PlanetScale review

by PlanetScaleManaged Postgres

Postgres on a cluster size you choose: from $5 a month on a single node or $15 with two replicas across three zones, with SOC 2 Type 2 and BAAs on the self-serve plan.

Facts checked
  • Paid only
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Compliance included

Production Postgres at a fixed monthly price per cluster, from $10 for 1 GiB, with SOC 2 Type 2 reports and BAAs on the self-serve plan.

PlanetScale prices each Postgres branch by the cluster size you choose, with 10 GB of storage and backups every 12 hours included. A single node starts at $5 a month and a highly available cluster, a primary and two replicas across three availability zones, at $15. The self-serve Base plan lists SOC 2 Type 2 reports and BAAs, which Supabase and Neon list on higher plans.

  • Lowest listed price in our scenarioA 1 GiB single node is $10 a month in us-east-1 with 10 GB of storage included; with a $5 development branch, our scenario comes to $15.Evidence: Pricing page, pricing.md and plans docs (2026-10-15)
  • SOC 2 and a BAA on BaseThe security docs list SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type 2+ HIPAA reports, BAAs and a DPA on the self-serve Base plan; BAAs are requested in the dashboard and reviewed.Evidence: Security and compliance docs (2026-10-15)
  • High availability as a cluster sizeHA clusters run a primary and two replicas across three availability zones, from $15 a month, with backups every 12 hours included up to twice the disk.Evidence: Pricing page and Postgres pricing docs (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want a production Postgres with predictable monthly prices, replicas across zones, and compliance documents from the first paid month.
Good to know
There is no free plan, and new branches start without schema or data.

How PlanetScale compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Managed Postgres: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

PlanetScale compared with Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL, Neon, Supabase
MetricPlanetScaleAmazon RDS for PostgreSQLNeonSupabase
What you're paying forWorth the priceProduction Postgres at a fixed monthly price per cluster, from $10 for 1 GiB, with SOC 2 Type 2 reports and BAAs on the self-serve plan.Compliance includedManaged Postgres in your own AWS account from $0.016 an hour, with point-in-time restore up to 35 days and a self-serve HIPAA BAA.Worth the pricePostgres you pay for by the compute hour, with scale to zero, branches that start with your data, and a free plan of 100 projects.Saves engineering timeA Postgres database with auth, storage and APIs in one project for $25 a month, with daily backups and a choice of 17 AWS regions.
Overall score6.76.9Best6.56.0
Free optionPaid onlyFree trialFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measuredNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$5/mo$0.016/hour$0.106/CU-hour$25/mo
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-basedSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsCluster size per month, storage above 10 GB, backups above 2× diskInstance hours, storage (GB-month), backup storage above the free amount, CPU creditsCompute-unit hours, storage and restore history (GB-month)Plan fee, compute hours, disk (GB)
Free planNone; single node from $5/moNone; AWS Free Tier credits for new accounts1 GB per project, 100 projects, 100 CU-hours each; no card500 MB per project, 2 projects; paused after 1 week inactive
10 GB app with staging, per month$15 on Base, computed$19.10 on db.t4g.micro, computed$28.06 on Launch, computed$35.06 on Pro, computed
Point-in-time recovery2 days by default; longer with custom backup schedulesUp to 35 days, no add-on; extra backup storage $0.095/GB-monthUp to 7 days on Launch at $0.20/GB-month; 30 on Scale$100/mo add-on per 7 days; needs Small compute
Automatic backups at no extra chargeEvery 12 hours, kept 2 days7 days by default (console); free up to provisioned storageNone; history and snapshots billed per GBDaily, kept 7 days (Pro)
SOC 2 Type II reportBase plan (ISO 27001 not stated)AWS reports in AWS Artifact, any accountScale planTeam plan ($599/mo)
HIPAA BAABase plan, on requestSelf-serve in AWS ArtifactScale plan, self-serveTeam plan, paid add-on
EU regionsFrankfurt, Dublin (AWS); Belgium, Netherlands (GCP)Frankfurt, Ireland, Paris, Stockholm, Milan, SpainFrankfurt, LondonIreland, Paris, Frankfurt, Stockholm
SAML SSO for the dashboard$199/mo add-on on BaseIAM Identity Center, no extra chargeNot listedListed on Team; table says Contact Us
Branch with production dataYes, by restoring a backup to a branchYes, by restoring a snapshot or point in time to a new instanceYes, every branch starts as a copyNeeds the PITR add-on
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, PlanetScale lists the lowest price for our scenario and the most compliance on its entry plan, with backups and PITR included. There is no free plan, and its Postgres branches are separate databases rather than copies.From its public pages, RDS for PostgreSQL includes the most recovery and compliance here at a low listed price, all self-serve. The bill has more lines to estimate than the others, and there is no permanent free plan.From its public pages, Neon has the most generous free plan and the most flexible branches here, and usage billing suits databases that are often idle. Compliance and longer restore windows move you to Scale, at about twice the compute rate.From its public pages, Supabase gives the most around the database: auth, storage and APIs with daily backups for $25. For a database alone, PITR as a flat add-on and per-hour branches make it the highest-priced of the three in our scenario.

Evidence: PlanetScale: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Neon: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Supabase: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
billed by cluster size (monthly), storage above 10 GB, backup storage above twice the disk; the scenario needs no usage estimate beyond its own sizes; per-GB storage rate not on the pricing page (the docs link a rates endpoint); Business support priced by sales only
Free tier
0.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan
Price for a 10 GB app with staging
8.6 / 10, Excellent
$15/mo: Base, us-east-1: production single node PS-10 (1 GiB, arm64) $10 + staging development branch (PS-DEV) $5; 10 GB of storage included per cluster (computed); assumes a single-node production database (high availability for this size is $30), and backups and egress within the included amounts
Backups and point-in-time recovery
8.0 / 10, Excellent
PITR of 30 days or more on the entry paid plan without an add-on fee, automatic backups kept 2 days at no extra charge, 28+ days available self-serve
Compliance and data residency
8.0 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II report on the entry paid plan, ISO 27001 not stated, HIPAA BAA on the entry paid plan, EU region
Team and control
7.5 / 10, Good
SAML SSO as a priced add-on; audit log on the entry paid plan; branches with production data; own-cloud deployment on enterprise

Review

Review from public pages

Written from PlanetScale's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read PlanetScale's pricing page, its pricing.md catalog and its docs on plans, Postgres pricing, backups, point-in-time recovery, branching, security and SSO on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. PlanetScale sells three engines: Vitess (MySQL-compatible), Neki (sharded Postgres) and PlanetScale Postgres, which this review covers. The docs say there is no free plan; the self-serve Base plan prices each branch by the cluster size you pick, prorated to the millisecond.

The pricing page and pricing.md list every size for one region at a time, and the same catalog is published as a read-only Postgres table. In us-east-1, single-node Postgres runs from $5 a month (PS-5, 512 MiB) and a cluster with a primary and two replicas across three availability zones from $15. Each cluster includes 10 GB of storage; above that, a rates endpoint linked from the docs returned $0.125 per GB for us-east-1. Backups run every 12 hours at no charge up to twice the disk size, and point-in-time recovery reaches back 2 days by default, or to your oldest backup when you add a custom schedule.

Branches work differently from Neon's: a new development branch (PS-DEV, from $5 a month) starts with no schema or data, and a branch with data comes from restoring a backup. The docs say there is no automated way to merge schema changes between Postgres branches. The security docs list SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type 2+ HIPAA reports and BAAs on Base; ISO 27001 is not mentioned.

Strengths

  • Lowest listed price for a small production database

    In us-east-1 a single node with 1 GiB is $10 a month with 10 GB of storage included; our scenario comes to $15 with a staging branch.

    vs Supabase: The same scenario is $28.06 on Neon Launch and $35.06 on Supabase Pro, by our arithmetic.

  • High availability as a standard size

    Each HA cluster is a primary and two replicas across three availability zones, from $15 a month (PS-5) or $30 for 1 GiB (PS-10).

  • SOC 2 reports and a BAA on the self-serve plan

    The security docs list SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type 2+ HIPAA reports and Business Associate Agreements on Base, requested from the dashboard.

    vs Supabase: Supabase offers them from Team ($599/mo); Neon lists them on Scale.

  • Backups and PITR without an add-on

    Backups every 12 hours are included up to twice the disk size; PITR covers 2 days by default and reaches the oldest backup if you schedule more, at $0.023 per GB beyond the included amount.

    vs Supabase: Supabase’s PITR is $100 a month per 7 days.

  • Team controls

    An audit log kept 6 months on Base, SAML SSO as a $199-a-month add-on, and a deployment in your own AWS, GCP or Azure account on Enterprise.

Things to know

  • No free plan

    Every database is paid; the smallest is a $5-a-month single node with 512 MiB.

    Workaround: Neon and Supabase both have permanent free plans.

  • Branches start empty

    A new development branch has no schema or data, and there is no automated way to merge schema changes between Postgres branches.

    Workaround: Restoring a backup to a new branch includes schema and data, at the parent’s cluster size.

  • Storage rate not on the pricing page

    Storage above 10 GB varies by region and is published through a rates endpoint linked from the docs; Business support is priced by sales.

  • Size cap for new accounts

    Cluster sizes are capped at PS-160 and M-320 until an invoice of at least $100 has been paid.

    Workaround: The docs say to contact PlanetScale to unlock larger sizes sooner.

Pricing reality

PlanetScale bills each branch by cluster size per month, prorated to the millisecond, plus storage above 10 GB, backup storage above twice the disk ($0.023 per GB), egress above the included amount (100 GB for production branches, 10 GB for a single-node PS-5 and for development branches), and optional dedicated PgBouncers and extra replicas. In us-east-1, a single node is $5 (PS-5) or $10 (PS-10, 1 GiB); HA with two replicas is $15 or $30. Development branches are from $5 a month; SSO is $199 a month.

For our scenario: PS-10 single node $10 + a PS-DEV staging branch $5 = $15 a month, our arithmetic, with storage and backups inside the included amounts. With a highly available PS-10, it is $35.

Exit path

PlanetScale Postgres runs standard PostgreSQL 17 and 18; the compatibility docs list logical replication as source or target, and the branching docs use pg_dump and pg_restore to copy data. There is no SUPERUSER role, and extensions come from a curated list.

Compared with

  • Pick PlanetScale when
    You want the lowest listed price for a small production database, SOC 2 and a BAA on the entry plan, and backups with PITR included.
    Pick Supabase when
    You want auth, storage and APIs in the same project, a free plan, or a self-hosted option.
  • Pick PlanetScale when
    You want fixed monthly prices per cluster, replicas across three zones, SAML SSO and an audit log.
    Pick Neon when
    You want a free plan, scale to zero for idle databases, and branches that start with your data.

Choose it if

  • You want a production Postgres at a fixed monthly price from $10.
  • You need SOC 2 reports and a BAA without moving to a higher plan.
  • You want high availability with replicas across three zones as a standard size.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want a free plan to start.
  • You rely on branches that start with production data or merge schema changes for you.

Bottom line

From its public pages, PlanetScale lists the lowest price for our scenario and the most compliance on its entry plan, with backups and PITR included. There is no free plan, and its Postgres branches are separate databases rather than copies.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitsCluster size per month, storage above 10 GB, backups above 2× disk
Free planNone; single node from $5/mo
10 GB app with staging, per month$15 on Base, computed
Point-in-time recovery2 days by default; longer with custom backup schedules
Automatic backups at no extra chargeEvery 12 hours, kept 2 days
SOC 2 Type II reportBase plan (ISO 27001 not stated)
HIPAA BAABase plan, on request
EU regionsFrankfurt, Dublin (AWS); Belgium, Netherlands (GCP)
SAML SSO for the dashboard$199/mo add-on on Base
Branch with production dataYes, by restoring a backup to a branch

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

PlanetScale lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Base (single node PS-5), costs $5/mo.

  • PlanetScaleLowest price
    Single node
    $5/mo
    PS-5 (1/16 vCPU, 512 MiB) in us-east-1; $10 for PS-10 (1 GiB, arm64)
    • 10 GB storage included
    • Backups every 12 hours, up to 2× disk included
    • For development and low-traffic production
    • Standard support
  • PlanetScale
    High availability
    $15/mo
    PS-5, a primary and two replicas across three availability zones; $30 for PS-10 (arm64)
    • 10 GB storage included
    • 100 GB egress per production branch
    • Audit log kept 6 months
    • SSO add-on: $199/mo per organization
  • PlanetScale
    Metal
    $50/mo
    M-10 (1 GiB) with 10 GiB local NVMe, high availability (arm64)
    • Storage included in the cluster price
    • Larger sizes add NVMe capacity
  • PlanetScale
    Development branch
    $5/branch/mo
    PS-DEV, single node, no replicas; billed while it runs
    • Starts with no schema or data
    • 10 GB egress included
  • PlanetScale
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • Single-tenant or your own AWS, GCP or Azure account
    • PCI compliance with PlanetScale Managed
    • Business or Enterprise support

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: planetscale.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site