E-commerce platforms · Comparison

Big Cartel vs Shopify

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Big Cartel vs Shopify: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricBig CartelShopify
What you're paying forWorth the priceA simple store for one maker with a small catalog: no transaction fees, US sales tax remitted for you, free for 5 products and $24 a month for 500.Built-in reachA store, its payments, in-person selling and the main sales channels in one admin, with card rates that fall as you move up a plan.
Overall score4.37.5Best
Free optionFree plan3-day free trial
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$12/mo$29/mo
Pricing modelFlat rateFlat rate
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitFlat monthly plan per shop; card processing paid to Stripe or PayPalFlat monthly plan per store, plus card processing
Free optionGold free for up to 5 products; 7-day Platinum trial, card requiredNo free store plan; 3-day trial, no card, then $1/mo for 3 months on most plans
Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual)Not met: one owner login, no staff accounts; Diamond would be $374/mo, computed$409/mo on Grow ($79 + $270 + $60), computed
Month-to-month price$0 / $15 / $30 for Gold, Platinum and Diamond$39 / $105 / $399 for Basic, Grow and Advanced
US online card rateNo own payments; Stripe 2.9% + 30¢, PayPal 3.49% + 49¢2.9% + 30¢ (Basic), 2.7% + 30¢ (Grow), 2.5% + 30¢ (Advanced)
Fee with another payment providerNone: 0% transaction fees; Stripe and PayPal only2% / 1% / 0.6% (Plus 0.2%)
Products and staff5 / 50 / 500 products; owner login onlyUnlimited products; staff 0 / 5 / 15 / unlimited
Abandoned cart recoveryDiamondEvery plan
Selling channelsMeta and Google Shopping, in-person through the app on paid plansPOS, Google, Meta, TikTok on every plan; Amazon, eBay, Walmart via Marketplace Connect
PCI / SOC 2 / ISO 27001Not stated; card data handled by Stripe and PayPalPCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not stated
Data exportOrders to CSV; read API; webhooks for partner apps onlyCSV of products, orders and customers; Admin API on every plan
Data after closingDeleted permanently; kept when downgrading to GoldKept 2 years after deactivation
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Big Cartel is the lowest-cost store here for one person with a small catalog, with no transaction fees and US sales tax handled. It has no staff accounts, so our scenario cannot be priced, and it publishes no PCI, SOC 2 or ISO statement of its own.From its public pages, Shopify has the broadest set of selling features here on the plan our scenario needs, with PCI Level 1, SOC 2 Type II and a 2-year data window. Staff accounts start on Grow, and a store that uses another payment provider pays Shopify a fee on top.

Evidence: Big Cartel: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Shopify: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Big Cartel review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Big Cartel when
    You sell a small catalog alone and want to pay $12 to $24 a month with no platform fee.
    Pick Shopify when
    You need staff, marketplaces, multi-currency prices or a full export.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Big Cartel
    Platinum
    $12/mo
    Billed yearly ($144); $15 month to month; 7-day trial with a card
    • Up to 50 products, custom domain
    • Discount codes, inventory tracking, shipping labels
    • Meta and Google Shopping, in-person selling
    • Theme code editing, digital products (25 GB)
  • Shopify
    Basic
    $29/mo
    Billed yearly; $39 month to month (US list price)
    • Unlimited products, custom domain, abandoned checkout recovery
    • Online card rate 2.9% + 30¢; 2% fee with another provider
    • Gift cards, local-currency prices, casual in-person selling
    • No staff accounts; custom apps with limited data access

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Big Cartel 2026-10-16, Shopify 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
ShopifySelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.5/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
Big CartelFree plan, no card needed; scored 4.3/10.
Lowest starter price
Big Cartel$12/mo for the Platinum (billed yearly) plan.
Highest overall score
Shopify7.5/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in E-commerce platforms

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.