DocuSeal review

by DocuSeal, LLCElectronic signatures

An open-source e-signature app with a hosted cloud in the US or the EU, priced per sender seat plus published per-document fees.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Seat + usage
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Saves engineering time
  • Compliance included

A full signing app with unlimited web sending, SSO and an API for a $20 seat, with open-source code you can also run yourself.

Pro gives each sender unlimited signature requests from the web app, SAML SSO, user roles, webhooks and bulk send for $20 a user a month, or $200 a year. Developers pay $0.20 per completed document through the API or embedding once they have one Pro seat, and the sandbox is free. The same app is open source and can be self-hosted with Docker, and the hosted cloud comes in a US or an EU region. The vendor also states its own SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001, and offers a HIPAA BAA on Pro Annual.

  • Unlimited web sending per seatPro lists unlimited signature requests from the web app at $20 per user a month or $200 per user a year. Three senders on the annual plan come to $50 a month (our arithmetic).Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • API priced per completed documentOne Pro seat unlocks the live API and embedding at $0.20 per completed document, and a submission with several files and signers counts once. SDKs cover JavaScript/TypeScript, Python, Ruby, PHP, Java, C# and Go, with webhooks and a free sandbox.Evidence: Pricing page FAQ and API reference (2026-10-15)
  • Open source and self-hostableThe open-source edition runs on your own servers with Docker, storing files on disk, S3, Google Cloud Storage or Azure. On-premises Pro is $240 per user a year.Evidence: On-premises, install and pricing pages (2026-10-15)
  • Certifications and all three EU signature levelsThe security page states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 for DocuSeal Cloud. The compliance page says all three eIDAS levels are available, with AES and QES priced per signature on the EU cloud.Evidence: Security and compliance pages, QES and AES cost FAQ (2026-10-15)
Best for
Small teams and developers who want unlimited web sending, SSO and a per-document API at published prices, with the option to self-host.
Good to know
Usage fees sit on top of the seat price for API, SMS, bulk send and ID checks, and several add-ons are switched on by support.

How DocuSeal compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Electronic signatures: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

DocuSeal compared with BoldSign, Dropbox Sign, DocuSign eSignature
MetricDocuSealBoldSignDropbox SignDocuSign eSignature
What you're paying forWorth the priceA full signing app with unlimited web sending, SSO and an API for a $20 seat, with open-source code you can also run yourself.Worth the priceUnlimited sending with SSO, HIPAA and a storage region choice at $15 per user a month billed yearly, with QES, ID checks, SMS and bulk send priced per use.Worth the priceUnlimited signature requests at a fixed price per sender, with an audit trail and a digital seal on every signed document.Compliance includedA signing workflow with the audit trail, tamper seal and company-wide certifications that many legal and security reviews already expect.
Overall score8.89.2Best6.76.6
Free optionFree planFree planFree plan14-day free trial
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$20/user/mo$5/user/mo$15/mo$10/mo
Pricing modelSeat + usageSeat + usagePer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer web-app user (sender seat), plus per-use fees for API, SMS, bulk send and ID checksPer user per month (Growth, Business); flat for unlimited users (Premium); per envelope (API and add-ons)Per sender (user) per month; signers pay nothingPer user per month, with an envelope allowance per seat
Envelope allowanceBasic 10 request emails a month; Pro unlimited signature requests from the web appEssential 25 a month; Growth 50 a month per user (plan table: 50 for the account); Business unlimited; Premium 250 a month, then $0.50 eachUnlimited signature requests on paid web plans; Free 3 a month; API plans have a monthly quotaPersonal 5 a month; Standard and Business Pro 100 per user per year, shared; IAM Standard unlimited from the web app
Free optionFree Basic plan, 10 request emails a month, no card; free self-hosted open-source editionFree plan: 25 envelopes a month (5 with a personal email domain); 30-day trial, no cardFree plan with 3 signature requests a month; 30-day trial of paid plansFree signing of documents you receive; trial of about 14 days, no card
Reference scenario (3 senders, 90 envelopes/mo)$50 on Pro annual (3 × $200 a year), computed$15 on Growth (3 × $5) if the 50 envelopes are per user; $45 on Business otherwise, computed$75 on Standard (3 × $25 billed yearly), computed$135 on IAM Standard (3 × $45); $270 on Standard with extra envelopes, computed
API entry price$20/mo for one Pro seat, plus $0.20 per completed document; free sandbox, no card$30/mo with 40 envelopes, then $0.75 each; free sandbox$75/mo billed yearly ($900) for 50 requests a month; free test mode$50/mo billed annually for 40 envelopes a month; free developer account
EU signature levels (eIDAS)SES included; AES $2 and QES from $0.20 per signature on the EU cloud (docuseal.eu)eIDAS on every plan; QES add-on at $3 per signature on Business and upeIDAS stated for simple signatures; AES and QES through the eID add-on on API Premium (sales)SES on self-serve plans; AES and QES on Enhanced (sales)
Signer ID checksSMS and phone 2FA (20 a month, then $0.20 each); ID check $2 and KBA $2, both enabled by supportSMS authentication $0.20, ID verification $2, KBA $1.50 per use, Business and upSMS authentication on Standard and up; eID on API Premium (add-on, sales)ID verification from $2.40 per attempt; SMS/phone authentication and KBA by sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 stated; documents on request in the Trust CenterOwn SOC 2 Type II (Syncfusion, report on request); ISO 27001 not statedOwn SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 naming Dropbox SignOwn SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001:2022
HIPAA BAAPro Annual, by emailing supportBusiness and up on an annual plan; BAA signed in the app settings (plan card) or requested by form (HIPAA overview)Annual Standard or Premium, with a BAA and a minimum contract value, through salesEnhanced plans, by sales
SSOSAML SSO on Pro ($20/user/mo)Business ($15/user/mo billed yearly) and upSAML SSO on Premium (quote); no SCIMIAM Professional (3-user minimum); otherwise by sales
Storage regionsUS (AWS Virginia) or EU (AWS Dublin), by signing up on docuseal.com or docuseal.euUS, EU, Canada, Australia on every plan; fixed at sign-upUS, Australia, EU, Japan, Canada, UK on Premium; US by defaultUS, Canada, Europe, Australia, Japan; choice through a Docusign representative
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, DocuSeal pairs a low per-seat price for unlimited web sending with an API billed per completed document, its own SOC 2 and ISO 27001, and an open-source edition. Usage fees and support-enabled add-ons need planning.From its public pages, BoldSign has the lowest price of the five for our 3-sender scenario and puts SSO, HIPAA, four storage regions and per-use QES on a self-serve plan. Check how Growth counts envelopes; no ISO 27001 certificate is named.From its public pages, Dropbox Sign is a per-sender service with unlimited signature requests, evidence on every document and compliance reports in its own name. SSO, data residency, HIPAA and QES go through sales, and the API is priced by monthly quota.From its public pages, DocuSign eSignature has the longest certification list of the five and evidence features on every plan. It is priced per seat with an envelope allowance, so steady volume costs more than with the flat-rate rivals, and SSO and HIPAA sit on higher or sales-led plans.

Evidence: DocuSeal: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; BoldSign: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Dropbox Sign: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; DocuSign eSignature: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
9.0 / 10, Excellent
prices published; can be bought online; no envelope cap on self-serve plans; qualified signature price differs between the pricing table ($2-$4) and the QES page and FAQ (from $0.20)
Free plan
7.2 / 10, Good
free plan: 10 documents a month for signature
Price for 3 senders
6.5 / 10, Good
$50/mo: Pro, 3 users on the annual plan at $200 a user a year ($600 a year); signature requests by email from the web app are unlimited on Pro
Legal standing and evidence
10.0 / 10, Excellent
ESIGN/UETA stated, qualified signatures (QES) self-serve, audit trail, tamper-evident seal, signer ID checks
Compliance and team security
10.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on a self-serve plan, SSO on a self-serve plan, storage region choice
API and templates
10.0 / 10, Excellent
API, live API from $20/mo, free sandbox, webhooks, SDKs, shared templates, bulk send

Review

Review from public pages

Written from DocuSeal's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read DocuSeal's pricing page (and the Markdown copy the site serves for each page), the API reference, the security, compliance, HIPAA, SOC 2 and GDPR pages, the Trust Center, the terms and privacy policy, the qualified-signature and KBA pages, the on-premises and install pages, and the knowledge-base FAQ on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up, request Trust Center documents or call the API for this review. The pricing page showed US dollars from our location, so no archive copy was needed.

The pages make the model clear. There are two cloud plans: Basic is free with 10 signature request emails a month, and Pro is $20 per user a month or $200 per user a year with unlimited signature requests. A user is a web-app seat, not a signer. Usage fees are listed in one table: $0.20 per completed document through the API, embedding or Zapier/Make/n8n; SMS beyond 20 a month and bulk send beyond 50 a month at $0.20 each; ID checks and KBA at $2. The pricing FAQ shows worked monthly totals, such as one Pro seat plus 200 API documents for $60.

A few things need a question. The pricing table lists EU qualified signatures at $2-$4, while the QES page and FAQ start at $0.20 with a local certificate or ID card reader. AES and QES run on the EU cloud; on the Global cloud they need a custom setup through support. The HIPAA BAA, ID verification, KBA and some signing providers are switched on by support, no Pro trial is mentioned, and no API rate limit is published.

Strengths

  • Unlimited web sending at a low seat price

    Pro includes unlimited signature requests from the web app at $200 per user a year, so 3 senders come to $50 a month (our arithmetic), with SSO, roles and bulk send in the same plan.

    vs Dropbox Sign: Dropbox Sign Standard comes to $75/mo for 3 senders billed yearly, with SSO on Premium by quote.

  • API billed per completed document

    One Pro seat ($20/month) unlocks the live API and embedding at $0.20 per completed document, and the FAQ defines a completion and shows worked monthly totals. The sandbox is free and needs no card.

    vs SignWell: BoldSign’s API starts at $30/mo with 40 envelopes, then $0.75 each; SignWell charges $0.85 per API document after the first 25 a month.

  • Qualified signatures from $0.20

    The QES page lists $0.20 per signature with an ID card reader or local certificate and $2 through a trust provider; AES is $2. These run on the EU cloud (docuseal.eu).

    vs SignWell: BoldSign lists QES at $3 per signature; SignWell states eIDAS at the simple-signature level only.

  • Open source with a self-hosting route

    The open-source edition is free to run on your own servers with Docker. On-premises Pro adds SSO, roles and a trusted signing certificate for $240 per user a year, with the same $0.20 API fee.

  • Certifications in its own name

    The security page states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 for DocuSeal Cloud, and the HIPAA page offers a BAA on Pro Annual. The reports sit in the Trust Center behind a request-access step.

    vs SignWell: BoldSign and SignWell state their own SOC 2 Type II but no ISO 27001 certificate in their own name.

Things to know

  • Usage fees on top of the seat

    Pro adds $0.20 per completed document via API, embedding or Zapier/Make/n8n, $0.20 per SMS after 20 a month and per bulk-send completion after 50, $2 per ID check or KBA, and $100 a month for AI field detection in embedding. Usage fees are billed monthly and are non-refundable.

    Workaround: The pricing FAQ shows worked totals, and volume discounts on API documents and seats are offered by quote.

  • Some features need the annual plan or support

    A custom signing domain and the HIPAA BAA need Pro Annual. The BAA, ID verification, KBA and some QES and AES providers are switched on by support rather than in settings.

    Workaround: Email [email protected] before you rely on one of these.

  • EU signature levels are on the EU cloud

    AES and QES are available only on docuseal.eu; Global cloud accounts need a custom setup through support. The pricing table lists QES at $2-$4, while the QES page and FAQ start at $0.20.

    Workaround: Sign up on docuseal.eu if you need advanced or qualified signatures, and confirm the provider price with support.

  • Free plan capped at 10 request emails

    Basic sends 10 signature request emails a month, and no trial of Pro is mentioned. Templates and document retention are not capped on Basic.

    Workaround: The self-hosted open-source edition has no email cap (it uses your own SMTP); otherwise Pro has unlimited requests.

Pricing reality

Billing is per web-app user, not per signer or envelope: Pro is $20 per user a month, or $200 per user a year ($16.67 a month, computed). Pro includes unlimited signature requests by email, 20 SMS and 50 bulk-send completions a month, SSO and webhooks. Costs rise with usage: $0.20 per completed document via the API, embedding or Zapier/Make/n8n (1,000 a month is $200, our arithmetic), $0.20 per SMS or bulk-send completion above the included amounts, $2 per ID check or KBA, and $100 a month for AI field detection in embedding. For 3 senders at 30 envelopes a month from the web app, annual Pro is 3 × $200 = $600 a year, or $50 a month. Taxes are not stated, and volume discounts are by quote.

Exit path

Signed documents and the audit log can be downloaded from the app or through the API (GET /submissions/{id}/documents; the completed webhook carries the document and audit-log URLs). The open-source edition can run on your own servers, but no page describes a migration from the cloud to self-hosting. Cancelling in account settings takes effect at the end of the billing cycle, you can delete the account and its data at any time, and fees are not refunded.

Compared with

  • Pick DocuSeal when
    You need SSO, ISO 27001, an EU storage region or qualified signatures, and API documents at $0.20 each.
    Pick SignWell when
    You want a lower flat price for 3 senders ($30/mo billed yearly, unlimited documents) and an API with no monthly minimum.
  • Pick DocuSeal when
    You want QES from $0.20 a signature on the EU cloud, ISO 27001 stated, or a self-hosted option.
    Pick BoldSign when
    You want a larger free plan (25 envelopes a month) or the lowest scenario price ($15/mo on Growth, if its allowance is per user).
  • Pick DocuSeal when
    You want SSO without a quote (Pro is $20 per user) and API documents at $0.20 each rather than a monthly quota from $75 billed yearly.
    Pick Dropbox Sign when
    You want a 30-day trial of a paid plan, or storage regions beyond the US and EU (on Premium, by quote).

Choose it if

  • You want unlimited web sending, SAML SSO and user roles on a self-serve plan at $20 per user.
  • You are building signing into your product and want to pay per completed document.
  • You need EU advanced or qualified signatures at published per-signature prices.
  • You want the option to self-host the same app.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need more than 10 free sends a month without paying or self-hosting.
  • You want every add-on switched on in settings without contacting support.
  • You need qualified signatures on a US-hosted account without a custom setup.

Bottom line

From its public pages, DocuSeal pairs a low per-seat price for unlimited web sending with an API billed per completed document, its own SOC 2 and ISO 27001, and an open-source edition. Usage fees and support-enabled add-ons need planning.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer web-app user (sender seat), plus per-use fees for API, SMS, bulk send and ID checks
Envelope allowanceBasic 10 request emails a month; Pro unlimited signature requests from the web app
Free optionFree Basic plan, 10 request emails a month, no card; free self-hosted open-source edition
Reference scenario (3 senders, 90 envelopes/mo)$50 on Pro annual (3 × $200 a year), computed
API entry price$20/mo for one Pro seat, plus $0.20 per completed document; free sandbox, no card
EU signature levels (eIDAS)SES included; AES $2 and QES from $0.20 per signature on the EU cloud (docuseal.eu)
Signer ID checksSMS and phone 2FA (20 a month, then $0.20 each); ID check $2 and KBA $2, both enabled by support
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 stated; documents on request in the Trust Center
HIPAA BAAPro Annual, by emailing support
SSOSAML SSO on Pro ($20/user/mo)
Storage regionsUS (AWS Virginia) or EU (AWS Dublin), by signing up on docuseal.com or docuseal.eu

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

DocuSeal lists 6 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Pro, costs $20/user/mo.

  • DocuSealFree
    Basic (Cloud)
    $0/user/mo
    10 signature request emails a month; no credit card
    • Audit log and trusted signing certificate
    • Unlimited templates, user management, multiple signers
    • Shared-link and in-person signing
    • API test mode (sandbox)
  • DocuSeal
    Pro (Cloud)
    $20/user/mo
    Monthly billing; $200 per user a year on the annual plan; a user is a web-app seat, not a signer
    • Unlimited signature requests
    • SAML SSO, user roles, teams and private templates
    • Webhooks; API, embedding and Zapier/Make/n8n at $0.20 per completed document
    • 20 SMS and 50 bulk-send completions a month included, then $0.20 each
    • ID check $2, KBA $2, EU qualified signature listed at $2-$4
    • Custom domain and HIPAA BAA on the annual plan
  • DocuSeal
    API and embedding
    $0.20/completed document
    Needs at least one Pro seat ($20/month); the sandbox is free and unlimited
    • A submission with several files and signers counts as one completion
    • Volume discounts by quote
    • AI field detection in embedding $100/month
  • DocuSealFree
    Open Source (On-premises)
    Free
    Self-hosted; unlimited signature requests through your own SMTP
    • Audit log, webhooks and API
    • Self-signed signing certificate
    • Docker image; SQLite, PostgreSQL or MySQL
  • DocuSeal
    Pro (On-premises)
    $240/user/yr
    Annual licence ($20 per user a month billed annually)
    • White-label, SAML SSO, roles and teams
    • Trusted signing certificate
    • Unlimited SMS and bulk send
    • API and embedding at $0.20 per completed document
  • DocuSeal
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    By Talk to Sales; on-premises Enterprise and custom solutions, no price published
    • Custom solutions and integrations
    • 24/7 communication

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: docuseal.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site