JetBrains AI review
by JetBrains s.r.o.AI coding assistants
AI completion, chat and agents inside JetBrains IDEs: AI Pro at $10 a month for individuals; organizations buy pooled credits at API rates.
- Free plan
- Card required
- Self-serve
- Seat + usage
- Public prices
What you're paying for
- Worth the price (main value)
- Saves engineering time
- Compliance included
AI completion, chat and agents inside JetBrains IDEs, with usage at API rates and no surcharge, and free governance for organizations.
JetBrains AI adds unlimited code completion from its own Mellum models, chat and agents to the JetBrains IDEs a team already uses. Usage is sold as AI credits worth $1 each at the model providers’ public API rates with no surcharge, pooled across an organization, with per-user monthly limits on the free Air Governance Basic tier. JetBrains’ terms say it will not use inputs, outputs or code to train models and require its AI subcontractors to commit to the same.
- Credits at API rates, no surchargeOne AI credit equals $1 of AI use, third-party models are billed at public API rates with no surcharge, and organization credits are pooled and valid for 12 months.Evidence: JetBrains AI store page and FAQ (2026-10-16)
- Unlimited completion in the IDECode completion and next edit suggestions run on JetBrains’ own models and do not consume AI credits; next edit suggestions are not on AI Free.Evidence: AI in IDEs page and AI Assistant docs (2026-10-16)
- No training by contractThe AI terms say JetBrains will not use inputs, data, outputs or suggestions to train language models unless you agree, and that its AI subcontractors must commit to the same.Evidence: JetBrains AI Service Terms and AI Platform Terms v3.0 (2026-10-16)
- Best for
- Teams that work in JetBrains IDEs and want to pay for AI usage at API rates, with spending limits per developer.
- Good to know
- No organization plan includes AI usage, there is no IP indemnity, and several governance features are marked as coming soon.
How JetBrains AI compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in AI coding assistants: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
| Metric | JetBrains AI | GitHub Copilot | Cursor | Claude Code |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceAI completion, chat and agents inside JetBrains IDEs, with usage at API rates and no surcharge, and free governance for organizations. | Compliance includedUnlimited completions plus chat and agents on models from several providers, with no training on your code and IP indemnity from $19 a user. | Saves engineering timeAn editor built around coding agents, with zero data retention with model providers and privacy mode enforced for the team on Teams. | Saves engineering timeA coding agent for the terminal, IDEs and the web, sold with Claude chat on one seat, with no training and IP indemnity on Team. |
| Overall score | 5.3 | 8.3Best | 6.4 | 5.6 |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan | Free plan | Paid only |
| Card to start | Card required | –Not measured | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $10/mo | $10/mo | $8/mo | $20/mo |
| Pricing model | Seat + usage | Seat + usage | Seat + usage | Per seat |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | AI credits ($1 of use each); individual plans per month; governance per seat | Per user per month; chat and agent usage in AI credits ($0.01 each) | Per seat per month; third-party models from prepaid credit at API list price | Per seat per month; extra usage as usage credits at API rates |
| Free option | AI Free with a JetBrains IDE licence; 30-day AI Pro trial, card needed | Copilot Free: 2,000 completions a month, limited chat and agent usage | Free plan with limited Agent and Chat on Cursor models; Tab on Free not stated | None with Claude Code; the Free plan excludes it |
| Reference scenario (5 developers) | Not priced: no organization plan includes usage (credits bought separately) | $95/mo on Business ($19 × 5, billed monthly), computed | $150/mo on Teams Premium seats ($30 × 5, monthly), computed | $100/mo on Team Standard seats ($20 × 5, annual), computed |
| Included usage (organization plan) | None; pooled prepaid credits, 20 per seat with All Products Pack | 1,900 AI credits ($19) per user a month, pooled; completions unlimited | Premium weekly pool per seat (4x Plus); no absolute size stated | 1.25x Pro per session per seat, shared with chat; no absolute size stated |
| Usage beyond the plan | Prepaid credits at API rates, no surcharge; per-user limits | Per-token rates in AI credits; on by default for organizations, budgets available | Prepaid credit at per-token rates, plus $0.25 per million tokens on Teams | Usage credits at API rates, off until turned on; spend limits |
| Models | Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models; JetBrains Mellum for completion | Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Microsoft and Moonshot models on Business | Cursor (Grok, Composer), Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models | Anthropic only (Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku) |
| Training on your code | Not without your agreement (terms), on every tier | Not on Business and Enterprise; Free to Max train unless you opt out | Not without explicit agreement (terms); Privacy Mode enforced on Teams | Not on Team and Enterprise by default; Free, Pro and Max opt-out |
| Data retention | Not persisted unless detailed data collection is on; provider retention not stated | IDE prompts not retained; other surfaces 28 days (Business) | Zero data retention with providers in Privacy Mode, with exceptions | 30 days on Team; zero data retention on qualified Enterprise accounts |
| IP indemnity | Not offered | Business and Enterprise, unmodified suggestions with the filter on | In the MSA; plans covered not stated | Commercial plans (Team, Enterprise, API), no liability cap |
| SSO / SCIM / audit log | SSO listed on Basic; SAML in IDE Services; SCIM coming soon; console audit page | SAML SSO and audit log listed for Business; SCIM through managed users in an enterprise account | SAML SSO on Teams; SCIM and audit log on Enterprise | SAML SSO on Team; SCIM and audit logs on Enterprise |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II covers JetBrains AI; ISO 27001 not listed | SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cover Copilot Business and Enterprise | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 |
| Editors and surfaces | JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, JetBrains Air app and web | VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Xcode, Eclipse, Neovim, Zed, CLI, github.com | Cursor app, CLI, web, iOS; JetBrains and Xcode integrations on paid plans | Terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, web, iOS and Android, Slack, CI |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, JetBrains AI suits teams in JetBrains IDEs that want unlimited completion and usage at API rates with per-user limits. There is no IP indemnity, no seat with usage included, and several governance features are still coming. | From its public pages, Copilot Business puts unlimited completions, $19 of pooled usage per user, a wide model choice and the main enterprise controls on a $19 seat. Set budgets early: extra usage is on by default for organizations. | From its public pages, Cursor gives a team an agent-first editor with privacy mode enforced and SSO for $30 a seat. Included usage is stated only as multiples, several pages disagree, and SCIM and the audit log need Enterprise. | From its public pages, Claude Code gives a team an agent for the terminal, IDE and web, plus Claude chat, on a $20 annual seat with no-training terms and uncapped IP indemnity. Usage is stated only as multiples, and models are Anthropic-only. |
Evidence: JetBrains AI: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitHub Copilot: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Cursor: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Claude Code: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Score
- Pricing clarity
- 3.0 / 10, Fair
- scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; usage stated in requests or dollars; extra usage rate published; the store FAQ says Business is free during early access, while the cards and docs say $20 per seat a month; the licensing docs still list per-user organization plans (AI Pro $20, AI Ultimate $60), while the store says organizations have no fixed credit plans; annual price of the Business tier not stated; AI Enterprise credit quota not disclosed; the FAQ says the All Products Pack includes AI Pro, while the store lists AI credits instead; the docs say detailed data collection is off by default, while the FAQ says it is on for non-commercial licences; SCIM and AI audit logs are listed for Enterprise and marked coming soon in the docs
- Free plan and trial
- 8.5 / 10, Excellent
- free plan with completion and chat, unlimited inline completions, no agent mode stated, training off by default or opt-out, 30-day trial, needs an active JetBrains IDE licence (IntelliJ IDEA and PyCharm need paid editions; not in Android Studio); next edit suggestions not on AI Free
- Price for 5 developers
- 0.0 / 10, Fair
- cannot be priced: no organization plan includes AI usage; Air Governance Basic is free and Business is $20 per seat a month without usage, and all chat and agent use is bought as pooled prepaid AI credits at $1 each; JetBrains IDE licences are separate
- Usage terms and model choice
- 10.0 / 10, Excellent
- usage in requests or dollars; extra usage rate published; spending cap on the scenario plan (per-user monthly credit limits on Basic; AI stops for everyone when the pool is empty); models from two or more providers on the scenario plan; unlimited inline completions
- Code privacy and IP protection
- 5.0 / 10, Fair
- no training on your code by default; zero data retention not listed; IP indemnity not listed; content exclusion or public-code filter on the scenario plan; reference plan Air Governance Basic; JetBrains does not persist customer data unless detailed data collection is turned on, but model-provider retention is not stated; .aiignore project files
- Compliance and admin
- 5.1 / 10, Fair
- SOC 2 Type II; no ISO 27001 stated; SAML SSO enterprise or through sales only; SCIM not listed; audit log on the scenario plan; EU data option not listed (opt-in detailed data stays in the EEA; an EU-only processing option is not stated)
Review
Review from public pages
Written from JetBrains AI's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read the JetBrains AI store page (in a browser set to a US location, where it showed US dollars), the AI in IDEs page and FAQ, the Air Governance page, the AI Assistant docs on licensing, completion, supported models, file exclusion and cloud agents, the JetBrains Console docs on plans, credits, limits, audit and the session explorer, the Trust Center, the AI Service and Platform Terms, the DPA and the provider lists on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or buy credits.
The organization model is changing. The store sells organizations no per-seat AI plans: they buy AI credits in any amount for a shared pool and govern them in Air Governance, formerly JetBrains Central, whose Basic tier is free and Business tier is $20 per seat a month without usage. The AI Platform Terms v3.0 move business customers to this model within 60 days of July 7, 2026, while the licensing docs still show per-user organization plans (AI Pro $20, AI Ultimate $60).
Several pages disagree. The store FAQ calls Business free during early access, while the cards and docs say $20 per seat; the FAQ says the All Products Pack includes AI Pro, while the store lists credits; the docs say detailed data collection is off by default, while the FAQ says it is on for non-commercial licences; and SCIM, AI audit logs and hybrid deployments are listed for Enterprise but marked "Coming soon" in the docs. The annual Business price is not stated.
Strengths
- Unlimited completion at no credit cost
Completion and next edit suggestions run on JetBrains’ Mellum models and do not consume credits; AI Free includes unlimited completion.
Compared: Gemini Code Assist counts completions against a 6,000-request daily quota.
- Usage at API rates with no surcharge
Credits are $1 of use at public API rates for Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models, pooled for organizations, with per-user monthly limits on the free Basic tier.
vs Cursor: Cursor adds $0.25 per million tokens on Teams for third-party models.
- A free plan and a 30-day trial
AI Free gives unlimited completion and 3 credits every 30 days to users with an active JetBrains IDE licence, and AI Pro has a 30-day trial.
vs Claude Code: Claude Code has no free plan, and Gemini Code Assist’s free tier has stopped.
- Your own keys and local models
BYOK for Anthropic, OpenAI and Google, local models through Ollama or LM Studio, and air-gapped AI Enterprise through IDE Services on-premises.
Things to know
- No organization plan includes usage
Organizations buy all chat and agent usage as prepaid credits; Basic is free and Business is $20 per seat without usage, so a team’s monthly cost depends on how much it uses.
Workaround: Set per-user monthly credit limits and use the session explorer to see credits per user.
- No IP indemnity
The terms offer no IP indemnity for outputs; the customer indemnifies JetBrains for claims about its inputs and outputs, and liability is capped at the greater of $100 or six months of fees.
- Governance features still arriving
SCIM, AI audit logs and hybrid deployments are listed for Enterprise and marked "Coming soon" in the docs; the console audit page records user, role and limit changes but not how AI is used.
- JetBrains IDEs only
AI features run in JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio and the Air app; VS Code and other editors are not listed. AI Free is not available in IntelliJ IDEA or PyCharm without a paid edition, or in Android Studio.
Pricing reality
For an organization, JetBrains AI has two parts. Air Governance is free on Basic (central billing, spending limits, SSO and analytics) or $20 per seat a month on Business (model and agent controls, MCP management, the Analytics API, managed BYOK); the annual Business price is not stated. Usage is bought separately as prepaid AI credits at $1 each, pooled and valid for 12 months. Because no organization plan includes usage, our price item scores 0: a 5-developer team pays for the credits it buys, plus $100 a month on Business (5 × $20, computed). All Products Pack and dotUltimate licences add 20 credits per seat every 30 days. IDE licences are separate.
Exit path
The session explorer, credit batches and audit log export as CSV, and Business adds an Analytics API. The JetBrains Context index is kept 14 days after its last search and can be removed with a command. Seats cannot be reduced within a paid period, and credits are non-refundable; moving from Business to Basic keeps the configuration but stops applying it.
Compared with
- Pick JetBrains AI when
- Your team works in JetBrains IDEs and wants usage at API rates with per-user limits and no seat fee on Basic.
- Pick GitHub Copilot when
- You want an organization seat with usage included, IP indemnity and support for many editors.
- Pick JetBrains AI when
- You want to stay in JetBrains IDEs with unlimited completion and your own keys.
- Pick Cursor when
- You want an AI-first editor with privacy mode enforced for the team and a weekly usage pool per seat.
- Pick JetBrains AI when
- You want models from Anthropic, OpenAI and Google in the IDE with unlimited completion.
- Pick Claude Code when
- You want a terminal agent and Claude chat on one seat with usage included and IP indemnity.
Choose it if
- Your team works in JetBrains IDEs.
- You want to pay for AI usage at API rates with no surcharge.
- You want per-user credit limits on a free governance tier.
Look elsewhere if
- You need IP indemnity for generated code.
- You want a fixed seat price with usage included.
- You need SCIM or an AI audit log today.
Bottom line
From its public pages, JetBrains AI suits teams in JetBrains IDEs that want unlimited completion and usage at API rates with per-user limits. There is no IP indemnity, no seat with usage included, and several governance features are still coming.
Plan limits at a glance
| Limit | As recorded |
|---|---|
| Billing unit | AI credits ($1 of use each); individual plans per month; governance per seat |
| Free option | AI Free with a JetBrains IDE licence; 30-day AI Pro trial, card needed |
| Reference scenario (5 developers) | Not priced: no organization plan includes usage (credits bought separately) |
| Included usage (organization plan) | None; pooled prepaid credits, 20 per seat with All Products Pack |
| Usage beyond the plan | Prepaid credits at API rates, no surcharge; per-user limits |
| Models | Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models; JetBrains Mellum for completion |
| Training on your code | Not without your agreement (terms), on every tier |
| Data retention | Not persisted unless detailed data collection is on; provider retention not stated |
| IP indemnity | Not offered |
| SSO / SCIM / audit log | SSO listed on Basic; SAML in IDE Services; SCIM coming soon; console audit page |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II covers JetBrains AI; ISO 27001 not listed |
| Editors and surfaces | JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, JetBrains Air app and web |
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for JetBrains AI yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for JetBrains AI yet.
JetBrains AI lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, AI Pro (individual), costs $10/mo.
- JetBrains AIFreeAI Free$0/moWith an active JetBrains IDE licence; not in IntelliJ IDEA or PyCharm without a paid edition, nor in Android Studio
- Unlimited code completion
- 3 AI credits every 30 days
- Unlimited local models
- JetBrains AILowest priceAI Pro$10/mo$100 a year billed yearly; 30-day trial, card needed
- 10 AI credits every 30 days
- Junie, Claude Agent, Codex and Gemini agents
- Top-up credits at API rates
- JetBrains AIAI Ultimate$30/mo$300 a year billed yearly
- 35 AI credits every 30 days, including 5 bonus credits
- Suited to frequent agent use
- JetBrains AIFreeAir Governance Basic$0/moOrganizations; AI usage bought as pooled credits
- Centralized billing
- AI spending limits
- SSO and access control
- AI analytics
- JetBrains AIAir Governance Business$20/seat/moUsage not included; annual price not stated; Enterprise on request
- Model and agent controls
- Group-level AI policies and MCP management
- Analytics API and managed BYOK
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: jetbrains.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.