AI coding assistants · Comparison

Cursor vs JetBrains AI

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Cursor vs JetBrains AI: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricCursorJetBrains AI
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeAn editor built around coding agents, with zero data retention with model providers and privacy mode enforced for the team on Teams.Worth the priceAI completion, chat and agents inside JetBrains IDEs, with usage at API rates and no surcharge, and free governance for organizations.
Overall score6.4Best5.3
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measuredCard required
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$8/mo$10/mo
Pricing modelSeat + usageSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer seat per month; third-party models from prepaid credit at API list priceAI credits ($1 of use each); individual plans per month; governance per seat
Free optionFree plan with limited Agent and Chat on Cursor models; Tab on Free not statedAI Free with a JetBrains IDE licence; 30-day AI Pro trial, card needed
Reference scenario (5 developers)$150/mo on Teams Premium seats ($30 × 5, monthly), computedNot priced: no organization plan includes usage (credits bought separately)
Included usage (organization plan)Premium weekly pool per seat (4x Plus); no absolute size statedNone; pooled prepaid credits, 20 per seat with All Products Pack
Usage beyond the planPrepaid credit at per-token rates, plus $0.25 per million tokens on TeamsPrepaid credits at API rates, no surcharge; per-user limits
ModelsCursor (Grok, Composer), Anthropic, OpenAI and Google modelsAnthropic, OpenAI and Google models; JetBrains Mellum for completion
Training on your codeNot without explicit agreement (terms); Privacy Mode enforced on TeamsNot without your agreement (terms), on every tier
Data retentionZero data retention with providers in Privacy Mode, with exceptionsNot persisted unless detailed data collection is on; provider retention not stated
IP indemnityIn the MSA; plans covered not statedNot offered
SSO / SCIM / audit logSAML SSO on Teams; SCIM and audit log on EnterpriseSSO listed on Basic; SAML in IDE Services; SCIM coming soon; console audit page
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001SOC 2 Type II covers JetBrains AI; ISO 27001 not listed
Editors and surfacesCursor app, CLI, web, iOS; JetBrains and Xcode integrations on paid plansJetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, JetBrains Air app and web
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Cursor gives a team an agent-first editor with privacy mode enforced and SSO for $30 a seat. Included usage is stated only as multiples, several pages disagree, and SCIM and the audit log need Enterprise.From its public pages, JetBrains AI suits teams in JetBrains IDEs that want unlimited completion and usage at API rates with per-user limits. There is no IP indemnity, no seat with usage included, and several governance features are still coming.

Evidence: Cursor: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; JetBrains AI: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our JetBrains AI review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick JetBrains AI when
    You want to stay in JetBrains IDEs with unlimited completion and your own keys.
    Pick Cursor when
    You want an AI-first editor with privacy mode enforced for the team and a weekly usage pool per seat.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • CursorLowest price
    Plus
    $8/mo
    $80 a year billed annually; individuals only
    • Base weekly pool for Cursor models
    • Fixed settings: Fast off, medium effort
    • No third-party models, cloud agents or own API keys
  • JetBrains AI
    AI Pro
    $10/mo
    $100 a year billed yearly; 30-day trial, card needed
    • 10 AI credits every 30 days
    • Junie, Claude Agent, Codex and Gemini agents
    • Top-up credits at API rates

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Cursor 2026-10-16, JetBrains AI 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
CursorSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.4/10).
Lowest starter price
Cursor$8/mo for the Plus (individual) plan.
Highest overall score
Cursor6.4/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in AI coding assistants

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.