Cloudflare Registrar review

by Cloudflare, Inc.Domain registrars

At-cost domain registration: a .com is $10.46 to register and to renew, with free WHOIS redaction, DNS, DNSSEC and email routing, on Cloudflare nameservers.

Facts checked
  • Paid only
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Saves engineering time

A .com at the registry’s own price, $10.46 a year for registration and renewal alike, with DNS, DNSSEC and email routing included.

Cloudflare charges what the registry and ICANN charge it, so the first-year price is also the renewal price and there is no promotion to expire. The domain comes with Cloudflare DNS, one-click DNSSEC, WHOIS redaction, Email Routing and redirects at no charge, on any plan including Free. It suits teams that already run DNS on Cloudflare, or want to, and would rather not manage a separate registrar account.

  • One price for registration and renewalThe public search shows a .com at $10.46 and "Renews at $10.46/year"; the domains page says registration, transfer and renewal prices are at or below what registries and ICANN charge, with no hidden fees or required add-ons.Evidence: Domain search and domains page (2026-10-16)
  • DNS, DNSSEC and email routing built inEvery domain uses Cloudflare DNS; DNSSEC is one click and Cloudflare publishes the DS records itself; Email Routing (up to 200 rules) and redirects are on every plan.Evidence: Registrar, DNSSEC and Email Routing docs (2026-10-16)
  • Self-serve exit and an APIThe auth code is shown in the dashboard after unlocking; DNS records export as a zone file; the Registrar API (beta) and the DNS API need an API token, a payment method and a default contact, with no spend or balance condition.Evidence: Transfer-out, import-and-export and Registrar API docs (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams that run, or are happy to run, their DNS on Cloudflare and want a .com that costs the same every year.
Good to know
Domains must use Cloudflare nameservers; to use another DNS provider you transfer the domain away.

How Cloudflare Registrar compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Domain registrars: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Cloudflare Registrar compared with Porkbun, Namecheap, Squarespace Domains
MetricCloudflare RegistrarPorkbunNamecheapSquarespace Domains
What you're paying forWorth the priceA .com at the registry’s own price, $10.46 a year for registration and renewal alike, with DNS, DNSSEC and email routing included.Worth the priceAn all-in $11.08 .com that costs the same to register, renew or transfer, with privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and forwarding included.Worth the priceA low first-year .com with free privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and email and URL forwarding, and the freedom to point it at any nameservers.Easy to adoptA domain with privacy, DNSSEC, email aliases and forwarding switched on, managed in a simple dashboard, with no website plan required.
Overall score8.6Best8.57.66.8
Free optionPaid onlyPaid onlyPaid onlyPaid only
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$10.46/yr$11.08/yr$18.48/yr$20/yr
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer domain per year, at costPer domain per year, all fees includedPer domain per yearPer domain per year
.com year 1 / renewal$10.46 / $10.46$11.08 / $11.08 (about $11.81 announced from Nov 1, 2026)$11.28 (sale, list $14.98) / $18.48, each plus $0.20 ICANN fee$10 (first-year discount) / $20
3-year .com cost (scenario)$31.38, computed$33.24, computed at the prices listed on Oct 16$48.84, computed$50, computed
.io and .ai.io $32 year 1, renews $50; .ai $80/yr, 2-year minimum.io $28.12 year 1, renews $51.80; .ai $82.70/yr, 2-year minimum.io $34.98 year 1, renews $75.98; .ai $89.98/yr, 2-year minimum, renews $114.98.io $60 year 1 (list $70); .ai $85, 2-year minimum
ICANN feePassed through at cost, not itemisedIncluded in the shown price$0.20 a year, added in the cartNot mentioned; home page says fees are included
Restore (redemption) feeVaries by TLD; amount not stated$200 plus the renewal (price page)$88.48 for .com including the renewal$45 for .com
Grace period after expiry40 days for most TLDs (FAQ)Ends day 35–45 at the normal price; auction possible from about day 26About 30 days at the normal renewal price30 days (Squarespace Domains LLC); 40 days for Tucows domains
Refund window (new registration)None; registrations and renewals are final96 hours with a 5% fee (help center); cart and agreement say no refunds5 days, at Namecheap’s discretion5 days for gTLDs; none for .io
NameserversCloudflare nameservers onlyPorkbun DNS (on Cloudflare) or any external nameserversNamecheap BasicDNS or any external nameserversSquarespace DNS or 2–13 custom nameservers
Email forwardingFree Email Routing, 200 rulesFree, 20 per domain, no catch-allFree, up to 100 forwards, catch-allFree, up to 100 aliases, catch-all
Domain/DNS APIRegistrar API (beta) and DNS API; no spend conditionFree; purchases use prepaid credit by defaultYes, after 20 domains, a $50 balance or $50 spent; IP allowlistReseller API only, for approved resellers
2FASecurity keys (WebAuthn), authenticator app, emailSecurity keys and passkeys (WebAuthn), authenticator app, emailSecurity keys and passkeys (FIDO/WebAuthn), authenticator appPasskeys and hardware keys, authenticator app, SMS in five countries
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Company SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022; Registrar not named in the SOC 2 service listNot statedNot statedNot stated
Registry lockEnterprise only, through salesNot statedDomain Vault for .com and some TLDs; price not statedNot stated
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Cloudflare Registrar has the lowest 3-year .com cost here and the same price every year, with the essentials included. The trade-offs are Cloudflare nameservers only, no refunds and no published restore fee.From its public pages, Porkbun pairs an all-in .com price that does not rise at renewal with free essentials and a capable API. The restore fee is $200, and its refund pages disagree.From its public pages, Namecheap includes everything most owners need and keeps the cart clean, with a published restore price. Renewals cost more than the first year, the ICANN fee is added on top, and its pages disagree on the new-customer code and on renewal refunds.From its public pages, Squarespace Domains is the most hands-off option here, with protections on by default and a $45 restore fee. A .com renews at $20 after a $10 first year, and bulk tools, DNS export and a customer API are not offered.

Evidence: Cloudflare Registrar: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Porkbun: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Namecheap: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Squarespace Domains: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
7.0 / 10, Good
.com renewal price shown before the cart; no ICANN or other fee added on top of the shown price; restore fee amount not stated; transfer-in price not shown on a public page; FAQ gives a 40-day grace period, the renewal page a 30-day redemption period right after expiry
3-year cost of one .com
9.7 / 10, Excellent
$31.38 over 3 years: $10.46 year 1 + 2 × $10.46 renewal; at-cost list price, the same for registration and renewal; Cloudflare says registry and ICANN charges are passed through with no added fees; .io $32 first year, renews at $50; .ai $80 a year with a 2-year minimum ($160 up front)
Renewal-price stability
10.0 / 10, Excellent
renewal $10.46 vs year 1 $10.46 (1.00×); a .com transfer-in is charged as one year at cost and adds a year (transfer price not shown publicly)
Included essentials
9.0 / 10, Excellent
WHOIS privacy free; DNS hosting free, own nameservers only; DNSSEC free; email forwarding free; URL forwarding free; transfer lock on by default; WHOIS redaction where the registry allows it; Email Routing up to 200 rules
Checkout and renewal terms
7.0 / 10, Good
cart not observed; default term not stated; restore fee not stated; 40-day grace period; no refunds; checkout runs inside the dashboard; the domains page promises no hidden fees or required add-ons
Exit and account control
9.0 / 10, Excellent
auth code in the dashboard; no transfer-out fee listed; 60-day registrant-change lock can be waived; DNS zone export; domain/DNS API; security-key 2FA; Registrar API in beta; renewals through it not yet available

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Cloudflare Registrar's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Cloudflare's domains page, the public domain search (prices in USD), the Registrar docs and FAQ, the Domain Registration Agreement (effective Aug 20, 2026), the docs on WHOIS redaction, DNSSEC, Email Routing, redirects, 2FA, member roles, DNS import and export and transferring out, the Registrar API guide and reference, and the trust hub on Oct 16, 2026. We did not create an account or buy a domain; checkout runs inside the dashboard, so the cart was not visible to us.

The price model is the simplest in this category: a .com is $10.46 to register and $10.46 to renew, and Cloudflare says it passes registry and ICANN charges through with no markup. .io shows $32 for the first year with $50 struck through, and .ai is $80 a year with the registry's 2-year minimum.

A few things are not on the public pages. The transfer-in price is not shown, only that a transfer is charged as one year at cost and adds a year. The restore fee for an expired domain "varies depending on the TLD" with no figure. The FAQ describes a 40-day grace period while the renewal page says expiry leads to a 30-day redemption period, and the API guide and API reference differ on which TLDs and transfers the API supports.

Strengths

  • No first-year discount to expire

    Registration and renewal are the same at-cost price, $10.46 for a .com, so the second-year bill matches the first.

    vs Namecheap: Namecheap renews a .com at $18.48 after an $11.28 first year; Squarespace at $20 after $10.

  • Essentials included on the Free plan

    DNS, one-click DNSSEC, WHOIS redaction, Email Routing with catch-all, redirects and the transfer lock come with every domain at no charge.

  • Self-serve exit

    The auth code is shown in the dashboard after unlocking, the 60-day lock after a registrant change can be declined, and DNS records export as a zone file.

    Compared: Squarespace Domains describes no DNS export and suggests a screenshot of your records before a transfer.

  • Security keys and SSO for the account

    Two-factor authentication supports security keys and built-in authenticators as well as authenticator apps; dashboard SSO is available on all plans, and the audit log keeps 18 months.

Things to know

  • Cloudflare nameservers only

    The FAQ and the registration agreement say domains registered here must use Cloudflare nameservers; to change nameservers you transfer the domain to another registrar.

    Workaround: Records can still point anywhere, and subdomains can be delegated to other nameservers.

  • No refunds

    The FAQ and the agreement say registration, renewal and restore fees are non-refundable; a domain deleted within 5 days is released without a refund.

    Workaround: Auto-renew can be turned off per domain before the charge, which is made about 30 days before expiry.

  • Restore fee and transfer-in price not published

    The restore fee for an expired domain varies by TLD with no figure, and the transfer-in price is not shown on a public page.

  • Registry lock is Enterprise only

    Custom Domain Protection (registry lock) is offered through the Enterprise account team, and the agreement allows a much higher price if the Enterprise agreement ends.

Pricing reality

Cloudflare bills each domain per year at the registry and ICANN price. For our scenario, one .com for 3 years costs 3 × $10.46 = $31.38 (computed), with no ICANN fee on top and nothing extra for privacy, DNS or DNSSEC. .io is $32 for the first year and $50 after; .ai is $80 a year, paid 2 years at a time. Prices follow the registry, so they move when the registry changes its price. Custom-branded nameservers need the Business plan ($200 a month billed annually), and registry lock is sold through Enterprise. Tax may be added by billing address.

Exit path

Unlock the domain in the dashboard and copy the auth code; a pending transfer is approved automatically on day 5 if you do nothing. Transfers out are blocked for 60 days after registration or a transfer in. DNS records export from the dashboard or the API as a zone file. The pages do not say what happens to the DNS zone, redirects or Email Routing after the domain leaves, so recreate them at the new provider first.

Compared with

  • Pick Cloudflare Registrar when
    You want DNS, DNSSEC and email routing on Cloudflare itself and an API with no prepaid-credit step.
    Pick Porkbun when
    You want to use any nameservers you like, a published restore fee and a refund window in the help center.
  • Pick Cloudflare Registrar when
    You want the renewal to cost the same as the first year ($10.46 vs $18.48 plus the ICANN fee).
    Pick Namecheap when
    You want external nameservers, a 5-day refund window and a published restore price.

Choose it if

  • You already use Cloudflare DNS or plan to.
  • You want the .com renewal to cost the same as the first year.
  • You want DNSSEC, email routing and redirects without extra services.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need to use another DNS provider’s nameservers.
  • You want a refund window for a mistyped registration.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Cloudflare Registrar has the lowest 3-year .com cost here and the same price every year, with the essentials included. The trade-offs are Cloudflare nameservers only, no refunds and no published restore fee.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer domain per year, at cost
.com year 1 / renewal$10.46 / $10.46
3-year .com cost (scenario)$31.38, computed
.io and .ai.io $32 year 1, renews $50; .ai $80/yr, 2-year minimum
ICANN feePassed through at cost, not itemised
Restore (redemption) feeVaries by TLD; amount not stated
Grace period after expiry40 days for most TLDs (FAQ)
Refund window (new registration)None; registrations and renewals are final
NameserversCloudflare nameservers only
Email forwardingFree Email Routing, 200 rules
Domain/DNS APIRegistrar API (beta) and DNS API; no spend condition
2FASecurity keys (WebAuthn), authenticator app, email
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Company SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022; Registrar not named in the SOC 2 service list
Registry lockEnterprise only, through sales

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Cloudflare Registrar lists 3 plans. The cheapest paid plan, .com renewal (yearly list price), costs $10.46/yr.

  • Cloudflare Registrar
    .com
    $10.46/yr
    Registration and renewal at the same at-cost price
    • WHOIS redaction, DNS and DNSSEC included
    • Email Routing and redirects included
    • Transfer lock on by default
    • Auto-renew on by default
  • Cloudflare Registrar
    .io
    $32first year
    Renews at $50 a year
  • Cloudflare Registrar
    .ai
    $160for 2 years
    $80 a year; the registry requires a 2-year minimum

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: cloudflare.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site