E-commerce platforms · Comparison

Ecwid vs Shopify

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Ecwid vs Shopify: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricEcwidShopify
What you're paying forWorth the priceA store you can add to the website you already have, with no Ecwid transaction fee and abandoned cart emails and subscriptions from $49 a month.Built-in reachA store, its payments, in-person selling and the main sales channels in one admin, with card rates that fall as you move up a plan.
Overall score6.17.5Best
Free optionPaid only3-day free trial
Card to start–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$5/mo$29/mo
Pricing modelFlat rateFlat rate
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitFlat monthly plan per store, plus card processingFlat monthly plan per store, plus card processing
Free optionNo free plan for new sign-ups; no trial listed; Starter $5/moNo free store plan; 3-day trial, no card, then $1/mo for 3 months on most plans
Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual)$399/mo on Business ($49 + $290 + $60), computed$409/mo on Grow ($79 + $270 + $60), computed
Month-to-month price$5 / $35 / $65 / $149 for Starter, Venture, Business and Unlimited$39 / $105 / $399 for Basic, Grow and Advanced
US online card rate2.9% + 30¢ on Lightspeed Payments, every plan2.9% + 30¢ (Basic), 2.7% + 30¢ (Grow), 2.5% + 30¢ (Advanced)
Fee with another payment provider$0 on Ecwid pages; Lightspeed agreement sets a monthly fee for eligible customers2% / 1% / 0.6% (Plus 0.2%)
Products and staff10 / 100 / 2,500 / unlimited products; staff 0 / 0 / 2 / unlimitedUnlimited products; staff 0 / 5 / 15 / unlimited
Abandoned cart recoveryBusiness and upEvery plan
Selling channelsFacebook, Instagram, Google listings; marketplaces through third-party apps; mobile POSPOS, Google, Meta, TikTok on every plan; Amazon, eBay, Walmart via Marketplace Connect
PCI / SOC 2 / ISO 27001PCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 Type II (Lightspeed E-Series); ISO 27001 not statedPCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not stated
Data exportCSV of products, orders and customers from Venture; REST API on paid plansCSV of products, orders and customers; Admin API on every plan
Data after closingErased when the account is deleted; $12.50/mo Suspension planKept 2 years after deactivation
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Ecwid is a low-cost way to add a store to an existing site, with cart emails, subscriptions and full CSV export from $49 a month. There is no free plan or trial, and whether Lightspeed’s monthly fee for other payment providers applies to Ecwid stores is worth asking.From its public pages, Shopify has the broadest set of selling features here on the plan our scenario needs, with PCI Level 1, SOC 2 Type II and a 2-year data window. Staff accounts start on Grow, and a store that uses another payment provider pays Shopify a fee on top.

Evidence: Ecwid: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Shopify: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Ecwid review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Ecwid when
    You want to add a store to your existing website, at $399 a month for our scenario (computed).
    Pick Shopify when
    You need more than 2 staff with two-step login, multi-currency prices or data kept after closing.
  • From our Shopify review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Shopify when
    You want unlimited products, staff two-step authentication and data kept after closing.
    Pick Ecwid when
    You want to add a store to a site you already have, at $399 a month for our scenario on Business (computed).

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Ecwid
    Starter
    $5/mo
    Same price billed monthly or yearly
    • Up to 10 products
    • Instant Site on a company.site address, Linkup page
    • Add the store to any website
    • No custom domain, staff, coupons or data export
  • Shopify
    Basic
    $29/mo
    Billed yearly; $39 month to month (US list price)
    • Unlimited products, custom domain, abandoned checkout recovery
    • Online card rate 2.9% + 30¢; 2% fee with another provider
    • Gift cards, local-currency prices, casual in-person selling
    • No staff accounts; custom apps with limited data access

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Ecwid 2026-10-16, Shopify 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
ShopifySelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.5/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
Shopify3-day free trial, no card needed; scored 7.5/10.
Lowest starter price
Ecwid$5/mo for the Starter plan.
Highest overall score
Shopify7.5/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in E-commerce platforms

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.