A hosted online store with its own payments, POS and sales channels, from Basic at $29 a month billed yearly, with card rates that fall on higher plans.
A store, its payments, in-person selling and the main sales channels in one admin, with card rates that fall as you move up a plan.
Every Shopify plan includes unlimited products, a custom domain, abandoned checkout recovery, gift cards, local-currency prices, casual in-person selling and channels for Google, Facebook, Instagram and TikTok, with Amazon, eBay and Walmart through Shopify’s own Marketplace Connect. Shopify Payments is built in, so there is no separate gateway to sign up for, and Shopify is certified PCI DSS Level 1 for the stores it hosts. Subscriptions and digital downloads come through free first-party apps, and products, orders and customers export to CSV on every plan.
Channels and POS on every planThe plan table lists selling on social channels and marketplaces and casual in-person sales on all plans. Marketplace Connect syncs Amazon, eBay, Walmart and Target Plus orders, free for the first 50 a month, then 1% capped at $99.Evidence: Pricing page (Internet Archive copy of Oct 1, 2026) and Marketplace Connect app page (2026-10-16)
Payments, tax and labels built inShopify Payments, built-in fraud analysis, automated sales tax calculation and discounted shipping labels are on every plan; Shopify Protect covers eligible fraudulent chargebacks at no charge.Evidence: Pricing page plan table and Shopify Protect help article (2026-10-16)
PCI Level 1 and SOC 2 Type IIShopify is certified PCI DSS Level 1, and that certification covers each store’s checkout and hosting; the security page states SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports, and the DPA is part of the terms.Evidence: PCI compliance page, security page and DPA (2026-10-16)
Free first-party apps for subscriptions and downloadsShopify Subscriptions and Shopify Digital Products are listed as free in the Shopify App Store.Evidence: Shopify App Store listings (2026-10-16)
Best for
Merchants who want online, in-person and marketplace sales in one admin and expect to grow into higher plans with lower card rates.
Good to know
Basic has no staff accounts, so a store with staff starts on Grow ($79 a month billed yearly).
How Shopify compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in E-commerce platforms: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Shopify compared with Square Online, Ecwid, BigCommerce
Built-in reachA store, its payments, in-person selling and the main sales channels in one admin, with card rates that fall as you move up a plan.
Worth the priceAn online store that shares one catalog, customer list and payments account with Square POS, free to start and taking real orders.
Worth the priceA store you can add to the website you already have, with no Ecwid transaction fee and abandoned cart emails and subscriptions from $49 a month.
Built-in reachA hosted store with unlimited staff and products on every plan, marketplace channels built in and ISO 27001 behind it.
Overall score
7.5
7.7Best
6.1
6.0
Free option
3-day free trial
Free plan
Paid only
15-day free trial
Card to start
No card needed
–Not measured
–Not measured
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$29/mo
$49/location/mo
$5/mo
$29/mo
Pricing model
Flat rate
Flat rate
Flat rate
Tiered
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Flat monthly plan per store, plus card processing
Monthly plan per location, plus card processing
Flat monthly plan per store, plus card processing
Flat monthly plan per store, tied to annual sales (GMV caps), plus card processing
Free option
No free store plan; 3-day trial, no card, then $1/mo for 3 months on most plans
Square Free with real orders (unlimited products, square.site address); 30-day trial of Plus or Premium
No free plan for new sign-ups; no trial listed; Starter $5/mo
No free plan; 15-day trial, no card
Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual)
$409/mo on Grow ($79 + $270 + $60), computed
$399/mo on Square Plus ($49 + $290 + $60), computed; monthly billing only
$399/mo on Business ($49 + $290 + $60), computed
$598/mo on Scale ($299 + $239 + $60), computed; Growth’s $100K sales cap is exceeded
Month-to-month price
$39 / $105 / $399 for Basic, Grow and Advanced
$0 / $49 / $149 per location for Free, Plus and Premium
$5 / $35 / $65 / $149 for Starter, Venture, Business and Unlimited
CSV of products, orders and customers; Admin API on every plan
Items and customers to CSV; order export not stated; Square APIs and webhooks
CSV of products, orders and customers from Venture; REST API on paid plans
CSV or XML of products, orders and customers; API and webhooks on every plan
Data after closing
Kept 2 years after deactivation
No fixed retention period stated
Erased when the account is deleted; $12.50/mo Suspension plan
Deleted 30 days after cancellation
Bottom line
From its public pages, Shopify has the broadest set of selling features here on the plan our scenario needs, with PCI Level 1, SOC 2 Type II and a 2-year data window. Staff accounts start on Grow, and a store that uses another payment provider pays Shopify a fee on top.
From its public pages, Square Online offers the most complete free start here: a store with unlimited items that takes real orders and shares Square’s POS and payments, with Plus at $49 for a custom domain and cart emails. Live shipping rates need Premium, and payments are in one currency.
From its public pages, Ecwid is a low-cost way to add a store to an existing site, with cart emails, subscriptions and full CSV export from $49 a month. There is no free plan or trial, and whether Lightspeed’s monthly fee for other payment providers applies to Ecwid stores is worth asking.
From its public pages, BigCommerce puts unlimited staff, reviews and marketplace channels on every plan and lets you keep your own processor. Plans are tied to sales, so our $10,000-a-month store lands on Scale, and several pages disagree on trial and billing details.
Evidence: Shopify: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Square Online: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Ecwid: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; BigCommerce: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; card rates published; month-to-month price published; fee on other payment providers stated; trial length stated three ways: 3 days on the pricing page, "can vary" in the help center, about 4 months for stores created with AI tools; the terms say "No refunds", while the help center describes refund review windows of 30 days (annual) and 7 days (monthly); the carrier-calculated shipping add-on for Grow has no published price; Plus card rates are 2.25% + 30¢ in the plan table but "vary by country" on the Plus page
Free plan and trial
2.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan; 3-day trial, no card needed
Monthly cost, $10K in sales
8.1 / 10, Excellent
$409/mo: Grow $79; card processing $330 (2.7% × $10,000 + 30¢ × 200 orders); no platform fee on top; Basic has no staff accounts, so 2 staff need Grow (5 staff accounts); abandoned checkout recovery and a custom domain are on every plan; assumes the online standard rate; business cards and American Express are charged the premium rate (3.3% + 30¢ on Grow)
Selling features
10.0 / 10, Excellent
real-time carrier rates on the scenario plan; gift cards on the scenario plan; subscriptions on the scenario plan; multi-currency pricing on the scenario plan; in-person selling on the scenario plan; two or more channels on the scenario plan; carrier-calculated rates are included on Grow when billed yearly; subscriptions through the free Shopify Subscriptions app; local-currency prices need Shopify Payments
Compliance and security
8.7 / 10, Excellent
PCI DSS Level 1, SOC 2 Type II, DPA in the terms, staff 2FA, activity log on the scenario plan, staff SSO enterprise or through sales only
Data access and exit
10.0 / 10, Excellent
CSV export of products, orders, customers; API with webhooks; data kept 30+ days; domain transfer-out or annual refund stated
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Shopify's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Shopify's pricing page and plan table, the Plus pricing page, the security, PCI and compliance-report pages, the terms, Payments terms and DPA, help center articles on plans, staff limits, the free trial, the Agentic plan, carrier-calculated shipping, card rates, Shopify Tax, CSV exports, activity logs, two-step authentication, SAML, domain transfers, store deactivation and refunds, and the App Store listings for subscriptions, digital products and channels on Oct 16, 2026. We did not start a trial for this review.
From our location shopify.com/pricing shows a regional price list in US dollars without card rates, and adding a US country parameter does not change it. We therefore took the US list prices and card rates from the Internet Archive copy of the same page from Oct 1, 2026: Basic $29, Grow $79 and Advanced $299 a month billed yearly, or $39, $105 and $399 month to month, with online card rates of 2.9%, 2.7% and 2.5% + 30¢.
The plan table is detailed, and a few points need a question. The trial is 3 days on the pricing page, but the help center says its length can vary and stores made with AI tools get about 4 months. The terms say there are no refunds, while the help center describes refund review windows. Grow can add carrier-calculated shipping for a monthly fee the pages do not price, or get it by billing yearly.
Strengths
The widest set of selling features on the plan our scenario needs
Carrier-calculated rates (on Grow billed yearly), gift cards, free first-party subscriptions, local-currency prices, in-person selling and marketplace and social channels are all available on the scenario plan.
vs Square Online: Square Online puts real-time shipping rates on Premium and has no multi-currency pricing; BigCommerce needs apps for subscriptions and POS.
Unlimited products on every plan
The plan table lists unlimited products from Basic, with up to 2,048 variants and three options per product in the help center.
vs Ecwid: Big Cartel allows 500 products on Diamond; Ecwid allows 2,500 on Business.
Strong security file
PCI DSS Level 1 covering each store, SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports, a DPA built into the terms and two-step authentication for staff.
vs BigCommerce: BigCommerce does not state whether its SOC 2 reports are Type II; Ecwid documents no native two-factor login.
Long data retention after closing
The help center says a deactivated store’s information is guaranteed for 2 years, and a Shopify-managed domain can be transferred out even when the store is paused.
vs BigCommerce: BigCommerce deletes data 30 days after cancellation; Ecwid erases data when the account is deleted.
Things to know
No staff accounts on Basic
The help center lists 0 staff accounts on Basic, 5 on Grow and 15 on Advanced. Collaborator accounts do not count toward the limit.
Workaround: A one-person store can run on Basic; for our scenario with 2 staff, Grow is the cheapest plan.
A fee on top with other payment providers
Stores that use a provider other than Shopify Payments pay Shopify 2% (Basic), 1% (Grow) or 0.6% (Advanced) of each order, besides the provider’s own fees.
Workaround: Shopify Payments has no extra fee; PayPal Wallet is listed from 3.49% + 49¢.
Fees that start with volume
Shopify Tax is free on the first $100,000 of lifetime sales, then charges 0.35% for stores created since May 13, 2026, capped at $0.99 per order; marketplace orders beyond 50 a month cost 1%, capped at $99.
Workaround: Both rates and caps are published, so they can be budgeted before launch.
Product reviews need another app
Shopify’s first-party Product Reviews app is no longer available in the App Store, so reviews come from third-party apps.
Pricing reality
Shopify bills a flat plan per store plus card processing. For our scenario, Basic does not qualify because it has no staff accounts, so the store needs Grow: $79 a month billed yearly, plus 2.7% of $10,000 ($270) and 30¢ on 200 orders ($60), $409 a month (computed); month to month, $435. Business cards and American Express are charged the premium rate, 3.3% + 30¢ on Grow, and international cards 1% more. Without staff, Basic would come to $379 (computed). Costs rise with Shopify Tax after $100,000 of lifetime sales, marketplace orders above 50 a month, paid themes and apps, and POS Pro at $89 per location. The $1-a-month offer for the first 3 months is an introductory price; we used the regular price.
Exit path
Products, orders and customers export to CSV on every plan (customer files up to 15 MB; large exports are emailed), but product images are not in the product CSV and blog posts and pages have no native export. The Admin API is on every plan. A deactivated store’s data is kept 2 years, and a Shopify-managed domain can be transferred out. Plan changes take effect at the end of the billing cycle.
You sell $10,000 a month or more: our scenario costs $409 on Shopify Grow against $598 on BigCommerce Scale, where the sales cap moves the store (computed).
Pick BigCommerce when
You want unlimited staff accounts and product reviews on the entry plan, or ISO 27001.
You want unlimited products, staff two-step authentication and data kept after closing.
Pick Ecwid when
You want to add a store to a site you already have, at $399 a month for our scenario on Business (computed).
Choose it if
You want online, in-person and marketplace sales from one catalog and one admin.
You expect to sell in several currencies or through Amazon, eBay, Google and TikTok.
Your store has a few staff and you want card rates that fall on higher plans.
Look elsewhere if
You want a permanent free plan to start.
You plan to use your own payment provider and want no platform fee on top.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Shopify has the broadest set of selling features here on the plan our scenario needs, with PCI Level 1, SOC 2 Type II and a 2-year data window. Staff accounts start on Grow, and a store that uses another payment provider pays Shopify a fee on top.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Flat monthly plan per store, plus card processing
Free option
No free store plan; 3-day trial, no card, then $1/mo for 3 months on most plans
We read the pricing, payments, trust, legal and help center pages of three online-store platforms on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What a store selling $10,000 a month pays, where staff, cart emails and shipping rates sit, and who should pick which.