HR and payroll software · Comparison
Gusto vs Rippling
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Gusto | Rippling |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceFull-service US payroll with tax filings, onboarding and benefits administration at a published monthly price, with no long-term contract. | Saves engineering timeOne employee record that drives HR, payroll, benefits, devices and app access, with a long list of audits behind it. |
| Overall score | 6.3Best | 3.3 |
| Free option | Free trial | –Not measured |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Sales call required |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $49/mo + $6/person | $8/employee/mo + base fee |
| Pricing model | Seat + usage | Custom quote |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Prices hidden |
| Billing unit | Monthly base fee plus a price per active person; US contractors billed only in months they are paid | Per employee per month plus a monthly base fee, by custom quote |
| Free option | Free account to set up and onboard; billing starts with the first payroll | None stated; 6 months free for eligible US VC-backed startups |
| Reference scenario (10 employees, one state) | $109/mo on Simple ($49 + $6 × 10), computed | Not priced: payroll by custom quote |
| Multi-state payroll | Plus ($80 + $12 per person) | Stated (registration and filing in all 50 states); price by quote |
| International hiring | Contractors in 120+ countries, per-payment fee; no employer-of-record service listed | Global payroll, EOR, global contractors (185+ countries); by quote |
| PEO option | None listed | Rippling PEO, by quote |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 1 and SOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001 not stated | SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001, 27018, 42001; CSA STAR Level 2 |
| Contract terms | Month to month, cancel anytime | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Data export | Reports as CSV, PDF or Excel; a payroll data export workbook per year | Reports and a documented REST API with customer API tokens |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Gusto is the clearest buy here: full-service payroll with HR basics from $109 a month for 10 employees, month to month. Multi-state payroll needs Plus, and there is no employer-of-record or PEO option on the pricing page. | From its public pages, Rippling offers the widest platform and the strongest compliance file in this group, but no published price for payroll or any module. Its score reflects what the pages commit to; a quote is the only way to compare its cost. |
Evidence: Gusto: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Rippling: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our Gusto review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Gusto when
- You want prices you can read before talking to anyone.
- Pick Rippling when
- You want HR, payroll, IT and finance in one system and are ready for a custom quote.
From our Rippling review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Rippling when
- You want HR, payroll and IT on one record and the audits to back it, and can work with a quote.
- Pick Gusto when
- You want published prices and month-to-month terms, from $109 a month for 10 employees (computed).
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- GustoSimple$49/moPlus $6 per person a month
- Full-service payroll in one state, unlimited payroll runs
- Federal, state and local tax filings and payments
- Time off, offer letters with e-signature, digital I-9s and W-4s
- Time tracking add-on at $6 per person
- RipplingRippling platformFrom $8/employee/moPlus a monthly base fee; total by custom quote
- Products chosen as modules
- Per-employee pricing for most products
- Startup program: 6 months free for eligible US VC-backed startups
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Gusto 2026-10-16, Rippling 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- GustoSelf-serve sign-up; the only one here you can use right after signing up.
- Lowest starter price
- Rippling$8/employee/mo + base fee for the Starting price; custom quote plan.
- Highest overall score
- Gusto6.3/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in HR and payroll software
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.