 days worldwide, 14 days in the EU and Turkey (refund policy)14 days on annual plans, 7 days on monthly14 days on new Site and Workspace plans, monthly or annual14 days on new plans, yearly or monthly
ExportCMS to CSV or JSON through plugins; HTML export described differently on two pagesPosts, pages and comments as XML; full site with a migration pluginCMS to CSV; HTML/CSS code export on a paid Workspace plan (no CMS content)CMS collections and contacts to CSV; blog posts and the site cannot be exported
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Framer offers the cheapest designed site with a CMS among the canvas builders here, at $10 a month on yearly billing, with SOC 2 and ISO 27001 stated. Editors and languages cost extra, and some pages disagree on domains, refunds and export.From its public pages, WordPress.com is the lowest-cost route to a custom-domain site with a blog, at $4 a month billed yearly, with plugins, unlimited users and a portable export. Check the renewal price at checkout, and note that SOC 2 and ISO 27001 are not stated.From its public pages, Webflow is the designer’s builder here: a full CMS, site search, own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and a code export path. A blog starts on the $25 Premium plan, and extra editors are paid seats.From its public pages, Wix is the most complete all-in-one builder here: multilingual, collaborators and a broad compliance file from Light at $17 a month in the US, with selling from Core. The trade-off is lock-in: the site and its blog cannot be exported.

Evidence: Framer: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; WordPress.com: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Webflow: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Wix: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing and plan clarity
5.0 / 10, Fair
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; no month-to-month price published; Enterprise priced by sales ("Custom"); the pricing page lists a complimentary domain on yearly plans, while the help center says Framer does not sell domains; the pricing FAQ limits refunds to the EU and Turkey (14 days); the refund policy also gives 7 days worldwide; one help article says sites cannot be exported as HTML; another says the files can be downloaded and hosted anywhere
Free plan, trial and refunds
7.5 / 10, Good
free plan, blog or CMS, no forms stated, 7-day refund on new annual plans
Price for a small business site
7.7 / 10, Good
$10/mo on Basic, annual billing; custom domain, no Framer badge and a CMS with 2 collections and 1,000 items; the workspace owner seat is free; assumes native forms work on Basic (the forms guide names no plan requirement)
Site features
5.3 / 10, Fair
site search on the scenario plan; several languages as a paid add-on; password-protected pages on the scenario plan; member-only content not listed; online selling not listed; a second editor as a paid add-on
Security and compliance
6.8 / 10, Good
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, DPA in the terms, no 2FA stated, SSO enterprise or through sales only, change log not listed
Ownership and exit
5.0 / 10, Fair
content export; full-site move not listed; form export; no restore on the scenario plan stated

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Framer's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Framer's pricing page and its FAQ, the security page, the Data Processing Addendum, the brand page, and help center articles on site plans, subscriptions and charges, billing cycles, the refund policy, legacy plans, the Made in Framer badge, contact forms, member roles, domains and data export on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or publish a site for this review.

The plan ladder is short: Free, Basic at $10 and Pro at $30 a month, both shown on yearly billing, with editors, languages, A/B testing and advanced hosting as add-ons. The help center confirms monthly billing for Basic and Pro and says it typically costs more, but no monthly price is listed.

A few pages disagree. The plan cards list a complimentary domain on yearly plans, while the help center says Framer is not a domain registrar and does not sell domains. The pricing FAQ offers refunds in the EU and Turkey only, while the refund policy adds 7 days worldwide. One help article says Framer does not offer HTML export; another says every site can be downloaded and hosted elsewhere.

Strengths

  • Second-lowest price for the scenario

    Basic covers a custom domain, no badge, 2 CMS collections with 1,000 items, site search and password protection for $10 a month on yearly billing.

    vs Webflow: Webflow’s CMS starts on Premium at $25 a month billed yearly.

  • Search and password protection on Basic

    The plan comparison checks site search and password protection on Basic, Pro and Enterprise.

  • Own SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001

    The security page states a SOC 2 Type 2 audit covering security and availability and an ISO 27001 certificate; the DPA is incorporated into the terms.

    vs Squarespace: Squarespace and WordPress.com state neither on the pages we read.

  • CMS content leaves in CSV or JSON

    The data portability article says CMS content exports through plugins as CSV or JSON.

Things to know

  • Editors and languages add up

    The workspace owner is free; each extra editor is $20 a month and each content editor $10, up to 10 seats, and each extra language is $20 a month.

    Workaround: Viewers who only comment are free.

  • No online store or member logins

    The plans list no checkout, product catalog or member area; the contact form guide lists third-party services such as HubSpot and Typeform for other form needs.

  • Pages disagree on domains, refunds and export

    The pricing page and help center differ on the complimentary domain, on who can get a refund and on whether a site can be exported as HTML.

    Workaround: Ask Framer support to confirm the point that matters to you before buying.

  • Monthly price not listed

    Only yearly prices appear on the pricing page; the help center says monthly billing exists and typically costs more.

Pricing reality

Framer bills per site. For our scenario, one business site with a small blog on Basic costs $10 a month on yearly billing ($120 a year) before tax, with the owner seat free. Basic is capped at 30 pages, 2 CMS collections and 1,000 items; Pro ($30) raises that to 150 pages, 10 collections and 2,500 items, with paid add-ons beyond. Extra editors cost $20 a month each and content editors $10, extra languages $20 per locale, A/B testing $50 per 500,000 events and advanced hosting $200. AI credits come with each plan. The monthly billing price is not listed. Legacy plans bought before Oct 9, 2025 keep their price.

Exit path

CMS content exports through plugins as CSV or JSON, and form submissions can go to Google Sheets. Whether the site itself can leave is unclear: one help article says Framer does not provide a way to export published sites as HTML, while the data portability article says the files can be downloaded and hosted anywhere. Framer does not register domains, so a domain bought elsewhere stays with its registrar.

Compared with

  • Pick Framer when
    You want a designed site with a small blog for less: $10 a month instead of $25 on yearly billing.
    Pick Webflow when
    You need a larger CMS, a documented code export or month-to-month prices on the pricing page.
  • Pick Framer when
    You want a free-form design canvas and a vendor-stated SOC 2 and ISO 27001.
    Pick Squarespace when
    You want to sell products, courses or memberships from the same site.
  • Pick Framer when
    You want the lower entry price ($10 vs $17 a month on yearly billing) and a design-tool canvas.
    Pick Wix when
    You want built-in multilingual, bookings and two collaborators on the entry plan.

Choose it if

  • You design in a canvas tool and want to publish without handing off to a developer.
  • Your site needs a small blog or case-study CMS and a low yearly price.
  • You want a vendor that states SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need an online store or member logins on the same site.
  • Several people will edit and the budget has no room for $20 seats.
  • You need a clear, documented way to move the site to other hosting.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Framer offers the cheapest designed site with a CMS among the canvas builders here, at $10 a month on yearly billing, with SOC 2 and ISO 27001 stated. Editors and languages cost extra, and some pages disagree on domains, refunds and export.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer site, plus $20 per extra editor and $20 per extra language
Free optionFree plan on a Framer domain with the badge; refund within 7 days worldwide
Reference scenario (annual)$10/mo on Basic
Month-to-month priceNot listed; the help center says monthly costs more
Free custom domainListed on yearly plans; the help center says Framer does not sell domains
Second editor$20/mo per editor, $10/mo per content editor
Multiple languages$20 per locale per month, up to 20
Online sellingNot offered
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001; reports to Enterprise customers on request
Refund window7 days worldwide, 14 days in the EU and Turkey (refund policy)
ExportCMS to CSV or JSON through plugins; HTML export described differently on two pages

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Framer lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Basic (billed yearly), costs $10/site/mo.

  • FramerFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    Free Framer domain; for non-commercial use per the pricing FAQ
    • 1 GB bandwidth
    • Made in Framer badge
    • 10 CMS collections and 1,000 pages per the FAQ
    • 500 AI credits to try
  • FramerLowest price
    Basic
    $10/site/mo
    Billed yearly; monthly billing offered, price not listed
    • Custom domain, complimentary domain on yearly
    • 30 pages, 2 CMS collections, 1,000 CMS items
    • Password protection and site search
    • 50 GB bandwidth, 30 days of analytics
  • Framer
    Pro
    $30/site/mo
    Billed yearly; pages, CMS and bandwidth can be extended by published add-ons
    • 150 pages, 10 CMS collections, 2,500 items
    • Redirects, staging and branching
    • Roles and permissions
    • 100 GB bandwidth, 90 days of analytics
  • Framer
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • SSO and SCIM
    • Custom limits
    • Unlimited editors
    • Uptime guarantee

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: framer.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site