Cloudflare Workers review

by CloudflareFrontend and app hosting

Serverless apps and sites on Cloudflare’s network for $5 a month per account, with free static asset requests and no data transfer charges.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Compliance included

A full-stack app platform for $5 a month per account, with no data transfer charges, free static asset requests and dashboard SSO on every plan.

Workers bills only the requests that run your code and the CPU time they use: the $5 Workers Paid plan includes 10 million requests and 30 million CPU milliseconds a month, static asset requests are free and unlimited, and the pricing docs say there are no charges for data transfer. The pricing pages list no per-member charge, dashboard SSO is free on all plans, and audit logs are on every plan.

  • No data transfer chargeThe pricing docs say the paid plan has no additional charges for data transfer (egress) or bandwidth, and requests to static assets are free and unlimited.Evidence: Workers pricing docs (2026-10-15)
  • CPU time, not durationDuration is not charged; 30 million CPU milliseconds are included each month, then $0.02 per million.Evidence: Workers pricing docs (2026-10-15)
  • SSO and audit logs on every planDashboard SSO with your identity provider is free on all plans for a custom email domain, and audit logs are on all plan types, kept 18 months.Evidence: Dashboard SSO and audit log docs (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams whose apps serve a lot of traffic or data, and teams that want SSO and audit logs without an enterprise plan.
Good to know
Budget alerts notify you but do not pause usage, and a HIPAA BAA is not mentioned on Cloudflare’s current trust pages.

How Cloudflare Workers compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Frontend and app hosting: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Cloudflare Workers compared with Render, Netlify, Vercel
MetricCloudflare WorkersRenderNetlifyVercel
What you're paying forWorth the priceA full-stack app platform for $5 a month per account, with no data transfer charges, free static asset requests and dashboard SSO on every plan.Saves engineering timeManaged web services, Postgres and Key Value behind one workspace plan, with unlimited seats and audit logs from the $25 Pro plan.Saves engineering timeDeploys, previews, functions, forms and a database in one credit balance, with unlimited team members on Pro for $20 a month.Saves engineering timeZero-configuration hosting for Next.js from the team that maintains it, with SOC 2, ISO 27001 and a HIPAA BAA on the self-serve Pro plan.
Overall score8.6Best7.77.36.3
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$5/mo$25/mo$9/mo$20/mo
Pricing modelUsage-basedSeat + usageTieredSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsRequests that run code and CPU timeWorkspace plan and instances, then bandwidth and build minutesCredits (bandwidth, requests, compute, deploys)Developer seats, then metered usage after a $20 credit
Free plan100,000 requests/day; commercial use not addressedHobby: 1 member, 750 free instance hours; not for production300 credits/mo, commercial use allowedHobby: personal, non-commercial use only
3 developers, 10M requests, 1 TB/mo$5.12 on Workers Paid, computed$178.25 on Pro, computed$155 on Pro, computed$80 on Pro, computed
Data transferNot charged25 GB on Pro, then $0.15/GB; 1 TB on Scale20 credits per GB (about $0.13 at the Pro pack rate)1 TB in the included Flat Rate CDN tier; $20/mo tier to 50 TB
Seats for people who deployNo per-member charge listedUnlimited on Pro, no seat chargeUnlimited members on Pro$20/mo each after the first
SAML SSODashboard SSO free on all plansScale ($499/mo)Enterprise$300/mo add-on on Pro
Spend capBudget alerts only; they do not pause usageSpend limit for build minutes only; usage emailsStops at your credits unless auto recharge is onCan pause production deployments at a budget
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001BothBoth (documents on Pro, under NDA)BothBoth
HIPAA BAANot statedScale, with 20% added to usageEnterprise add-on$350/mo add-on on Pro
Runtime logs, entry paid plan7 days (Logpush to export)14 days (log streams to export)7 days1 day (30 with Observability Plus)
Audit logsAll plans, kept 18 monthsPro (workspace), at least 90 daysPro, 7-day historyEnterprise
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Cloudflare Workers costs the least here by a wide margin for traffic-heavy apps, with SSO and audit logs on every plan. Plan for budget alerts that notify rather than stop, and an adapter for Next.js.From its public pages, Render suits teams that want services and databases managed together, with no seat charges and audit logs on Pro. Bandwidth is the cost to watch: 1 TB a month adds $146.25 on Pro.From its public pages, Netlify suits teams with modest traffic: unlimited members on Pro, a free plan you may use commercially and spending that stops by default. Bandwidth is billed in credits, so data-heavy apps cost more here than on the other two.From its public pages, Vercel is the compliance and Next.js choice here: SOC 2, ISO 27001 and a BAA on Pro, and zero-configuration Next.js. It scores lower on this rubric because every developer is a seat, Hobby is non-commercial and Pro keeps runtime logs for 1 day.

Evidence: Cloudflare Workers: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Render: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Netlify: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Vercel: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity and spend control
7.5 / 10, Good
3 meters to estimate (Worker requests, CPU time, build minutes); spend alerts only, no stop at a set amount
Free tier
8.5 / 10, Excellent
100,000 requests a day; static asset requests unlimited, commercial use not addressed, stops at its limits, never billed, more than one member
Price for 3 developers, 10M requests and 1 TB
10.0 / 10, Excellent
$5.12/mo: $5 Workers Paid; 2M Worker requests inside the 10M included, 8M static asset requests free; 36M CPU ms is 6M over the 30M included, at $0.02 per million (computed); assumes builds stay within the 6,000 included build minutes
Compliance documents
8.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, reports available to self-serve customers, no HIPAA BAA stated
Team seats and SSO
10.0 / 10, Excellent
no per-seat charge; SSO included on self-serve plans; free read-only access
Logs and audit trail
7.6 / 10, Good
runtime logs 7 days on the entry paid plan, self-serve export or longer retention, audit logs on the entry paid plan

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Cloudflare Workers's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Cloudflare's Workers pricing and limits docs, the Workers Builds limits page, the billing, SSO, audit log and compliance docs, and the Trust Hub on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page now covers Workers and Pages together, and the docs say Pages Functions are billed as Workers.

The pricing docs work through examples rather than a calculator: one Worker serving 15 million requests comes to $8 a month, and a project where 80% of 15 million requests are static assets comes to $5. Requests to static assets are free and unlimited, duration is not charged, and there is no charge for data transfer. Workers Builds includes 6,000 build minutes a month on paid plans.

Two things stood out. Budget alerts email you when usage-based spend crosses a threshold but, per the docs, do not pause or cap usage; the docs suggest a per-invocation CPU limit to prevent runaway bills. And for Next.js, Cloudflare now recommends vinext, a Vite plugin in beta that reimplements the Next.js API surface, with OpenNext as another path.

Strengths

  • Lowest price at our scenario

    $5.12 a month by our arithmetic: the $5 plan plus 6 million CPU milliseconds over the allowance.

    vs Netlify: Vercel comes to $80 and Netlify to $155 for the same scenario.

  • No data transfer charges

    Data transfer and bandwidth are not billed, and static asset requests are free and unlimited.

    vs Netlify: Netlify bills 20 credits per GB; Vercel covers delivery with Flat Rate CDN tiers.

  • SSO on every plan

    Dashboard SSO is free on all plans for a custom email domain, and the pricing pages list no charge per member.

    vs Netlify: Vercel’s SAML SSO is a $300-a-month add-on; Netlify lists SSO on Enterprise.

  • Audit logs kept 18 months

    Audit logs are on all plan types and kept 18 months; Workers Logs are kept 7 days on the paid plan, and Logpush exports them.

  • A daily free allowance

    The free plan allows 100,000 requests a day, unlimited static asset requests and 3,000 build minutes a month.

Things to know

  • No hard spend cap

    Budget alerts are informational: they do not pause or cap usage.

    Workaround: The docs suggest a per-invocation CPU limit to prevent runaway bills.

  • Next.js through an adapter

    Next.js apps run through vinext, a Vite plugin in beta that reimplements the Next.js API surface, or through OpenNext.

  • No HIPAA BAA on current pages

    The Trust Hub lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and PCI DSS but does not mention HIPAA or a BAA.

  • Free-plan terms not stated

    The Workers pages do not say whether the free plan may be used commercially; free-plan requests above 100,000 a day return an error.

Pricing reality

Workers Paid is a minimum of $5 a month per account and includes 10 million requests and 30 million CPU milliseconds; beyond that, $0.30 per million requests and $0.02 per million CPU milliseconds. Static asset requests, duration and data transfer are not charged. Builds include 6,000 minutes, then $0.005 a minute. KV, D1, Durable Objects, Queues and R2 have their own allowances.

Our scenario comes to $5.12 a month by our arithmetic: the 2 million requests that run code are inside the allowance, the other 8 million are static assets, and 10 CPU-hours (36 million CPU milliseconds) is 6 million over, at $0.12. No seat charges are listed.

Exit path

Cloudflare describes workerd, the runtime behind Workers, as open source and uses it for local testing. Bindings to KV, D1, R2 and Durable Objects are Cloudflare APIs, so moving an app that uses them means replacing those services.

Compared with

  • Pick Cloudflare Workers when
    Traffic or data volume drives your bill, or you want SSO without an add-on.
    Pick Vercel when
    You build with Next.js and want it without an adapter, a hard spending stop and a self-serve HIPAA BAA.
  • Pick Cloudflare Workers when
    Your app moves a lot of data or requests: no data transfer charge and $5 a month per account.
    Pick Netlify when
    You want spending to stop at a fixed amount by default, or built-in form handling.

Choose it if

  • Your app serves a lot of traffic or data each month.
  • You want SSO and audit logs without an enterprise plan.
  • You are comfortable building on Cloudflare storage such as KV, D1 and R2.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need a hard cap that stops spending.
  • You need a HIPAA BAA.
  • You want Next.js without an adapter.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Cloudflare Workers costs the least here by a wide margin for traffic-heavy apps, with SSO and audit logs on every plan. Plan for budget alerts that notify rather than stop, and an adapter for Next.js.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitsRequests that run code and CPU time
Free plan100,000 requests/day; commercial use not addressed
3 developers, 10M requests, 1 TB/mo$5.12 on Workers Paid, computed
Data transferNot charged
Seats for people who deployNo per-member charge listed
SAML SSODashboard SSO free on all plans
Spend capBudget alerts only; they do not pause usage
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001Both
HIPAA BAANot stated
Runtime logs, entry paid plan7 days (Logpush to export)
Audit logsAll plans, kept 18 months

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Cloudflare Workers lists 3 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Workers Paid, costs $5/mo.

  • Cloudflare WorkersFree
    Workers Free
    $0/mo
    100,000 requests a day; static asset requests free and unlimited
    • 10 ms of CPU time per invocation
    • 3,000 build minutes a month
    • Requests above the daily limit return an error
  • Cloudflare WorkersLowest price
    Workers Paid
    $5/mo
    Minimum per account; 10M requests and 30M CPU ms a month included
    • $0.30 per additional million requests
    • $0.02 per additional million CPU milliseconds
    • No charge for duration or data transfer
    • 6,000 build minutes, then $0.005 a minute
    • Workers Logs kept 7 days; Logpush export
  • Cloudflare Workers
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • Usage model set by contract

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: developers.cloudflare.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site