An all-in $11.08 .com that costs the same to register, renew or transfer, with privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and forwarding included.
Porkbun’s table shows every fee, the ICANN fee included, and marks the .com "At Cost", with no first-year discount that later doubles. Privacy, DNS on Cloudflare’s network, one-click DNSSEC, email and URL forwarding and free SSL come with the domain, and you can use other nameservers. A free API registers, renews and manages DNS. It suits individuals and small teams who want a low, steady yearly bill and a few developer conveniences.
Same price every yearThe price table lists a .com at $11.08 for registration, renewal and transfer, and says all prices include ICANN and any other fees; the cart shows "Hidden Fees none" and a total of $11.08.Evidence: Price table and cart before login (2026-10-16)
Essentials included, any nameserversWHOIS privacy is on by default, DNS (up to 200 records) runs on Cloudflare, DNSSEC is a toggle, URL forwarding supports HTTPS, and external nameservers and DS records can be set.Evidence: Privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and URL forwarding pages (2026-10-16)
A free API with scoped keysThe documented REST API registers, renews and transfers domains and manages DNS and DNSSEC; keys can be limited by IP, domain and permission, and a free sandbox key is offered.Evidence: API documentation (2026-10-16)
Best for
Individuals and small teams who want a low .com price that does not jump at renewal, and an API.
Good to know
The restore fee for an expired domain is $200 plus the renewal, and the refund pages disagree.
How Porkbun compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Domain registrars: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Porkbun compared with Cloudflare Registrar, Namecheap, Squarespace Domains
Security keys and passkeys (FIDO/WebAuthn), authenticator app
Passkeys and hardware keys, authenticator app, SMS in five countries
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Not stated
Company SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022; Registrar not named in the SOC 2 service list
Not stated
Not stated
Registry lock
Not stated
Enterprise only, through sales
Domain Vault for .com and some TLDs; price not stated
Not stated
Bottom line
From its public pages, Porkbun pairs an all-in .com price that does not rise at renewal with free essentials and a capable API. The restore fee is $200, and its refund pages disagree.
From its public pages, Cloudflare Registrar has the lowest 3-year .com cost here and the same price every year, with the essentials included. The trade-offs are Cloudflare nameservers only, no refunds and no published restore fee.
From its public pages, Namecheap includes everything most owners need and keeps the cart clean, with a published restore price. Renewals cost more than the first year, the ICANN fee is added on top, and its pages disagree on the new-customer code and on renewal refunds.
From its public pages, Squarespace Domains is the most hands-off option here, with protections on by default and a $45 restore fee. A .com renews at $20 after a $10 first year, and bulk tools, DNS export and a customer API are not offered.
Evidence: Porkbun: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Cloudflare Registrar: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Namecheap: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Squarespace Domains: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
.com renewal price shown before the cart; no ICANN or other fee added on top of the shown price; restore fee published; restore fee is $200 on the price page but "varies by the registry" in the help center; refunds: help center gives 96 hours with a 5% fee, the cart says no refunds, the agreement says fees are non-refundable; header still links a ".COM SALE!" page for a sale that ended Dec 31, 2024
3-year cost of one .com
9.3 / 10, Excellent
$33.24 over 3 years: $11.08 year 1 + 2 × $11.08 renewal; everyday price, the same for registration, renewal and transfer, ICANN fee included; Porkbun has announced a rise to about $11.81 on Nov 1, 2026, after the date read; .io $28.12 first-year sale, renews at $51.80; .ai $82.70 a year with a 2-year minimum
Renewal-price stability
10.0 / 10, Excellent
renewal $11.08 vs year 1 $11.08 (1.00×); .com transfer-in $11.08 and adds a year
Included essentials
10.0 / 10, Excellent
WHOIS privacy free; DNS hosting free, external nameservers allowed; DNSSEC free; email forwarding free; URL forwarding free; transfer lock on by default; 20 email forwards, no catch-all; domains registered through the API transfer-locked at the registry only since API v3.23, per Porkbun’s changelog
Checkout and renewal terms
8.0 / 10, Excellent
no paid add-on pre-selected; 1-year term; restore fee $200; 35-day grace period; 4-day refund window; free Link-in-Bio page and web and email hosting trials bundled; grace ends day 35-45 and the domain may be listed for auction from about day 26
Exit and account control
6.8 / 10, Good
auth code in the dashboard; no transfer-out fee listed; 60-day registrant-change lock can be waived; no DNS zone export described; domain/DNS API with conditions; security-key 2FA; API purchases spend prepaid credit by default, up to $100 a month unless raised and $100 per registration
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Porkbun's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Porkbun's domain price table, the .com, .io and .ai TLD pages, the transfer page, the product pages for WHOIS privacy, DNS, email and URL forwarding, the security page, the registration agreement (effective March 17, 2025), the data processing addendum, knowledge base articles on privacy, DNSSEC, refunds, expiry, auto-renew, subaccounts, bulk actions and transferring out, and the API documentation and changelog on Oct 16, 2026. We added a .com to the cart without signing in; we did not create an account or pay.
The cart matches the table: $11.08, "Hidden Fees none", a one-year term, and free Link-in-Bio, web hosting and email hosting trials bundled with the domain. Upsells (a .net, email and web hosting) are offered but not selected.
Three points need care. The refund rules differ by page: the help center offers 96 hours with a 5% fee, the cart says "NO REFUNDS / NO EXCEPTIONS", and the agreement says fees are non-refundable. The restore fee is $200 on the price page but "varies by the registry" in the help center. And Porkbun's own API changelog says domains registered through the API were only transfer-locked at the registry after a recent fix.
Strengths
No renewal jump on .com
Register, renew and transfer are all $11.08, ICANN fee included, so a 3-year .com is $33.24 at the listed price.
vs Namecheap: Squarespace Domains renews at $20 after a $10 first year; Namecheap at $18.48 plus the ICANN fee.
Essentials included, external DNS allowed
Privacy, DNS, DNSSEC, email and URL forwarding and SSL are free, and you can switch to any nameservers.
vs Cloudflare Registrar: Cloudflare Registrar requires Cloudflare nameservers.
Developer-friendly API
A free REST API covers registration, renewal, transfer-in and full DNS and DNSSEC management, with per-key IP, domain and permission scoping.
Account security
2FA supports WebAuthn security keys and passkeys and authenticator apps, with passwordless passkey login; authorized users cannot unlock domains or fetch auth codes.
Things to know
Restore fee of $200
The price page lists a $200 restore fee in addition to the renewal price; the help center says the fee varies by registry.
Workaround: Auto-renew is on by default, and the domain renews at the normal price until the grace period ends on day 35–45.
Refund rules differ by page
The help center offers deletion with a refund within 96 hours (5% fee, some TLDs excluded); the cart and the agreement say there are no refunds.
API purchases use prepaid credit by default
API purchases spend prepaid account credit by default (a one-off card hold through a Stripe Link agent wallet is the alternative), need a verified email and phone, and are capped at $100 per registration and $100 a month until you change the limit.
No zone file export described
The pages describe a CSV export of the domain list but no DNS zone file export; records can be read through the API.
Pricing reality
Porkbun bills each domain per year and includes the ICANN fee in the shown price. For our scenario, one .com for 3 years costs 3 × $11.08 = $33.24 (computed) at the prices listed on Oct 16, 2026; Porkbun has announced that the .com price rises to about $11.81 on Nov 1, 2026, which would make later renewals about $0.73 a year higher. .io is $28.12 in the first year and $51.80 after; .ai is $82.70 a year, 2 years at a time. Email forwards beyond 20 cost $3 each a year, and email hosting is $36 a year. An ACH-only account can save over 3%.
Exit path
Unlock the domain with the lock icon and choose "Get Authorization Code"; you can approve the transfer out to skip the 5-day wait, and a bulk CSV export can include auth codes. No transfer-out fee is listed. The agreement opts you out of the 60-day lock after a registrant change, except for marketplace purchases. No DNS zone export is described, so copy records through the API or by hand.
You want the same .com price every year with the ICANN fee included.
Pick Namecheap when
You want a lower restore price ($88.48 including renewal), 100 email forwards and a catch-all.
Choose it if
You want a .com that renews at the price you registered it for.
You want to keep DNS elsewhere or use Porkbun’s free DNS with DNSSEC.
You want a free API to register and manage domains.
Look elsewhere if
You need catch-all email forwarding.
You want one clear refund rule for new registrations.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Porkbun pairs an all-in .com price that does not rise at renewal with free essentials and a capable API. The restore fee is $200, and its refund pages disagree.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per domain per year, all fees included
.com year 1 / renewal
$11.08 / $11.08 (about $11.81 announced from Nov 1, 2026)
3-year .com cost (scenario)
$33.24, computed at the prices listed on Oct 16
.io and .ai
.io $28.12 year 1, renews $51.80; .ai $82.70/yr, 2-year minimum
ICANN fee
Included in the shown price
Restore (redemption) fee
$200 plus the renewal (price page)
Grace period after expiry
Ends day 35–45 at the normal price; auction possible from about day 26
Refund window (new registration)
96 hours with a 5% fee (help center); cart and agreement say no refunds
Nameservers
Porkbun DNS (on Cloudflare) or any external nameservers
Email forwarding
Free, 20 per domain, no catch-all
Domain/DNS API
Free; purchases use prepaid credit by default
2FA
Security keys and passkeys (WebAuthn), authenticator app, email
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Not stated
Registry lock
Not stated
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Porkbun yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Porkbun yet.
Porkbun lists 3 plans. The cheapest paid plan, .com renewal (yearly list price), costs $11.08/yr.
PBPorkbun
.com
$11.08/yr
Register, renew or transfer; ICANN fee included; about $11.81 announced from Nov 1, 2026
Free WHOIS privacy, on by default
DNS with up to 200 records and one-click DNSSEC
20 email forwards and URL forwarding
Free Let’s Encrypt SSL
PBPorkbun
.io
$28.12first year
1st-year sale (list $51.80); renews at $51.80 a year
PBPorkbun
.ai
$165.40for 2 years
$82.70 a year with a 2-year minimum
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: porkbun.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.
We read the price tables, carts, agreements, help centers and developer pages of three domain registrars on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What a .com costs over 3 years, how renewals compare with the first year, what is included, and who should pick which.