E-commerce platforms · Comparison

Big Cartel vs Ecwid

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Big Cartel vs Ecwid: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricBig CartelEcwid
What you're paying forWorth the priceA simple store for one maker with a small catalog: no transaction fees, US sales tax remitted for you, free for 5 products and $24 a month for 500.Worth the priceA store you can add to the website you already have, with no Ecwid transaction fee and abandoned cart emails and subscriptions from $49 a month.
Overall score4.36.1Best
Free optionFree planPaid only
Card to startNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$12/mo$5/mo
Pricing modelFlat rateFlat rate
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitFlat monthly plan per shop; card processing paid to Stripe or PayPalFlat monthly plan per store, plus card processing
Free optionGold free for up to 5 products; 7-day Platinum trial, card requiredNo free plan for new sign-ups; no trial listed; Starter $5/mo
Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual)Not met: one owner login, no staff accounts; Diamond would be $374/mo, computed$399/mo on Business ($49 + $290 + $60), computed
Month-to-month price$0 / $15 / $30 for Gold, Platinum and Diamond$5 / $35 / $65 / $149 for Starter, Venture, Business and Unlimited
US online card rateNo own payments; Stripe 2.9% + 30¢, PayPal 3.49% + 49¢2.9% + 30¢ on Lightspeed Payments, every plan
Fee with another payment providerNone: 0% transaction fees; Stripe and PayPal only$0 on Ecwid pages; Lightspeed agreement sets a monthly fee for eligible customers
Products and staff5 / 50 / 500 products; owner login only10 / 100 / 2,500 / unlimited products; staff 0 / 0 / 2 / unlimited
Abandoned cart recoveryDiamondBusiness and up
Selling channelsMeta and Google Shopping, in-person through the app on paid plansFacebook, Instagram, Google listings; marketplaces through third-party apps; mobile POS
PCI / SOC 2 / ISO 27001Not stated; card data handled by Stripe and PayPalPCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 Type II (Lightspeed E-Series); ISO 27001 not stated
Data exportOrders to CSV; read API; webhooks for partner apps onlyCSV of products, orders and customers from Venture; REST API on paid plans
Data after closingDeleted permanently; kept when downgrading to GoldErased when the account is deleted; $12.50/mo Suspension plan
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Big Cartel is the lowest-cost store here for one person with a small catalog, with no transaction fees and US sales tax handled. It has no staff accounts, so our scenario cannot be priced, and it publishes no PCI, SOC 2 or ISO statement of its own.From its public pages, Ecwid is a low-cost way to add a store to an existing site, with cart emails, subscriptions and full CSV export from $49 a month. There is no free plan or trial, and whether Lightspeed’s monthly fee for other payment providers applies to Ecwid stores is worth asking.

Evidence: Big Cartel: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Ecwid: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Big Cartel review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Big Cartel when
    You run the shop alone and want a free plan or a $24 plan with abandoned cart emails.
    Pick Ecwid when
    You need staff accounts, more than 500 products or CSV export of products and customers.
  • From our Ecwid review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Ecwid when
    You need staff accounts, more than 500 products or a full CSV export.
    Pick Big Cartel when
    You sell a small catalog alone and want a free plan with real orders.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Big Cartel
    Platinum
    $12/mo
    Billed yearly ($144); $15 month to month; 7-day trial with a card
    • Up to 50 products, custom domain
    • Discount codes, inventory tracking, shipping labels
    • Meta and Google Shopping, in-person selling
    • Theme code editing, digital products (25 GB)
  • Ecwid
    Starter
    $5/mo
    Same price billed monthly or yearly
    • Up to 10 products
    • Instant Site on a company.site address, Linkup page
    • Add the store to any website
    • No custom domain, staff, coupons or data export

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Big Cartel 2026-10-16, Ecwid 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
EcwidSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.1/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
Big CartelFree plan, no card needed; scored 4.3/10.
Lowest starter price
Ecwid$5/mo for the Starter plan.
Highest overall score
Ecwid6.1/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in E-commerce platforms

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.