Unlimited signature requests at a fixed price per sender, with an audit trail and a digital seal on every signed document.
Every paid Dropbox Sign web plan includes unlimited signature requests, so the bill depends on how many people send, not on how many documents go out. Each completed request gets an audit trail page and its own digital seal, and the Dropbox Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 reports for Dropbox Sign itself. Signers pay nothing and need no account. Developers get a separate API with a free test mode on every endpoint, webhooks and six official SDKs.
No envelope count on web plansEssentials ($15/mo billed yearly, one user) and Standard ($25 per user a month billed yearly, from 2 users) both list unlimited signature requests, and the FAQ says there is "no worrying about overages".Evidence: Pricing page and its USD price feed; US copy on the Internet Archive, Oct 9, 2026 (2026-10-15)
Reports in Dropbox Sign’s own nameThe Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3 reports and ISO 27001 and 27018 certificates for Dropbox Sign, with Ernst & Young LLP as the ISO auditor. The SOC 2 report is behind a "Get access" request; the SOC 3 report and the ISO 27001 and 27018 certificates are listed for public download.Evidence: Dropbox Trust Center, Dropbox Sign product (2026-10-15)
Evidence on every requestAn audit trail page with a GUID, time stamps and IP addresses is appended to every completed request, free plan included, with a hash of the PDF so later changes can be detected. Paid plans add a digital seal to each signed document.Evidence: Pricing page, Legality Statement and audit trail help article (2026-10-15)
API with a free test modeEvery endpoint can be tested with test_mode, even from a free account, and the docs cover webhooks and SDKs for Python, Node, PHP, Java, Ruby and .NET. Live sending starts at $75/mo billed yearly for 50 requests.Evidence: Developer docs (overview, SDKs, events) and API pricing page (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams of 2 to 4 senders who send many agreements a month and want a flat price per sender, and developers who want an API they can test for free.
Good to know
SSO, data residency and team cloud sync are on Premium (quote), and HIPAA needs an annual plan, a BAA and a minimum contract value set by sales.
How Dropbox Sign compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Electronic signatures: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Dropbox Sign compared with BoldSign, DocuSeal, DocuSign eSignature
Worth the priceUnlimited signature requests at a fixed price per sender, with an audit trail and a digital seal on every signed document.
Worth the priceUnlimited sending with SSO, HIPAA and a storage region choice at $15 per user a month billed yearly, with QES, ID checks, SMS and bulk send priced per use.
Worth the priceA full signing app with unlimited web sending, SSO and an API for a $20 seat, with open-source code you can also run yourself.
Compliance includedA signing workflow with the audit trail, tamper seal and company-wide certifications that many legal and security reviews already expect.
Overall score
6.7
9.2Best
8.8
6.6
Free option
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
14-day free trial
Card to start
–Not measured
No card needed
No card needed
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$15/mo
$5/user/mo
$20/user/mo
$10/mo
Pricing model
Per seat
Seat + usage
Seat + usage
Per seat
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per sender (user) per month; signers pay nothing
Per user per month (Growth, Business); flat for unlimited users (Premium); per envelope (API and add-ons)
Per web-app user (sender seat), plus per-use fees for API, SMS, bulk send and ID checks
Per user per month, with an envelope allowance per seat
Envelope allowance
Unlimited signature requests on paid web plans; Free 3 a month; API plans have a monthly quota
Essential 25 a month; Growth 50 a month per user (plan table: 50 for the account); Business unlimited; Premium 250 a month, then $0.50 each
Basic 10 request emails a month; Pro unlimited signature requests from the web app
Personal 5 a month; Standard and Business Pro 100 per user per year, shared; IAM Standard unlimited from the web app
Free option
Free plan with 3 signature requests a month; 30-day trial of paid plans
Free plan: 25 envelopes a month (5 with a personal email domain); 30-day trial, no card
Free Basic plan, 10 request emails a month, no card; free self-hosted open-source edition
Free signing of documents you receive; trial of about 14 days, no card
Reference scenario (3 senders, 90 envelopes/mo)
$75 on Standard (3 × $25 billed yearly), computed
$15 on Growth (3 × $5) if the 50 envelopes are per user; $45 on Business otherwise, computed
$50 on Pro annual (3 × $200 a year), computed
$135 on IAM Standard (3 × $45); $270 on Standard with extra envelopes, computed
API entry price
$75/mo billed yearly ($900) for 50 requests a month; free test mode
$30/mo with 40 envelopes, then $0.75 each; free sandbox
$20/mo for one Pro seat, plus $0.20 per completed document; free sandbox, no card
$50/mo billed annually for 40 envelopes a month; free developer account
EU signature levels (eIDAS)
eIDAS stated for simple signatures; AES and QES through the eID add-on on API Premium (sales)
eIDAS on every plan; QES add-on at $3 per signature on Business and up
SES included; AES $2 and QES from $0.20 per signature on the EU cloud (docuseal.eu)
SES on self-serve plans; AES and QES on Enhanced (sales)
Signer ID checks
SMS authentication on Standard and up; eID on API Premium (add-on, sales)
SMS authentication $0.20, ID verification $2, KBA $1.50 per use, Business and up
SMS and phone 2FA (20 a month, then $0.20 each); ID check $2 and KBA $2, both enabled by support
ID verification from $2.40 per attempt; SMS/phone authentication and KBA by sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Own SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 naming Dropbox Sign
Own SOC 2 Type II (Syncfusion, report on request); ISO 27001 not stated
Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 stated; documents on request in the Trust Center
Own SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001:2022
HIPAA BAA
Annual Standard or Premium, with a BAA and a minimum contract value, through sales
Business and up on an annual plan; BAA signed in the app settings (plan card) or requested by form (HIPAA overview)
Pro Annual, by emailing support
Enhanced plans, by sales
SSO
SAML SSO on Premium (quote); no SCIM
Business ($15/user/mo billed yearly) and up
SAML SSO on Pro ($20/user/mo)
IAM Professional (3-user minimum); otherwise by sales
Storage regions
US, Australia, EU, Japan, Canada, UK on Premium; US by default
US, EU, Canada, Australia on every plan; fixed at sign-up
US (AWS Virginia) or EU (AWS Dublin), by signing up on docuseal.com or docuseal.eu
US, Canada, Europe, Australia, Japan; choice through a Docusign representative
Bottom line
From its public pages, Dropbox Sign is a per-sender service with unlimited signature requests, evidence on every document and compliance reports in its own name. SSO, data residency, HIPAA and QES go through sales, and the API is priced by monthly quota.
From its public pages, BoldSign has the lowest price of the five for our 3-sender scenario and puts SSO, HIPAA, four storage regions and per-use QES on a self-serve plan. Check how Growth counts envelopes; no ISO 27001 certificate is named.
From its public pages, DocuSeal pairs a low per-seat price for unlimited web sending with an API billed per completed document, its own SOC 2 and ISO 27001, and an open-source edition. Usage fees and support-enabled add-ons need planning.
From its public pages, DocuSign eSignature has the longest certification list of the five and evidence features on every plan. It is priced per seat with an envelope allowance, so steady volume costs more than with the flat-rate rivals, and SSO and HIPAA sit on higher or sales-led plans.
Evidence: Dropbox Sign: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; BoldSign: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; DocuSeal: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; DocuSign eSignature: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
larger plans priced by sales; can be bought online; no envelope cap on self-serve plans; help center articles disagree on whether self-signing counts toward the free plan's 3 a month; prices of the Salesforce integration and eID add-ons are not published; minimum contract value for HIPAA not published
Free plan
3.4 / 10, Fair
free plan: 3 documents a month for signature, 30-day trial of paid plans
ESIGN/UETA stated, qualified signatures (QES) by sales, audit trail, tamper-evident seal, signer ID checks
Compliance and team security
8.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA by sales, SSO by sales, storage region choice
API and templates
9.0 / 10, Excellent
API, live API from $75/mo, free sandbox, webhooks, SDKs, shared templates, bulk send
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Dropbox Sign's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Dropbox Sign's home page, its web and API pricing pages, the product page, the Legality Statement and US legality guide, the Terms, the trust page and the Dropbox Trust Center, help-center articles on the free plan, plans, HIPAA, SSO, data residency, the audit trail, signer authentication, API quotas and rate limits, cancellation and downloads, and the developer docs (overview, SDKs, events and callbacks, eID) on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or call the API for this review. Both pricing pages fill in their prices by script, so we read the price feeds the pages themselves load, which returned US dollars. An Internet Archive copy of the web price feed as served to a US visitor (Oct 9, 2026) shows the same rates.
The pages make the structure clear. Every paid web plan has unlimited signature requests and is priced per sender: Essentials is $15/mo billed yearly ($180) or $20 monthly for one user, and Standard is $25 per user a month billed yearly or $30 monthly, from 2 users, with sales at 5 or more. Premium is by quote. The audit trail and a digital seal come with every paid plan. The API is a separate product priced by a monthly request quota, with a free test mode.
A few things need a question. Two help articles disagree on whether self-signing counts toward the free plan's 3 requests a month. The prices of the Salesforce integration and eID add-ons, and the minimum contract value for HIPAA, are not published. The home page shows the one-user Essentials plan as "$15 / user / month", and a pricing tooltip mentions chat support while the support article lists the help center and email only.
Strengths
Unlimited sending at a per-sender price
Every paid web plan lists unlimited signature requests, so a team pays for its senders and not for each document. Three senders on Standard come to $75/mo billed yearly.
Compared: DocuSign Standard includes 100 envelopes per user per year, shared across the account; unlimited web sending there starts with IAM Standard at $135/mo for 3 users.
Compliance reports for the signing product itself
The Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 3, ISO 27001 and ISO 27018 for Dropbox Sign, not only for Dropbox, with SOC reports for Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025 and ISO certificates for the current certification cycle.
vs BoldSign: BoldSign and SignWell state their own SOC 2 Type II but name no ISO 27001 certificate of their own.
Evidence on every document
The audit trail, with time stamps, IP addresses and a document hash, is included even on the free plan, and each document signed on a paid plan gets its own digital seal.
A mature API with a free test mode
Every endpoint works in test mode from a free account; the docs cover webhooks, embedded signing and requesting, and six official SDKs, with prior major SDK versions patched for up to 12 months.
vs SignWell: SignWell lists four official SDKs (Ruby, Node, Python, PHP); Dropbox Sign adds Java and .NET.
Team features on the self-serve Standard plan
Standard includes bulk send to up to 250 recipients, templates shared with the team, branding, in-person signing and SMS authentication, bought online.
vs BoldSign: BoldSign offers bulk send as a per-use add-on at $0.25 per envelope, from its Business plan.
Things to know
SSO and data residency are on Premium
SAML SSO, data residency in six regions, team cloud sync and multi-teams are on Premium, which is priced by quote for 5 or more users. The SSO help article says SCIM is not supported.
Workaround: Ask sales for a Premium quote; the help center lists which features it adds.
HIPAA comes with conditions
HIPAA needs an annual Standard or Premium plan, a signed BAA and a minimum contract value that is not published. Once it is on, CC, emailed PDF copies and editing of the title and message are turned off (admins can turn the last one back on).
Workaround: Ask an account manager for the minimum contract value before planning on Standard.
API quota moves you up a tier
API plans have a monthly request quota. The Terms and help center say going over it upgrades the subscription to the next tier, and it stays there. Annual plans get the yearly allotment divided by 12 each month unless you pay an unpublished fee for a yearly refresh.
Workaround: Size the plan to your busiest month and watch usage in the API dashboard.
QES only through an API Premium add-on
Qualified and advanced signatures through eID (for example itsme, Belgian eID, Swedish BankID) are an add-on on the API Premium plan, arranged with an account manager. The price is not stated.
Workaround: Simple signatures, which the Legality Statement says comply with eIDAS, are on every plan.
Pricing reality
Billing is per sender; signers pay nothing and paid web plans have no envelope count. Essentials is $15/mo billed yearly ($180) or $20 monthly for one user. Standard is $25 per user a month billed yearly or $30 monthly, from 2 users, and the page says to contact sales at 5 or more. Premium is by quote. For 3 senders at 30 envelopes a month, Standard comes to $75/mo ($900 a year). The API is priced by monthly quota: API Essentials is $75/mo billed yearly for 50 requests ($100 monthly), and API Standard, which adds embedded signing, is $250/mo for 100. Going over the quota upgrades the plan. The Salesforce integration and eID add-ons are priced by sales. An offer of 30% off the first year of an annual plan is an offer, not the list price. Fees are non-refundable and exclude taxes.
Exit path
Each request can be downloaded as a PDF, a signed ZIP or a CSV of form data. For the whole account, the help center describes looping over the API (List Signature Requests and Get Files), or Team cloud sync to Dropbox, Box, Google Drive or OneDrive on Premium. After cancelling, the account becomes a free account and you can still log in to your signed documents; deleting the account deletes them. The Terms allow deletion of customer data 30 days after termination.
You need SSO, ISO 27001 in the vendor’s own name or a choice of storage region, and can work with a Premium quote.
Pick SignWell when
You want 3 senders for $30/mo billed yearly with unlimited documents, and API documents billed per use with no monthly minimum.
Choose it if
Two to four people send many agreements a month and you want a flat price per sender.
Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 in the signing product’s own name.
You plan to build on an API with a free test mode, webhooks and six official SDKs.
You want to start on a free plan (3 requests a month) or a 30-day trial.
Look elsewhere if
You need SSO, data residency or HIPAA on a self-serve plan with a published price.
You need qualified (QES) signatures without an API Premium contract.
You want API sending billed per document rather than by a monthly quota.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Dropbox Sign is a per-sender service with unlimited signature requests, evidence on every document and compliance reports in its own name. SSO, data residency, HIPAA and QES go through sales, and the API is priced by monthly quota.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per sender (user) per month; signers pay nothing
Envelope allowance
Unlimited signature requests on paid web plans; Free 3 a month; API plans have a monthly quota
Free option
Free plan with 3 signature requests a month; 30-day trial of paid plans
Reference scenario (3 senders, 90 envelopes/mo)
$75 on Standard (3 × $25 billed yearly), computed
API entry price
$75/mo billed yearly ($900) for 50 requests a month; free test mode
EU signature levels (eIDAS)
eIDAS stated for simple signatures; AES and QES through the eID add-on on API Premium (sales)
Signer ID checks
SMS authentication on Standard and up; eID on API Premium (add-on, sales)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Own SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 naming Dropbox Sign
HIPAA BAA
Annual Standard or Premium, with a BAA and a minimum contract value, through sales
SSO
SAML SSO on Premium (quote); no SCIM
Storage regions
US, Australia, EU, Japan, Canada, UK on Premium; US by default
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Dropbox Sign yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Dropbox Sign yet.
We read the pricing, API pricing, security, legal and docs pages of three e-signature services on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. How each one bills, what 3 senders cost, and who should pick which.