Rippling review
by Rippling People Center Inc.HR and payroll software
HR, payroll, benefits, IT and finance products on one employee record, sold as modules on a custom quote that starts at $8 per employee a month.
- Sales call required
- Custom quote
- Prices hidden
What you're paying for
- Saves engineering time (main value)
- Compliance included
One employee record that drives HR, payroll, benefits, devices and app access, with a long list of audits behind it.
Rippling builds HR, payroll, benefits, time, IT and finance on one employee record, so a change such as a new hire or a raise flows to payroll, app accounts and devices without re-entry. Payroll files federal, state and local taxes, and the same platform can move a company onto a PEO or hire abroad through an employer of record. The security page lists SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II reports and ISO 27001, 27018 and 42001 certificates. Everything is priced by custom quote.
- One record for HR, payroll and ITThe payroll page says new hires, salary changes and benefits deductions flow from HR into payroll automatically; the identity product provisions app access from the same HR data.Evidence: Payroll and Identity & Access product pages (2026-10-16)
- Audits and certificates listedThe security page lists SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports, CSA STAR Level 2, and ISO 27001, ISO 27018 and ISO 42001 certifications.Evidence: Security and data protection page (2026-10-16)
- PEO, EOR and global contractors on the same platformThe PEO page says a company can move off the PEO without replacing its system; contractors can be onboarded in 185+ countries and paid in 50+ currencies.Evidence: PEO and global contractors pages (2026-10-16)
- A documented API for your own dataThe developer docs describe a REST API with customer API tokens and guides for payroll, time and reports.Evidence: Developer documentation (2026-10-16)
- Best for
- Growing companies that want HR, payroll, devices and app access run from one system, and can work through a custom quote.
- Good to know
- No price for payroll or any module is published beyond a starting price of $8 per employee plus a base fee.
How Rippling compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in HR and payroll software: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
| Metric | Rippling | Deel | Gusto | Justworks |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Saves engineering timeOne employee record that drives HR, payroll, benefits, devices and app access, with a long list of audits behind it. | Built-in reachPay US employees, contractors abroad and employees hired through an employer of record from one platform, each with a published price. | Worth the priceFull-service US payroll with tax filings, onboarding and benefits administration at a published monthly price, with no long-term contract. | Worth the priceLow-cost multi-state payroll for small US teams, with a PEO path to group health benefits when you need it. |
| Overall score | 3.3 | 6.3 | 6.3 | 5.6 |
| Free option | –Not measured | Paid only | Free trial | Paid only |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Sales call required | Sales call required | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $8/employee/mo + base fee | $22/employee/mo | $49/mo + $6/person | $50/mo + $8/employee |
| Pricing model | Custom quote | Per seat | Seat + usage | Seat + usage |
| Pricing page | Prices hidden | Public prices | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Per employee per month plus a monthly base fee, by custom quote | Per employee or contractor per month; activation through a quote | Monthly base fee plus a price per active person; US contractors billed only in months they are paid | Payroll: monthly base fee plus a price per employee; PEO: per employee, no base fee |
| Free option | None stated; 6 months free for eligible US VC-backed startups | No free plan or trial; free demo | Free account to set up and onboard; billing starts with the first payroll | No free plan or trial stated |
| Reference scenario (10 employees, one state) | Not priced: payroll by custom quote | $220/mo on HR + US Payroll Core ($22 × 10), computed | $109/mo on Simple ($49 + $6 × 10), computed | $130/mo on Payroll ($50 + $8 × 10), computed (prices as of May 21, 2026) |
| Multi-state payroll | Stated (registration and filing in all 50 states); price by quote | All 50 states, self-serve or managed | Plus ($80 + $12 per person) | Included on every plan |
| International hiring | Global payroll, EOR, global contractors (185+ countries); by quote | Contractors $49/mo each; EOR $599 per employee | Contractors in 120+ countries, per-payment fee; no employer-of-record service listed | Contractors $39 each; EOR $599 per employee on PEO plans |
| PEO option | Rippling PEO, by quote | PEO Starter $110, PEO Pro $120 per employee ($125 on another card) | None listed | PEO Basic $79, PEO Plus $109 per employee |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001, 27018, 42001; CSA STAR Level 2 | SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 | SOC 1 and SOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001 not stated | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Contract terms | Not stated on the pricing page | Month to month per the pricing FAQ | Month to month, cancel anytime | Not stated; first year of PEO fees can be prepaid |
| Data export | Reports and a documented REST API with customer API tokens | Reports as CSV, PDF or Excel; REST API | Reports as CSV, PDF or Excel; a payroll data export workbook per year | Each payroll downloads as CSV |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Rippling offers the widest platform and the strongest compliance file in this group, but no published price for payroll or any module. Its score reflects what the pages commit to; a quote is the only way to compare its cost. | From its public pages, Deel is the broadest published price list here for paying people in the US and abroad, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. US payroll costs more than Gusto or Justworks for 10 people, activation goes through sales, and a few cards disagree on PEO prices. | From its public pages, Gusto is the clearest buy here: full-service payroll with HR basics from $109 a month for 10 employees, month to month. Multi-state payroll needs Plus, and there is no employer-of-record or PEO option on the pricing page. | From its public pages, Justworks pairs low-cost multi-state payroll with a priced PEO path. Its score is held back by a security file and API that its pages do not state, and its pricing page could only be read in a May 2026 archive copy. |
Evidence: Rippling: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Deel: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Gusto: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Justworks: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Score
- Pricing clarity
- 2.0 / 10, Fair
- scenario plan not priced; bought through sales or a quote; contract terms not stated; the monthly base fee in the $8 starting price is not stated; the payroll page offers a "Create free account" form; no page says what a free account includes
- Free plan and trial
- 0.0 / 10, Fair
- no free plan or trial stated; demo only
- Price for 10 employees
- 0.0 / 10, Fair
- no published price, priced by sales: Rippling Payroll is quoted by number of employees and products
- Who you can pay
- 4.8 / 10, Fair
- multi-state payroll in the scenario plan; US contractors priced by sales or quote; contractors abroad priced by sales or quote; employer of record priced by sales or quote; PEO priced by sales or quote
- HR tools
- 3.0 / 10, Fair
- time tracking priced by sales or quote; time off priced by sales or quote; onboarding priced by sales or quote; benefits administration priced by sales or quote; performance reviews priced by sales or quote
- Security, API and data export
- 10.0 / 10, Excellent
- SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, two-factor sign-in, REST API, payroll export
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Rippling's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Rippling's pricing page and FAQ, the payroll, PEO, employer of record, global contractors, HRIS, time and attendance, performance and identity product pages, the security page, a Rippling guide on multi-state payroll and the developer documentation on Oct 16, 2026; we did not request a quote or open an account for this review.
The pricing page is a quote form. Its FAQ says plans start at $8 per employee per month with a monthly base fee, that most products are priced per employee, and that payroll is quoted from the number of employees and the products chosen. No product has a published price, so our scenario cannot be priced and the features count as available through sales.
Two points need a question to Rippling: the amount of the monthly base fee, and what the "Create free account" form on the payroll page gives you, since no page describes a free plan or trial. Contract terms are not on the pricing page. The startup program offers 6 months free to eligible US VC-backed startups.
Strengths
- The broadest compliance file here
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2 and ISO 27001, 27018 and 42001 are listed on the security page.
vs Gusto: Gusto’s security page names SOC 1 and SOC 2 without the type; Justworks’ pages we read state no SOC report.
- HR, payroll and IT on one record
Payroll reads hires, pay changes and deductions from the HR record, and the identity product provisions apps and enforces multi-factor rules from the same data.
- Room to grow abroad and into a PEO
Global payroll, an employer of record, contractors in 185+ countries and a PEO run on the same platform, and the PEO page says you can leave the PEO without changing systems.
vs Gusto: Gusto lists contractor payments abroad but no employer-of-record service or PEO.
- API access for customers
Customers create API tokens for the REST API, with guides for payroll, time, reports and workers.
Compared: Justworks offers a read-only MCP connector but no documented REST API on the pages we read.
Things to know
- Every price goes through a quote
Only a starting price of $8 per employee a month is published, plus a base fee whose amount is not stated; payroll and each module are quoted.
Workaround: Ask for a quote that lists each module and the base fee separately.
- No free plan or trial described
The pages describe a demo, a quote form and a startup program for eligible VC-backed startups, but no free plan or trial.
- Modules add up
Time and attendance, benefits administration, performance, PEO, EOR and global contractors appear as separate products, so the quote grows with each one.
Pricing reality
Rippling prices by custom quote. The FAQ says plans start at $8 per employee per month with a monthly base fee, that most products are priced per employee and some add a base fee, and that Rippling Payroll depends on the number of employees and products. For our scenario of 10 employees in one state there is no published figure, so we cannot compute one. At the stated starting rate, 10 employees would be at least $80 a month before the base fee (our arithmetic), but the pages do not say which products that rate covers. Eligible US VC-backed startups can get 6 months free.
Exit path
Customers can create API tokens and pull workers, payroll and reports through the documented REST API; tokens are revoked if their owner leaves or they go unused for 30 days. The pricing FAQ says Rippling imports year-to-date payroll when you switch in. Contract and cancellation terms are not on the pricing page.
Compared with
- Pick Rippling when
- You want HR, payroll and IT on one record and the audits to back it, and can work with a quote.
- Pick Gusto when
- You want published prices and month-to-month terms, from $109 a month for 10 employees (computed).
- Pick Rippling when
- You also want device and app management from the HR record.
- Pick Deel when
- You want published per-employee prices for US payroll, contractors and EOR.
- Pick Rippling when
- You want a PEO, an employer of record and IT tools from the same vendor.
- Pick BambooHR when
- You want published HR plan prices and a free trial without a card.
Choose it if
- You want HR, payroll, benefits and IT driven by one employee record.
- Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.
- You may later need a PEO or an employer of record without switching systems.
Look elsewhere if
- You want to see the price before talking to sales.
- You want a free plan or trial to try the product first.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Rippling offers the widest platform and the strongest compliance file in this group, but no published price for payroll or any module. Its score reflects what the pages commit to; a quote is the only way to compare its cost.
Plan limits at a glance
| Limit | As recorded |
|---|---|
| Billing unit | Per employee per month plus a monthly base fee, by custom quote |
| Free option | None stated; 6 months free for eligible US VC-backed startups |
| Reference scenario (10 employees, one state) | Not priced: payroll by custom quote |
| Multi-state payroll | Stated (registration and filing in all 50 states); price by quote |
| International hiring | Global payroll, EOR, global contractors (185+ countries); by quote |
| PEO option | Rippling PEO, by quote |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001, 27018, 42001; CSA STAR Level 2 |
| Contract terms | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Data export | Reports and a documented REST API with customer API tokens |
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Rippling yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Rippling yet; access was not open to our agent.
Rippling lists 3 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Starting price; custom quote, costs $8/employee/mo + base fee.
- RipplingRippling platformFrom $8/employee/moPlus a monthly base fee; total by custom quote
- Products chosen as modules
- Per-employee pricing for most products
- Startup program: 6 months free for eligible US VC-backed startups
- RipplingPayrollContact sales
- Federal, state and local tax calculation and filing
- Unlimited pay runs at no extra charge
- Employees and contractors in one system
- RipplingPEO, EOR and global contractorsContact sales
- Rippling PEO with benefits, EPLI and workers’ comp
- Employer of record abroad
- Contractors in 185+ countries, 50+ currencies
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: rippling.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.