Namecheap review

by Namecheap, Inc.Domain registrars

A long-running low-cost registrar: a .com is $11.28 for the first year and $18.48 to renew, plus the $0.20 ICANN fee, with free privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and forwarding.

Facts checked
  • Paid only
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Easy to adopt

A low first-year .com with free privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and email and URL forwarding, and the freedom to point it at any nameservers.

Namecheap sells the domain on its own and includes the services most owners need: WHOIS privacy on by default, BasicDNS with one-click DNSSEC, up to 100 email forwards with a catch-all, and URL forwarding. External nameservers are allowed, and DNSSEC records can be entered for them. The first .com year is on sale for any buyer, the restore price is published, and a 5-day refund window is offered for new registrations. Renewals cost more than the first year.

  • Essentials free with every domainThe cart adds Domain Privacy at $0.00 "FREE FOREVER", and the help center describes free BasicDNS with DNSSEC, up to 100 email forwards with a catch-all, and 301, 302 or framed URL forwarding.Evidence: Cart before login, privacy page and help center (2026-10-16)
  • First-year sale without a codeA .com is $11.28 for the first year (on sale from the $14.98 list price) for any buyer; the cart adds the $0.20 ICANN fee for a total of $11.48.Evidence: Price table, search and cart (2026-10-16)
  • Any nameservers, bulk toolsCustom DNS can point a domain anywhere; bulk actions change nameservers, contacts, auto-renew and privacy for many domains at once, and the domain list exports to CSV.Evidence: Help center articles on Custom DNS and bulk actions (2026-10-16)
Best for
Owners of one or many domains who want privacy, DNS and forwarding included and may host DNS elsewhere.
Good to know
A .com renews at $18.48 plus the $0.20 ICANN fee, above its $14.98 list price for a new registration.

How Namecheap compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Domain registrars: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Namecheap compared with Cloudflare Registrar, Porkbun, Squarespace Domains
MetricNamecheapCloudflare RegistrarPorkbunSquarespace Domains
What you're paying forWorth the priceA low first-year .com with free privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and email and URL forwarding, and the freedom to point it at any nameservers.Worth the priceA .com at the registry’s own price, $10.46 a year for registration and renewal alike, with DNS, DNSSEC and email routing included.Worth the priceAn all-in $11.08 .com that costs the same to register, renew or transfer, with privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and forwarding included.Easy to adoptA domain with privacy, DNSSEC, email aliases and forwarding switched on, managed in a simple dashboard, with no website plan required.
Overall score7.68.6Best8.56.8
Free optionPaid onlyPaid onlyPaid onlyPaid only
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$18.48/yr$10.46/yr$11.08/yr$20/yr
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer domain per yearPer domain per year, at costPer domain per year, all fees includedPer domain per year
.com year 1 / renewal$11.28 (sale, list $14.98) / $18.48, each plus $0.20 ICANN fee$10.46 / $10.46$11.08 / $11.08 (about $11.81 announced from Nov 1, 2026)$10 (first-year discount) / $20
3-year .com cost (scenario)$48.84, computed$31.38, computed$33.24, computed at the prices listed on Oct 16$50, computed
.io and .ai.io $34.98 year 1, renews $75.98; .ai $89.98/yr, 2-year minimum, renews $114.98.io $32 year 1, renews $50; .ai $80/yr, 2-year minimum.io $28.12 year 1, renews $51.80; .ai $82.70/yr, 2-year minimum.io $60 year 1 (list $70); .ai $85, 2-year minimum
ICANN fee$0.20 a year, added in the cartPassed through at cost, not itemisedIncluded in the shown priceNot mentioned; home page says fees are included
Restore (redemption) fee$88.48 for .com including the renewalVaries by TLD; amount not stated$200 plus the renewal (price page)$45 for .com
Grace period after expiryAbout 30 days at the normal renewal price40 days for most TLDs (FAQ)Ends day 35–45 at the normal price; auction possible from about day 2630 days (Squarespace Domains LLC); 40 days for Tucows domains
Refund window (new registration)5 days, at Namecheap’s discretionNone; registrations and renewals are final96 hours with a 5% fee (help center); cart and agreement say no refunds5 days for gTLDs; none for .io
NameserversNamecheap BasicDNS or any external nameserversCloudflare nameservers onlyPorkbun DNS (on Cloudflare) or any external nameserversSquarespace DNS or 2–13 custom nameservers
Email forwardingFree, up to 100 forwards, catch-allFree Email Routing, 200 rulesFree, 20 per domain, no catch-allFree, up to 100 aliases, catch-all
Domain/DNS APIYes, after 20 domains, a $50 balance or $50 spent; IP allowlistRegistrar API (beta) and DNS API; no spend conditionFree; purchases use prepaid credit by defaultReseller API only, for approved resellers
2FASecurity keys and passkeys (FIDO/WebAuthn), authenticator appSecurity keys (WebAuthn), authenticator app, emailSecurity keys and passkeys (WebAuthn), authenticator app, emailPasskeys and hardware keys, authenticator app, SMS in five countries
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Not statedCompany SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022; Registrar not named in the SOC 2 service listNot statedNot stated
Registry lockDomain Vault for .com and some TLDs; price not statedEnterprise only, through salesNot statedNot stated
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Namecheap includes everything most owners need and keeps the cart clean, with a published restore price. Renewals cost more than the first year, the ICANN fee is added on top, and its pages disagree on the new-customer code and on renewal refunds.From its public pages, Cloudflare Registrar has the lowest 3-year .com cost here and the same price every year, with the essentials included. The trade-offs are Cloudflare nameservers only, no refunds and no published restore fee.From its public pages, Porkbun pairs an all-in .com price that does not rise at renewal with free essentials and a capable API. The restore fee is $200, and its refund pages disagree.From its public pages, Squarespace Domains is the most hands-off option here, with protections on by default and a $45 restore fee. A .com renews at $20 after a $10 first year, and bulk tools, DNS export and a customer API are not offered.

Evidence: Namecheap: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Cloudflare Registrar: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Porkbun: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Squarespace Domains: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
5.0 / 10, Fair
.com renewal price shown before the cart; ICANN fee added on top of the shown price; restore fee published; headline .com price needs a code or is for new customers only; new-customer .com code is $6.48 (NEWCOM648) on the domain pages but $6.79 (NEWCOM679) in search; refund policy allows 5-day renewal refunds but also lists renewals as non-refundable
3-year cost of one .com
6.5 / 10, Good
$48.84 over 3 years: $11.28 year 1 + 2 × $18.48 renewal + $0.20 ICANN fee a year; first-year sale any buyer gets without a code (list $14.98); the new-customer promo code is left out; .io $34.98 first year (sale), renews at $75.98; .ai $89.98 a year with a 2-year minimum, renews at $114.98
Renewal-price stability
6.0 / 10, Good
renewal $18.68 vs year 1 $11.48 (1.63×); .com transfer-in $11.48 (sale) and adds a year
Included essentials
10.0 / 10, Excellent
WHOIS privacy free; DNS hosting free, external nameservers allowed; DNSSEC free; email forwarding free; URL forwarding free; transfer lock on by default; free forwarding and one-click DNSSEC need Namecheap DNS; up to 100 email forwards
Checkout and renewal terms
10.0 / 10, Excellent
no paid add-on pre-selected; 1-year term; restore fee $88.48; 30-day grace period; 5-day refund window; free privacy and auto-renew on in the cart; a hosting trial line and nine upsells shown, none selected; restore figure includes the $18.48 renewal
Exit and account control
7.8 / 10, Good
auth code in the dashboard; no transfer-out fee (stated); 60-day registrant-change lock can be waived; no DNS zone export described; domain/DNS API with conditions; security-key 2FA; API needs 20 domains, a $50 balance or $50 spent in 2 years, plus an IPv4 allowlist

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Namecheap's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Namecheap's domain price table, the .com, .io and .ai pages, the transfer and redemption pricing pages, the ICANN fee page, the registration agreement, the refund policy, the data processing addendum and help center articles on privacy, DNS, DNSSEC, forwarding, 2FA, sharing access, bulk actions, the API, renewals, expiry and transferring out on Oct 16, 2026. We ran a domain search and added a .com to the cart without signing in; we did not create an account or pay.

The cart is clear: the .com at $11.28, the $0.20 ICANN fee, free Domain Privacy and auto-renew on, for a subtotal of $11.48. A one-month hosting trial line and nine upsells (email, SSL, PremiumDNS and others) are shown, none of them selected.

Some pages disagree. The new-customer .com code is $6.48 (NEWCOM648) on the domain pages but $6.79 (NEWCOM679) in search. The refund policy allows a 5-day refund on renewals of most TLDs but also lists renewals among non-refundable items. Redemption is shown only as a total with the renewal.

Strengths

  • Free essentials, external DNS allowed

    Privacy, BasicDNS, one-click DNSSEC, email and URL forwarding are free, and you can switch to any nameservers and add DS records for them.

    vs Cloudflare Registrar: Cloudflare Registrar requires Cloudflare nameservers.

  • Restore price published

    The redemption table lists the full restore price per TLD after clicking "Show all TLDs": $88.48 for a .com including the renewal.

    vs GoDaddy: Cloudflare states no restore figure; GoDaddy lists up to $99.99 plus the renewal.

  • A clean cart

    For a plain .com the cart pre-selects only free privacy; the default term is one year and no paid add-on is selected.

  • Security keys and delegated access

    2FA supports hardware keys, biometrics and passkeys as well as authenticator apps, and Share Access can give another account DNS-only rights to a domain.

Things to know

  • Renewal above the first-year price

    A .com renews at $18.48 a year plus the $0.20 ICANN fee, after an $11.28 first year; multi-year renewals are offered at lower "special offer" prices (3 years $49.89).

    Workaround: The .com page lists the multi-year renewal prices, which lower the yearly cost if you renew several years at once.

  • API behind a usage threshold

    API access needs 20 domains, a $50 account balance or $50 spent in the last 2 years, and an IPv4 allowlist; API purchases use the account balance only.

  • No DNS zone export described

    The help center describes a CSV export of the domain list but no export of DNS records; Support can import a zone manually.

    Workaround: With API access, host records can be read through the API.

  • Restore goes through Support

    An expired domain in redemption is restored by adding funds to the account balance and contacting Support.

Pricing reality

Namecheap bills each domain per year and adds the $0.20 ICANN fee on .com in the cart. For our scenario, one .com for 3 years costs $11.28 + 2 × $18.48 + 3 × $0.20 = $48.84 (computed), with privacy, DNS and DNSSEC free. A new customer with the $6.48 code would pay less in year one, but the code is limited to one domain per household and left out of the scenario. .io is $34.98 then $75.98 a year; .ai is $89.98 a year, 2 years at a time, renewing at $114.98. PremiumDNS ($4.88 the first year, then $9.98) is optional. Accounts with 50 or more domains can ask for special pricing.

Exit path

Unlock the domain under Sharing & Transfer and request the auth code, which is emailed to the registrant; Namecheap has 5 days to release it, and bulk transfer-out sends codes for many domains at once. There is no transfer-out fee. The agreement opts you out of the 60-day lock after a registrant change. An expired domain cannot be unlocked in the dashboard. No DNS export is described, so copy your records first.

Compared with

  • Pick Namecheap when
    You want a lower restore cost ($88.48 including renewal vs $200 plus renewal), a 5-day refund window and 100 email forwards.
    Pick Porkbun when
    You want a .com that renews at the same $11.08 it costs to register, with the ICANN fee included.
  • Pick Namecheap when
    You want to use external nameservers and have a refund window for new registrations.
    Pick Cloudflare Registrar when
    You want the lowest renewal ($10.46) and DNS, DNSSEC and email routing on Cloudflare.
  • Pick Namecheap when
    You want free email forwarding, a lower restore price and a one-year first purchase.
    Pick GoDaddy when
    You want BIND zone export, ISO 27001 for the registrar platform and a 45-day refund on one-year auto-renewals.

Choose it if

  • You want privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and forwarding included and the option of external nameservers.
  • You manage many domains and want bulk actions and a CSV export of the list.
  • You want a published restore price and a refund window for new registrations.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want the renewal to cost the same as the first year.
  • You need an API without a balance or domain-count condition.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Namecheap includes everything most owners need and keeps the cart clean, with a published restore price. Renewals cost more than the first year, the ICANN fee is added on top, and its pages disagree on the new-customer code and on renewal refunds.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer domain per year
.com year 1 / renewal$11.28 (sale, list $14.98) / $18.48, each plus $0.20 ICANN fee
3-year .com cost (scenario)$48.84, computed
.io and .ai.io $34.98 year 1, renews $75.98; .ai $89.98/yr, 2-year minimum, renews $114.98
ICANN fee$0.20 a year, added in the cart
Restore (redemption) fee$88.48 for .com including the renewal
Grace period after expiryAbout 30 days at the normal renewal price
Refund window (new registration)5 days, at Namecheap’s discretion
NameserversNamecheap BasicDNS or any external nameservers
Email forwardingFree, up to 100 forwards, catch-all
Domain/DNS APIYes, after 20 domains, a $50 balance or $50 spent; IP allowlist
2FASecurity keys and passkeys (FIDO/WebAuthn), authenticator app
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Not stated
Registry lockDomain Vault for .com and some TLDs; price not stated

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Namecheap lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, .com renewal (yearly list price, plus $0.20 ICANN fee), costs $18.48/yr.

  • Namecheap
    .com
    $11.28first year
    First-year sale (list $14.98); renews at $18.48; $0.20 ICANN fee added each year
    • Free WHOIS privacy, on by default
    • BasicDNS with one-click DNSSEC
    • Up to 100 email forwards and URL forwarding
    • Auto-renew on in the cart
  • Namecheap
    .io
    $34.98first year
    Sale (list $65.98); renews at $75.98 a year
  • Namecheap
    .ai
    $179.96for 2 years
    $89.98 a year with a 2-year minimum; renews at $114.98 a year
  • Namecheap
    PremiumDNS (optional)
    $4.88first year
    Renews at $9.98 a year; not needed for DNS or DNSSEC

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: namecheap.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site