An online store that shares one catalog, customer list and payments account with Square POS, free to start and taking real orders.
A Square account includes the online store at no monthly fee: unlimited items, pickup, local delivery and shipping, discounted labels, gift cards, coupons, Facebook, Instagram and free Google listings, with the same items and customers as Square POS. Card payments run through Square with no gateway to set up, and Square covers PCI compliance in its processing rate. Square Plus, at $49 a month per location, adds a custom domain, abandoned cart emails, subscriptions, reviews and inventory tracking and lowers the online rate to 2.9% + 30¢.
A free plan that takes real ordersSquare Free has no monthly fee, only a processing fee per sale, and includes the website builder, unlimited items, shipping, pickup and delivery, gift cards and coupons.Evidence: Online store plans page and plan data (2026-10-16)
Online and in-person from one catalogThe online store and Square POS sell from the same item catalog on every plan, and discounts created in the POS can apply automatically at online checkout.Evidence: Online store plans page (2026-10-16)
Meta and Google listings on every planFacebook Shops and Instagram Shopping connect through Meta Commerce Manager, and Google free and local product listings are free for US sellers, on every plan.Evidence: Help center: Meta and Google listing articles (2026-10-16)
One online rate, Amex includedVisa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover cost the same, 2.9% + 30¢ online on Plus and Premium; Square covers PCI compliance and chargeback fees in that rate.Evidence: Payments fee page and developer pricing docs (2026-10-16)
Best for
Shops, cafés and service businesses that already sell in person with Square and want an online store on the same items and payments.
Good to know
A custom domain and abandoned cart emails need Square Plus at $49 a month per location, and real-time shipping rates need Premium at $149.
How Square Online compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in E-commerce platforms: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Square Online compared with Shopify, Ecwid, BigCommerce
Worth the priceAn online store that shares one catalog, customer list and payments account with Square POS, free to start and taking real orders.
Built-in reachA store, its payments, in-person selling and the main sales channels in one admin, with card rates that fall as you move up a plan.
Worth the priceA store you can add to the website you already have, with no Ecwid transaction fee and abandoned cart emails and subscriptions from $49 a month.
Built-in reachA hosted store with unlimited staff and products on every plan, marketplace channels built in and ISO 27001 behind it.
Overall score
7.7Best
7.5
6.1
6.0
Free option
Free plan
3-day free trial
Paid only
15-day free trial
Card to start
–Not measured
No card needed
–Not measured
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$49/location/mo
$29/mo
$5/mo
$29/mo
Pricing model
Flat rate
Flat rate
Flat rate
Tiered
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Monthly plan per location, plus card processing
Flat monthly plan per store, plus card processing
Flat monthly plan per store, plus card processing
Flat monthly plan per store, tied to annual sales (GMV caps), plus card processing
Free option
Square Free with real orders (unlimited products, square.site address); 30-day trial of Plus or Premium
No free store plan; 3-day trial, no card, then $1/mo for 3 months on most plans
No free plan for new sign-ups; no trial listed; Starter $5/mo
No free plan; 15-day trial, no card
Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual)
$399/mo on Square Plus ($49 + $290 + $60), computed; monthly billing only
$409/mo on Grow ($79 + $270 + $60), computed
$399/mo on Business ($49 + $290 + $60), computed
$598/mo on Scale ($299 + $239 + $60), computed; Growth’s $100K sales cap is exceeded
Month-to-month price
$0 / $49 / $149 per location for Free, Plus and Premium
$39 / $105 / $399 for Basic, Grow and Advanced
$5 / $35 / $65 / $149 for Starter, Venture, Business and Unlimited
Items and customers to CSV; order export not stated; Square APIs and webhooks
CSV of products, orders and customers; Admin API on every plan
CSV of products, orders and customers from Venture; REST API on paid plans
CSV or XML of products, orders and customers; API and webhooks on every plan
Data after closing
No fixed retention period stated
Kept 2 years after deactivation
Erased when the account is deleted; $12.50/mo Suspension plan
Deleted 30 days after cancellation
Bottom line
From its public pages, Square Online offers the most complete free start here: a store with unlimited items that takes real orders and shares Square’s POS and payments, with Plus at $49 for a custom domain and cart emails. Live shipping rates need Premium, and payments are in one currency.
From its public pages, Shopify has the broadest set of selling features here on the plan our scenario needs, with PCI Level 1, SOC 2 Type II and a 2-year data window. Staff accounts start on Grow, and a store that uses another payment provider pays Shopify a fee on top.
From its public pages, Ecwid is a low-cost way to add a store to an existing site, with cart emails, subscriptions and full CSV export from $49 a month. There is no free plan or trial, and whether Lightspeed’s monthly fee for other payment providers applies to Ecwid stores is worth asking.
From its public pages, BigCommerce puts unlimited staff, reviews and marketplace channels on every plan and lets you keep your own processor. Plans are tied to sales, so our $10,000-a-month store lands on Scale, and several pages disagree on trial and billing details.
Evidence: Square Online: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Shopify: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Ecwid: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; BigCommerce: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; card rates published; month-to-month price published; checkout takes only its own payments; many help articles still name Square Online Free, Plus and Premium plans next to the new account-wide plans; Square Pro, offered above $250,000 a year in card sales, has no published price
Free plan and trial
7.5 / 10, Good
free plan, unlimited products, no custom domain, branding not stated as removed, 30-day trial
Monthly cost, $10K in sales
8.4 / 10, Excellent
$399/mo: Square Plus $49; card processing $350 (2.9% × $10,000 + 30¢ × 200 orders); no platform fee on top; custom domain and abandoned cart emails start on Plus; products are unlimited and no staff limit is stated; one location; assumes the monthly price, because Square lists no annual billing
Selling features
7.7 / 10, Good
real-time carrier rates on a higher self-serve plan; gift cards on the scenario plan; subscriptions on the scenario plan; multi-currency pricing not listed; in-person selling on the scenario plan; two or more channels on the scenario plan; real-time shipping rates on Premium ($149 per location); payments only in the country’s currency; Facebook, Instagram and free Google listings on every plan
Compliance and security
7.5 / 10, Good
PCI DSS Level 1, no SOC 2 Type II stated, ISO 27001, DPA in the terms, staff 2FA, activity log on the scenario plan, staff SSO not listed
Data access and exit
7.0 / 10, Good
CSV export of products, customers; API with webhooks; no 30-day data retention stated; domain transfer-out or annual refund stated
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Square Online's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Square's online store and online store plans pages, with the plan data file the plans page loads, Square's payments fee page, the security page, the General Terms, Payment Terms, DPA, EEA/UK data terms and HIPAA terms, Square's December 2025 blog post on its plans, the developer docs on payment pricing, webhooks, OAuth and the Sites API, and help center articles on the plan switch, team permissions, two-step verification, abandoned carts, shipping, digital items, translation, currency, exports, domains and site deletion on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up for this review.
Square Online no longer has plans of its own. The plans page now sells account-wide plans priced per location: Square Free at $0, Square Plus at $49 and Square Premium at $149 a month, billed monthly. The plan cards load prices by script, so we read them from the page’s fee table and data file; Square’s blog gives the same figures. The online-store FAQ says Square Online has been renamed websites.
A few points need a question. Many help articles still refer to Square Online Free, Plus and Premium next to the new plan names, and several older Square Online articles, including PayPal at checkout, order export and tax rates, now lead to the help center home. The Trust Center loads only with JavaScript, so we could not confirm a SOC 2 report on a public page.
Strengths
A free plan with real orders
Square Free has no monthly fee and unlimited items, with shipping, pickup, delivery, gift cards, coupons and social and Google listings; it pays 3.3% + 30¢ per online card payment.
vs BigCommerce: Shopify, BigCommerce and Ecwid have no free plan for new stores; Big Cartel’s free plan allows 5 products.
Online and POS on one account
The store sells from the same item catalog as Square POS, POS discounts can apply at online checkout, and in-person card payments are 2.5% + 15¢ on Plus.
vs BigCommerce: BigCommerce connects in-person selling through third-party POS apps.
Simple card pricing
Online card payments cost 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium, with American Express at the same rate and no platform fee on top.
vs Shopify: Shopify charges business cards and American Express a premium rate, 3.3% + 30¢ on Grow.
Two-step verification for every team member
The help center says team members who have not set up two-step verification are required to on their next sign-in, on every plan.
vs Ecwid: Ecwid and Big Cartel document no native two-factor login.
Things to know
Domain and cart emails start on Plus
Square Free uses a square.site address; a custom domain, abandoned cart emails, subscriptions, reviews and inventory tracking need Square Plus at $49 a month per location.
Workaround: Plus and Premium can be tried for 30 days.
Real-time shipping rates on Premium
Live carrier rates at checkout are a Premium feature ($149 a month per location); other plans use flat or custom rates, with discounted labels on every plan.
One currency and no marketplaces listed
Payments are processed in the country’s currency only, and the current pages list no Amazon, eBay or TikTok Shop connection.
Monthly billing per location
Plus and Premium are billed monthly with no annual option, and the fee applies to each active location.
Workaround: Square Free can create multiple locations at no cost.
Pricing reality
Square bills each paid plan per active location per month, with no annual option. For our scenario, a custom domain and abandoned cart emails need Square Plus: $49 a month plus 2.9% of $10,000 ($290) and 30¢ on 200 orders ($60), $399 a month (computed). On Square Free the store would pay $0 plus 3.3% + 30¢, $390 a month (computed), but without a custom domain or cart emails. Cards issued outside the US add 1.5%, Afterpay is 6% + 30¢, gift cards carry a 2.5% load fee below Premium, and processing fees are not returned on refunds. Real-time shipping rates need Premium at $149 per location.
Exit path
Items export to CSV or Excel and customers to CSV on every plan, and Square’s APIs and webhooks are documented with no plan limit stated; the order-export article now leads to the help home, so the current order export is not stated. A purchased domain can be transferred out with an EPP code. On termination Square may delete account data, with no fixed period stated.
You want a free plan, two-step login for staff and Square POS on the same items.
Pick Ecwid when
You want to add a store to an existing website, with real-time carrier rates on a $49 plan.
Choose it if
You already take payments with Square in person and want the store on the same items.
You want to start on a free plan that takes real orders.
You want one online card rate for every card brand.
Look elsewhere if
You sell across currencies or on Amazon and eBay.
You need live carrier rates without a $149-a-month plan.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Square Online offers the most complete free start here: a store with unlimited items that takes real orders and shares Square’s POS and payments, with Plus at $49 for a custom domain and cart emails. Live shipping rates need Premium, and payments are in one currency.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Monthly plan per location, plus card processing
Free option
Square Free with real orders (unlimited products, square.site address); 30-day trial of Plus or Premium
Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual)
$399/mo on Square Plus ($49 + $290 + $60), computed; monthly billing only
Month-to-month price
$0 / $49 / $149 per location for Free, Plus and Premium
US online card rate
3.3% + 30¢ (Free), 2.9% + 30¢ (Plus and Premium)
Fee with another payment provider
Checkout lists only Square payments
Products and staff
Unlimited items; team members on every plan, no limit stated
Abandoned cart recovery
Square Plus and up
Selling channels
Square POS, Facebook, Instagram and Google listings on every plan
PCI / SOC 2 / ISO 27001
PCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 not stated on a public page; ISO 27001
Data export
Items and customers to CSV; order export not stated; Square APIs and webhooks
Data after closing
No fixed retention period stated
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Square Online yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Square Online yet.
We read the pricing, payments, trust, legal and help center pages of three online-store platforms on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What a store selling $10,000 a month pays, where staff, cart emails and shipping rates sit, and who should pick which.