LaunchDarkly review

by LaunchDarkly (Catamorphic Co.)Feature flags

Feature flags and experimentation with unlimited seats, billed by client-side MAU and server-side service connections.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Saves engineering time (main value)
  • Compliance included

Feature flags and experiments on one platform with unlimited seats, free to 1,000 client-side users and $8.33 per 1,000 after that.

LaunchDarkly replaces a home-grown flag system with targeting, percentage rollouts and A/B tests in one place, with 30 SDKs (13 client-side, 13 server-side, 4 edge). Seats are not charged on any plan; the bill follows client-side MAU and server-side service connections. Its security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and FedRAMP, and SSO, audit logging and an EU instance are available on Enterprise.

  • Experiments on every planThe plan table marks A/B testing on flags, CUPED and sequential testing on Developer, Foundation and Enterprise; Developer includes 100,000 experimentation MAU a month.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • No seat chargesEvery plan lists unlimited seats; the pricing page says pricing is based on usage, not on who logs in.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • SOC 2, ISO 27001 and FedRAMPThe security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and FedRAMP authorization, plus an EU region; a HIPAA BAA is arranged through an account executive.Evidence: Security page and PHI docs (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want flags and experiments in one tool, with the whole team invited, and may grow into Enterprise controls.
Good to know
SAML SSO, audit logging and the EU instance are listed for Enterprise, and client-side users cost $8.33 per 1,000 on Foundation.

How LaunchDarkly compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Feature flags: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

LaunchDarkly compared with Statsig, ConfigCat, Flagsmith
MetricLaunchDarklyStatsigConfigCatFlagsmith
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeFeature flags and experiments on one platform with unlimited seats, free to 1,000 client-side users and $8.33 per 1,000 after that.Worth the priceFeature flags and full A/B testing on a free plan with unlimited seats, billed only for analytics events, not for flag checks.Worth the priceFeature flags on flat plans with unlimited seats and users, and SAML SSO and SCIM even on the free plan.Worth the priceUnlimited flags and environments on every plan, an open-source core you can self-host, and SOC 2 Type II on the hosted service.
Overall score6.58.7Best6.05.1
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card neededNo card neededNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$8.33/1k client-side MAU/mo$150/mo$110/mo$40/mo
Pricing modelUsage-basedTieredTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsClient-side MAU and service connectionsMetered events (exposures with Metric Lifts, logged events)Flat plans sized by config JSON downloads and network trafficPlans sized by API requests and team members
Free plan1,000 client-side MAU, 5 service connections, unlimited seats and flags2 million metered events/mo, unlimited flag checks and seats10 flags, 2 environments, 5M downloads/mo, unlimited seats50,000 requests/mo, 1 team member, unlimited flags
Reference scenario (50,000 MAU)$416.50 on Foundation, billed yearly, computed$0 on Developer, if no metered events$110 on Pro, billed annually, if downloads stay near 15M$500 on Scale-Up, billed yearly, computed
A/B testingAll plans; 100,000 experimentation MAU on DeveloperAll plans, incl. CUPED and sequential testingNot listed; flag data sent to analytics toolsMultivariate flags; built-in analysis in beta
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001BothSOC 2 Type II (Statsig report); ISO certificate listed is Amplitude’sISO 27001:2022SOC 2 Type II; not ISO 27001 certified
HIPAA BAAThrough an account executiveEnterpriseNot statedPrivate cloud and self-hosted only
EU data regionEU instance for new Enterprise accounts and trialsEU hosting on EnterpriseMain infrastructure in the EU; EU-only CDN optionSaaS data in London (UK); region choice on private cloud
SAML SSOEnterpriseEnterpriseEvery plan, incl. FreeScale-Up on the pricing page; Enterprise in the docs
Audit logEnterpriseChange logs on every plan7 days on Free, 35 days on ProScale-Up and Enterprise
SeatsUnlimited, no per-seat chargeUnlimited, no per-seat chargeUnlimited, no per-seat charge5 on Scale-Up, then $50 per member (yearly)
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, LaunchDarkly is the broadest platform here, with experiments on every plan and a long compliance list. Client-side users drive the bill, and SSO and audit logging are listed for Enterprise.From its public pages, Statsig gives the most for nothing here: unlimited seats and flag checks, with experiments and analytics on the free plan. SSO and EU hosting need Enterprise, and the product now sits within Amplitude.From its public pages, ConfigCat is the most focused flag service here, with the most team controls on its free plan. Its score reflects no built-in experimentation and a shorter compliance list.From its public pages, Flagsmith offers unlimited flags on every plan, an open-source core and SOC 2 Type II. Team size sets the price, and a few plan details differ between its pricing page and docs.

Evidence: LaunchDarkly: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Statsig: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; ConfigCat: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Flagsmith: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
6.0 / 10, Good
billed by client-side MAU and service connections; the scenario is priced on the page; an Enterprise note says SSO and SAML are on every plan while the plan table marks SSO Enterprise only; whether Foundation includes any free client-side MAU is not stated
Free tier
8.0 / 10, Excellent
1,000 client-side MAU and 5 service connections a month, unlimited seats, unlimited flags, does not cover the reference scenario
Price for 50,000 monthly users
2.4 / 10, Fair
$416.50/mo: Foundation: 50 × $8.33 per 1,000 client-side MAU billed yearly; 2 service connections within the 5 included; assumes all 50,000 users are billed, staging adds no new users and the backend runs one instance per environment
Experimentation and rollout safety
9.0 / 10, Excellent
A/B tests on the free plan; CUPED or sequential testing; rollout metric monitoring on enterprise or an add-on
Compliance and data residency
8.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on enterprise terms or by agreement, EU data region on enterprise only
Team and control
5.5 / 10, Fair
SAML SSO on enterprise only; audit log on enterprise only; no per-seat charge; open-source SDKs; OpenFeature providers

Review

Review from public pages

Written from LaunchDarkly's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read LaunchDarkly's pricing page, its billing and service-connection docs, its security page and its EU and PHI docs on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page has three plans and an add-on: Developer (free), Foundation (pay as you go after a 14-day trial), Enterprise (custom) and Guardian, a paid release-safety add-on for Enterprise. A billing switch shows Foundation at $8.33 per 1,000 client-side MAU and $10 per service connection billed yearly, or $10 and $12 billed monthly.

The docs explain the two units. A client-side MAU is a unique context key, usually a user, evaluated in a month by a client-side, AI or edge SDK. A service connection is one instance of one server-side SDK connected to one environment, measured in minutes, so every server instance in production and staging counts. The docs say MAU overage is never throttled on paid plans, while a Developer account that keeps exceeding its limits converts to read-only.

One point needs a question to sales: an Enterprise note on the pricing page says SSO and SAML are included on every plan, while the plan table marks SSO as Enterprise only and the SSO docs say it is available on select plans.

Strengths

  • Experimentation on every plan

    A/B tests on flags, Bayesian and frequentist analysis, CUPED and sequential testing are marked on all three plans, with 100,000 experimentation MAU on Developer.

    vs ConfigCat: ConfigCat lists no experiment analysis and sends flag data to analytics tools instead.

  • Unlimited seats on every plan

    No plan charges per seat, so the whole team can be invited at no extra cost.

  • Broad compliance list

    The security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and FedRAMP authorization, and an EU instance in AWS Frankfurt.

    vs ConfigCat: ConfigCat lists ISO 27001 but no SOC 2; Statsig’s trust center lists a SOC 2 Type II report.

  • Portable SDK layer

    The docs say all LaunchDarkly SDKs are open source and document OpenFeature providers for several languages.

Things to know

  • Client-side users are the main cost

    Foundation bills $8.33 per 1,000 client-side MAU billed yearly, so 50,000 users come to $416.50 a month.

    Workaround: Server-side evaluation bills by service connections instead, and the first five are included.

  • Team controls start on Enterprise

    The plan table lists SSO, SCIM, audit logging, custom roles, code references and flag scheduling on Enterprise.

  • EU instance for new Enterprise accounts

    The EU docs say the Frankfurt instance supports only net new Enterprise accounts and trials.

  • Free plan goes read-only past its limits

    Developer includes 1,000 client-side MAU and 5 service connections; the docs say an account that keeps exceeding them converts to read-only.

Pricing reality

LaunchDarkly bills two units on Foundation: client-side MAU at $8.33 per 1,000 billed yearly ($10 monthly) and server-side service connections at $10 each beyond the first five ($12 monthly). Seats, flags, projects and environments are not charged. Kubernetes, serverless, Python and Ruby setups get custom rates, because they create many server-side connections.

For our scenario, 50,000 MAU cost 50 × $8.33 = $416.50 a month billed yearly, or $500 billed monthly. One backend instance per environment is 2 service connections, within the 5 included. The page does not say whether Foundation includes free MAU; if the first 1,000 were included, the figure would be $408.17 (our arithmetic).

Exit path

The docs say all LaunchDarkly SDKs are open source, and they document OpenFeature providers, so flag checks written against the vendor-neutral OpenFeature API can later point at another provider.

Compared with

  • Pick LaunchDarkly when
    You want FedRAMP and ISO 27001 on the vendor’s own name, or an EU instance on an Enterprise contract.
    Pick Statsig when
    You want flag checks that are not billed per user and experimentation on a free plan with 2 million events.
  • Pick LaunchDarkly when
    You want A/B testing and experiment analysis built into the flag tool.
    Pick ConfigCat when
    You want flat plan prices, SAML SSO and SCIM on every plan, and no per-user billing.

Choose it if

  • You want flags and experiments in one tool, with every engineer invited.
  • Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 or FedRAMP.
  • Most of your flag checks run on servers, where billing is per connection.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need SAML SSO or an audit log without an Enterprise contract.
  • You evaluate flags client-side for many users and want a flat price.

Bottom line

From its public pages, LaunchDarkly is the broadest platform here, with experiments on every plan and a long compliance list. Client-side users drive the bill, and SSO and audit logging are listed for Enterprise.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitsClient-side MAU and service connections
Free plan1,000 client-side MAU, 5 service connections, unlimited seats and flags
Reference scenario (50,000 MAU)$416.50 on Foundation, billed yearly, computed
A/B testingAll plans; 100,000 experimentation MAU on Developer
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001Both
HIPAA BAAThrough an account executive
EU data regionEU instance for new Enterprise accounts and trials
SAML SSOEnterprise
Audit logEnterprise
SeatsUnlimited, no per-seat charge

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

LaunchDarkly lists 3 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Foundation, costs $8.33/1k client-side MAU/mo.

  • LaunchDarklyFree
    Developer
    $0/mo
    1,000 client-side MAU and 5 service connections/mo, unlimited seats
    • Unlimited flags
    • 1 project and 3 environments
    • 100,000 experimentation MAU/mo
    • No credit card required
  • LaunchDarkly
    Foundation
    $8.33/1k client-side MAU/mo
    Billed yearly ($10 monthly); service connections $10 each beyond the first 5 ($12 monthly)
    • Unlimited projects and environments
    • 14-day trial, then pay as you go
    • No platform or seat fees
    • Custom rates for Kubernetes, serverless, Python and Ruby
  • LaunchDarkly
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • SSO, SCIM and custom roles
    • Audit logging
    • Workflows, flag scheduling and approvals
    • Guardian add-on: release monitoring and automatic rollback

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: launchdarkly.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site