AI coding assistants · Comparison
Claude Code vs Gemini Code Assist
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Claude Code | Gemini Code Assist |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Saves engineering timeA coding agent for the terminal, IDEs and the web, sold with Claude chat on one seat, with no training and IP indemnity on Team. | Compliance includedFor existing Google Cloud customers: completion, chat and an agent mode with daily request quotas, IP indemnity and no prompt storage. |
| Overall score | 5.6Best | 4.1 |
| Free option | Paid only | Paid only |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | –Not measured |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $20/mo | $22.80/user/mo |
| Pricing model | Per seat | Per seat |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Per seat per month; extra usage as usage credits at API rates | Per user per month; daily request quotas, no overage |
| Free option | None with Claude Code; the Free plan excludes it | None now; the individual tier stopped on June 18, 2026 |
| Reference scenario (5 developers) | $100/mo on Team Standard seats ($20 × 5, annual), computed | Not priced: new subscriptions ended Oct 9, 2026 (existing: $95/mo on Standard) |
| Included usage (organization plan) | 1.25x Pro per session per seat, shared with chat; no absolute size stated | 6,000 code, 960 chat and 1,500 agent requests per user a day |
| Usage beyond the plan | Usage credits at API rates, off until turned on; spend limits | None; requests stop until the quota resets |
| Models | Anthropic only (Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku) | Google Gemini models only |
| Training on your code | Not on Team and Enterprise by default; Free, Pro and Max opt-out | Gemini does not train on prompts or responses |
| Data retention | 30 days on Team; zero data retention on qualified Enterprise accounts | Stateless: prompts and responses not stored |
| IP indemnity | Commercial plans (Team, Enterprise, API), no liability cap | Standard and Enterprise, unmodified output |
| SSO / SCIM / audit log | SAML SSO on Team; SCIM and audit logs on Enterprise | SSO through Cloud Identity federation; SCIM not stated; Cloud Audit Logs |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 | SOC 1, 2 and 3 (Type II not stated), ISO 27001 |
| Editors and surfaces | Terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, web, iOS and Android, Slack, CI | VS Code, JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, Cloud Shell, Cloud Workstations |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Claude Code gives a team an agent for the terminal, IDE and web, plus Claude chat, on a $20 annual seat with no-training terms and uncapped IP indemnity. Usage is stated only as multiples, and models are Anthropic-only. | From its public pages, Gemini Code Assist offers clear quotas, IP indemnity and no prompt storage, but new subscriptions ended on Oct 9, 2026, so it suits existing Google Cloud customers rather than new buyers. |
Evidence: Claude Code: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Gemini Code Assist: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- Claude CodeLowest pricePro$20/mo$17 a month billed annually ($200 up front); individuals
- Claude Code and Claude chat in one usage pool
- At least 5x Free usage per session
- Opus, Sonnet and Haiku; Fable through usage credits
- Gemini Code AssistStandard$22.80/user/mo$19 with an annual commitment; no longer sold to new customers since Oct 9, 2026
- Code completion, chat and agent mode
- 6,000 code and 960 chat requests per user a day
- 1,500 agent requests per user a day
- IP indemnity
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Claude Code 2026-10-16, Gemini Code Assist 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- Claude CodeSelf-serve sign-up; the only one here you can use right after signing up.
- Lowest starter price
- Claude Code$20/mo for the Pro (billed monthly; $17 billed annually) plan.
- Highest overall score
- Claude Code5.6/10 (Fair). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in AI coding assistants
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.