AI coding assistants · Comparison
Cursor vs Gemini Code Assist
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Cursor | Gemini Code Assist |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Saves engineering timeAn editor built around coding agents, with zero data retention with model providers and privacy mode enforced for the team on Teams. | Compliance includedFor existing Google Cloud customers: completion, chat and an agent mode with daily request quotas, IP indemnity and no prompt storage. |
| Overall score | 6.4Best | 4.1 |
| Free option | Free plan | Paid only |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | –Not measured |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $8/mo | $22.80/user/mo |
| Pricing model | Seat + usage | Per seat |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Per seat per month; third-party models from prepaid credit at API list price | Per user per month; daily request quotas, no overage |
| Free option | Free plan with limited Agent and Chat on Cursor models; Tab on Free not stated | None now; the individual tier stopped on June 18, 2026 |
| Reference scenario (5 developers) | $150/mo on Teams Premium seats ($30 × 5, monthly), computed | Not priced: new subscriptions ended Oct 9, 2026 (existing: $95/mo on Standard) |
| Included usage (organization plan) | Premium weekly pool per seat (4x Plus); no absolute size stated | 6,000 code, 960 chat and 1,500 agent requests per user a day |
| Usage beyond the plan | Prepaid credit at per-token rates, plus $0.25 per million tokens on Teams | None; requests stop until the quota resets |
| Models | Cursor (Grok, Composer), Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models | Google Gemini models only |
| Training on your code | Not without explicit agreement (terms); Privacy Mode enforced on Teams | Gemini does not train on prompts or responses |
| Data retention | Zero data retention with providers in Privacy Mode, with exceptions | Stateless: prompts and responses not stored |
| IP indemnity | In the MSA; plans covered not stated | Standard and Enterprise, unmodified output |
| SSO / SCIM / audit log | SAML SSO on Teams; SCIM and audit log on Enterprise | SSO through Cloud Identity federation; SCIM not stated; Cloud Audit Logs |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 | SOC 1, 2 and 3 (Type II not stated), ISO 27001 |
| Editors and surfaces | Cursor app, CLI, web, iOS; JetBrains and Xcode integrations on paid plans | VS Code, JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, Cloud Shell, Cloud Workstations |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Cursor gives a team an agent-first editor with privacy mode enforced and SSO for $30 a seat. Included usage is stated only as multiples, several pages disagree, and SCIM and the audit log need Enterprise. | From its public pages, Gemini Code Assist offers clear quotas, IP indemnity and no prompt storage, but new subscriptions ended on Oct 9, 2026, so it suits existing Google Cloud customers rather than new buyers. |
Evidence: Cursor: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Gemini Code Assist: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- CursorLowest pricePlus$8/mo$80 a year billed annually; individuals only
- Base weekly pool for Cursor models
- Fixed settings: Fast off, medium effort
- No third-party models, cloud agents or own API keys
- Gemini Code AssistStandard$22.80/user/mo$19 with an annual commitment; no longer sold to new customers since Oct 9, 2026
- Code completion, chat and agent mode
- 6,000 code and 960 chat requests per user a day
- 1,500 agent requests per user a day
- IP indemnity
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Cursor 2026-10-16, Gemini Code Assist 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- CursorSelf-serve sign-up; the only one here you can use right after signing up.
- Lowest starter price
- Cursor$8/mo for the Plus (individual) plan.
- Highest overall score
- Cursor6.4/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in AI coding assistants
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.