AI coding assistants · Comparison
Gemini Code Assist vs JetBrains AI
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Gemini Code Assist | JetBrains AI |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Compliance includedFor existing Google Cloud customers: completion, chat and an agent mode with daily request quotas, IP indemnity and no prompt storage. | Worth the priceAI completion, chat and agents inside JetBrains IDEs, with usage at API rates and no surcharge, and free governance for organizations. |
| Overall score | 4.1 | 5.3Best |
| Free option | Paid only | Free plan |
| Card to start | –Not measured | Card required |
| Getting access | –Not measured | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $22.80/user/mo | $10/mo |
| Pricing model | Per seat | Seat + usage |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Per user per month; daily request quotas, no overage | AI credits ($1 of use each); individual plans per month; governance per seat |
| Free option | None now; the individual tier stopped on June 18, 2026 | AI Free with a JetBrains IDE licence; 30-day AI Pro trial, card needed |
| Reference scenario (5 developers) | Not priced: new subscriptions ended Oct 9, 2026 (existing: $95/mo on Standard) | Not priced: no organization plan includes usage (credits bought separately) |
| Included usage (organization plan) | 6,000 code, 960 chat and 1,500 agent requests per user a day | None; pooled prepaid credits, 20 per seat with All Products Pack |
| Usage beyond the plan | None; requests stop until the quota resets | Prepaid credits at API rates, no surcharge; per-user limits |
| Models | Google Gemini models only | Anthropic, OpenAI and Google models; JetBrains Mellum for completion |
| Training on your code | Gemini does not train on prompts or responses | Not without your agreement (terms), on every tier |
| Data retention | Stateless: prompts and responses not stored | Not persisted unless detailed data collection is on; provider retention not stated |
| IP indemnity | Standard and Enterprise, unmodified output | Not offered |
| SSO / SCIM / audit log | SSO through Cloud Identity federation; SCIM not stated; Cloud Audit Logs | SSO listed on Basic; SAML in IDE Services; SCIM coming soon; console audit page |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 1, 2 and 3 (Type II not stated), ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II covers JetBrains AI; ISO 27001 not listed |
| Editors and surfaces | VS Code, JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, Cloud Shell, Cloud Workstations | JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, JetBrains Air app and web |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Gemini Code Assist offers clear quotas, IP indemnity and no prompt storage, but new subscriptions ended on Oct 9, 2026, so it suits existing Google Cloud customers rather than new buyers. | From its public pages, JetBrains AI suits teams in JetBrains IDEs that want unlimited completion and usage at API rates with per-user limits. There is no IP indemnity, no seat with usage included, and several governance features are still coming. |
Evidence: Gemini Code Assist: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; JetBrains AI: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our Gemini Code Assist review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Gemini Code Assist when
- You want IP indemnity and stated request quotas on a fixed seat price.
- Pick JetBrains AI when
- You work in JetBrains IDEs and want prepaid credits at API rates with no surcharge.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- Gemini Code AssistStandard$22.80/user/mo$19 with an annual commitment; no longer sold to new customers since Oct 9, 2026
- Code completion, chat and agent mode
- 6,000 code and 960 chat requests per user a day
- 1,500 agent requests per user a day
- IP indemnity
- JetBrains AILowest priceAI Pro$10/mo$100 a year billed yearly; 30-day trial, card needed
- 10 AI credits every 30 days
- Junie, Claude Agent, Codex and Gemini agents
- Top-up credits at API rates
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Gemini Code Assist 2026-10-16, JetBrains AI 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- JetBrains AISelf-serve sign-up, card required; the only one here you can use right after signing up.
- Lowest starter price
- JetBrains AI$10/mo for the AI Pro (individual) plan.
- Highest overall score
- JetBrains AI5.3/10 (Fair). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in AI coding assistants
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.