Supabase review

by SupabaseManaged Postgres

A Postgres database with auth, storage and APIs in each project: $25 a month with Micro compute, 8 GB of disk and daily backups, in 17 AWS regions.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Seat + usage
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Saves engineering time (main value)
  • Worth the price

A Postgres database with auth, storage and APIs in one project for $25 a month, with daily backups and a choice of 17 AWS regions.

Supabase gives each project a dedicated Postgres database and the backend services around it: auth, file storage, realtime and edge functions. Pro is from $25 a month with $10 of compute credit, enough for one Micro instance, plus 8 GB of disk and daily backups kept 7 days. It replaces wiring a separate auth and storage service to a database, and the docs describe a self-hosted version.

  • Database plus backend servicesEvery project includes auth, storage, realtime and edge functions; the pricing page says a project can also be used as a plain Postgres database, and unused products cost nothing.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • A small production database for $25Pro includes $10 of compute credit that covers one Micro instance (1 GB RAM), 8 GB of disk per project and daily backups kept 7 days.Evidence: Pricing page and compute docs (2026-10-15)
  • SOC 2, ISO 27001 and a BAA from TeamTeam customers ($599/mo) get the SOC 2 Type 2 report and ISO 27001 certificate on the dashboard and can add HIPAA as a paid add-on.Evidence: Security and pricing pages (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want a database and the backend around it from one vendor, with backups included.
Good to know
Point-in-time recovery is a $100-a-month add-on per 7 days, and branches start without production data unless that add-on is on.

How Supabase compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Managed Postgres: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Supabase compared with Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL, PlanetScale, Neon
MetricSupabaseAmazon RDS for PostgreSQLPlanetScaleNeon
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeA Postgres database with auth, storage and APIs in one project for $25 a month, with daily backups and a choice of 17 AWS regions.Compliance includedManaged Postgres in your own AWS account from $0.016 an hour, with point-in-time restore up to 35 days and a self-serve HIPAA BAA.Worth the priceProduction Postgres at a fixed monthly price per cluster, from $10 for 1 GiB, with SOC 2 Type 2 reports and BAAs on the self-serve plan.Worth the pricePostgres you pay for by the compute hour, with scale to zero, branches that start with your data, and a free plan of 100 projects.
Overall score6.06.9Best6.76.5
Free optionFree planFree trialPaid onlyFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$25/mo$0.016/hour$5/mo$0.106/CU-hour
Pricing modelSeat + usageUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsPlan fee, compute hours, disk (GB)Instance hours, storage (GB-month), backup storage above the free amount, CPU creditsCluster size per month, storage above 10 GB, backups above 2× diskCompute-unit hours, storage and restore history (GB-month)
Free plan500 MB per project, 2 projects; paused after 1 week inactiveNone; AWS Free Tier credits for new accountsNone; single node from $5/mo1 GB per project, 100 projects, 100 CU-hours each; no card
10 GB app with staging, per month$35.06 on Pro, computed$19.10 on db.t4g.micro, computed$15 on Base, computed$28.06 on Launch, computed
Point-in-time recovery$100/mo add-on per 7 days; needs Small computeUp to 35 days, no add-on; extra backup storage $0.095/GB-month2 days by default; longer with custom backup schedulesUp to 7 days on Launch at $0.20/GB-month; 30 on Scale
Automatic backups at no extra chargeDaily, kept 7 days (Pro)7 days by default (console); free up to provisioned storageEvery 12 hours, kept 2 daysNone; history and snapshots billed per GB
SOC 2 Type II reportTeam plan ($599/mo)AWS reports in AWS Artifact, any accountBase plan (ISO 27001 not stated)Scale plan
HIPAA BAATeam plan, paid add-onSelf-serve in AWS ArtifactBase plan, on requestScale plan, self-serve
EU regionsIreland, Paris, Frankfurt, StockholmFrankfurt, Ireland, Paris, Stockholm, Milan, SpainFrankfurt, Dublin (AWS); Belgium, Netherlands (GCP)Frankfurt, London
SAML SSO for the dashboardListed on Team; table says Contact UsIAM Identity Center, no extra charge$199/mo add-on on BaseNot listed
Branch with production dataNeeds the PITR add-onYes, by restoring a snapshot or point in time to a new instanceYes, by restoring a backup to a branchYes, every branch starts as a copy
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Supabase gives the most around the database: auth, storage and APIs with daily backups for $25. For a database alone, PITR as a flat add-on and per-hour branches make it the highest-priced of the three in our scenario.From its public pages, RDS for PostgreSQL includes the most recovery and compliance here at a low listed price, all self-serve. The bill has more lines to estimate than the others, and there is no permanent free plan.From its public pages, PlanetScale lists the lowest price for our scenario and the most compliance on its entry plan, with backups and PITR included. There is no free plan, and its Postgres branches are separate databases rather than copies.From its public pages, Neon has the most generous free plan and the most flexible branches here, and usage billing suits databases that are often idle. Compliance and longer restore windows move you to Scale, at about twice the compute rate.

Evidence: Supabase: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; PlanetScale: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Neon: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
7.0 / 10, Good
billed by a plan fee, compute hours, disk (GB); the scenario needs no usage estimate beyond its own sizes; the branching docs say compute credits do not cover branches, but their example subtracts them; whether each branch gets its own 8 GB of included disk is not stated; HIPAA add-on price not listed
Free tier
6.0 / 10, Good
500 MB per project, 2 free projects, paused after inactivity
Price for a 10 GB app with staging
5.8 / 10, Fair
Backups and point-in-time recovery
4.3 / 10, Fair
PITR as a flat-fee add-on, automatic backups kept 7 days at no extra charge, 28+ days available self-serve
Compliance and data residency
8.0 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II report on a higher self-serve plan, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on a higher self-serve plan, EU region
Team and control
5.0 / 10, Fair
SAML SSO through sales; audit log on a higher plan; branches with production data need an add-on; self-hosted version

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Supabase's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Supabase's pricing page and its docs on compute, disk, branching, backups, regions and self-hosting on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. A Supabase project is a Postgres database with auth, storage, realtime and edge functions alongside; the pricing page says any project can be used as a plain Postgres database through its connection string, and unused products cost nothing.

Billing has three layers: an organization plan (Pro from $25), compute billed hourly per project (Micro $10 a month, Small $15, Medium $60 and up) and disk above 8 GB per project at $0.125 per GB. Pro includes $10 of compute credit, enough for one Micro instance. Pro keeps daily backups for 7 days; point-in-time recovery is an add-on at $100 a month per 7 days of retention, and the backup docs say it needs at least Small compute.

Branches are billed per branch-hour ($0.01344). By default a new branch starts without production data, built from migrations and seed files; the dashboard's "Include data" option needs the PITR add-on. Two details need care: the branching docs say compute credits do not cover branch compute while their worked example subtracts the credit, and the pricing table marks dashboard SSO as Contact Us on Team although the Team card lists it.

Strengths

  • A backend, not only a database

    Each project includes auth (100,000 monthly active users on Pro), file storage, realtime and edge functions next to Postgres, in the $25 plan.

    vs PlanetScale: PlanetScale sells the database only; Neon bills its object storage and functions as separate usage.

  • Daily backups included

    Pro keeps daily backups for 7 days and Team for 14, at no extra charge.

    vs PlanetScale: Neon bills restore history per GB; PlanetScale includes 2 days of backups by default.

  • Region choice

    Projects can be created in 17 AWS regions, four of them in EU member states (Ireland, Paris, Frankfurt and Stockholm).

    vs Neon: Neon lists eight AWS regions.

  • A self-hosted version

    The docs describe self-hosting Supabase with Docker; branching, managed backups and PITR are among the features it does not include.

  • Spend cap on by default

    Pro has a spend cap turned on by default; you turn it off in the dashboard to pay for usage beyond the plan limits.

Things to know

  • PITR is a flat add-on

    Point-in-time recovery costs $100 a month per 7 days of retention (28 days for $400) and needs at least Small compute ($15 a month).

    Workaround: Daily backups kept 7 days are included on Pro.

  • Branches start without data

    New branches get their schema from migrations and seed files; copying production data into a branch needs the PITR add-on.

  • Compliance documents start on Team

    The SOC 2 Type 2 report, ISO 27001 certificate and BAA are for Team ($599 a month) and Enterprise customers; the HIPAA add-on price is not on the pricing page.

  • Free projects pause

    Free projects are paused after one week of inactivity, and two can be active at a time.

Pricing reality

Supabase bills an organization plan plus per-project compute and disk. Pro is from $25 a month and includes $10 of compute credit (one Micro instance at $0.01344 an hour), 8 GB of disk per project (then $0.125 per GB) and 250 GB of egress (then $0.09 per GB). Team is from $599 with the same quotas.

For our scenario: $25 + Micro covered by the credit + 2 GB of extra disk ($0.25) + a staging branch billed all month (730 × $0.01344 = $9.81) = $35.06 a month, our arithmetic. Each additional project adds its full compute cost. PITR adds $100 a month per 7 days and needs Small compute. Pro has a spend cap on by default.

Exit path

The pricing page says any project can be used as a standard Postgres database through its connection string, the upgrade docs recommend pg_dump for a logical backup of smaller databases, and Supabase documents a self-hosted version with Docker.

Compared with

  • Pick Supabase when
    You want auth, storage and APIs next to the database, daily backups included, and a fixed plan price.
    Pick Neon when
    You want a free plan that is not paused for inactivity, branches that start with your data, and compute billed only while it runs.
  • Pick Supabase when
    You want a free plan, auth and storage in the same project, or a self-hosted option.
    Pick PlanetScale when
    You want the lowest listed price for a small production database, SOC 2 and a BAA on the entry plan, and backups with PITR included.

Choose it if

  • You want Postgres plus auth, storage and APIs in one project.
  • You want daily backups included and a spend cap by default.
  • You may want to self-host the platform later.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need point-in-time recovery without a $100-a-month add-on.
  • You want staging branches that copy production data on the base plan.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Supabase gives the most around the database: auth, storage and APIs with daily backups for $25. For a database alone, PITR as a flat add-on and per-hour branches make it the highest-priced of the three in our scenario.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitsPlan fee, compute hours, disk (GB)
Free plan500 MB per project, 2 projects; paused after 1 week inactive
10 GB app with staging, per month$35.06 on Pro, computed
Point-in-time recovery$100/mo add-on per 7 days; needs Small compute
Automatic backups at no extra chargeDaily, kept 7 days (Pro)
SOC 2 Type II reportTeam plan ($599/mo)
HIPAA BAATeam plan, paid add-on
EU regionsIreland, Paris, Frankfurt, Stockholm
SAML SSO for the dashboardListed on Team; table says Contact Us
Branch with production dataNeeds the PITR add-on

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Supabase lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Pro, costs $25/mo.

  • SupabaseFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    500 MB database per project, 2 active projects
    • Shared CPU, 500 MB RAM
    • 50,000 monthly active users
    • Paused after 1 week of inactivity
    • Community support
  • SupabaseLowest price
    Pro
    $25/mo
    From $25; $10 compute credit (one Micro instance), 8 GB disk per project, then $0.125/GB
    • Daily backups kept 7 days
    • PITR add-on: $100/mo per 7 days
    • Branching: $0.01344 per branch-hour
    • Spend cap on by default
    • Email support
  • Supabase
    Team
    $599/mo
    From $599; same compute credit and disk as Pro
    • SOC 2 and ISO 27001 documents
    • HIPAA as a paid add-on
    • Daily backups kept 14 days
    • Platform audit logs
    • Priority email support and SLAs
  • Supabase
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • PITR beyond 28 days
    • Uptime SLAs
    • 24×7×365 premium support

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: supabase.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site