An editor built around coding agents, with zero data retention with model providers and privacy mode enforced for the team on Teams.
Cursor puts agents, chat and Tab completions in its own editor, CLI and web app, with cloud agents and Bugbot code review from Premium seats. On Teams, at $30 per seat a month, Privacy Mode is enforced for every member, Cursor states zero data retention agreements with its model providers, and SAML SSO is included. Cursor’s terms say it will not use customer data to train models unless the customer explicitly agrees, and its security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001.
Privacy Mode enforced on TeamsThe Teams page says Privacy Mode is enforced for every team member. With it on, Cursor states zero data retention agreements with all model providers, except Claude Fable models, which need admin approval, and your own API keys.Evidence: Cursor Teams page and data-use page (2026-10-16)
Agents in the editor, terminal and webAgent, chat and Tab run in the Cursor desktop app, the CLI works with any editor, and cloud agents that open pull requests and Bugbot reviews start on Premium seats.Evidence: Cursor pricing page and docs (2026-10-16)
Certifications on the security pageCursor lists AIUC-1, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO/IEC 42001:2023 and a SOC 2 Type II attestation, with reports on request through its trust center.Evidence: cursor.com/security, updated Aug 25, 2026 (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams that want an AI-first editor and agents, with privacy mode enforced for everyone and SSO from the first paid team seat.
Good to know
Included usage is stated only as multiples of the Plus plan, and SCIM and the audit log are on Enterprise, priced by sales.
How Cursor compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in AI coding assistants: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Cursor compared with GitHub Copilot, Claude Code, JetBrains AI
Saves engineering timeAn editor built around coding agents, with zero data retention with model providers and privacy mode enforced for the team on Teams.
Compliance includedUnlimited completions plus chat and agents on models from several providers, with no training on your code and IP indemnity from $19 a user.
Saves engineering timeA coding agent for the terminal, IDEs and the web, sold with Claude chat on one seat, with no training and IP indemnity on Team.
Worth the priceAI completion, chat and agents inside JetBrains IDEs, with usage at API rates and no surcharge, and free governance for organizations.
Overall score
6.4
8.3Best
5.6
5.3
Free option
Free plan
Free plan
Paid only
Free plan
Card to start
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
Card required
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$8/mo
$10/mo
$20/mo
$10/mo
Pricing model
Seat + usage
Seat + usage
Per seat
Seat + usage
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per seat per month; third-party models from prepaid credit at API list price
Per user per month; chat and agent usage in AI credits ($0.01 each)
Per seat per month; extra usage as usage credits at API rates
AI credits ($1 of use each); individual plans per month; governance per seat
Free option
Free plan with limited Agent and Chat on Cursor models; Tab on Free not stated
Copilot Free: 2,000 completions a month, limited chat and agent usage
None with Claude Code; the Free plan excludes it
AI Free with a JetBrains IDE licence; 30-day AI Pro trial, card needed
Reference scenario (5 developers)
$150/mo on Teams Premium seats ($30 × 5, monthly), computed
$95/mo on Business ($19 × 5, billed monthly), computed
$100/mo on Team Standard seats ($20 × 5, annual), computed
Not priced: no organization plan includes usage (credits bought separately)
Included usage (organization plan)
Premium weekly pool per seat (4x Plus); no absolute size stated
1,900 AI credits ($19) per user a month, pooled; completions unlimited
1.25x Pro per session per seat, shared with chat; no absolute size stated
None; pooled prepaid credits, 20 per seat with All Products Pack
Usage beyond the plan
Prepaid credit at per-token rates, plus $0.25 per million tokens on Teams
Per-token rates in AI credits; on by default for organizations, budgets available
Usage credits at API rates, off until turned on; spend limits
Prepaid credits at API rates, no surcharge; per-user limits
Models
Cursor (Grok, Composer), Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models
Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Microsoft and Moonshot models on Business
Anthropic only (Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku)
Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models; JetBrains Mellum for completion
Training on your code
Not without explicit agreement (terms); Privacy Mode enforced on Teams
Not on Business and Enterprise; Free to Max train unless you opt out
Not on Team and Enterprise by default; Free, Pro and Max opt-out
Not without your agreement (terms), on every tier
Data retention
Zero data retention with providers in Privacy Mode, with exceptions
IDE prompts not retained; other surfaces 28 days (Business)
30 days on Team; zero data retention on qualified Enterprise accounts
Not persisted unless detailed data collection is on; provider retention not stated
IP indemnity
In the MSA; plans covered not stated
Business and Enterprise, unmodified suggestions with the filter on
Commercial plans (Team, Enterprise, API), no liability cap
Not offered
SSO / SCIM / audit log
SAML SSO on Teams; SCIM and audit log on Enterprise
SAML SSO and audit log listed for Business; SCIM through managed users in an enterprise account
SAML SSO on Team; SCIM and audit logs on Enterprise
SSO listed on Basic; SAML in IDE Services; SCIM coming soon; console audit page
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cover Copilot Business and Enterprise
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001
SOC 2 Type II covers JetBrains AI; ISO 27001 not listed
Editors and surfaces
Cursor app, CLI, web, iOS; JetBrains and Xcode integrations on paid plans
Terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, web, iOS and Android, Slack, CI
JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, JetBrains Air app and web
Bottom line
From its public pages, Cursor gives a team an agent-first editor with privacy mode enforced and SSO for $30 a seat. Included usage is stated only as multiples, several pages disagree, and SCIM and the audit log need Enterprise.
From its public pages, Copilot Business puts unlimited completions, $19 of pooled usage per user, a wide model choice and the main enterprise controls on a $19 seat. Set budgets early: extra usage is on by default for organizations.
From its public pages, Claude Code gives a team an agent for the terminal, IDE and web, plus Claude chat, on a $20 annual seat with no-training terms and uncapped IP indemnity. Usage is stated only as multiples, and models are Anthropic-only.
From its public pages, JetBrains AI suits teams in JetBrains IDEs that want unlimited completion and usage at API rates with per-user limits. There is no IP indemnity, no seat with usage included, and several governance features are still coming.
Evidence: Cursor: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitHub Copilot: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Claude Code: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; JetBrains AI: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; usage stated only as multiples or in general terms; extra usage rate published; the Teams page says each seat includes at least $20 a month of agent usage, while the docs say a seat matches the individual weekly pool; annual price for Teams seats not stated; a help article puts SCIM on Teams, while the pricing table and SSO help put it on Enterprise; the Teams docs describe per-member spend limits, while the pricing table lists granular spend controls as Enterprise only; the dashboard docs put the Admin API on Teams, while the analytics docs say Enterprise only; the enterprise FAQ prices Enterprise per seat with an included allotment, while other pages describe pooled committed usage
Free plan and trial
8.5 / 10, Excellent
free plan with completion and chat, limited inline completions, agent mode, training off by default or opt-out, Agent and Chat on Cursor models only, limits not stated in numbers; whether Free includes Tab is not stated
Price for 5 developers
6.3 / 10, Good
$150/mo: Teams (Premium seats) at $30 × 5 developers, monthly price; no annual price is stated for Teams seats; included usage: the Premium weekly pool for Cursor models (4x Plus) per seat, not shared, no dollar value stated; third-party models from prepaid credit; no base fee; a team needs at least one admin and one paid member; assumes the $30 monthly seat price, since the pages state no annual price for Teams seats
Usage terms and model choice
6.0 / 10, Good
usage not in requests or dollars; extra usage rate published; spending cap on the scenario plan (team-wide monthly limit on additional usage; top-ups off until turned on); models from two or more providers on the scenario plan; inline completions not stated as unlimited
Code privacy and IP protection
8.3 / 10, Excellent
no training on your code by default; zero data retention on the scenario plan; IP indemnity enterprise or through sales only; content exclusion or public-code filter on the scenario plan; Privacy Mode enforced on Teams; zero retention excludes Claude Fable models and your own API keys; indemnity is in the MSA, whose plan coverage is not stated; .cursorignore on every plan
Compliance and admin
7.2 / 10, Good
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001; SAML SSO on the scenario plan; SCIM enterprise or through sales only; audit log enterprise or through sales only; EU data option enterprise or through sales only (EU and UK inference-only coverage on request for Enterprise)
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Cursor's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Cursor's pricing page, its docs and help center on models and pricing, usage limits, overages, spend limits, Teams pricing and members, the dashboard, analytics, privacy and enterprise, its security, data-use and student pages, the Terms of Service, MSA and DPA, and the post on joining SpaceX on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or buy a seat. The pricing page showed US dollars. The X Subscription terms page refused our request, so we read its Internet Archive copy of Oct 13, 2026.
Cursor is now sold as part of The X Subscription, one bundle covering Grok, Cursor and X, through X Subscription Corp; the earlier Pro, Pro+ and Teams Standard plans are legacy. Each paid plan has a weekly pool for Cursor's own models (Grok and Composer), shared with the Grok apps and sized as a multiple of Plus (Premium 4x, Super 15x, Ultra 50x). Third-party models are paid from prepaid credit at API list price.
Several pages disagree. The Teams page says each seat includes at least $20 a month of agent usage, while the docs say a seat matches the individual weekly pool; one help article puts SCIM on Teams, while the pricing table and SSO help put it on Enterprise; the Teams docs describe per-member spend limits that the pricing table lists as Enterprise only; and the dashboard and analytics docs disagree on whether the Admin API is on Teams. The annual price for Teams seats is not stated.
Strengths
Privacy Mode enforced for the team
Teams enforces Privacy Mode for every member, and Cursor states zero data retention agreements with all model providers when it is on, with exceptions for Claude Fable models and your own keys.
vs Claude Code: Claude Code offers zero data retention only to qualified Enterprise accounts through sales; Copilot keeps non-IDE prompts for 28 days.
SAML SSO on the first team plan
SSO with SAML 2.0 is included at no extra cost on Teams and Enterprise, and Teams is bought online by card.
Models from several providers
Premium and higher seats can use Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models at API list price from prepaid credit, alongside Cursor’s own Grok and Composer models in the weekly pool.
vs Claude Code: Claude Code runs Anthropic models only; Gemini Code Assist runs Google models only.
A long certification list
The security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 42001 and AIUC-1, and Cursor signs HIPAA BAAs for Enterprise customers.
Compared: JetBrains lists SOC 2 Type II but no ISO 27001.
Things to know
Usage stated only as multiples
The weekly pool is given as multiples of Plus (Premium 4x, Super 15x, Ultra 50x) with no absolute size, and the Teams page’s "at least $20 a month" differs from the docs.
Workaround: Set a team spend limit and watch the usage dashboard during the first weeks.
SCIM and audit log on Enterprise
The pricing table and SSO help put SCIM and the audit log on Enterprise, priced through sales; model access controls and repository blocklists are Enterprise-only too.
Sold within a bundle
Subscriptions are sold by X Subscription Corp as part of The X Subscription, with Grok and X perks. The bundle terms make payments and top-ups final, apart from statutory cancellation rights for consumers in some regions, such as 14 days in the EEA, UK and Switzerland.
Tab limits not stated
Legacy plans included unlimited Tab completions; for current plans the pages do not say whether Tab is unlimited or draws on the weekly pool.
Pricing reality
Cursor bills each seat per month. For our scenario, 5 developers on Teams with Premium seats cost 5 × $30 = $150 a month ($1,800 a year, computed); the docs publish annual prices for individual plans ($300 a year for Premium) but not for Teams seats. Each seat gets the Premium weekly pool for Cursor models, not shared between seats. Third-party models are paid from prepaid credit at API list price, for example $4 in and $20 out per million tokens for Claude Opus 5.5, plus $0.25 per million tokens on Teams; top-ups expire after 365 days. Super ($100) and Ultra ($200) seats raise the pool to 3.75x and 12.5x Premium. Pooled usage, SCIM and the audit log need Enterprise, priced by sales.
Exit path
Code stays in your repositories: Cursor's search docs say it does not upload code to build an index or store embeddings. Teams can download analytics as CSV; exporting chat history is not described. Cancelling moves the account to Free, account deletion removes data within 30 days, and under the MSA data can be downloaded for 30 days after termination.
You want Tab completions in the editor and models from several providers on one seat.
Pick Claude Code when
You want a terminal agent with Claude chat on the same seat at $20 on annual terms, and IP indemnity in the standard terms.
Choose it if
You want an AI-first editor with agents, Tab and cloud agents.
You want privacy mode enforced for the whole team from the first paid seat.
You want Cursor's own models plus Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models.
Look elsewhere if
You need SCIM or an audit log without an Enterprise contract.
You want included usage stated in requests or dollars.
You want a coding tool sold on its own rather than within a bundle.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Cursor gives a team an agent-first editor with privacy mode enforced and SSO for $30 a seat. Included usage is stated only as multiples, several pages disagree, and SCIM and the audit log need Enterprise.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per seat per month; third-party models from prepaid credit at API list price
Free option
Free plan with limited Agent and Chat on Cursor models; Tab on Free not stated
Reference scenario (5 developers)
$150/mo on Teams Premium seats ($30 × 5, monthly), computed
Included usage (organization plan)
Premium weekly pool per seat (4x Plus); no absolute size stated
Usage beyond the plan
Prepaid credit at per-token rates, plus $0.25 per million tokens on Teams
Models
Cursor (Grok, Composer), Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models
Training on your code
Not without explicit agreement (terms); Privacy Mode enforced on Teams
Data retention
Zero data retention with providers in Privacy Mode, with exceptions
IP indemnity
In the MSA; plans covered not stated
SSO / SCIM / audit log
SAML SSO on Teams; SCIM and audit log on Enterprise
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001
Editors and surfaces
Cursor app, CLI, web, iOS; JetBrains and Xcode integrations on paid plans
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Cursor yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Cursor yet.
Cursor lists 6 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Plus (individual), costs $8/mo.
CUCursorFree
Free
$0/mo
Limited usage; Cursor models only
Agent and Chat with limited usage
No third-party models
CUCursorLowest price
Plus
$8/mo
$80 a year billed annually; individuals only
Base weekly pool for Cursor models
Fixed settings: Fast off, medium effort
No third-party models, cloud agents or own API keys
CUCursor
Premium
$30/mo
$300 a year billed annually
Weekly pool 4x Plus
Third-party models from prepaid credit
Cloud agents, automations and Bugbot reviews
CUCursor
Super / Ultra
$100/mo
Super $100 ($1,000 a year), Ultra $200 ($2,000 a year)
Weekly pool 15x (Super) or 50x (Ultra) Plus
Everything in Premium
CUCursor
Teams
$30/seat/mo
Premium seat; Super ($100) and Ultra ($200) seats can be mixed; annual price not stated
Privacy Mode enforced for every member
SAML/OIDC SSO
Centralized billing and usage analytics
Team spend limit
CUCursor
Enterprise
Custom
Priced through sales
Pooled usage
SCIM, audit log and access controls
US data residency; HIPAA BAA
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: cursor.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.
We read the pricing, docs, trust and legal pages of three AI coding assistants on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 5 developers cost, how usage is counted, what the terms say about your code, and who should pick which.