GoDaddy review

by GoDaddy.com, LLCDomain registrars

A large registrar with free privacy, DNS and URL forwarding: a .com is $0.01 for year one with a 3-year purchase, then $22.99 a year, plus the $0.20 ICANN fee.

Facts checked
  • Paid only
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Easy to adopt (main value)
  • Compliance included

Free privacy and DNS on an ISO 27001-certified registrar platform, from a large provider, with self-serve auth codes and BIND zone export.

GoDaddy sells domains on their own or with its hosting and website plans, with free privacy, DNS with up to 500 records, URL forwarding with HTTPS, and DNSSEC for the first five domains. Its registrar and DNS platform holds an ISO 27001:2022 certificate, auth codes and BIND zone files are self-serve, and a Domains API is documented. It suits buyers who want one large provider for the domain and the services around it, and who will compare the renewal price, not the first-year offer.

  • ISO 27001 for the registrar platformThe trust center says the domain registrar and registry service is ISO 27001:2022 certified; the certificate (Schellman, expires Dec 18, 2027) covers the GoDaddy Domain Registrar platform and DNS services.Evidence: Trust center compliance page (Archive copy, re-checked live) and certificate PDF (2026-10-16)
  • Self-serve exit toolsThe auth code is shown in the dashboard and emailed to the registrant; zone files export in BIND format; the domain list exports as CSV with auth codes.Evidence: Help center articles (Archive copies, re-checked live) (2026-10-16)
  • Privacy, DNS and forwarding includedFree privacy through Domains By Proxy (.com, .io and .ai eligible), DNS with up to 500 records, and 301, 302 or masked forwarding with HTTPS at no extra cost.Evidence: Domains page and help center (Archive copies, re-checked live) (2026-10-16)
Best for
Buyers who want domains, DNS and other web services from one large provider with a certified registrar platform.
Good to know
The advertised .com price is for the first year of a 3-year purchase; later years are $22.99 plus the $0.20 ICANN fee.

How GoDaddy compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Domain registrars: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

GoDaddy compared with Cloudflare Registrar, Porkbun, Namecheap
MetricGoDaddyCloudflare RegistrarPorkbunNamecheap
What you're paying forEasy to adoptFree privacy and DNS on an ISO 27001-certified registrar platform, from a large provider, with self-serve auth codes and BIND zone export.Worth the priceA .com at the registry’s own price, $10.46 a year for registration and renewal alike, with DNS, DNSSEC and email routing included.Worth the priceAn all-in $11.08 .com that costs the same to register, renew or transfer, with privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and forwarding included.Worth the priceA low first-year .com with free privacy, DNS, DNSSEC and email and URL forwarding, and the freedom to point it at any nameservers.
Overall score5.58.6Best8.57.6
Free optionPaid onlyPaid onlyPaid onlyPaid only
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$22.99/yr$10.46/yr$11.08/yr$18.48/yr
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer domain per yearPer domain per year, at costPer domain per year, all fees includedPer domain per year
.com year 1 / renewal$0.01 with a 3-year purchase / $22.99, each plus $0.20 ICANN fee$10.46 / $10.46$11.08 / $11.08 (about $11.81 announced from Nov 1, 2026)$11.28 (sale, list $14.98) / $18.48, each plus $0.20 ICANN fee
3-year .com cost (scenario)$46.59, computed$31.38, computed$33.24, computed at the prices listed on Oct 16$48.84, computed
.io and .ai.io $0.01 year 1 (3-year purchase), renews $89.99; .ai $49.99 year 1 (2-year purchase), renews $159.99.io $32 year 1, renews $50; .ai $80/yr, 2-year minimum.io $28.12 year 1, renews $51.80; .ai $82.70/yr, 2-year minimum.io $34.98 year 1, renews $75.98; .ai $89.98/yr, 2-year minimum, renews $114.98
ICANN fee$0.20 a year, added at checkoutPassed through at cost, not itemisedIncluded in the shown price$0.20 a year, added in the cart
Restore (redemption) feeUp to $99.99 for .com, plus the renewalVaries by TLD; amount not stated$200 plus the renewal (price page)$88.48 for .com including the renewal
Grace period after expiry12 days at the normal renewal price40 days for most TLDs (FAQ)Ends day 35–45 at the normal price; auction possible from about day 26About 30 days at the normal renewal price
Refund window (new registration)5 days; 45 days for a 1-year auto-renewalNone; registrations and renewals are final96 hours with a 5% fee (help center); cart and agreement say no refunds5 days, at Namecheap’s discretion
NameserversGoDaddy DNS or any external nameserversCloudflare nameservers onlyPorkbun DNS (on Cloudflare) or any external nameserversNamecheap BasicDNS or any external nameservers
Email forwardingSeparate paid product; price not statedFree Email Routing, 200 rulesFree, 20 per domain, no catch-allFree, up to 100 forwards, catch-all
Domain/DNS APIDomains API v3; help center adds conditions for availability checksRegistrar API (beta) and DNS API; no spend conditionFree; purchases use prepaid credit by defaultYes, after 20 domains, a $50 balance or $50 spent; IP allowlist
2FAPasskeys and FIDO U2F security keys, authenticator app, SMSSecurity keys (WebAuthn), authenticator app, emailSecurity keys and passkeys (WebAuthn), authenticator app, emailSecurity keys and passkeys (FIDO/WebAuthn), authenticator app
SOC 2 / ISO 27001ISO 27001:2022 for the registrar and DNS platform; SOC 2 not statedCompany SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022; Registrar not named in the SOC 2 service listNot statedNot stated
Registry lockNot offered as a product on the pages readEnterprise only, through salesNot statedDomain Vault for .com and some TLDs; price not stated
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, GoDaddy offers a certified registrar platform, free privacy and DNS, and good exit tools. Its first-year offers are well below the $22.99 renewal, the ICANN fee is added on top, and the grace period at the normal price is short.From its public pages, Cloudflare Registrar has the lowest 3-year .com cost here and the same price every year, with the essentials included. The trade-offs are Cloudflare nameservers only, no refunds and no published restore fee.From its public pages, Porkbun pairs an all-in .com price that does not rise at renewal with free essentials and a capable API. The restore fee is $200, and its refund pages disagree.From its public pages, Namecheap includes everything most owners need and keeps the cart clean, with a published restore price. Renewals cost more than the first year, the ICANN fee is added on top, and its pages disagree on the new-customer code and on renewal refunds.

Evidence: GoDaddy: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Cloudflare Registrar: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Porkbun: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Namecheap: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
2.0 / 10, Fair
.com renewal price shown before the cart; ICANN fee added on top of the shown price; restore fee published; headline .com price needs a code or is for new customers only; first-year prices differ by page: .com $0.01 with 3 years vs $12.99 "Regular Price", .io $0.01 vs $59.99; registration agreement says renewals are non-refundable, while the refund policy allows 45 days on a 1-year auto-renewal; redemption fee starts 18 days after expiry in one help article, 12 days in another; transfer page says .ai transfers include no added year, while help says they add 2 years; Discount Domain Club Domain Pro card gives .com as "regularly $10.49", the price table as $10.99 to renew
3-year cost of one .com
6.8 / 10, Good
$46.59 over 3 years: $0.01 year 1 + 2 × $22.99 renewal + $0.20 ICANN fee a year; .com page price: $0.01 for year 1 with a required 3-year purchase, no code (list $22.99); the fee table puts the ICANN fee at $0.20, and the .com page says prices exclude it; assumes the offer is open to any buyer, as the .com page states no new-customer limit (the transfer page limits its matching $0.01 offer to new customers and one domain); .io $0.01 year 1 with a 3-year purchase, then $89.99; .ai $49.99 year 1 with a 2-year purchase, then $159.99
Renewal-price stability
0.0 / 10, Fair
renewal $23.19 vs year 1 $0.21 (more than 100×); .com transfer-in $0.01 for year 1 with a 3-year purchase (new customers, one domain), otherwise $12.99, and adds a year
Included essentials
9.0 / 10, Excellent
WHOIS privacy free; DNS hosting free, external nameservers allowed; DNSSEC free; email forwarding paid; URL forwarding free; transfer lock on by default; DNSSEC free for the first 5 domains in an account, then Premium DNS; email forwarding sold separately, price not stated; URL forwarding moves the domain to GoDaddy nameservers
Checkout and renewal terms
7.0 / 10, Good
cart not observed; 3-year term; restore fee $99.99; 12-day grace period; 5-day refund window; domain search and cart blocked from our location; the advertised .com price requires a 3-year purchase; the fee table gives $99.99 as the highest .com redemption fee, on top of the renewal
Exit and account control
8.3 / 10, Excellent
auth code in the dashboard; no transfer-out fee listed; 60-day registrant-change lock can be waived; DNS zone export; domain/DNS API with conditions; security-key 2FA; help center requires 50 domains or $20 a month in spend for availability checks, while the developer docs list no such condition; paid Ultimate Domain Protection blocks transfers until downgraded

Review

Review from public pages

Written from GoDaddy's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

Every www.godaddy.com page at first returned "Access Denied" from our location, so we read Internet Archive copies of GoDaddy's US English pages: the .com, .io and .ai pages, the domains, transfer and Discount Domain Club pages of Oct 11–12, 2026, the registration agreement, refund policy, Universal Terms of Service and trust center pages from the same weeks, and help center articles on privacy, DNS, DNSSEC, forwarding, 2FA, delegate access, auth codes, transfers, expiry and export from copies dated between April and October 2026. The developer docs and the ISO certificate were read live on Oct 16, 2026. A second check the same day reached the live US pages with the US site and USD selected, and they matched the Archive copies; it also read the renewal and redemption fee table, which has no Archive copy. The domain search and the cart stayed blocked, so we could not run a search or see the cart, and we did not create an account.

The .com page shows $22.99 struck through and $0.01 for the first year, with "3-year purchase required. Additional year(s) $22.99", and a note that prices exclude taxes and fees, including ICANN fees. The fee table puts the ICANN fee at $0.20 a year and lists a redemption fee of up to $99.99 for .com, on top of the renewal. The domains page leads with a different offer, $2.99 with code GDWELCOME for new customers, and the Discount Domain Club table calls $12.99 the regular .com price.

Help articles differ on when the redemption fee starts (12 or 18 days after expiry), and the agreement and refund policy disagree on renewal refunds.

Strengths

  • Certified registrar platform

    An ISO 27001:2022 certificate names the GoDaddy Domain Registrar platform and DNS services.

    vs Namecheap: Namecheap, Porkbun and Squarespace state no ISO 27001 or SOC 2 on the pages we read.

  • BIND zone export and self-serve auth codes

    Zone files export in BIND format, auth codes are in the dashboard, and the 60-day lock after a registrant change can be declined.

    vs Squarespace Domains: Namecheap, Porkbun and Squarespace Domains describe no DNS zone export.

  • Privacy, DNS and HTTPS forwarding included

    Privacy, DNS with up to 500 records and HTTPS URL forwarding are free, and external nameservers are allowed.

  • Long refund on 1-year auto-renewals

    The refund policy gives 5 days on new registrations and 45 days on a one-year auto-renewal.

Things to know

  • Renewals at $22.99 after a $0.01 first year

    The $0.01 first year needs a 3-year purchase, and each later year is $22.99 plus the $0.20 ICANN fee; .io renews at $89.99 and .ai at $159.99.

    Workaround: The API pricing page lists lower rates ($9.79, then $14.99 on auto-renewal) for .com bought and auto-renewed through the v3 API.

  • Short grace before redemption

    The expiry timeline keeps the normal renewal price for 12 days after expiry; from day 18 a redemption fee of up to $99.99 for .com applies on top of the renewal.

    Workaround: Auto-renew is the default setting and charges on the expiry date.

  • Email forwarding is a separate product

    Email forwarding credits bundled with domains ended with Workspace Email; forwarding is now its own product, with no price on the pages we read.

  • Prices differ between pages

    The .com first year appears as $0.01 (3-year purchase), $2.99 (code, new customers) and $12.99 ("Regular Price") across three pages.

Pricing reality

GoDaddy bills each domain per year; prices exclude taxes and the $0.20 ICANN fee. For our scenario, one .com for 3 years costs $0.01 + 2 × $22.99 + 3 × $0.20 = $46.59 (computed), using the .com page offer that needs a 3-year purchase and no code. Without that offer, the Discount Domain Club table lists $12.99 for the first year. .io follows the same pattern ($0.01, then $89.99), and .ai is $49.99 then $159.99, 2 years at a time. Discount Domain Club ($9.99–$29.99 a month, billed annually) lowers renewals; v3 API purchases get member rates without the membership. DNSSEC beyond five domains needs Premium DNS.

Exit path

Unlock the domain, turn off privacy and downgrade any Domain Protection, then copy the auth code from the dashboard or the registrant email; transfers out are approved automatically within seven days. No transfer-out fee is listed. Zone files export in BIND format and the domain list as CSV, with auth codes. Ultimate Domain Protection blocks transfers until you downgrade it.

Compared with

  • Pick GoDaddy when
    You want BIND zone export, ISO 27001 for the registrar platform and a 45-day refund on one-year auto-renewals.
    Pick Namecheap when
    You want free email forwarding, a lower restore price ($88.48 including the renewal) and a one-year first purchase.
  • Pick GoDaddy when
    You want a domain API, zone file export and a domain list export with auth codes.
    Pick Squarespace Domains when
    You want a $45 published restore fee, a 30-day grace period and a lower .com renewal ($20).

Choose it if

  • You want domains, DNS, email and hosting from one large provider.
  • Your review asks for ISO 27001 on the registrar platform.
  • You want BIND zone export and self-serve auth codes.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want the renewal to stay close to the first-year price.
  • You want free email forwarding with the domain.

Bottom line

From its public pages, GoDaddy offers a certified registrar platform, free privacy and DNS, and good exit tools. Its first-year offers are well below the $22.99 renewal, the ICANN fee is added on top, and the grace period at the normal price is short.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer domain per year
.com year 1 / renewal$0.01 with a 3-year purchase / $22.99, each plus $0.20 ICANN fee
3-year .com cost (scenario)$46.59, computed
.io and .ai.io $0.01 year 1 (3-year purchase), renews $89.99; .ai $49.99 year 1 (2-year purchase), renews $159.99
ICANN fee$0.20 a year, added at checkout
Restore (redemption) feeUp to $99.99 for .com, plus the renewal
Grace period after expiry12 days at the normal renewal price
Refund window (new registration)5 days; 45 days for a 1-year auto-renewal
NameserversGoDaddy DNS or any external nameservers
Email forwardingSeparate paid product; price not stated
Domain/DNS APIDomains API v3; help center adds conditions for availability checks
2FAPasskeys and FIDO U2F security keys, authenticator app, SMS
SOC 2 / ISO 27001ISO 27001:2022 for the registrar and DNS platform; SOC 2 not stated
Registry lockNot offered as a product on the pages read

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

GoDaddy lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, .com renewal (yearly list price, plus ICANN fee), costs $22.99/yr.

  • GoDaddy
    .com
    $0.01first year
    3-year purchase required; additional years $22.99; taxes and the $0.20 ICANN fee extra
    • Free domain privacy
    • DNS with up to 500 records
    • DNSSEC free for the first 5 domains
    • Transfer lock on from registration
  • GoDaddy
    .io
    $0.01first year
    3-year purchase required; additional years $89.99
  • GoDaddy
    .ai
    $49.99first year
    2-year purchase required; second year $159.99
  • GoDaddy
    Discount Domain Club Basic (optional)
    $9.99/mo
    Billed annually ($119.88); .com $9.79, renews at $14.99 for members

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: godaddy.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site