E-commerce platforms · Comparison
Ecwid vs Square Online
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Ecwid | Square Online |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceA store you can add to the website you already have, with no Ecwid transaction fee and abandoned cart emails and subscriptions from $49 a month. | Worth the priceAn online store that shares one catalog, customer list and payments account with Square POS, free to start and taking real orders. |
| Overall score | 6.1 | 7.7Best |
| Free option | Paid only | Free plan |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $5/mo | $49/location/mo |
| Pricing model | Flat rate | Flat rate |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Flat monthly plan per store, plus card processing | Monthly plan per location, plus card processing |
| Free option | No free plan for new sign-ups; no trial listed; Starter $5/mo | Square Free with real orders (unlimited products, square.site address); 30-day trial of Plus or Premium |
| Reference scenario ($10K/mo, 2 staff, annual) | $399/mo on Business ($49 + $290 + $60), computed | $399/mo on Square Plus ($49 + $290 + $60), computed; monthly billing only |
| Month-to-month price | $5 / $35 / $65 / $149 for Starter, Venture, Business and Unlimited | $0 / $49 / $149 per location for Free, Plus and Premium |
| US online card rate | 2.9% + 30¢ on Lightspeed Payments, every plan | 3.3% + 30¢ (Free), 2.9% + 30¢ (Plus and Premium) |
| Fee with another payment provider | $0 on Ecwid pages; Lightspeed agreement sets a monthly fee for eligible customers | Checkout lists only Square payments |
| Products and staff | 10 / 100 / 2,500 / unlimited products; staff 0 / 0 / 2 / unlimited | Unlimited items; team members on every plan, no limit stated |
| Abandoned cart recovery | Business and up | Square Plus and up |
| Selling channels | Facebook, Instagram, Google listings; marketplaces through third-party apps; mobile POS | Square POS, Facebook, Instagram and Google listings on every plan |
| PCI / SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | PCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 Type II (Lightspeed E-Series); ISO 27001 not stated | PCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 not stated on a public page; ISO 27001 |
| Data export | CSV of products, orders and customers from Venture; REST API on paid plans | Items and customers to CSV; order export not stated; Square APIs and webhooks |
| Data after closing | Erased when the account is deleted; $12.50/mo Suspension plan | No fixed retention period stated |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Ecwid is a low-cost way to add a store to an existing site, with cart emails, subscriptions and full CSV export from $49 a month. There is no free plan or trial, and whether Lightspeed’s monthly fee for other payment providers applies to Ecwid stores is worth asking. | From its public pages, Square Online offers the most complete free start here: a store with unlimited items that takes real orders and shares Square’s POS and payments, with Plus at $49 for a custom domain and cart emails. Live shipping rates need Premium, and payments are in one currency. |
Evidence: Ecwid: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Square Online: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our Ecwid review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Ecwid when
- You want annual billing, real-time carrier rates on a $49 plan and a SOC 2 Type II report stated.
- Pick Square Online when
- You want a permanent free plan and Square’s own POS, at the same $399 for our scenario (computed).
From our Square Online review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Square Online when
- You want a free plan, two-step login for staff and Square POS on the same items.
- Pick Ecwid when
- You want to add a store to an existing website, with real-time carrier rates on a $49 plan.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- EcwidLowest priceStarter$5/moSame price billed monthly or yearly
- Up to 10 products
- Instant Site on a company.site address, Linkup page
- Add the store to any website
- No custom domain, staff, coupons or data export
- Square OnlineSquare Plus$49/location/moBilled monthly; 30-day trial; online card payments 2.9% + 30¢
- Custom domain, abandoned cart emails, product reviews
- Bundles and subscriptions, inventory tracking
- Unlimited custom permission sets, team activity reporting
- Custom code and expanded site customization
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Ecwid 2026-10-16, Square Online 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- Square OnlineSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.7/10).
- Lowest starter price
- Ecwid$5/mo for the Starter plan.
- Highest overall score
- Square Online7.7/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in E-commerce platforms
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.