ConfigCat review

by ConfigCatFeature flags

Feature flags on flat monthly plans, with unlimited seats and users, and SAML SSO and SCIM on every plan.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Compliance included

Feature flags on flat plans with unlimited seats and users, and SAML SSO and SCIM even on the free plan.

ConfigCat prices flags by plan, not by user: every plan has unlimited seats, MAU and flag reads, and the SDKs evaluate flags from a locally cached config file, so only downloads of that file count. 2FA, SAML SSO and SCIM are listed on every plan, including Forever Free, and the main infrastructure is in the EU. Teams that only need flags and remote config get identity-provider controls without an enterprise contract.

  • No user or seat billingSeats, service connections, MAU and flag reads are unlimited on every plan; plans differ in flags, environments, downloads and traffic.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • SAML SSO and SCIM on every planThe pricing table lists 2FA, SSO, SAML and SCIM user provisioning across all plans, including Forever Free.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • EU infrastructure and ISO 27001The FAQ says the main infrastructure and database are in the EU, with an EU-only CDN option; the trust center lists ISO 27001:2022 and a DPA.Evidence: FAQ, data governance docs and trust center (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want flags and remote config at a flat price, with SSO and EU data, and run experiments in a separate analytics tool.
Good to know
ConfigCat lists no built-in experiment analysis, and Forever Free is limited to 10 flags and 2 environments.

How ConfigCat compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Feature flags: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

ConfigCat compared with Statsig, LaunchDarkly, Flagsmith
MetricConfigCatStatsigLaunchDarklyFlagsmith
What you're paying forWorth the priceFeature flags on flat plans with unlimited seats and users, and SAML SSO and SCIM even on the free plan.Worth the priceFeature flags and full A/B testing on a free plan with unlimited seats, billed only for analytics events, not for flag checks.Saves engineering timeFeature flags and experiments on one platform with unlimited seats, free to 1,000 client-side users and $8.33 per 1,000 after that.Worth the priceUnlimited flags and environments on every plan, an open-source core you can self-host, and SOC 2 Type II on the hosted service.
Overall score6.08.7Best6.55.1
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card neededNo card neededNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$110/mo$150/mo$8.33/1k client-side MAU/mo$40/mo
Pricing modelTieredTieredUsage-basedTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsFlat plans sized by config JSON downloads and network trafficMetered events (exposures with Metric Lifts, logged events)Client-side MAU and service connectionsPlans sized by API requests and team members
Free plan10 flags, 2 environments, 5M downloads/mo, unlimited seats2 million metered events/mo, unlimited flag checks and seats1,000 client-side MAU, 5 service connections, unlimited seats and flags50,000 requests/mo, 1 team member, unlimited flags
Reference scenario (50,000 MAU)$110 on Pro, billed annually, if downloads stay near 15M$0 on Developer, if no metered events$416.50 on Foundation, billed yearly, computed$500 on Scale-Up, billed yearly, computed
A/B testingNot listed; flag data sent to analytics toolsAll plans, incl. CUPED and sequential testingAll plans; 100,000 experimentation MAU on DeveloperMultivariate flags; built-in analysis in beta
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001ISO 27001:2022SOC 2 Type II (Statsig report); ISO certificate listed is Amplitude’sBothSOC 2 Type II; not ISO 27001 certified
HIPAA BAANot statedEnterpriseThrough an account executivePrivate cloud and self-hosted only
EU data regionMain infrastructure in the EU; EU-only CDN optionEU hosting on EnterpriseEU instance for new Enterprise accounts and trialsSaaS data in London (UK); region choice on private cloud
SAML SSOEvery plan, incl. FreeEnterpriseEnterpriseScale-Up on the pricing page; Enterprise in the docs
Audit log7 days on Free, 35 days on ProChange logs on every planEnterpriseScale-Up and Enterprise
SeatsUnlimited, no per-seat chargeUnlimited, no per-seat chargeUnlimited, no per-seat charge5 on Scale-Up, then $50 per member (yearly)
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, ConfigCat is the most focused flag service here, with the most team controls on its free plan. Its score reflects no built-in experimentation and a shorter compliance list.From its public pages, Statsig gives the most for nothing here: unlimited seats and flag checks, with experiments and analytics on the free plan. SSO and EU hosting need Enterprise, and the product now sits within Amplitude.From its public pages, LaunchDarkly is the broadest platform here, with experiments on every plan and a long compliance list. Client-side users drive the bill, and SSO and audit logging are listed for Enterprise.From its public pages, Flagsmith offers unlimited flags on every plan, an open-source core and SOC 2 Type II. Team size sets the price, and a few plan details differ between its pricing page and docs.

Evidence: ConfigCat: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Statsig: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; LaunchDarkly: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Flagsmith: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
billed by config JSON downloads and network traffic (GB); the scenario is priced on the page
Free tier
7.0 / 10, Good
5 million config JSON downloads and 20 GB a month, unlimited seats, 10 flags, does not cover the reference scenario
Price for 50,000 monthly users
6.0 / 10, Good
$110/mo: Pro billed annually: 100 flags, 3 environments, 25 million downloads and 100 GB a month; assumes downloads follow ConfigCat's own docs example (5 hours a month per user, 60-second polling): 50,000 × 300 = 15 million
Experimentation and rollout safety
1.0 / 10, Fair
no built-in A/B analysis; flag data sent to analytics tools; no rollout metric monitoring listed
Compliance and data residency
4.0 / 10, Fair
no SOC 2 Type II stated, ISO 27001, EU data region
Team and control
10.0 / 10, Excellent
SAML SSO on the free plan; audit log on the free plan; no per-seat charge; open-source SDKs; OpenFeature providers; self-hosted option

Review

Review from public pages

Written from ConfigCat's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read ConfigCat's pricing page, its trust center, its FAQ and its docs on config JSON downloads, network traffic, data governance, SAML and OpenFeature on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page has five plans with prices for annual or monthly billing and in four currencies, and says the Forever Free plan has the same feature set as the paid plans; what changes is the number of flags, environments, products, targeting rules and the download and traffic quotas.

The pricing model follows the architecture. SDKs download a config JSON file from ConfigCat's CDN, cache it and evaluate flags locally, so only downloads count, not users or flag checks. The docs work an example: a web app user active 5 hours a month with the default 60-second polling makes 300 downloads a month. If a plan's limit is reached, the docs say the application keeps running and ConfigCat will get in touch.

What stood out is how much identity control sits on the free plan: 2FA, SAML SSO and SCIM are listed across every plan.

Strengths

  • SAML SSO and SCIM on the free plan

    The pricing table lists 2FA, SSO, SAML and SCIM on all plans, including Forever Free.

    vs LaunchDarkly: LaunchDarkly and Statsig list SSO on Enterprise.

  • No per-user billing

    Seats, MAU, service connections and flag reads are unlimited on every plan; you pick a plan by flags and download volume.

  • EU data by default

    The FAQ says the main infrastructure and database are in the EU, and the EU-only CDN option keeps config files in the EU.

  • Many exit and hosting options

    Open-source SDKs, OpenFeature providers, a JSON export of each product and a Dedicated plan that can run on your own servers.

Things to know

  • No built-in experiment analysis

    The pricing page lists no A/B test analysis; the docs describe sending flag evaluations to Amplitude, Mixpanel, Google Analytics or Segment.

    Workaround: Percentage options and the analytics integrations let you analyse a rollout in a tool you already use.

  • Free plan is small for production

    Forever Free allows 10 flags, 2 environments and 5 million downloads a month.

  • No SOC 2 or HIPAA listed

    The trust center lists ISO 27001:2022 and a DPA, but no SOC 2 report or HIPAA BAA.

  • Downloads depend on polling

    Usage depends on users, session length and polling interval, so the right plan takes an estimate.

Pricing reality

ConfigCat sells flat plans: Pro $110 a month billed annually ($120 monthly), Smart $325 ($360), Enterprise $900 ($1,000) and Dedicated $4,500 billed annually. Each plan includes a download and traffic quota (25 million and 100 GB on Pro), and Pro can add 25 million downloads and 100 GB for $95 a month. Seats and users are not charged.

For our scenario, ConfigCat's own docs example gives 300 downloads per user a month, so 50,000 users make 15 million, and a backend polling every minute in 2 environments adds about 86,400 (our arithmetic). That fits Pro at $110 a month; 30 flags also exceed Forever Free's limit of 10. Longer sessions or shorter polling raise the count.

Exit path

The FAQ says you can export a product as a standard JSON file at any time, including flags, targeting rules, segments and tags. SDKs are open source on GitHub, OpenFeature providers are documented, and Enterprise and Dedicated customers can add a source-code escrow for an extra cost.

Compared with

  • Pick ConfigCat when
    You want a flat price that does not grow with users, and SAML SSO without an Enterprise contract.
    Pick LaunchDarkly when
    You want experimentation built in, or SOC 2 Type II and FedRAMP on the vendor’s own name.
  • Pick ConfigCat when
    You need SAML SSO, SCIM or EU data storage on a self-serve plan.
    Pick Statsig when
    You want A/B tests and product analytics built in, on a free plan.

Choose it if

  • You want feature flags and remote config at a flat price.
  • You need SAML SSO or SCIM without an enterprise contract.
  • You want your data in the EU or an on-premise option later.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want experiment analysis inside the flag tool.
  • Your security review requires a SOC 2 report or a HIPAA BAA.

Bottom line

From its public pages, ConfigCat is the most focused flag service here, with the most team controls on its free plan. Its score reflects no built-in experimentation and a shorter compliance list.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitsFlat plans sized by config JSON downloads and network traffic
Free plan10 flags, 2 environments, 5M downloads/mo, unlimited seats
Reference scenario (50,000 MAU)$110 on Pro, billed annually, if downloads stay near 15M
A/B testingNot listed; flag data sent to analytics tools
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001ISO 27001:2022
HIPAA BAANot stated
EU data regionMain infrastructure in the EU; EU-only CDN option
SAML SSOEvery plan, incl. Free
Audit log7 days on Free, 35 days on Pro
SeatsUnlimited, no per-seat charge

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

ConfigCat lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Pro, costs $110/mo.

  • ConfigCatFree
    Forever Free
    $0/mo
    10 flags, 2 environments, 5M config JSON downloads and 20 GB/mo
    • Unlimited seats and MAU
    • SAML SSO and SCIM
    • 7-day audit log
    • No card required
  • ConfigCatLowest price
    Pro
    $110/mo
    Billed annually ($120 monthly); 100 flags, 3 environments, 25M downloads and 100 GB/mo
    • 35-day audit log
    • 99.9% uptime SLA
    • Add-on: +25M downloads and +100 GB for $95/mo
    • Standard support
  • ConfigCat
    Smart
    $325/mo
    Billed annually ($360 monthly); unlimited flags and environments, 250M downloads and 1 TB/mo
    • 10 products
    • 99.95% uptime SLA
    • Unlimited segments and webhooks
  • ConfigCat
    Enterprise
    $900/mo
    Billed annually ($1,000 monthly); 1B downloads and 4 TB/mo
    • 2-year audit log
    • 99.99% uptime SLA
    • Premium support, custom agreements
  • ConfigCat
    Dedicated
    $4,500/mo
    Billed annually; hosted or on-premise
    • 6B+ downloads and 24 TB/mo
    • Private cloud managed by you or by ConfigCat

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: configcat.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site