Flagsmith review

by Flagsmith (Bullet Train Ltd)Feature flags

Open-source feature flags with unlimited flags and environments on every plan, priced by API requests and team members.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Saves engineering time
  • Compliance included

Unlimited flags and environments on every plan, an open-source core you can self-host, and SOC 2 Type II on the hosted service.

Flagsmith does not limit flags, environments, identities or segments on any plan; plans differ in API requests and team members, from a free plan for one person to Scale-Up at $250 a month billed yearly. The core is open source under BSD-3-Clause, so the same product can run in Flagsmith’s cloud, a private cloud or on your own servers, and the docs list OpenFeature providers for 10 languages. Its trust centre lists SOC 2 Type II reports.

  • No flag or environment limitsUnlimited feature flags, environments, identities and segments are listed on Free, Start-Up, Scale-Up and Enterprise.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • Open source and self-hostableFlags, remote config, targeting and multivariate flags are BSD-3-Clause licensed; Enterprise adds supported private-cloud and self-hosted deployments.Evidence: Open-source and pricing pages (2026-10-15)
  • SOC 2 Type II on fileThe trust centre lists SOC 2 Type II reports for 2025 and 2026 and says a BAA is available for private-cloud and self-hosted deployments.Evidence: Trust centre (2026-10-15)
Best for
Small teams that want many flags and environments at a low price, and teams that may later self-host on an open-source core.
Good to know
Team members drive the price: the free plan has 1, Start-Up 3, and Scale-Up 5 included, then $50 each up to 20.

How Flagsmith compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Feature flags: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Flagsmith compared with Statsig, LaunchDarkly, ConfigCat
MetricFlagsmithStatsigLaunchDarklyConfigCat
What you're paying forWorth the priceUnlimited flags and environments on every plan, an open-source core you can self-host, and SOC 2 Type II on the hosted service.Worth the priceFeature flags and full A/B testing on a free plan with unlimited seats, billed only for analytics events, not for flag checks.Saves engineering timeFeature flags and experiments on one platform with unlimited seats, free to 1,000 client-side users and $8.33 per 1,000 after that.Worth the priceFeature flags on flat plans with unlimited seats and users, and SAML SSO and SCIM even on the free plan.
Overall score5.18.7Best6.56.0
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measuredNo card neededNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$40/mo$150/mo$8.33/1k client-side MAU/mo$110/mo
Pricing modelTieredTieredUsage-basedTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsPlans sized by API requests and team membersMetered events (exposures with Metric Lifts, logged events)Client-side MAU and service connectionsFlat plans sized by config JSON downloads and network traffic
Free plan50,000 requests/mo, 1 team member, unlimited flags2 million metered events/mo, unlimited flag checks and seats1,000 client-side MAU, 5 service connections, unlimited seats and flags10 flags, 2 environments, 5M downloads/mo, unlimited seats
Reference scenario (50,000 MAU)$500 on Scale-Up, billed yearly, computed$0 on Developer, if no metered events$416.50 on Foundation, billed yearly, computed$110 on Pro, billed annually, if downloads stay near 15M
A/B testingMultivariate flags; built-in analysis in betaAll plans, incl. CUPED and sequential testingAll plans; 100,000 experimentation MAU on DeveloperNot listed; flag data sent to analytics tools
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; not ISO 27001 certifiedSOC 2 Type II (Statsig report); ISO certificate listed is Amplitude’sBothISO 27001:2022
HIPAA BAAPrivate cloud and self-hosted onlyEnterpriseThrough an account executiveNot stated
EU data regionSaaS data in London (UK); region choice on private cloudEU hosting on EnterpriseEU instance for new Enterprise accounts and trialsMain infrastructure in the EU; EU-only CDN option
SAML SSOScale-Up on the pricing page; Enterprise in the docsEnterpriseEnterpriseEvery plan, incl. Free
Audit logScale-Up and EnterpriseChange logs on every planEnterprise7 days on Free, 35 days on Pro
Seats5 on Scale-Up, then $50 per member (yearly)Unlimited, no per-seat chargeUnlimited, no per-seat chargeUnlimited, no per-seat charge
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Flagsmith offers unlimited flags on every plan, an open-source core and SOC 2 Type II. Team size sets the price, and a few plan details differ between its pricing page and docs.From its public pages, Statsig gives the most for nothing here: unlimited seats and flag checks, with experiments and analytics on the free plan. SSO and EU hosting need Enterprise, and the product now sits within Amplitude.From its public pages, LaunchDarkly is the broadest platform here, with experiments on every plan and a long compliance list. Client-side users drive the bill, and SSO and audit logging are listed for Enterprise.From its public pages, ConfigCat is the most focused flag service here, with the most team controls on its free plan. Its score reflects no built-in experimentation and a shorter compliance list.

Evidence: Flagsmith: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Statsig: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; LaunchDarkly: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; ConfigCat: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
5.0 / 10, Fair
billed by API requests and team members; the scenario is priced on the page; the Scale-Up overage rate is not stated (the FAQ gives $7 per 100,000 requests for Start-Up); the pricing page lists SAML SSO on Scale-Up while the SAML docs say it requires an Enterprise subscription; the plan card adds A/B testing on Start-Up while the plan table marks it on Free
Free tier
6.0 / 10, Good
50,000 API requests a month, 1 seat, unlimited flags, does not cover the reference scenario
Price for 50,000 monthly users
1.9 / 10, Fair
$500/mo: Scale-Up billed yearly: $250 with 5 team members, plus 5 more at $50 each; 5 million requests a month; assumes the web app makes 1 request per app load (the pricing FAQ’s single-page-app example) and each user loads it no more than about 98 times a month (4.9 million), plus 86,400 requests from one backend instance per environment refreshing every 60 seconds
Experimentation and rollout safety
5.0 / 10, Fair
A/B tests on a paid self-serve plan; no rollout metric monitoring listed
Compliance and data residency
6.0 / 10, Good
own SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA BAA on enterprise terms or by agreement, EU data region on enterprise only
Team and control
7.0 / 10, Good
SAML SSO on a paid self-serve plan; audit log on a paid self-serve plan; priced per seat; open-source SDKs; OpenFeature providers; self-hosted option

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Flagsmith's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Flagsmith's pricing page with its yearly and monthly prices, its trust centre, its governance, cloud and open-source pages, and its docs on SAML, audit logs, experimentation, server-side SDKs, OpenFeature and import and export on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page has four plans: Free (50,000 requests a month, 1 team member), Start-Up ($40 a month billed yearly or $45 monthly, 1 million requests, 3 members), Scale-Up ($250 yearly or $300 monthly, 5 million requests, 5 members and up to 20 at $50 or $60 each) and Enterprise. Flags, environments, identities and segments are unlimited on every plan; the FAQ says a single-page app makes 1 request per load and keeps the flags for the session.

Three details differ between pages. The Scale-Up card lists SAML SSO, while the SAML docs say it requires an Enterprise subscription. The plan card adds A/B testing on Start-Up, while the plan table marks it on Free. And the overage FAQ gives a rate for Start-Up ($7 per 100,000 requests) but not for Scale-Up.

The trust centre is unusually direct: SOC 2 Type II reports for 2025 and 2026, no ISO 27001 certification, a BAA only for private-cloud and self-hosted deployments, and SaaS data stored in AWS London. Built-in experiment analysis, with a Bayesian statistics engine and a managed warehouse, is in beta; the pricing page does not say which plans include it.

Strengths

  • Unlimited flags and environments

    Every plan, including Free, lists unlimited flags, environments, identities and segments; plans differ in requests and team members.

    vs ConfigCat: ConfigCat’s free plan allows 10 flags and 2 environments.

  • Open-source core

    Core flag features are BSD-3-Clause licensed and can be self-hosted with Docker or Kubernetes; Enterprise adds supported private-cloud and on-premise deployments.

  • Built-in experiment analysis (beta)

    The experimentation beta reports lift, credible intervals and chance to win from a Bayesian engine, with a managed warehouse for events.

    vs ConfigCat: Unleash and ConfigCat send flag data to a separate analytics tool instead.

  • SOC 2 Type II

    The trust centre lists SOC 2 Type II reports for 2025 and 2026, available on request.

    vs ConfigCat: ConfigCat lists ISO 27001 but no SOC 2.

  • OpenFeature providers

    The docs list OpenFeature providers for 10 languages and say Flagsmith sits on the OpenFeature governance board.

Things to know

  • Small plans for teams

    Free allows 1 team member and 50,000 requests a month; Start-Up allows 3 team members and 1 million requests.

  • Team size sets the price

    Scale-Up includes 5 team members, then $50 each billed yearly ($60 monthly) up to 20; larger teams move to Enterprise.

  • No EU region on the SaaS

    The trust centre says SaaS data is stored in AWS London (eu-west-2); private-cloud customers choose their region, and no BAA is offered for the public SaaS.

  • Pages differ on plan details

    SAML SSO is on the Scale-Up card but the SAML docs say Enterprise; A/B testing is a Start-Up addition on the card but marked on Free in the table; Scale-Up overage is not priced.

    Workaround: Confirm SAML and overage terms with Flagsmith before choosing Scale-Up.

Pricing reality

Flagsmith sells plans sized by API requests and team members: Start-Up $40 a month billed yearly ($45 monthly) with 1 million requests and 3 members; Scale-Up $250 yearly ($300 monthly) with 5 million requests and 5 members, then $50 per member up to 20 ($60 monthly). A first overage within 200% of a paid limit gets a 30-day grace period; Start-Up overage is $7 per 100,000 requests.

For our scenario, 10 team members rule out Start-Up, so Scale-Up costs $250 + 5 × $50 = $500 a month billed yearly, or $600 monthly. A single-page app makes 1 request per load, so 50,000 users can each load it about 98 times a month (4.9 million) before the backend’s 86,400 environment-document requests take the total to 5 million (our arithmetic).

Exit path

The core is open source under BSD-3-Clause and can be self-hosted. The docs describe exporting a whole organisation to another Flagsmith instance, bulk feature import and export between projects and a Management API, and list OpenFeature providers for 10 languages.

Compared with

  • Pick Flagsmith when
    You want unlimited flags and environments on a free plan, built-in experiment analysis or SOC 2 Type II.
    Pick ConfigCat when
    You want SAML SSO and SCIM on every plan, unlimited seats and EU-based infrastructure.
  • Pick Flagsmith when
    You want a free hosted plan and a lower bill for a small team: $500 a month for 10 members, billed yearly.
    Pick Unleash when
    You want EU data residency on a self-serve plan, rollout safeguards and 53 million requests a month included.

Choose it if

  • You want unlimited flags and environments at a low starting price.
  • You may want to self-host on an open-source core later.
  • You use OpenFeature or want SOC 2 Type II from your flag vendor.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need an EU data region on the SaaS or a BAA without a private deployment.
  • Your team is larger than 20 and you want a self-serve plan.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Flagsmith offers unlimited flags on every plan, an open-source core and SOC 2 Type II. Team size sets the price, and a few plan details differ between its pricing page and docs.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitsPlans sized by API requests and team members
Free plan50,000 requests/mo, 1 team member, unlimited flags
Reference scenario (50,000 MAU)$500 on Scale-Up, billed yearly, computed
A/B testingMultivariate flags; built-in analysis in beta
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; not ISO 27001 certified
HIPAA BAAPrivate cloud and self-hosted only
EU data regionSaaS data in London (UK); region choice on private cloud
SAML SSOScale-Up on the pricing page; Enterprise in the docs
Audit logScale-Up and Enterprise
Seats5 on Scale-Up, then $50 per member (yearly)

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Flagsmith lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Start-Up, costs $40/mo.

  • FlagsmithFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    50,000 API requests/mo, 1 team member, 1 project
    • Unlimited flags, environments, identities and segments
    • API access
  • FlagsmithLowest price
    Start-Up
    $40/mo
    Billed yearly ($45 monthly); 1,000,000 requests/mo, 3 team members
    • Unlimited projects
    • 2FA and scheduled flags
    • A/B and multivariate testing
    • Overage $7 per 100,000 requests
  • Flagsmith
    Scale-Up
    $250/mo
    Billed yearly ($300 monthly); 5,000,000+ requests/mo, 5 team members, up to 20 at $50 each ($60 monthly)
    • SAML SSO
    • Roles, permissions and change requests
    • Unlimited audit log history
    • Priority email and chat support
  • Flagsmith
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • Cloud, private cloud or self-hosted
    • 20+ team members
    • LDAP, Okta and ADFS
    • Enterprise SLA

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: flagsmith.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site