Git hosting with built-in CI and Jira integration on every plan, from $3.65 per user a month.
Bitbucket is the code host in Atlassian’s cloud: every plan, including Free, lists the Jira integration that links branches, pull requests and deployments to Jira issues. Standard costs $3.65 per user a month with 2,500 Pipelines build minutes, the lowest per-user price here. Premium, at $8, adds enforced merge checks, deployment permissions and IP allowlisting. SAML SSO and the organization audit log come with an Atlassian Guard subscription, which also covers the organization’s other Atlassian cloud apps.
Jira integration on every planCreate branches and see development and deployment status inside Jira issues, and move issues automatically when pull requests change.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
Lowest price per userStandard is $3.65 per user a month with 2,500 build minutes; 10 developers using 3,000 minutes come to $46.50 with one 1,000-minute block.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
Repository controls on PremiumPremium adds enforced merge checks, deployment permissions per environment, IP allowlisting, required two-step verification and enforced signed commits.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that plan in Jira and want code, CI and issue tracking linked at a low per-user price.
Good to know
SAML SSO and the organization audit log need Atlassian Guard, and Atlassian does not list Bitbucket for data residency.
How Bitbucket compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Code hosting and CI: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Bitbucket compared with GitHub, Azure DevOps, GitLab
Built-in reachGit hosting with built-in CI and Jira integration on every plan, from $3.65 per user a month.
Worth the pricePrivate repositories, pull request reviews and 3,000 CI minutes for $4 per user, with a free plan that has no user cap.
Worth the priceGit hosting, CI and boards free for 5 users, with an audit log, EU data location and Entra ID sign-in on every plan.
Saves engineering timeCode hosting, CI with 10,000 minutes, SAML SSO, audit events and approval rules in one $29 Premium seat, also available self-managed.
Secret Protection $19 and Code Security $30 per active committer/mo
Code Security $30 and Secret Protection $19 per committer/mo
Basic SAST and secret detection in all tiers; full scanning in Ultimate (custom price)
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001
Both (Bitbucket Cloud in scope)
Both (SOC 2 Type 2 report listed on Enterprise)
Both
Both
EU data residency
Bitbucket not listed for data residency
Enterprise (GHE.com: EU, Australia, US, Japan)
Europe chosen when creating the organization
GitLab Dedicated (region of your choice), by demo
SAML SSO
Atlassian Guard add-on ($3/user/mo at 10 users)
Enterprise (from $21/user/mo)
Microsoft Entra ID sign-in, all plans
Premium
Self-managed version
Data Center: not sold to new customers
GitHub Enterprise Server, covered by Enterprise
Azure DevOps Server, at listed prices
Free, Premium ($29) and Ultimate
Bottom line
From its public pages, Bitbucket has the lowest per-user price here and Jira integration on every plan. SSO and audit logs come through Atlassian Guard, and there is no data residency or new self-managed option.
From its public pages, GitHub lists the lowest price here for 10 developers and covers the scenario on its $4 Team plan. SAML SSO starts on Enterprise, and scanning is an add-on.
From its public pages, Azure DevOps puts an audit log, EU data location and Entra ID sign-in on every plan and covers our team for $70. CI is bought as parallel jobs, and the free minutes need a linked Azure subscription.
From its public pages, GitLab includes the most CI minutes and team controls in its entry paid plan, at the highest listed price here for 10 developers. Full scanning sits in Ultimate, priced by sales.
Evidence: Bitbucket: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitHub: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Azure DevOps: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitLab: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
every hosted tier priced on the page; not stated whether extra minutes are billed per minute or per block of 1,000; no annual prices on the pricing page; pricing page puts audit logs behind Atlassian Guard, a support article describes a workspace audit log without it
Free tier
4.6 / 10, Fair
5 users, 50 CI minutes a month, card needed or not stated for hosted minutes
Price for 10 developers and 3,000 CI minutes
8.5 / 10, Excellent
$46.50/mo: Standard at 10 × $3.65 = $36.50, plus $10 for 1,000 more build minutes above the 2,500 included (pricing page); assumes the 500 extra minutes are billed as a block of 1,000; billed per minute at the same rate, it would be $41.50
CI minutes and runners
7.2 / 10, Good
2,500 minutes on the entry paid plan, self-hosted runners free, $10 per 1,000 extra minutes
Compliance and data residency
6.0 / 10, Good
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, no EU data residency for this product
Team and control
4.0 / 10, Fair
SAML SSO on a paid add-on; audit log on a paid add-on; enforced reviews on a higher plan; no self-managed option for new customers
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Bitbucket's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read the Bitbucket pricing page, Atlassian's Bitbucket licensing FAQ, the Atlassian Guard pricing page, Atlassian's SOC 2, ISO 27001 and data residency pages, the Data Center end-of-life and Hybrid License pages, and the runner docs on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. Bitbucket has three plans: Free (up to 5 users), Standard ($3.65 per user a month) and Premium ($8), with 50, 2,500 and 3,500 build minutes. The price stayed the same when we set the team-size selector to 10.
The licensing FAQ explains billing changes under way: from Oct 26, 2026, allowances on monthly plans are pooled across the Atlassian organization, and from Dec 3, 2026, annual plans are billed for usage beyond their allowances, which they currently are not. Builds on self-hosted runners use no build minutes; standard self-hosted runners are free up to 100, and premium runners cost $15 per concurrent build slot.
SAML SSO and the organization audit log are listed as requiring Atlassian Guard, which showed $3 per user a month at 10 users. A support article also describes a workspace audit log, kept 30 days, that needs no Guard subscription; it does not name a plan. Atlassian's data residency docs list Jira, Confluence, Jira Service Management, Jira Product Discovery and Loom, not Bitbucket.
Strengths
Lowest price per user
Standard is $3.65 per user a month, unchanged at 10 users on the team-size selector.
vs GitHub: GitHub Team is $4 per user; GitLab Premium is $29 billed annually.
Jira integration on every plan
Branches, pull requests and deployments show in Jira issues, and pull request events can move issues automatically.
SSO without an enterprise plan
Atlassian Guard Standard adds SAML SSO, SCIM and the organization audit log for $3 per user a month at 10 users.
vs GitHub: GitHub lists SAML SSO on Enterprise, from $21 per user.
Free self-hosted runners
Builds on your own runners use no build minutes, and standard self-hosted runners are free up to 100.
Things to know
No self-managed option for new customers
Atlassian’s pages say new customers can no longer buy Data Center subscriptions, and the Bitbucket Hybrid License (early 2027) is only for existing Data Center customers.
Not listed for data residency
Atlassian’s data residency docs list Jira, Confluence, Jira Service Management, Jira Product Discovery and Loom, not Bitbucket.
Enforced merge checks need Premium
Standard lets you recommend merge conditions; blocking a merge until checks pass needs Premium at $8 per user.
Billing changes for annual plans
From Dec 3, 2026, annual plans are billed for build minutes, Git LFS and Packages beyond their allowances, which they currently are not.
Workaround: Admins can cap or disable extra usage in Atlassian Administration.
Pricing reality
Bitbucket bills per user a month: Standard $3.65, Premium $8. Build minutes beyond the plan (2,500 or 3,500) cost $10 per 1,000; LFS is $10 per 100 GB. SAML SSO needs Atlassian Guard: Standard showed $3 per user a month at 10 users.
For 10 developers and 3,000 minutes, Standard is 10 × $3.65 = $36.50 plus $10 for the 500 minutes over the allowance: $46.50, if minutes come in blocks of 1,000 as the pricing page describes ($41.50 per minute, our arithmetic). Premium covers 3,500 minutes for $80. With Guard, Standard comes to $76.50.
Exit path
GitLab’s pricing FAQ says GitLab imports projects from Bitbucket. For Data Center customers moving the other way, Atlassian offers a Bitbucket Cloud Migration Assistant and a Pipelines importer for Bamboo.
You want the lowest per-user price and Jira integration on every plan.
Pick GitLab when
You need SSO and audit events without an add-on, or a self-managed option you can buy today.
Choose it if
Your team plans its work in Jira.
You want the lowest price per user for hosted Git and CI.
You want SAML SSO without moving to an enterprise plan.
Look elsewhere if
You need EU data residency for your code.
You want to run your code host on your own servers.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Bitbucket has the lowest per-user price here and Jira integration on every plan. SSO and audit logs come through Atlassian Guard, and there is no data residency or new self-managed option.
We read the pricing, security and docs pages of three code hosting and CI services on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. How each one bills, what 10 developers and 3,000 CI minutes cost, and who should pick which.