by Squarespace, Inc.Scheduling and booking software
Client booking for service businesses, with payments, intake forms, packages and a HIPAA BAA on Premium, priced per account from $16 a month billed annually.
Client self-booking with payments, intake forms, packages and memberships for a service business, priced per account rather than per staff member.
Clients pick a service, a time and, if you allow it, a staff member, then pay or leave a deposit through Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo and fill in your intake form. Standard, at $27 a month billed annually, covers up to 6 staff or location calendars with text reminders, a waitlist, packages, memberships and gift certificates, so a small studio or practice does not pay per seat. On Premium a health practice can sign a HIPAA BAA with Squarespace from the account settings, without a sales call.
One price for up to 6 calendarsStandard covers up to 6 calendars for $27 a month billed annually; staff log in as contributors, which are unlimited when Acuity is used on its own.Evidence: Pricing page and help: Starting an Acuity Scheduling trial (2026-10-16)
Payments, packages and gift certificatesEvery plan takes payments and deposits through Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo; Standard adds packages (including payment plans), memberships and gift certificates.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-16)
HIPAA BAA signed in the appOn Premium you open Scheduling Page settings and sign the BAA; HIPAA-enabled accounts get extra protections, such as form answers left out of notification emails and a logout after four hours of inactivity.Evidence: Help: Acuity Scheduling and HIPAA (2026-10-16)
Bookings spread across staffWith two or more calendars, clients can choose "Any available", and the appointment goes to the calendar with the fewest appointments that day or by a priority order you set.Evidence: Help: Pooling calendar availability (2026-10-16)
Best for
Salons, studios, tutors, coaches and health practices whose clients book and pay for services, with up to 6 staff or locations on Standard.
Good to know
There is no free plan, the API and logo removal start on Premium ($55 a month billed annually), and the pages we read name no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report.
How Acuity Scheduling compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Scheduling and booking software: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Acuity Scheduling compared with Cal.com, Zoho Bookings, Calendly
Saves engineering timeClient self-booking with payments, intake forms, packages and memberships for a service business, priced per account rather than per staff member.
Worth the priceA free plan that already takes paid bookings, team routing and round robin from $12 per user, and SOC 2, ISO 27001 and a HIPAA BAA with a published price.
Worth the priceRound robin and collective team booking from $6 per user, backed by Zoho’s SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 audits and connected to Zoho CRM and other Zoho apps.
Saves engineering timeBooking links with round robin, routing forms and CRM routing for sales and recruiting teams, backed by Calendly’s own SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001.
Overall score
5.0
8.3Best
7.0
6.9
Free option
7-day free trial
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Card to start
No card needed
–Not measured
No card needed
–Not measured
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$16/mo
$12/user/mo
$6/user/mo
$10/seat/mo
Pricing model
Tiered
Per seat
Per seat
Per seat
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per account, by number of calendars (staff or locations)
Per user per month; text and WhatsApp messages use credits
Per user per month; extra workspaces and resources as add-ons
Per seat per month; invitees need no seat
Free option
No free plan; 7-day trial, no card (14 days when added to a Squarespace site)
Free plan for 1 user (unlimited event types and calendars, payments); 14-day trial of Teams and Organizations
Free plan for 1 user (1 event type, 1 calendar); 15-day Premium trial, no card
Free plan (1 event type, 1 calendar); 14-day Teams Plus trial for new users
Reference scenario (3 hosts, annual)
$27/mo on Standard (up to 6 calendars), computed
$36/mo on Teams ($12 × 3), computed
$18/mo on Basic ($6 × 3), computed
$48/mo on Teams ($16 × 3), computed
Month-to-month price
$34 on Standard ($20 / $34 / $69 for the three plans)
$16 per user on Teams ($37 Organizations)
$8 per user on Basic ($12 Premium)
$20 per seat on Teams ($12 Standard)
Round robin from
Standard ($27 a month billed annually), with two or more calendars
Teams ($12 per user, billed yearly)
Basic ($6 per user, billed yearly)
Teams ($16 per seat, billed yearly)
Payments and SMS reminders
Stripe, Square, PayPal and Venmo on every plan; text reminders from Standard
Stripe and PayPal on every plan; SMS by credits, 750 per member a month on Teams
Payments and SMS through your own provider on Premium ($9)
Stripe and PayPal, and text reminders, from Standard
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Not stated on the pages we read
SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001 certificate (security page)
SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001 for Zoho cloud services
SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001 (security page)
HIPAA BAA
Premium ($55), signed in the app
$300/mo below 15 Organizations users; included from 15 users and on Enterprise
BAA template on request from Zoho legal; HIPAA data masking on Premium
Not offered; the help center says Calendly is not designed for HIPAA
EU data hosting
Not offered; Squarespace stores data in US data centers
Cal.eu for Enterprise, at least 50 users, by waitlist
EU data centers (Amsterdam, Dublin), chosen by sign-up country
Not offered; the DPA says processing occurs in the US
SSO
Not listed
SAML and SCIM on Organizations ($28 per user, billed yearly)
SAML SSO stated in a buyer’s guide; plan not named
SAML as a Teams add-on (price not published) or on Enterprise
API and export
Webhooks and CSV export on every plan; API on Premium
Webhooks on every plan; API v2; Insights CSV download from Teams
API on every plan; appointments export as CSV or XLSX on every plan
API on every plan; webhooks and meeting CSV export from Standard
Bottom line
From its public pages, Acuity Scheduling is built for service businesses: client booking with payments, intake forms and packages at one account price, and a HIPAA BAA on Premium. It lists no routing forms, collective meetings, SSO or audit reports.
From its public pages, Cal.com gives the most for the money here: a usable free plan, team routing from $12 per user and audits in its own name. SSO and audit logs start on Organizations, text messages run on credits, and a few pages place HIPAA and EU hosting differently.
From its public pages, Zoho Bookings is the lowest-cost way here to give a 3-host team round robin and collective booking, with Zoho’s audits and EU hosting behind it. Payments, text messages, routing forms and the audit log sit on Premium, and the plan for SSO is not stated.
From its public pages, Calendly is a full-featured scheduler for sales and recruiting teams, with routing, round robin and CRM integrations on Teams and audits in its own name. It costs more per host than the other per-user tools here and offers no HIPAA BAA or EU hosting.
Evidence: Acuity Scheduling: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Cal.com: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Zoho Bookings: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Calendly: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; Enterprise priced by sales (contact form)
Free plan and trial
2.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan that takes bookings; 7-day trial, no card needed
Price for 3 hosts
8.0 / 10, Excellent
$27/mo: Standard at $27 for the account, annual terms; one price for up to 6 calendars; pooled "Any available" booking with round-robin assignment needs two or more calendars, and Starter has one
Booking features
5.2 / 10, Fair
collective events not listed; routing forms not listed; payments on the scenario plan; SMS reminders on the scenario plan; branding removal on a higher self-serve plan
Compliance and data residency
2.5 / 10, Fair
no SOC 2 stated, DPA in the terms, HIPAA BAA on a higher self-serve plan, EU data storage not listed
Admin, API and data export
3.4 / 10, Fair
SAML SSO not listed; audit log not listed; managed event types not listed; REST API on a higher self-serve plan; webhooks; booking export
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Acuity Scheduling's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Acuity's pricing page and FAQ, Squarespace's DPA, security measures page, brand guidelines, GDPR guide and data storage article, and help center articles on plans and payment methods, the trial, billing changes, cancellation, access levels, staff setup, calendar pooling, HIPAA, the Enterprise plan, webhooks and the API, and exporting appointments on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or call the API for this review. The help center answered direct page loads with a bot check, so we read the same articles through its public Help Center API.
The pricing page is clear: three plans priced per account, not per user, with annual and monthly prices and a 7-day trial without a card. The plan you need depends on how many calendars you run, usually one per staff member or location: 1 on Starter, up to 6 on Standard, up to 36 on Premium. The pooling article explains how a team shares bookings: with two or more calendars, clients can choose "Any available", and Acuity assigns the appointment to the calendar with the fewest appointments that day or by a set priority.
A few points are worth knowing before you start. During the trial Acuity cannot send emails or automated text messages, so reminders cannot be tested until you subscribe. The trial lasts 14 days instead of 7 when Acuity is attached to a Squarespace website. The Squarespace pages we read describe PCI-DSS compliance for payments and two-factor authentication for Squarespace accounts, but name no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report.
Strengths
Priced per account, not per seat
Standard covers up to 6 staff or location calendars for $27 a month billed annually.
vs Calendly: Calendly and Cal.com charge per user: 3 hosts cost $48 and $36 a month on their round-robin plans (billed yearly, computed).
Four payment processors on every plan
Starter already takes payments and deposits through Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo.
vs Zoho Bookings: Calendly connects Stripe and PayPal from Standard; Zoho Bookings takes payments on Premium.
Built to sell services
Standard adds packages (including payment plans), memberships, gift certificates and a waitlist for fully booked times.
HIPAA BAA without a sales call
Premium accounts sign the BAA in the app and can download it at any time.
vs Calendly: Calendly says it is not designed for HIPAA; Zoho sends its BAA template on request.
Text reminders at no message charge
The plans article says text messages Acuity sends to you or your clients are free to you; clients pay their standard messaging rates.
vs Cal.com: Cal.com charges credits for text messages beyond 750 per member a month on Teams.
Things to know
No collective meetings or routing forms listed
The pricing page and plan table list client self-scheduling and intake forms, but no bookings with several staff members at once and no routing forms.
Workaround: Pooled "Any available" booking spreads appointments across staff calendars, and intake forms collect client details before the appointment.
API and logo removal on Premium
API access, custom CSS and hiding the "Powered by Acuity Scheduling" footer need Premium ($55 a month billed annually).
Workaround: Webhooks for booking and purchase activity are available on every plan.
No SSO or EU hosting listed
Acuity accounts log in through Squarespace with Google, Apple or an email address, and Squarespace stores data in data centers across the United States.
Workaround: Access levels (View Only, View & Edit, Admin) limit what each staff member can see and change.
The trial cannot send messages
Emails and automated text messages are off during the trial, so reminders can only be tested after you subscribe.
Workaround: Monthly billing allows a first month before committing to a year, and Squarespace-billed annual plans cancelled within 14 days are refunded in full.
Pricing reality
Acuity bills the account, not each user, and the price steps up with the number of calendars; annual terms are about 20% below monthly (the page says "Save 20%"). For our scenario, 3 hosts with their own calendars need Standard (up to 6 calendars): $27 a month billed annually ($324 a year), or $34 month to month (computed), before tax. That covers payments, text reminders, a waitlist, packages, memberships and gift certificates. Premium ($55 billed annually, $69 monthly) is needed for more than 6 calendars, the HIPAA BAA, hiding the Acuity logo, per-staff time zones and the API. Payment processors charge their own fees, which Acuity does not add to; text messages are free to you. Enterprise, for more than 36 calendars or several locations under one dashboard, is priced by sales. The FAQ lists no setup, cancellation or support fees.
Exit path
Appointments export as a CSV file from Reports (a date range, cancelled appointments optional, intake form answers included), and the client list exports from Clients. After a Squarespace-billed subscription ends, you can still view past appointments and export client data, but clients cannot book. Squarespace-billed annual plans cancelled in the first 14 days are refunded in full.
You want payments and text reminders without moving to a higher plan, and a BAA you sign in the app.
Pick Zoho Bookings when
You want a free plan, collective bookings and a lower cost for 3 hosts ($18 a month on Basic, billed yearly), with EU hosting chosen at sign-up.
Choose it if
Your clients book and pay for services such as sessions, lessons or appointments.
You want one account price for up to 6 staff or location calendars.
You need a HIPAA BAA you can sign without a sales call.
Look elsewhere if
You need routing forms, collective meetings or SAML SSO.
Your security review requires SOC 2 or ISO 27001 reports.
You want a permanent free plan.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Acuity Scheduling is built for service businesses: client booking with payments, intake forms and packages at one account price, and a HIPAA BAA on Premium. It lists no routing forms, collective meetings, SSO or audit reports.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per account, by number of calendars (staff or locations)
Free option
No free plan; 7-day trial, no card (14 days when added to a Squarespace site)
Reference scenario (3 hosts, annual)
$27/mo on Standard (up to 6 calendars), computed
Month-to-month price
$34 on Standard ($20 / $34 / $69 for the three plans)
Round robin from
Standard ($27 a month billed annually), with two or more calendars
Payments and SMS reminders
Stripe, Square, PayPal and Venmo on every plan; text reminders from Standard
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Not stated on the pages we read
HIPAA BAA
Premium ($55), signed in the app
EU data hosting
Not offered; Squarespace stores data in US data centers
SSO
Not listed
API and export
Webhooks and CSV export on every plan; API on Premium
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Acuity Scheduling yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Acuity Scheduling yet.
We read the pricing, security, legal, help center and developer pages of three scheduling tools on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 3 hosts cost, where routing, payments, SSO and HIPAA sit, and who should pick which.