HR and payroll software · Comparison

BambooHR vs Rippling

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

BambooHR vs Rippling: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricBambooHRRippling
What you're paying forEasy to adoptA complete HR record, from hiring and onboarding to time off and reviews, with payroll that reads from the same data.Saves engineering timeOne employee record that drives HR, payroll, benefits, devices and app access, with a long list of audits behind it.
Overall score3.6Best3.3
Free optionFree trial–Not measured
Card to startNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSales call requiredSales call required
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$250/mo$8/employee/mo + base fee
Pricing modelTieredCustom quote
Pricing pagePrices hiddenPrices hidden
Billing unitFlat monthly price up to 25 employees, then per employee; add-ons by quotePer employee per month plus a monthly base fee, by custom quote
Free optionFree trial, no card; length not statedNone stated; 6 months free for eligible US VC-backed startups
Reference scenario (10 employees, one state)Not priced: payroll add-on by quote ($250/mo Core plus payroll)Not priced: payroll by custom quote
Multi-state payrollNot stated on the payroll pageStated (registration and filing in all 50 states); price by quote
International hiringEOR and contractors through Remote, by quoteGlobal payroll, EOR, global contractors (185+ countries); by quote
PEO optionNone listedRippling PEO, by quote
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 not listedSOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001, 27018, 42001; CSA STAR Level 2
Contract termsMonth to month or an extended termNot stated on the pricing page
Data exportCustom reports; API generates reports in several formatsReports and a documented REST API with customer API tokens
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, BambooHR is a well-rounded HR system with payroll as a quoted add-on. Its score is held back by the unpublished payroll price and add-ons, not by the HR plans themselves.From its public pages, Rippling offers the widest platform and the strongest compliance file in this group, but no published price for payroll or any module. Its score reflects what the pages commit to; a quote is the only way to compare its cost.

Evidence: BambooHR: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Rippling: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our BambooHR review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick BambooHR when
    You want published HR plan prices and a trial before a demo.
    Pick Rippling when
    You want a PEO, an employer of record and IT tools on one platform.
  • From our Rippling review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Rippling when
    You want a PEO, an employer of record and IT tools from the same vendor.
    Pick BambooHR when
    You want published HR plan prices and a free trial without a card.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • BambooHR
    Core
    $250/mo
    Flat for 25 employees or fewer; above that $10 per employee (plan card) or $10.25 (FAQ)
    • Employee records, reports and dashboards
    • Applicant tracking (5 openings), onboarding, e-signatures
    • Time-off management and benefits tracking
    • On-demand pay
  • Rippling
    Rippling platform
    From $8/employee/mo
    Plus a monthly base fee; total by custom quote
    • Products chosen as modules
    • Per-employee pricing for most products
    • Startup program: 6 months free for eligible US VC-backed startups

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: BambooHR 2026-10-16, Rippling 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
NoneNone of these is self-serve: BambooHR (Sales call required) and Rippling (Sales call required).
If you want to try it without entering a card
BambooHRFree trial, no card needed; scored 3.6/10.
Lowest starter price
Rippling$8/employee/mo + base fee for the Starting price; custom quote plan.
Highest overall score
BambooHR3.6/10 (Fair). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in HR and payroll software

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.