Domain registrars · Comparison
Porkbun vs Squarespace Domains
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Porkbun | Squarespace Domains |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceAn all-in $11.08 .com that costs the same to register, renew or transfer, with privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and forwarding included. | Easy to adoptA domain with privacy, DNSSEC, email aliases and forwarding switched on, managed in a simple dashboard, with no website plan required. |
| Overall score | 8.5Best | 6.8 |
| Free option | Paid only | Paid only |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $11.08/yr | $20/yr |
| Pricing model | Usage-based | Usage-based |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Per domain per year, all fees included | Per domain per year |
| .com year 1 / renewal | $11.08 / $11.08 (about $11.81 announced from Nov 1, 2026) | $10 (first-year discount) / $20 |
| 3-year .com cost (scenario) | $33.24, computed at the prices listed on Oct 16 | $50, computed |
| .io and .ai | .io $28.12 year 1, renews $51.80; .ai $82.70/yr, 2-year minimum | .io $60 year 1 (list $70); .ai $85, 2-year minimum |
| ICANN fee | Included in the shown price | Not mentioned; home page says fees are included |
| Restore (redemption) fee | $200 plus the renewal (price page) | $45 for .com |
| Grace period after expiry | Ends day 35–45 at the normal price; auction possible from about day 26 | 30 days (Squarespace Domains LLC); 40 days for Tucows domains |
| Refund window (new registration) | 96 hours with a 5% fee (help center); cart and agreement say no refunds | 5 days for gTLDs; none for .io |
| Nameservers | Porkbun DNS (on Cloudflare) or any external nameservers | Squarespace DNS or 2–13 custom nameservers |
| Email forwarding | Free, 20 per domain, no catch-all | Free, up to 100 aliases, catch-all |
| Domain/DNS API | Free; purchases use prepaid credit by default | Reseller API only, for approved resellers |
| 2FA | Security keys and passkeys (WebAuthn), authenticator app, email | Passkeys and hardware keys, authenticator app, SMS in five countries |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Registry lock | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Porkbun pairs an all-in .com price that does not rise at renewal with free essentials and a capable API. The restore fee is $200, and its refund pages disagree. | From its public pages, Squarespace Domains is the most hands-off option here, with protections on by default and a $45 restore fee. A .com renews at $20 after a $10 first year, and bulk tools, DNS export and a customer API are not offered. |
Evidence: Porkbun: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Squarespace Domains: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- Porkbun.com$11.08/yrRegister, renew or transfer; ICANN fee included; about $11.81 announced from Nov 1, 2026
- Free WHOIS privacy, on by default
- DNS with up to 200 records and one-click DNSSEC
- 20 email forwards and URL forwarding
- Free Let’s Encrypt SSL
- Squarespace Domains.com$10first yearFirst-year discount (list $20); renews at $20 a year
- Free domain privacy
- DNSSEC on automatically
- Up to 100 email aliases with catch-all
- URL forwarding with SSL
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Porkbun 2026-10-16, Squarespace Domains 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- PorkbunSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (8.5/10).
- Lowest starter price
- Porkbun$11.08/yr for the .com renewal (yearly list price) plan.
- Highest overall score
- Porkbun8.5/10 (Excellent). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Domain registrars
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.