Pay US employees, contractors abroad and employees hired through an employer of record from one platform, each with a published price.
Deel puts US payroll, contractors in 120+ currencies, an employer of record and a US PEO on one platform, so a company that hires across borders does not run separate vendors. Each line has a list price: US payroll and HR from $22 per employee, contractors $49 each, EOR $599 per employee. Payroll files taxes in all 50 states, and the local payroll page states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. Activation ends with a quote from sales.
Hire and pay abroad from the same accountThe pricing page lists contractors in 120+ currencies at $49 a month each and an employer of record at $599 per employee, next to US payroll and a US PEO.Evidence: Pricing page plan data (2026-10-16)
US payroll in all 50 statesThe US payroll FAQ says Deel calculates and files payroll taxes with federal, state and local agencies in all 50 states, with W-2, W-4, new-hire and termination filings.Evidence: Deel Payroll – US page (2026-10-16)
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001The local payroll page states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certification; the help center documents two-factor sign-in and SAML or OpenID Connect single sign-on.Evidence: Run local payroll page and help center (2026-10-16)
Best for
US companies that also pay contractors or employees abroad and want one platform with a list price for each.
Good to know
There is no free plan or trial, and payroll activation goes through a quote reviewed with Deel’s sales team.
How Deel compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in HR and payroll software: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Built-in reachPay US employees, contractors abroad and employees hired through an employer of record from one platform, each with a published price.
Worth the priceFull-service US payroll with tax filings, onboarding and benefits administration at a published monthly price, with no long-term contract.
Worth the priceLow-cost multi-state payroll for small US teams, with a PEO path to group health benefits when you need it.
Easy to adoptA complete HR record, from hiring and onboarding to time off and reviews, with payroll that reads from the same data.
Overall score
6.3
6.3
5.6
3.6
Free option
Paid only
Free trial
Paid only
Free trial
Card to start
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
No card needed
Getting access
Sales call required
Self-serve
Self-serve
Sales call required
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$22/employee/mo
$49/mo + $6/person
$50/mo + $8/employee
$250/mo
Pricing model
Per seat
Seat + usage
Seat + usage
Tiered
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Prices hidden
Billing unit
Per employee or contractor per month; activation through a quote
Monthly base fee plus a price per active person; US contractors billed only in months they are paid
Payroll: monthly base fee plus a price per employee; PEO: per employee, no base fee
Flat monthly price up to 25 employees, then per employee; add-ons by quote
Free option
No free plan or trial; free demo
Free account to set up and onboard; billing starts with the first payroll
No free plan or trial stated
Free trial, no card; length not stated
Reference scenario (10 employees, one state)
$220/mo on HR + US Payroll Core ($22 × 10), computed
$109/mo on Simple ($49 + $6 × 10), computed
$130/mo on Payroll ($50 + $8 × 10), computed (prices as of May 21, 2026)
Not priced: payroll add-on by quote ($250/mo Core plus payroll)
Multi-state payroll
All 50 states, self-serve or managed
Plus ($80 + $12 per person)
Included on every plan
Not stated on the payroll page
International hiring
Contractors $49/mo each; EOR $599 per employee
Contractors in 120+ countries, per-payment fee; no employer-of-record service listed
Contractors $39 each; EOR $599 per employee on PEO plans
EOR and contractors through Remote, by quote
PEO option
PEO Starter $110, PEO Pro $120 per employee ($125 on another card)
None listed
PEO Basic $79, PEO Plus $109 per employee
None listed
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001
SOC 1 and SOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001 not stated
Not stated on the pages we read
SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 not listed
Contract terms
Month to month per the pricing FAQ
Month to month, cancel anytime
Not stated; first year of PEO fees can be prepaid
Month to month or an extended term
Data export
Reports as CSV, PDF or Excel; REST API
Reports as CSV, PDF or Excel; a payroll data export workbook per year
Each payroll downloads as CSV
Custom reports; API generates reports in several formats
Bottom line
From its public pages, Deel is the broadest published price list here for paying people in the US and abroad, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. US payroll costs more than Gusto or Justworks for 10 people, activation goes through sales, and a few cards disagree on PEO prices.
From its public pages, Gusto is the clearest buy here: full-service payroll with HR basics from $109 a month for 10 employees, month to month. Multi-state payroll needs Plus, and there is no employer-of-record or PEO option on the pricing page.
From its public pages, Justworks pairs low-cost multi-state payroll with a priced PEO path. Its score is held back by a security file and API that its pages do not state, and its pricing page could only be read in a May 2026 archive copy.
From its public pages, BambooHR is a well-rounded HR system with payroll as a quoted add-on. Its score is held back by the unpublished payroll price and add-ons, not by the HR plans themselves.
Evidence: Deel: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Gusto: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Justworks: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; BambooHR: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; bought through sales or a quote; month to month; US PEO is $125 per employee on one card and $110 (Starter) or $120 (Pro) on the PEO card; one PEO Pro bundle card says PEO health benefits are not included, the other two say they are; EOR covers 130+ countries on one card and 150+ on another; managed US payroll has no published price
Free plan and trial
0.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan or trial stated; demo only
Price for 10 employees
5.1 / 10, Fair
$220/mo: Deel HR + Deel Payroll — US, Core, $22 × 10 employees; self-serve US payroll with tax filings in the HR bundle; Deel Payroll alone lists at $29; assumes the list price with no base fee; the activation flow ends with a quote reviewed with sales
Who you can pay
9.4 / 10, Excellent
multi-state payroll in the scenario plan; US contractors in the scenario plan; contractors abroad in the scenario plan; employer of record in the scenario plan; PEO on a higher or separate priced plan
HR tools
9.2 / 10, Excellent
time tracking in the scenario plan; time off in the scenario plan; onboarding in the scenario plan; benefits administration in the scenario plan; performance reviews on a higher or separate priced plan
Security, API and data export
10.0 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, two-factor sign-in, REST API, payroll export
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Deel's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Deel's pricing page (whose prices are filled in by script, so we read the plan data embedded in the page), the US payroll, local payroll, HR and PEO pages, the security page and help center articles on setting up US payroll, 1099s, hiring in a new state, two-factor sign-in, single sign-on and reports on Oct 16, 2026; we did not book a demo or open an account for this review.
The pricing page lists a price for nearly every product, and the FAQ says pricing is month to month with no long-term commitment. For our scenario the cheapest plan with US payroll is the Deel HR plus US payroll bundle at $22 per employee, below Deel Payroll alone at $29. The help center's setup article says activation includes reviewing a quote with sales.
Some cards disagree. The US PEO is $125 per employee on the "Hire employees" card and $110 or $120 on the PEO card; one PEO Pro bundle card says PEO health benefits are not included while the other two say they are; and the EOR covers 130+ countries on one card and 150+ on another. Managed US payroll has no published price.
Strengths
One platform for US and global teams
US payroll, contractors abroad, an employer of record and a US PEO are all on the pricing page, so a mixed team stays in one system.
vs Justworks: Gusto lists contractor payments abroad but no employer of record; Justworks offers EOR only with a PEO plan.
List prices for international hiring
Contractors are $49 a month each and the employer of record $599 per employee a month.
vs Rippling: Rippling and BambooHR price their EOR and global contractor services through sales.
Audits stated
The local payroll page states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001; the security page also lists SOC 1, SOC 3 and GDPR compliance.
vs Gusto: Gusto’s security page does not give the SOC 2 type or mention ISO 27001.
Exports and API
Reports download as CSV, PDF or Excel, and the developer site documents a REST API.
Things to know
Activation goes through sales
The setup article says that after triage questions you book a call with sales and accept a quote before payroll is activated, although list prices are published.
Workaround: The implementation tracker opens while the call is pending, so documents and people can be added in the meantime.
Some cards disagree
PEO prices ($110, $120 or $125), PEO health benefits in the Pro bundle, and the EOR country count (130+ or 150+) differ between cards on the pricing page.
Workaround: Confirm the figures in the quote.
No free plan or trial
The FAQ offers a free demo as the way to try Deel before committing.
Pricing reality
Deel bills per employee or contractor per month, and the FAQ says month to month with no long-term commitment. For our scenario, 10 employees on the Deel HR plus US payroll Core bundle cost 10 × $22 = $220 a month (computed), before tax; Deel Payroll alone would be 10 × $29 = $290 (computed), so the bundle is the cheaper way in. Performance reviews start on the Advanced bundle at $39 ($390 for 10, computed). Contractors add $49 each a month, EOR employees $599 each, and benefits management $10 per employee. Managed US payroll, with a dedicated payroll manager, is not priced on the page. A PEO promotion with 3 months free requires an order form with a minimum two-year term.
Exit path
Admins can export reports as CSV, PDF or Excel from Analytics, and the developer site documents a REST API. The pricing FAQ says you can cancel at any time; for EOR employees, local notice and severance rules apply.
You want published prices for payroll, contractors and EOR.
Pick Rippling when
You also want device and app management on the same employee record.
Choose it if
You pay US employees and people abroad and want one platform.
You want list prices for contractors and an employer of record.
Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.
Look elsewhere if
You want to sign up and run payroll without a call with sales.
You only pay a small US team and want the lowest monthly cost.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Deel is the broadest published price list here for paying people in the US and abroad, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. US payroll costs more than Gusto or Justworks for 10 people, activation goes through sales, and a few cards disagree on PEO prices.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per employee or contractor per month; activation through a quote
Free option
No free plan or trial; free demo
Reference scenario (10 employees, one state)
$220/mo on HR + US Payroll Core ($22 × 10), computed
Multi-state payroll
All 50 states, self-serve or managed
International hiring
Contractors $49/mo each; EOR $599 per employee
PEO option
PEO Starter $110, PEO Pro $120 per employee ($125 on another card)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001
Contract terms
Month to month per the pricing FAQ
Data export
Reports as CSV, PDF or Excel; REST API
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Deel yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Deel yet; access was not open to our agent.
Deel lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Deel HR + Deel Payroll — US, Core, costs $22/employee/mo.
DLDeel
Deel Payroll: US
$29/employee/mo
Self-service; managed payroll priced by quote
Payroll across all 50 states
Federal, state and local tax filings
W-2, W-4 and new-hire reporting
Built for fewer than 200 US employees
DLDeel
Deel HR + Deel Payroll — US: Core
$22/employee/mo
Advanced $39, Elite $49
US self-serve payroll
Time off and time & attendance
Documents and audit trail, HR helpdesk
Performance reviews on Advanced
DLDeel
Contractors
$49/contractor/mo
Contractor of Record $325
Payments in 120+ currencies
Automated invoicing
1099 filing for US contractors
DLDeel
Employer of Record
$599/employee/mo
Employment without a local entity
Payroll, benefits and compliance abroad
DLDeel
US PEO
$110/employee/mo
PEO Starter; PEO Pro $120 with PEO health benefits; $125 on the "Hire employees" card
Co-employment in all 50 states
State registrations and workers’ comp
PEO Starter excludes PEO-sponsored health benefits
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: deel.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.
We read the pricing, security, legal, help center and developer pages of three payroll services on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 10 employees cost, who each can pay, which HR tools come with the plan, and who should pick which.