E-commerce platforms · Comparison
BigCommerce vs Ecwid
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | BigCommerce | Ecwid |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Built-in reachA hosted store with unlimited staff and products on every plan, marketplace channels built in and ISO 27001 behind it. | Worth the priceA store you can add to the website you already have, with no Ecwid transaction fee and abandoned cart emails and subscriptions from $49 a month. |
| Overall score | 6.0 | 6.1Best |
| Free option | 15-day free trial | Paid only |
| Card to start | No card needed | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $29/mo | $5/mo |
| Pricing model | Tiered | Flat rate |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Flat monthly plan per store, tied to annual sales (GMV caps), plus card processing | Flat monthly plan per store, plus card processing |
| Free option | No free plan; 15-day trial, no card | No free plan for new sign-ups; no trial listed; Starter $5/mo |
| Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual) | $598/mo on Scale ($299 + $239 + $60), computed; Growth’s $100K sales cap is exceeded | $399/mo on Business ($49 + $290 + $60), computed |
| Month-to-month price | $39 / $105 / $399 for Core, Growth and Scale | $5 / $35 / $65 / $149 for Starter, Venture, Business and Unlimited |
| US online card rate | 2.89% + 30¢ (Core), 2.59% + 30¢ (Growth), 2.39% + 30¢ (Scale) | 2.9% + 30¢ on Lightspeed Payments, every plan |
| Fee with another payment provider | 2.0% / 1.0% / 0.6% on Open Payment Providers; 0% on 21 embedded providers | $0 on Ecwid pages; Lightspeed agreement sets a monthly fee for eligible customers |
| Products and staff | Unlimited products and staff accounts on every plan | 10 / 100 / 2,500 / unlimited products; staff 0 / 0 / 2 / unlimited |
| Abandoned cart recovery | Growth and up | Business and up |
| Selling channels | Amazon, eBay, Walmart built in; Google and Meta through Feedonomics; POS through apps | Facebook, Instagram, Google listings; marketplaces through third-party apps; mobile POS |
| PCI / SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | PCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 (type not stated); ISO/IEC 27001:2022 | PCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 Type II (Lightspeed E-Series); ISO 27001 not stated |
| Data export | CSV or XML of products, orders and customers; API and webhooks on every plan | CSV of products, orders and customers from Venture; REST API on paid plans |
| Data after closing | Deleted 30 days after cancellation | Erased when the account is deleted; $12.50/mo Suspension plan |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, BigCommerce puts unlimited staff, reviews and marketplace channels on every plan and lets you keep your own processor. Plans are tied to sales, so our $10,000-a-month store lands on Scale, and several pages disagree on trial and billing details. | From its public pages, Ecwid is a low-cost way to add a store to an existing site, with cart emails, subscriptions and full CSV export from $49 a month. There is no free plan or trial, and whether Lightspeed’s monthly fee for other payment providers applies to Ecwid stores is worth asking. |
Evidence: BigCommerce: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Ecwid: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our BigCommerce review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick BigCommerce when
- You need more than 2 staff, a staff action log or data kept 30 days after cancelling.
- Pick Ecwid when
- You want no sales caps on plans and $399 a month for our scenario on Business (computed).
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- BigCommerceCore$29/moBilled yearly; $39 month to month; up to $30K trailing 12-month GMV
- Unlimited products and staff accounts
- Real-time carrier rates, gift cards, product reviews
- Online card rate 2.89% + 30¢; 2.0% fee on Open Payment Providers
- No abandoned cart emails
- EcwidStarter$5/moSame price billed monthly or yearly
- Up to 10 products
- Instant Site on a company.site address, Linkup page
- Add the store to any website
- No custom domain, staff, coupons or data export
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: BigCommerce 2026-10-16, Ecwid 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- EcwidSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.1/10).
- If you want to try it without entering a card
- BigCommerce15-day free trial, no card needed; scored 6.0/10.
- Lowest starter price
- Ecwid$5/mo for the Starter plan.
- Highest overall score
- Ecwid6.1/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in E-commerce platforms
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.