GitHub Copilot review

by GitHub, Inc.AI coding assistants

An AI coding assistant for many editors with unlimited completions, chat, agents and pooled AI credits: Business at $19 per user a month.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Seat + usage
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Compliance included (main value)
  • Worth the price
  • Built-in reach

Unlimited completions plus chat and agents on models from several providers, with no training on your code and IP indemnity from $19 a user.

Copilot Business, at $19 per user a month, gives each developer unlimited code completions and next edit suggestions, and 1,900 AI credits ($19 of chat and agent usage) a month pooled across the organization, with models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI and others. GitHub states that Business data is not used to train its models, offers IP indemnity for unmodified suggestions when the public-code filter is on, and lists SAML SSO, an audit log, content exclusion and budgets on Business.

  • No training and IP indemnity on BusinessThe plans FAQ says GitHub does not use Copilot Business or Enterprise data to train its models, and IDE prompts and suggestions are not retained. IP indemnity covers unmodified suggestions when the public-code filter is enabled.Evidence: Copilot plans page and FAQ; GitHub Docs on Copilot plans and policies (2026-10-16)
  • Unlimited completions, pooled creditsCode completions and next edit suggestions do not use credits on paid plans. Business includes 1,900 credits per user a month, pooled at the billing entity, so 5 users share 9,500 credits ($95, computed).Evidence: GitHub Docs: billing for organizations and enterprises (2026-10-16)
  • Works where the team already codesThe plans page lists VS Code, Visual Studio, Xcode, JetBrains IDEs, Neovim, Eclipse, Zed, the CLI, github.com and GitHub Mobile; the cloud agent and pull request code review start on Pro.Evidence: Copilot plans page (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams on GitHub that want completions and agents in the editors they already use, with no-training terms and IP indemnity at $19 a user.
Good to know
Only monthly prices are published, and paid usage beyond the pooled credits is on by default for organizations unless a budget stops it.

How GitHub Copilot compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in AI coding assistants: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

GitHub Copilot compared with Cursor, Claude Code, JetBrains AI
MetricGitHub CopilotCursorClaude CodeJetBrains AI
What you're paying forCompliance includedUnlimited completions plus chat and agents on models from several providers, with no training on your code and IP indemnity from $19 a user.Saves engineering timeAn editor built around coding agents, with zero data retention with model providers and privacy mode enforced for the team on Teams.Saves engineering timeA coding agent for the terminal, IDEs and the web, sold with Claude chat on one seat, with no training and IP indemnity on Team.Worth the priceAI completion, chat and agents inside JetBrains IDEs, with usage at API rates and no surcharge, and free governance for organizations.
Overall score8.3Best6.45.65.3
Free optionFree planFree planPaid onlyFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measuredCard required
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$10/mo$8/mo$20/mo$10/mo
Pricing modelSeat + usageSeat + usagePer seatSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer user per month; chat and agent usage in AI credits ($0.01 each)Per seat per month; third-party models from prepaid credit at API list pricePer seat per month; extra usage as usage credits at API ratesAI credits ($1 of use each); individual plans per month; governance per seat
Free optionCopilot Free: 2,000 completions a month, limited chat and agent usageFree plan with limited Agent and Chat on Cursor models; Tab on Free not statedNone with Claude Code; the Free plan excludes itAI Free with a JetBrains IDE licence; 30-day AI Pro trial, card needed
Reference scenario (5 developers)$95/mo on Business ($19 × 5, billed monthly), computed$150/mo on Teams Premium seats ($30 × 5, monthly), computed$100/mo on Team Standard seats ($20 × 5, annual), computedNot priced: no organization plan includes usage (credits bought separately)
Included usage (organization plan)1,900 AI credits ($19) per user a month, pooled; completions unlimitedPremium weekly pool per seat (4x Plus); no absolute size stated1.25x Pro per session per seat, shared with chat; no absolute size statedNone; pooled prepaid credits, 20 per seat with All Products Pack
Usage beyond the planPer-token rates in AI credits; on by default for organizations, budgets availablePrepaid credit at per-token rates, plus $0.25 per million tokens on TeamsUsage credits at API rates, off until turned on; spend limitsPrepaid credits at API rates, no surcharge; per-user limits
ModelsAnthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Microsoft and Moonshot models on BusinessCursor (Grok, Composer), Anthropic, OpenAI and Google modelsAnthropic only (Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku)Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models; JetBrains Mellum for completion
Training on your codeNot on Business and Enterprise; Free to Max train unless you opt outNot without explicit agreement (terms); Privacy Mode enforced on TeamsNot on Team and Enterprise by default; Free, Pro and Max opt-outNot without your agreement (terms), on every tier
Data retentionIDE prompts not retained; other surfaces 28 days (Business)Zero data retention with providers in Privacy Mode, with exceptions30 days on Team; zero data retention on qualified Enterprise accountsNot persisted unless detailed data collection is on; provider retention not stated
IP indemnityBusiness and Enterprise, unmodified suggestions with the filter onIn the MSA; plans covered not statedCommercial plans (Team, Enterprise, API), no liability capNot offered
SSO / SCIM / audit logSAML SSO and audit log listed for Business; SCIM through managed users in an enterprise accountSAML SSO on Teams; SCIM and audit log on EnterpriseSAML SSO on Team; SCIM and audit logs on EnterpriseSSO listed on Basic; SAML in IDE Services; SCIM coming soon; console audit page
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cover Copilot Business and EnterpriseSOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001SOC 2 Type II covers JetBrains AI; ISO 27001 not listed
Editors and surfacesVS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Xcode, Eclipse, Neovim, Zed, CLI, github.comCursor app, CLI, web, iOS; JetBrains and Xcode integrations on paid plansTerminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, web, iOS and Android, Slack, CIJetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, JetBrains Air app and web
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Copilot Business puts unlimited completions, $19 of pooled usage per user, a wide model choice and the main enterprise controls on a $19 seat. Set budgets early: extra usage is on by default for organizations.From its public pages, Cursor gives a team an agent-first editor with privacy mode enforced and SSO for $30 a seat. Included usage is stated only as multiples, several pages disagree, and SCIM and the audit log need Enterprise.From its public pages, Claude Code gives a team an agent for the terminal, IDE and web, plus Claude chat, on a $20 annual seat with no-training terms and uncapped IP indemnity. Usage is stated only as multiples, and models are Anthropic-only.From its public pages, JetBrains AI suits teams in JetBrains IDEs that want unlimited completion and usage at API rates with per-user limits. There is no IP indemnity, no seat with usage included, and several governance features are still coming.

Evidence: GitHub Copilot: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Cursor: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Claude Code: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; JetBrains AI: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
5.0 / 10, Fair
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; usage stated in requests or dollars; extra usage rate published; the plans FAQ limits Free to 50 chat requests, while the plans page and docs give no number; the plans page lists the full model catalog on Free, while the docs say auto model selection only; github.com/pricing offers a 30-day trial that includes Copilot, while the Enterprise Cloud trial docs exclude Copilot Business and Enterprise; the plans FAQ ties codebase indexing to Enterprise, while the indexing docs list no plan limit; GitHub Enterprise Cloud price after the first 12 months not stated (needed for Copilot Enterprise)
Free plan and trial
8.5 / 10, Excellent
free plan with completion and chat, limited inline completions, agent mode, training off by default or opt-out, 2,000 completions a month and limited chat and agent usage, for individuals
Price for 5 developers
7.9 / 10, Good
$95/mo: Copilot Business at $19 × 5 developers, billed monthly; annual plans are no longer sold; included usage: 1,900 AI credits ($19) per user a month, pooled across the organization; completions unlimited; no base fee: an enterprise account with no organizations is billed only for Copilot Business
Usage terms and model choice
10.0 / 10, Excellent
usage in requests or dollars; extra usage rate published; spending cap on the scenario plan (user budgets always stop usage; organization budgets stop it only with a setting that is off by default); models from two or more providers on the scenario plan; unlimited inline completions
Code privacy and IP protection
9.0 / 10, Excellent
no training on your code by default; zero data retention not listed; retention of 30 days or less on the scenario plan; IP indemnity on the scenario plan; content exclusion or public-code filter on the scenario plan; IDE chat and completion prompts not retained, other surfaces 28 days; indemnity covers unmodified suggestions with the public-code filter on
Compliance and admin
9.3 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001; SAML SSO on the scenario plan; SCIM on the scenario plan; audit log on the scenario plan; EU data option enterprise or through sales only (GitHub Enterprise Cloud with data residency, 10% more in credits)

Review

Review from public pages

Written from GitHub Copilot's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read GitHub's Copilot plans page and FAQ, the GitHub Docs articles on plans, licences, usage-based billing, models and pricing, budgets, seat assignment, content exclusion, model hosting and data residency, the Terms of Service, the Generative AI Services Terms, the Data Protection Agreement, the subprocessor list and GitHub's changelog posts on its SOC and ISO reports on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or buy a seat. The pages showed US dollar prices.

Billing changed this year. Since June 1, 2026, chat, agent and code review usage is billed in GitHub AI Credits (1 credit = $0.01) at per-token rates by model instead of premium requests; legacy annual subscribers keep the older model until their plan ends, and annual billing is no longer sold. Business includes 1,900 credits per user a month, pooled at the billing entity, and unused credits do not roll over.

Some pages disagree. The plans FAQ still limits Free to 50 chat requests, while the plans page and docs only say "limited"; the plans page lists the full model catalog on Free, while the docs say auto model selection only; github.com/pricing offers a 30-day trial that includes Copilot, while the Enterprise Cloud trial docs exclude Copilot Business and Enterprise; and the plans FAQ ties codebase indexing to Enterprise, while the indexing docs list no plan limit.

Strengths

  • Unlimited completions on every paid plan

    Code completions and next edit suggestions do not draw on AI credits on paid plans; Free has 2,000 completions a month.

    vs Claude Code: Cursor does not say whether Tab is unlimited on its current plans; Claude Code has no inline completion.

  • Usage priced in dollars

    One AI credit is $0.01, Business includes 1,900 credits per user a month pooled across the organization, and per-token rates are listed for each model, with 10% off model costs under auto model selection.

    vs Claude Code: Cursor and Claude Code state their included usage only as multiples of another plan.

  • Wide model and editor choice

    Business gets the full model catalog from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Microsoft and Moonshot, in VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains IDEs, Xcode, Eclipse, Neovim, Zed, the CLI and github.com.

    vs JetBrains AI: Claude Code runs Anthropic models only; JetBrains AI runs in JetBrains IDEs.

  • Business controls on the $19 plan

    The plans page lists IP indemnity and SAML SSO on Business, the plan docs add audit logs, content exclusion and organization-wide policy management, and SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cover Copilot Business.

    vs Claude Code: Cursor and Claude Code keep SCIM and the audit log on Enterprise.

Things to know

  • Extra usage is on by default for organizations

    Usage beyond the pooled credits is enabled by default for organizations, and organization budgets stop usage only when "Stop usage when budget limit is reached" is turned on, which is off by default. User-level budgets always stop usage.

    Workaround: Set an organization budget and turn on the stop setting before assigning seats.

  • Monthly billing only

    Only monthly prices are published and annual plans are no longer sold. Seats removed mid-cycle are billed to the end of the cycle without a refund, and removing seats does not shrink that month’s credit pool.

  • Retention depends on the surface

    On Business, IDE chat and completion prompts are not retained; prompts from other surfaces are kept for 28 days. Claude Fable models are not under zero data retention by default.

  • Conditions on exclusion and indemnity

    Content exclusion is not supported in VS Code edit and agent modes, and IP indemnity applies only to unmodified suggestions with the public-code filter enabled.

Pricing reality

Copilot bills each seat per month. For our scenario, 5 developers on Business cost 5 × $19 = $95 a month ($1,140 a year, computed), billed monthly because no annual price is sold. That includes unlimited completions and 1,900 AI credits ($19) per user, pooled into 9,500 credits ($95) a month. Beyond that, usage is billed at per-token rates, for example $4 in and $20 out per million tokens for Claude Opus 5.5, and data-residency or FedRAMP requests cost 10% more. Enterprise ($39) needs GitHub Enterprise Cloud, from $21 per user for the first 12 months, with the later price not stated. Code review also uses GitHub Actions minutes.

Exit path

There is no code index to move. Usage metrics download as NDJSON through the REST API, the audit log keeps 180 days and can stream to a SIEM, and CLI and app sessions can be shared as a link, gist or file. There is no bulk admin export of chats, and cloud agent sessions cannot be deleted. Organization customers can migrate data for up to 90 days after the term.

Compared with

  • Pick GitHub Copilot when
    You want unlimited completions, usage priced in dollars, and SCIM and an audit log at $19 a seat.
    Pick Cursor when
    You want an editor built around agents, with privacy mode enforced for the team and zero data retention with model providers.
  • Pick GitHub Copilot when
    You want inline completions, models from several providers and an audit log on the team plan.
    Pick Claude Code when
    You want a terminal-first agent on Anthropic models, with Claude chat on the same seat, at $20 a seat on annual terms.
  • Pick GitHub Copilot when
    Your team uses several editors and wants an organization seat with usage included.
    Pick JetBrains AI when
    Your team works in JetBrains IDEs and wants prepaid credits at API rates with no surcharge.

Choose it if

  • Your team uses several editors, or VS Code, Visual Studio or Xcode.
  • You want unlimited completions and usage priced in dollars.
  • You need IP indemnity, SAML SSO and an audit log without an enterprise contract.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want an annual price.
  • You need EU-only processing without GitHub Enterprise Cloud with data residency.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Copilot Business puts unlimited completions, $19 of pooled usage per user, a wide model choice and the main enterprise controls on a $19 seat. Set budgets early: extra usage is on by default for organizations.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer user per month; chat and agent usage in AI credits ($0.01 each)
Free optionCopilot Free: 2,000 completions a month, limited chat and agent usage
Reference scenario (5 developers)$95/mo on Business ($19 × 5, billed monthly), computed
Included usage (organization plan)1,900 AI credits ($19) per user a month, pooled; completions unlimited
Usage beyond the planPer-token rates in AI credits; on by default for organizations, budgets available
ModelsAnthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Microsoft and Moonshot models on Business
Training on your codeNot on Business and Enterprise; Free to Max train unless you opt out
Data retentionIDE prompts not retained; other surfaces 28 days (Business)
IP indemnityBusiness and Enterprise, unmodified suggestions with the filter on
SSO / SCIM / audit logSAML SSO and audit log listed for Business; SCIM through managed users in an enterprise account
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cover Copilot Business and Enterprise
Editors and surfacesVS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Xcode, Eclipse, Neovim, Zed, CLI, github.com

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

GitHub Copilot lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Pro (individual), costs $10/mo.

  • GitHub CopilotFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    Individuals; trains on interactions unless you opt out
    • 2,000 completions a month
    • Limited chat and agent usage
    • Agent mode, MCP and Copilot CLI
    • Public-code filter
  • GitHub CopilotLowest price
    Pro
    $10/mo
    Individuals; 1,500 AI credits ($15) a month, of which 500 are a flex allotment that may change
    • Unlimited completions and next edit suggestions
    • Cloud agent and pull request code review
    • Most models; some premium models excluded
  • GitHub Copilot
    Pro+ / Max
    $39/mo
    Individuals; Pro+ 7,000 credits ($70) a month; Max $100 with 20,000 credits ($200)
    • Full model catalog
    • Unlimited completions
    • Usage beyond credits through a budget
  • GitHub Copilot
    Business
    $19/user/mo
    Billed monthly; 1,900 AI credits per user a month, pooled
    • No training on your data
    • IP indemnity and content exclusion
    • SAML SSO, audit log and policies
    • Usage metrics and budgets
  • GitHub Copilot
    Enterprise
    $39/user/mo
    Billed monthly; needs GitHub Enterprise Cloud (from $21 per user for the first 12 months)
    • 3,900 AI credits per user a month, pooled
    • Everything in Business
    • EU or US data residency through GitHub Enterprise Cloud

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: github.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site