E-commerce platforms · Comparison

Big Cartel vs BigCommerce

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Big Cartel vs BigCommerce: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricBig CartelBigCommerce
What you're paying forWorth the priceA simple store for one maker with a small catalog: no transaction fees, US sales tax remitted for you, free for 5 products and $24 a month for 500.Built-in reachA hosted store with unlimited staff and products on every plan, marketplace channels built in and ISO 27001 behind it.
Overall score4.36.0Best
Free optionFree plan15-day free trial
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$12/mo$29/mo
Pricing modelFlat rateTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitFlat monthly plan per shop; card processing paid to Stripe or PayPalFlat monthly plan per store, tied to annual sales (GMV caps), plus card processing
Free optionGold free for up to 5 products; 7-day Platinum trial, card requiredNo free plan; 15-day trial, no card
Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual)Not met: one owner login, no staff accounts; Diamond would be $374/mo, computed$598/mo on Scale ($299 + $239 + $60), computed; Growth’s $100K sales cap is exceeded
Month-to-month price$0 / $15 / $30 for Gold, Platinum and Diamond$39 / $105 / $399 for Core, Growth and Scale
US online card rateNo own payments; Stripe 2.9% + 30¢, PayPal 3.49% + 49¢2.89% + 30¢ (Core), 2.59% + 30¢ (Growth), 2.39% + 30¢ (Scale)
Fee with another payment providerNone: 0% transaction fees; Stripe and PayPal only2.0% / 1.0% / 0.6% on Open Payment Providers; 0% on 21 embedded providers
Products and staff5 / 50 / 500 products; owner login onlyUnlimited products and staff accounts on every plan
Abandoned cart recoveryDiamondGrowth and up
Selling channelsMeta and Google Shopping, in-person through the app on paid plansAmazon, eBay, Walmart built in; Google and Meta through Feedonomics; POS through apps
PCI / SOC 2 / ISO 27001Not stated; card data handled by Stripe and PayPalPCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 (type not stated); ISO/IEC 27001:2022
Data exportOrders to CSV; read API; webhooks for partner apps onlyCSV or XML of products, orders and customers; API and webhooks on every plan
Data after closingDeleted permanently; kept when downgrading to GoldDeleted 30 days after cancellation
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Big Cartel is the lowest-cost store here for one person with a small catalog, with no transaction fees and US sales tax handled. It has no staff accounts, so our scenario cannot be priced, and it publishes no PCI, SOC 2 or ISO statement of its own.From its public pages, BigCommerce puts unlimited staff, reviews and marketplace channels on every plan and lets you keep your own processor. Plans are tied to sales, so our $10,000-a-month store lands on Scale, and several pages disagree on trial and billing details.

Evidence: Big Cartel: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; BigCommerce: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Big Cartel
    Platinum
    $12/mo
    Billed yearly ($144); $15 month to month; 7-day trial with a card
    • Up to 50 products, custom domain
    • Discount codes, inventory tracking, shipping labels
    • Meta and Google Shopping, in-person selling
    • Theme code editing, digital products (25 GB)
  • BigCommerce
    Core
    $29/mo
    Billed yearly; $39 month to month; up to $30K trailing 12-month GMV
    • Unlimited products and staff accounts
    • Real-time carrier rates, gift cards, product reviews
    • Online card rate 2.89% + 30¢; 2.0% fee on Open Payment Providers
    • No abandoned cart emails

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Big Cartel 2026-10-16, BigCommerce 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
BigCommerceSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.0/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
Big CartelFree plan, no card needed; scored 4.3/10.
Lowest starter price
Big Cartel$12/mo for the Platinum (billed yearly) plan.
Highest overall score
BigCommerce6.0/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in E-commerce platforms

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.