HR and payroll software · Comparison
Justworks vs Rippling
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Justworks | Rippling |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceLow-cost multi-state payroll for small US teams, with a PEO path to group health benefits when you need it. | Saves engineering timeOne employee record that drives HR, payroll, benefits, devices and app access, with a long list of audits behind it. |
| Overall score | 5.6Best | 3.3 |
| Free option | Paid only | –Not measured |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Sales call required |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $50/mo + $8/employee | $8/employee/mo + base fee |
| Pricing model | Seat + usage | Custom quote |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Prices hidden |
| Billing unit | Payroll: monthly base fee plus a price per employee; PEO: per employee, no base fee | Per employee per month plus a monthly base fee, by custom quote |
| Free option | No free plan or trial stated | None stated; 6 months free for eligible US VC-backed startups |
| Reference scenario (10 employees, one state) | $130/mo on Payroll ($50 + $8 × 10), computed (prices as of May 21, 2026) | Not priced: payroll by custom quote |
| Multi-state payroll | Included on every plan | Stated (registration and filing in all 50 states); price by quote |
| International hiring | Contractors $39 each; EOR $599 per employee on PEO plans | Global payroll, EOR, global contractors (185+ countries); by quote |
| PEO option | PEO Basic $79, PEO Plus $109 per employee | Rippling PEO, by quote |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | Not stated on the pages we read | SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001, 27018, 42001; CSA STAR Level 2 |
| Contract terms | Not stated; first year of PEO fees can be prepaid | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Data export | Each payroll downloads as CSV | Reports and a documented REST API with customer API tokens |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Justworks pairs low-cost multi-state payroll with a priced PEO path. Its score is held back by a security file and API that its pages do not state, and its pricing page could only be read in a May 2026 archive copy. | From its public pages, Rippling offers the widest platform and the strongest compliance file in this group, but no published price for payroll or any module. Its score reflects what the pages commit to; a quote is the only way to compare its cost. |
Evidence: Justworks: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Rippling: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- JustworksPayroll$50/moPlus $8 per employee a month (pricing page, Internet Archive copy of May 21, 2026)
- Multi-state payroll, tax filings, W-2 and 1099 filings
- Online onboarding, PTO management, basic timecards
- Phone and chat support
- Health insurance add-on at $8 per benefits-eligible employee
- RipplingRippling platformFrom $8/employee/moPlus a monthly base fee; total by custom quote
- Products chosen as modules
- Per-employee pricing for most products
- Startup program: 6 months free for eligible US VC-backed startups
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Justworks 2026-10-16, Rippling 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- JustworksSelf-serve sign-up; the only one here you can use right after signing up.
- Lowest starter price
- Rippling$8/employee/mo + base fee for the Starting price; custom quote plan.
- Highest overall score
- Justworks5.6/10 (Fair). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in HR and payroll software
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.