A coding agent for the terminal, IDEs and the web, sold with Claude chat on one seat, with no training and IP indemnity on Team.
A Team Standard seat, at $20 a month billed annually, includes Claude Code alongside Claude chat, with one usage pool for both. Claude Code reads the codebase, edits files and runs commands in the terminal or IDE, and cloud sessions on the web can work on pull requests with no separate charge for the VM. Anthropic’s commercial terms say it may not train models on customer content and cover IP claims on outputs without a liability cap, and Team includes SAML SSO, spend controls and usage analytics.
One seat for the agent and chatThe pricing page lists Claude Code on Team seats, and terminal work and chats draw from one pool; cloud sessions on the web run with no separate charge for the VM.Evidence: claude.com/pricing and Claude Code docs (2026-10-16)
No training and uncapped IP indemnityThe pricing page says Team and Enterprise content is not used for model training by default; the Commercial Terms cover claims that paid use or outputs infringe IP and exclude that section from the liability limits.Evidence: claude.com/pricing and Anthropic Commercial Terms, sections K and L (2026-10-16)
SSO and spend controls on TeamTeam includes SAML SSO, central billing, usage analytics and user and organization spend limits; SCIM, audit logs and custom data retention are on Enterprise.Evidence: claude.com/pricing comparison table (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams that want a terminal and IDE coding agent plus Claude chat on one seat, with no-training terms and IP indemnity from the team plan.
Good to know
Usage is stated only as multiples of Pro, there are no inline completions, and only Anthropic models are offered.
How Claude Code compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in AI coding assistants: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Claude Code compared with GitHub Copilot, Cursor, JetBrains AI
Saves engineering timeA coding agent for the terminal, IDEs and the web, sold with Claude chat on one seat, with no training and IP indemnity on Team.
Compliance includedUnlimited completions plus chat and agents on models from several providers, with no training on your code and IP indemnity from $19 a user.
Saves engineering timeAn editor built around coding agents, with zero data retention with model providers and privacy mode enforced for the team on Teams.
Worth the priceAI completion, chat and agents inside JetBrains IDEs, with usage at API rates and no surcharge, and free governance for organizations.
Overall score
5.6
8.3Best
6.4
5.3
Free option
Paid only
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Card to start
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
Card required
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$20/mo
$10/mo
$8/mo
$10/mo
Pricing model
Per seat
Seat + usage
Seat + usage
Seat + usage
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per seat per month; extra usage as usage credits at API rates
Per user per month; chat and agent usage in AI credits ($0.01 each)
Per seat per month; third-party models from prepaid credit at API list price
AI credits ($1 of use each); individual plans per month; governance per seat
Free option
None with Claude Code; the Free plan excludes it
Copilot Free: 2,000 completions a month, limited chat and agent usage
Free plan with limited Agent and Chat on Cursor models; Tab on Free not stated
AI Free with a JetBrains IDE licence; 30-day AI Pro trial, card needed
Reference scenario (5 developers)
$100/mo on Team Standard seats ($20 × 5, annual), computed
$95/mo on Business ($19 × 5, billed monthly), computed
$150/mo on Teams Premium seats ($30 × 5, monthly), computed
Not priced: no organization plan includes usage (credits bought separately)
Included usage (organization plan)
1.25x Pro per session per seat, shared with chat; no absolute size stated
1,900 AI credits ($19) per user a month, pooled; completions unlimited
Premium weekly pool per seat (4x Plus); no absolute size stated
None; pooled prepaid credits, 20 per seat with All Products Pack
Usage beyond the plan
Usage credits at API rates, off until turned on; spend limits
Per-token rates in AI credits; on by default for organizations, budgets available
Prepaid credit at per-token rates, plus $0.25 per million tokens on Teams
Prepaid credits at API rates, no surcharge; per-user limits
Models
Anthropic only (Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku)
Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Microsoft and Moonshot models on Business
Cursor (Grok, Composer), Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models
Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models; JetBrains Mellum for completion
Training on your code
Not on Team and Enterprise by default; Free, Pro and Max opt-out
Not on Business and Enterprise; Free to Max train unless you opt out
Not without explicit agreement (terms); Privacy Mode enforced on Teams
Not without your agreement (terms), on every tier
Data retention
30 days on Team; zero data retention on qualified Enterprise accounts
IDE prompts not retained; other surfaces 28 days (Business)
Zero data retention with providers in Privacy Mode, with exceptions
Not persisted unless detailed data collection is on; provider retention not stated
IP indemnity
Commercial plans (Team, Enterprise, API), no liability cap
Business and Enterprise, unmodified suggestions with the filter on
In the MSA; plans covered not stated
Not offered
SSO / SCIM / audit log
SAML SSO on Team; SCIM and audit logs on Enterprise
SAML SSO and audit log listed for Business; SCIM through managed users in an enterprise account
SAML SSO on Teams; SCIM and audit log on Enterprise
SSO listed on Basic; SAML in IDE Services; SCIM coming soon; console audit page
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cover Copilot Business and Enterprise
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001
SOC 2 Type II covers JetBrains AI; ISO 27001 not listed
Editors and surfaces
Terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, web, iOS and Android, Slack, CI
Cursor app, CLI, web, iOS; JetBrains and Xcode integrations on paid plans
JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, JetBrains Air app and web
Bottom line
From its public pages, Claude Code gives a team an agent for the terminal, IDE and web, plus Claude chat, on a $20 annual seat with no-training terms and uncapped IP indemnity. Usage is stated only as multiples, and models are Anthropic-only.
From its public pages, Copilot Business puts unlimited completions, $19 of pooled usage per user, a wide model choice and the main enterprise controls on a $19 seat. Set budgets early: extra usage is on by default for organizations.
From its public pages, Cursor gives a team an agent-first editor with privacy mode enforced and SSO for $30 a seat. Included usage is stated only as multiples, several pages disagree, and SCIM and the audit log need Enterprise.
From its public pages, JetBrains AI suits teams in JetBrains IDEs that want unlimited completion and usage at API rates with per-user limits. There is no IP indemnity, no seat with usage included, and several governance features are still coming.
Evidence: Claude Code: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitHub Copilot: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Cursor: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; JetBrains AI: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; usage stated only as multiples or in general terms; extra usage rate published; the Claude Code docs say Enterprise billing is through sales, while the pricing page and help center sell Enterprise online; some docs still describe Enterprise Standard and Premium seats, while the help center says new Enterprise seats have one type with no included usage; a help article gives Team a 200K context window, while the pricing page says up to 1M, varying by model
Free plan and trial
1.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan with the coding product; trial length not stated; the Free plan does not include Claude Code; trials are listed only for sales-assisted Enterprise
Price for 5 developers
7.7 / 10, Good
$100/mo: Team (Standard seats) at $20 × 5 developers, annual terms ($25 billed monthly); included usage: 1.25x Pro’s per-session usage per seat, shared with Claude chat, with weekly limits; no dollar value stated; no base fee; Team is for 2 to 150 people
Usage terms and model choice
4.0 / 10, Fair
usage not in requests or dollars; extra usage rate published; spending cap on the scenario plan (owners set organization and per-user monthly limits; usage credits off until turned on); models from two or more providers not listed; inline completions not stated as unlimited
Code privacy and IP protection
9.0 / 10, Excellent
no training on your code by default; zero data retention enterprise or through sales only; retention of 30 days or less on the scenario plan; IP indemnity on the scenario plan; content exclusion or public-code filter on the scenario plan; Team keeps prompts 30 days; zero data retention for qualified Enterprise accounts through sales; indemnity has no liability cap; file deny rules in managed settings, no public-code filter
Compliance and admin
6.9 / 10, Good
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001; SAML SSO on the scenario plan; SCIM enterprise or through sales only; audit log enterprise or through sales only; EU data option not listed (data stored in the US; US-only inference is an Enterprise option)
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Claude Code's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Anthropic's pricing page and its comparison table, the Claude Code product page, the Claude Code docs on costs, model configuration, data usage, zero data retention, permissions, managed settings, analytics, feature availability and legal and compliance, help center articles on Team and Enterprise plans, usage limits, usage credits, SSO, audit logs, HIPAA and the DPA, and the Consumer and Commercial Terms on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or buy a seat. The pricing page served US dollars.
Claude Code is not sold on its own: it comes with every paid Claude plan and shares that plan's usage with chat. Limits reset on a rolling five-hour window with weekly limits on top, and are stated only as multiples (Pro at least 5x Free, Team Standard 1.25x Pro per session, Premium 5x Standard). The monthly API credits on Max and Team do not apply to Claude Code. Beyond the limits, usage credits are billed at API rates once a user or owner turns them on.
A few pages disagree. The Claude Code docs say Enterprise billing is through sales, while the pricing page and help center sell Enterprise online; some docs still describe Enterprise Standard and Premium seats, while the help center says new Enterprise seats have one type with no included usage; and a help article gives Team a 200K context window, while the pricing page says up to 1M depending on the model.
Strengths
An agent in the terminal, IDE, desktop and web
Claude Code runs in the terminal on macOS, Linux and Windows, in VS Code and JetBrains IDEs, in the desktop app, on the web, on iOS and Android, and in Slack, GitHub Actions and GitLab CI/CD.
Compared: Gemini Code Assist runs its agent mode locally and has no cloud agent.
IP indemnity without a cap
The Commercial Terms cover claims that paid use or outputs infringe third-party IP, and the liability limits do not apply to that section; no public-code filter is required.
vs Cursor: Copilot’s indemnity needs the public-code filter on; Cursor’s is in an MSA whose plan coverage is not stated.
Chat and agent on one seat
A Team Standard seat at $20 a month billed annually covers Claude chat and Claude Code from one usage pool, with SSO and spend controls.
Compared: JetBrains sells organization usage only as prepaid credits.
Admin settings for the agent
Managed settings can deny reads of files such as .env or secrets and restrict models and MCP servers, and Team and Enterprise can deliver them from the server.
Things to know
Usage stated only as multiples
Allowances are given as multiples of Pro and Free with no request count or dollar value, and Anthropic says it may limit usage in other ways, such as weekly and monthly caps, at its discretion.
Workaround: Turn on usage credits with a monthly spend limit, or use a Console API key billed per token.
Anthropic models only, no inline completion
Claude Code runs Fable, Opus, Sonnet and Haiku models only, and its docs list no tab-completion feature; on Team, Fable models need Premium seats.
Zero data retention through sales
Team keeps prompts and code for 30 days. Zero data retention is available only to qualified Enterprise accounts through sales, and it excludes cloud sessions.
SCIM and audit logs on Enterprise
SCIM and audit logs are on Enterprise, which has a 20-seat minimum. Data is stored in the US, and no EU storage option is stated.
Pricing reality
Claude bills each seat per month. For our scenario, 5 developers on Team Standard seats cost 5 × $20 = $100 a month on annual billing ($1,200 a year, computed), or $125 a month billed monthly. Each seat gets 1.25x Pro's per-session usage, shared between chat and Claude Code, with weekly limits; no dollar value is stated. Heavier users can move to Premium seats ($100 annual, $125 monthly) or turn on usage credits at API rates, for example $4 in and $20 out per million tokens for Opus 5.5. The Team's pooled monthly API credits do not apply to Claude Code. Seat reductions take effect at renewal with no prorated refund.
Exit path
Claude Code keeps no remote code index. Team and Enterprise owners can export conversations and users, Claude Code analytics and spend reports download as CSV, and OpenTelemetry metrics work on every setup. Local transcripts stay on the developer's machine for 30 days by default. Cancelling does not delete data; deleting an organization goes through support.
You want the agent in your own terminal and IDE, with Claude chat on the same seat.
Pick Cursor when
You want an AI-first editor with Tab, several model providers and zero data retention with providers on Teams.
Choose it if
You want a coding agent in the terminal or your IDE, plus Claude chat for the team.
You want IP indemnity and no training on your content in the standard team terms.
You prefer to work with Anthropic models.
Look elsewhere if
You want inline completions or models from other providers.
You need SCIM, an audit log or zero data retention for fewer than 20 seats.
You need EU data storage.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Claude Code gives a team an agent for the terminal, IDE and web, plus Claude chat, on a $20 annual seat with no-training terms and uncapped IP indemnity. Usage is stated only as multiples, and models are Anthropic-only.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per seat per month; extra usage as usage credits at API rates
Free option
None with Claude Code; the Free plan excludes it
Reference scenario (5 developers)
$100/mo on Team Standard seats ($20 × 5, annual), computed
Included usage (organization plan)
1.25x Pro per session per seat, shared with chat; no absolute size stated
Usage beyond the plan
Usage credits at API rates, off until turned on; spend limits
Models
Anthropic only (Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku)
Training on your code
Not on Team and Enterprise by default; Free, Pro and Max opt-out
Data retention
30 days on Team; zero data retention on qualified Enterprise accounts
IP indemnity
Commercial plans (Team, Enterprise, API), no liability cap
SSO / SCIM / audit log
SAML SSO on Team; SCIM and audit logs on Enterprise
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001
Editors and surfaces
Terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, web, iOS and Android, Slack, CI
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Claude Code yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Claude Code yet.
Claude Code lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Pro (billed monthly; $17 billed annually), costs $20/mo.
CCClaude CodeLowest price
Pro
$20/mo
$17 a month billed annually ($200 up front); individuals
Claude Code and Claude chat in one usage pool
At least 5x Free usage per session
Opus, Sonnet and Haiku; Fable through usage credits
CCClaude Code
Max 5x / 20x
$100/mo
Monthly only; Max 20x is $200
5x or 20x Pro usage per session
Fable within 50% of weekly limits
CCClaude Code
Team Standard
$25/seat/mo
$20 billed annually; 2 to 150 people
1.25x Pro usage per session
No model training on your content by default
SAML SSO, usage analytics, spend controls
CCClaude Code
Team Premium
$125/seat/mo
$100 billed annually; seats can be mixed
5x Standard usage
Fable within 50% of weekly limits
CCClaude Code
Enterprise
$20/seat/mo
Plus all usage at API rates; billed annually; 20-seat minimum self-serve
SCIM, audit logs and compliance API
Custom data retention
HIPAA-ready offering
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: claude.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.
We read the pricing, docs, trust and legal pages of three AI coding assistants on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 5 developers cost, how usage is counted, what the terms say about your code, and who should pick which.