Syncfusion’s e-signature app and API, with a 25-envelope free plan, per-user plans from $5 a month billed yearly and per-use prices for QES, ID checks and SMS.
Unlimited sending with SSO, HIPAA and a storage region choice at $15 per user a month billed yearly, with QES, ID checks, SMS and bulk send priced per use.
BoldSign’s Business plan puts features that are often sold by quote on a self-serve price: unlimited envelopes and templates, single sign-on, SCIM provisioning, HIPAA support and IP restrictions, at $15 per user a month billed yearly. Identity checks, SMS delivery, bulk send and qualified (QES) signatures are add-ons with published per-use prices, so the bill can be worked out from the pages. Every plan, the free one included, keeps an audit trail, seals documents with an AATL certificate and stores data in the US, EU, Canada or Australia. A live API starts at $30 a month.
Unlimited envelopes from $15 per userBusiness lists unlimited envelopes and templates at $15 per user a month billed yearly ($25 monthly). Three senders on Growth, at 50 envelopes a month each on the plan card, come to $15 a month in total.Evidence: Pricing page, web app tab (2026-10-15)
Team security on a self-serve planSSO, SCIM provisioning with Microsoft Entra ID, custom roles, IP restrictions and HIPAA are listed on Business, which can be bought online. HIPAA needs an annual plan and a BAA, signed in the app settings according to the plan card or requested through a form according to the HIPAA overview.Evidence: Pricing page plan table and HIPAA overview (2026-10-15)
Add-ons with published pricesQES costs $3 per signature, ID verification $2, KBA $1.50, SMS authentication or delivery $0.20 and bulk send $0.25 per envelope, billed at the end of the cycle on Business and up; SMS prices vary by country.Evidence: Help center: Pay As You Go for BoldSign; QES page (2026-10-15)
A live API from $30 a monthThe Enterprise API includes 40 envelopes, then $0.75 each. The docs cover webhooks, embedded sending and signing, OAuth 2.0 and SDKs for Node, PHP, .NET, Python and Java, with a free sandbox.Evidence: Pricing page API tab, developer docs and SDK page (2026-10-15)
Best for
Small and mid-size teams that want unlimited sending, SSO and HIPAA on a self-serve plan, and developers who want a low-cost live API.
Good to know
No ISO 27001 certificate is named, the storage region cannot be changed after sign-up, and the plan card and plan table state Growth’s allowance differently.
How BoldSign compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Electronic signatures: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
BoldSign compared with DocuSeal, Dropbox Sign, DocuSign eSignature
Worth the priceUnlimited sending with SSO, HIPAA and a storage region choice at $15 per user a month billed yearly, with QES, ID checks, SMS and bulk send priced per use.
Worth the priceA full signing app with unlimited web sending, SSO and an API for a $20 seat, with open-source code you can also run yourself.
Worth the priceUnlimited signature requests at a fixed price per sender, with an audit trail and a digital seal on every signed document.
Compliance includedA signing workflow with the audit trail, tamper seal and company-wide certifications that many legal and security reviews already expect.
Overall score
9.2Best
8.8
6.7
6.6
Free option
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
14-day free trial
Card to start
No card needed
No card needed
–Not measured
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$5/user/mo
$20/user/mo
$15/mo
$10/mo
Pricing model
Seat + usage
Seat + usage
Per seat
Per seat
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per user per month (Growth, Business); flat for unlimited users (Premium); per envelope (API and add-ons)
Per web-app user (sender seat), plus per-use fees for API, SMS, bulk send and ID checks
Per sender (user) per month; signers pay nothing
Per user per month, with an envelope allowance per seat
Envelope allowance
Essential 25 a month; Growth 50 a month per user (plan table: 50 for the account); Business unlimited; Premium 250 a month, then $0.50 each
Basic 10 request emails a month; Pro unlimited signature requests from the web app
Unlimited signature requests on paid web plans; Free 3 a month; API plans have a monthly quota
Personal 5 a month; Standard and Business Pro 100 per user per year, shared; IAM Standard unlimited from the web app
Free option
Free plan: 25 envelopes a month (5 with a personal email domain); 30-day trial, no card
Free Basic plan, 10 request emails a month, no card; free self-hosted open-source edition
Free plan with 3 signature requests a month; 30-day trial of paid plans
Free signing of documents you receive; trial of about 14 days, no card
Reference scenario (3 senders, 90 envelopes/mo)
$15 on Growth (3 × $5) if the 50 envelopes are per user; $45 on Business otherwise, computed
$50 on Pro annual (3 × $200 a year), computed
$75 on Standard (3 × $25 billed yearly), computed
$135 on IAM Standard (3 × $45); $270 on Standard with extra envelopes, computed
API entry price
$30/mo with 40 envelopes, then $0.75 each; free sandbox
$20/mo for one Pro seat, plus $0.20 per completed document; free sandbox, no card
$75/mo billed yearly ($900) for 50 requests a month; free test mode
$50/mo billed annually for 40 envelopes a month; free developer account
EU signature levels (eIDAS)
eIDAS on every plan; QES add-on at $3 per signature on Business and up
SES included; AES $2 and QES from $0.20 per signature on the EU cloud (docuseal.eu)
eIDAS stated for simple signatures; AES and QES through the eID add-on on API Premium (sales)
SES on self-serve plans; AES and QES on Enhanced (sales)
Signer ID checks
SMS authentication $0.20, ID verification $2, KBA $1.50 per use, Business and up
SMS and phone 2FA (20 a month, then $0.20 each); ID check $2 and KBA $2, both enabled by support
SMS authentication on Standard and up; eID on API Premium (add-on, sales)
ID verification from $2.40 per attempt; SMS/phone authentication and KBA by sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Own SOC 2 Type II (Syncfusion, report on request); ISO 27001 not stated
Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 stated; documents on request in the Trust Center
Own SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 naming Dropbox Sign
Own SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001:2022
HIPAA BAA
Business and up on an annual plan; BAA signed in the app settings (plan card) or requested by form (HIPAA overview)
Pro Annual, by emailing support
Annual Standard or Premium, with a BAA and a minimum contract value, through sales
Enhanced plans, by sales
SSO
Business ($15/user/mo billed yearly) and up
SAML SSO on Pro ($20/user/mo)
SAML SSO on Premium (quote); no SCIM
IAM Professional (3-user minimum); otherwise by sales
Storage regions
US, EU, Canada, Australia on every plan; fixed at sign-up
US (AWS Virginia) or EU (AWS Dublin), by signing up on docuseal.com or docuseal.eu
US, Australia, EU, Japan, Canada, UK on Premium; US by default
US, Canada, Europe, Australia, Japan; choice through a Docusign representative
Bottom line
From its public pages, BoldSign has the lowest price of the five for our 3-sender scenario and puts SSO, HIPAA, four storage regions and per-use QES on a self-serve plan. Check how Growth counts envelopes; no ISO 27001 certificate is named.
From its public pages, DocuSeal pairs a low per-seat price for unlimited web sending with an API billed per completed document, its own SOC 2 and ISO 27001, and an open-source edition. Usage fees and support-enabled add-ons need planning.
From its public pages, Dropbox Sign is a per-sender service with unlimited signature requests, evidence on every document and compliance reports in its own name. SSO, data residency, HIPAA and QES go through sales, and the API is priced by monthly quota.
From its public pages, DocuSign eSignature has the longest certification list of the five and evidence features on every plan. It is priced per seat with an envelope allowance, so steady volume costs more than with the flat-rate rivals, and SSO and HIPAA sit on higher or sales-led plans.
Evidence: BoldSign: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; DocuSeal: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Dropbox Sign: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; DocuSign eSignature: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
prices published; can be bought online; extra envelopes priced; Growth allowance: 50 envelopes a month per user on the plan card, 50 for the account in the plan table; extra Enterprise API user: $28 in the plan table, $15 in the pricing calculator
Free plan
10.0 / 10, Excellent
free plan: 25 documents a month for signature, 30-day trial of paid plans
Price for 3 senders
9.1 / 10, Excellent
$15/mo: Growth, 3 users × $5 (yearly), 50 envelopes a month per user covers 90; assumes Growth's 50 envelopes a month are per user, as on the plan card and in the calculator (if 50 per account, Business at $45/mo)
own SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA BAA on a self-serve plan, SSO on a self-serve plan, storage region choice
API and templates
10.0 / 10, Excellent
API, live API from $30/mo, free sandbox, webhooks, SDKs, shared templates, bulk send
Review
Review from public pages
Written from BoldSign's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read BoldSign's pricing page (web app and API tabs, the plan table and FAQ), the pricing calculator and the script it loads, the help-center articles on pay-as-you-go prices, plan limits and API billing, the QES, security, SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR, data residency and subprocessor pages, the Terms of Use and support SLA, and the developer docs (getting started, sandbox, rate limits, versioning, webhooks, SDKs, changelog) on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up, request a quote or call the API for this review. Every price on the pages is in US dollars.
The pages make the plans clear. The pricing page has a Yearly and a Monthly tab: $5, $15 and $99 (Growth, Business, Premium) on the yearly tab and $15, $25 and $138 on the monthly one, which the page markup and the calculator's own figures confirm. Business has unlimited envelopes, a help article prices each pay-as-you-go add-on per use (the Xero and Salesforce integration add-ons are monthly fees on the pricing page), and the docs publish the API rate limits (2,000 requests per hour per account live, 50 in the sandbox).
A few things need a question. Growth's 50 envelopes a month are per user on the plan card and in the calculator, but the plan table's note defines its 50 as the total for the account, and a help article lists 50 a month without saying per user. An extra Enterprise API user costs $28 in the plan table and $15 in the calculator. The plan card says HIPAA is turned on by signing the BAA in the app settings, while the plan table and the HIPAA overview say to request the BAA through a form. And the free plan's 25 envelopes become 5 for sign-ups with a personal email address such as Gmail.
Strengths
The lowest price for 3 senders here
Three Growth seats cost $15 a month billed yearly, assuming the 50-envelope allowance is per user, as on the plan card. Business, with unlimited envelopes, would be $45.
vs Dropbox Sign: SignWell Business is $30 a month for 3 senders, DocuSeal Pro $50 and Dropbox Sign Standard $75, all billed yearly.
SSO and HIPAA on a self-serve plan
Business ($15 per user a month billed yearly) lists SSO, SCIM provisioning, custom roles, IP restrictions and HIPAA, and can be bought online.
vs Dropbox Sign: Dropbox Sign offers SSO on Premium, priced by quote; DocuSign sells the HIPAA BAA through sales.
Published prices for QES and ID checks
Qualified signatures through the trust service provider Evrotrust cost $3 each, ID verification $2 and KBA $1.50 per use, on Business and up.
vs Dropbox Sign: DocuSign and Dropbox Sign offer QES through sales; SignWell states eIDAS at the simple-signature level only.
A free plan that sends 25 envelopes
Essential sends 25 envelopes a month with an audit trail, tamper-proof documents and a choice of storage region, for sign-ups with a business email address.
vs Dropbox Sign: DocuSeal’s free plan sends 10 signature request emails a month; Dropbox Sign’s and SignWell’s send 3.
Four storage regions on every plan
The data residency page lists the US, the EU (Netherlands), Canada and Australia, and the plan table lists the choice on every plan, the free one included.
vs Dropbox Sign: Dropbox Sign lists six regions on Premium (quote); SignWell offers no choice of storage region.
Things to know
Growth’s allowance is stated two ways
The plan card and the calculator give 50 envelopes a month per user; the plan table gives 50 for the whole account, and a help article lists 50 a month without saying per user. Growth has no pay-as-you-go option for more.
Workaround: Ask support before buying, or choose Business, which has unlimited envelopes ($45 a month for 3 users billed yearly).
No ISO 27001 named
The security, SOC 2 and HIPAA pages and Syncfusion’s Security Management Report name SOC 2 Type 2 but no ISO 27001 certificate. The SOC 2 report is available on request.
Workaround: Request the SOC 2 Type 2 report through the form on the SOC 2 overview page.
Storage region is fixed at sign-up
The data residency page says the region cannot be changed later; switching means a new account. Billing and ID-verification data stay in the US whatever the region.
Workaround: Choose the region when you create the account, before sending the first document.
Live API is a separate plan
The web-app plans include only the sandbox. Live sending needs the Enterprise API plan ($30 a month for 40 envelopes, then $0.75 each) with two application users; an extra one is $28 or $15 depending on the page.
Workaround: Build and test in the free sandbox first; its documents are watermarked and deleted after 14 days.
Pricing reality
Billing is per user on Growth and Business, a flat price for unlimited users on Premium, and per envelope on the API and add-ons. Billed yearly, Growth is $5 per user a month (50 envelopes per user on the plan card), Business $15 (unlimited) and Premium $99 for 250 envelopes, then $0.50 each; monthly billing is $15, $25 and $138. The free plan gives 25 envelopes a month, or 5 for sign-ups with a personal email domain. For 3 senders at 30 envelopes a month, Growth comes to $15 a month and Business to $45 (our arithmetic). Premium costs less than Business from 7 users if the account stays within 250 envelopes. Add-ons start at Business and are billed per use. The Terms say fees are non-refundable and exclude taxes, and plans renew automatically.
Exit path
Signed documents and audit trails can be downloaded from the app, with an option to merge the audit trail into the PDF, and Business and up back up documents to Google Drive, OneDrive or Dropbox automatically. Templates export to JSON, and the API has download endpoints. The Terms say access ends at termination, so download first; accounts inactive for more than six months may be scheduled for deletion.
You need SSO, qualified (QES) signatures, ID checks or a choice of storage region.
Pick SignWell when
You are one sender who wants unlimited documents for $10 a month billed yearly, or API documents billed per use with no monthly minimum.
Choose it if
You want unlimited sending with SSO and HIPAA on a plan you can buy online.
You need qualified (QES) signatures or ID checks at a published per-use price.
You want your documents stored in the US, EU, Canada or Australia on any plan.
You want a free plan with 25 envelopes a month and sign up with a business email address.
Look elsewhere if
Your security review requires an ISO 27001 certificate in the vendor’s own name.
You may need to move your data to another storage region later.
You want to self-host the signing app.
Bottom line
From its public pages, BoldSign has the lowest price of the five for our 3-sender scenario and puts SSO, HIPAA, four storage regions and per-use QES on a self-serve plan. Check how Growth counts envelopes; no ISO 27001 certificate is named.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per user per month (Growth, Business); flat for unlimited users (Premium); per envelope (API and add-ons)
Envelope allowance
Essential 25 a month; Growth 50 a month per user (plan table: 50 for the account); Business unlimited; Premium 250 a month, then $0.50 each
Free option
Free plan: 25 envelopes a month (5 with a personal email domain); 30-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (3 senders, 90 envelopes/mo)
$15 on Growth (3 × $5) if the 50 envelopes are per user; $45 on Business otherwise, computed
API entry price
$30/mo with 40 envelopes, then $0.75 each; free sandbox
EU signature levels (eIDAS)
eIDAS on every plan; QES add-on at $3 per signature on Business and up
Signer ID checks
SMS authentication $0.20, ID verification $2, KBA $1.50 per use, Business and up
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Own SOC 2 Type II (Syncfusion, report on request); ISO 27001 not stated
HIPAA BAA
Business and up on an annual plan; BAA signed in the app settings (plan card) or requested by form (HIPAA overview)
SSO
Business ($15/user/mo billed yearly) and up
Storage regions
US, EU, Canada, Australia on every plan; fixed at sign-up
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for BoldSign yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We read the pricing, API pricing, security, legal and docs pages of three e-signature services on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. How each one bills, what 3 senders cost, and who should pick which.