E-commerce platforms · Comparison

BigCommerce vs Shopify

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

BigCommerce vs Shopify: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricBigCommerceShopify
What you're paying forBuilt-in reachA hosted store with unlimited staff and products on every plan, marketplace channels built in and ISO 27001 behind it.Built-in reachA store, its payments, in-person selling and the main sales channels in one admin, with card rates that fall as you move up a plan.
Overall score6.07.5Best
Free option15-day free trial3-day free trial
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$29/mo$29/mo
Pricing modelTieredFlat rate
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitFlat monthly plan per store, tied to annual sales (GMV caps), plus card processingFlat monthly plan per store, plus card processing
Free optionNo free plan; 15-day trial, no cardNo free store plan; 3-day trial, no card, then $1/mo for 3 months on most plans
Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual)$598/mo on Scale ($299 + $239 + $60), computed; Growth’s $100K sales cap is exceeded$409/mo on Grow ($79 + $270 + $60), computed
Month-to-month price$39 / $105 / $399 for Core, Growth and Scale$39 / $105 / $399 for Basic, Grow and Advanced
US online card rate2.89% + 30¢ (Core), 2.59% + 30¢ (Growth), 2.39% + 30¢ (Scale)2.9% + 30¢ (Basic), 2.7% + 30¢ (Grow), 2.5% + 30¢ (Advanced)
Fee with another payment provider2.0% / 1.0% / 0.6% on Open Payment Providers; 0% on 21 embedded providers2% / 1% / 0.6% (Plus 0.2%)
Products and staffUnlimited products and staff accounts on every planUnlimited products; staff 0 / 5 / 15 / unlimited
Abandoned cart recoveryGrowth and upEvery plan
Selling channelsAmazon, eBay, Walmart built in; Google and Meta through Feedonomics; POS through appsPOS, Google, Meta, TikTok on every plan; Amazon, eBay, Walmart via Marketplace Connect
PCI / SOC 2 / ISO 27001PCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 (type not stated); ISO/IEC 27001:2022PCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not stated
Data exportCSV or XML of products, orders and customers; API and webhooks on every planCSV of products, orders and customers; Admin API on every plan
Data after closingDeleted 30 days after cancellationKept 2 years after deactivation
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, BigCommerce puts unlimited staff, reviews and marketplace channels on every plan and lets you keep your own processor. Plans are tied to sales, so our $10,000-a-month store lands on Scale, and several pages disagree on trial and billing details.From its public pages, Shopify has the broadest set of selling features here on the plan our scenario needs, with PCI Level 1, SOC 2 Type II and a 2-year data window. Staff accounts start on Grow, and a store that uses another payment provider pays Shopify a fee on top.

Evidence: BigCommerce: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Shopify: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our BigCommerce review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick BigCommerce when
    You want unlimited staff accounts, built-in product reviews and no platform fee with Stripe or another embedded provider.
    Pick Shopify when
    You sell $10,000 a month or more: our scenario costs $409 on Shopify Grow against $598 on Scale (computed).
  • From our Shopify review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Shopify when
    You sell $10,000 a month or more: our scenario costs $409 on Shopify Grow against $598 on BigCommerce Scale, where the sales cap moves the store (computed).
    Pick BigCommerce when
    You want unlimited staff accounts and product reviews on the entry plan, or ISO 27001.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • BigCommerce
    Core
    $29/mo
    Billed yearly; $39 month to month; up to $30K trailing 12-month GMV
    • Unlimited products and staff accounts
    • Real-time carrier rates, gift cards, product reviews
    • Online card rate 2.89% + 30¢; 2.0% fee on Open Payment Providers
    • No abandoned cart emails
  • Shopify
    Basic
    $29/mo
    Billed yearly; $39 month to month (US list price)
    • Unlimited products, custom domain, abandoned checkout recovery
    • Online card rate 2.9% + 30¢; 2% fee with another provider
    • Gift cards, local-currency prices, casual in-person selling
    • No staff accounts; custom apps with limited data access

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: BigCommerce 2026-10-16, Shopify 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
ShopifySelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.5/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
Shopify3-day free trial, no card needed, and the highest score of the 2 that skip the card (7.5/10).
Lowest starter price
BigCommerce and Shopify$29/mo for the Core (billed yearly) plan each.
Highest overall score
Shopify7.5/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in E-commerce platforms

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.