A pay-as-you-go SMS and MMS API on a carrier network Telnyx says it owns, at $0.004 per US message part with carrier and 10DLC fees passed through at cost.
US texting at $0.004 a part, the lowest published rate in this group, with carrier and 10DLC fees passed through at cost and every messaging rate public.
Telnyx prices a US 10DLC message part at $0.004 each way and lists carrier fees per carrier, passed through without markup, so the bill is the rate plus the carrier’s own fee. Messaging rates for every country are on a public USD rate sheet, and volume tiers are published. Opt-outs, 10DLC registration through the API, delivery and inbound webhooks and a choice of data region for message records are part of the platform, so a team pays mostly for the messages themselves. Our 10,000-text scenario comes to $85.89 a month, the lowest of the five APIs here.
Lowest base rate, fees at costThe pricing page lists $0.004 per part on local and 10DLC numbers, sent or received, and says neither the rate nor the carrier passthrough is marked up. The product FAQ says that, as of July 2023, Telnyx charges no markup on carrier fees, and the 10DLC article passes registration fees on at cost.Evidence: Messaging pricing page, SMS product page FAQ and help article "10DLC Fees and Charges" (2026-10-15)
Every messaging rate on one public sheetThe rate sheet lists 5,905 USD rates across 33 products, including outbound SMS per operator for 227 countries and territories, 10DLC fees and published volume tiers.Evidence: Rate sheet telnyx.com/pricing.md (2026-10-15)
Opt-outs and 10DLC registration built inSTOP, UNSUBSCRIBE, CANCEL, END and QUIT create a block rule by default. Brands and campaigns can be registered through the API, delivery and inbound events arrive by webhook, and daily spend limits can be set per messaging profile.Evidence: Docs: opt-in/out management, 10DLC quickstart, webhooks, spend limits (2026-10-15)
Message records in a region you pickMessage detail records can be stored in the EU (Germany), Australia, the UAE or Canada by a one-time portal choice. The Data & Privacy page states SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2013.Evidence: Docs: Data Locality; Data & Privacy page (2026-10-15)
Best for
Developers sending US or international texts who want the lowest published rate, itemized pass-through fees, and opt-outs and 10DLC handled through the API.
Good to know
US 10DLC sending needs the Verified account tier with a KYC review, the trial texts only your own number, and several pages disagree on fees and plans.
How Telnyx Messaging API compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in SMS and messaging APIs: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Telnyx Messaging API compared with Sinch SMS API, Twilio Programmable Messaging, AWS End User Messaging SMS
Worth the priceUS texting at $0.004 a part, the lowest published rate in this group, with carrier and 10DLC fees passed through at cost and every messaging rate public.
Built-in reachPrepaid SMS priced for 241 countries from one account, with US 10DLC registration in the same dashboard or API and a SOC 2 Type II that names the SMS API.
Compliance includedUS texting with every fee and the compliance paperwork on public pages, plus opt-outs and 10DLC registration handled through the API.
Compliance includedUS texting from your own AWS account, inside AWS’s SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA scope, with opt-outs, events and 10DLC registration as AWS APIs.
Overall score
8.2Best
7.6
7.2
6.9
Free option
Free trial
Free trial
30-day free trial
Paid only
Card to start
No card needed
No card needed
No card needed
–Not measured
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Approval wait
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$0.004/SMS part
$0.0078/message
$0.0083/SMS segment
$0.00774/US SMS + carrier fee
Pricing model
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
US SMS rate (10DLC)
$0.004 per part, outbound or inbound
$0.0078 per message, outbound or inbound
$0.0083 per segment, outbound or inbound
$0.00774 per message part, outbound; inbound $0.0075
US carrier fees
Per carrier, no markup: AT&T $0.0035, T-Mobile $0.0045, Verizon $0.0045 (outbound)
Per carrier: AT&T $0.0035, T-Mobile $0.0045, Verizon $0.0050 (outbound; carrier fee article of Oct 1, 2026)
Per carrier: AT&T $0.0035, T-Mobile $0.0045, Verizon $0.005 (outbound)
One all-network fee: $0.00421 (10DLC, long code, toll-free)
Brand $4.50, optional brand vetting $41.50, campaign $2/mo low-volume or $10/mo; no campaign vetting fee listed
Reference scenario (10,000 US texts/mo)
$85.89, computed
$134.00, computed
$130.61, computed
$122.88, computed
Free option
$5 testing credit after a fraud review, no card; texts only to your own verified number
Trial credit, no card ($2 for US accounts per archived help); texting sandbox
30-day trial: 100 SMS to up to 5 verified numbers, no card
None for SMS; sandbox sends billed texts to up to 10 verified numbers
Volume discounts
Published tiers, from 100M parts/mo on local numbers
Not published; contact sales
Mentioned but not published; committed use by sales
None listed for SMS
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2; ISO 27001:2013 (scope not stated)
SOC 2 Type II naming the SMS API; group ISO 27001 certificate
SOC 2 Type 2 (all services) and ISO 27001
Listed in AWS SOC 1/2/3 and ISO 27001 scope
HIPAA BAA
Yes, US messaging traffic only; rate sheet lists $2,500/mo
Product-level BAAs offered; SMS API not named
Yes, SMS eligible; needs Security or Enterprise Edition
HIPAA eligible under the AWS BAA (voice and WhatsApp excluded)
Non-US data region
EU (Germany), Australia, UAE or Canada, chosen once
EU (Ireland, Sweden), Australia, Brazil, Canada through the account manager
Ireland (IE1) for SMS; no +1 numbers there
The AWS Region you pick, EU Regions included
Opt-out handling
Automatic STOP and similar keywords; AI detection $0.002 per message
Automatic STOP blocking once consent management is switched on (Conversation API)
Automatic STOP/HELP on long code and toll-free
Automatic STOP/HELP by default; self-managed optional
SSO
SAML through Organizations; no plan gate stated
SAML in Sinch Build; no plan condition stated
SAML 2.0 in Twilio Editions, by sales
SAML 2.0 through IAM Identity Center, no extra charge
Bottom line
From its public pages, Telnyx has the lowest published US rate and scenario figure in this group, with every fee itemized and passed through at cost. US 10DLC needs the Verified tier with KYC, the trial is narrow, and several pages disagree on fees and plans.
From its public pages, Sinch offers a prepaid SMS API with per-country prices, SAML SSO, non-US servers and a SOC 2 Type II for SMS. Its US carrier and 10DLC fees sit in help articles that call them "only indications".
From its public pages, Twilio publishes every US fee and a full set of compliance documents for SMS, with opt-outs and 10DLC registration handled by the platform. Our scenario costs more than at Telnyx or AWS, volume tiers are not published, and a few pages disagree on fees.
From its public pages, AWS End User Messaging SMS pairs a published US price with AWS’s compliance scope, and SSO and an audit log at no extra charge. There is no trial, production needs approval per Region, and technical support is a paid plan.
Evidence: Telnyx Messaging API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Sinch SMS API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Twilio Programmable Messaging: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; AWS End User Messaging SMS: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
carrier fees per carrier; 10DLC fees published; volume tiers published; per-country prices; pay online; the 10DLC fee article lists lower AT&T and T-Mobile carrier fees ($0.003) than the pricing page ($0.0035 and $0.0045); the rate sheet lists one-time T-Mobile campaign fees ($50 each) without saying when they apply; the pricing page shows "$0 support · HIPAA" while the rate sheet lists a $2,500/mo BAA charge; the pricing page lists a $2,000/mo Growth plan, the rate sheet a $500/mo Committed plan
Free trial
6.4 / 10, Good
trial credit $5, no card needed
Price for 10,000 US texts
7.7 / 10, Good
$85.89/mo: 10,000 × $0.004 = $40.00 per-message; carrier fees (AT&T $0.0035 + T-Mobile $0.0045 + Verizon $0.0045) / 3 = $0.0041667 × 10,000 = $41.67; local number $1.00 + $0.10 SMS capability = $1.10; low-volume mixed campaign $1.50; (brand $4.50 + campaign review $15) / 12 = $1.63; assumes the pricing page's carrier fees (the 10DLC fee article lists $0.003 for AT&T and T-Mobile, which would give $79.23), one $15 campaign review, and none of the rate sheet's one-time T-Mobile campaign fees
Compliance documents
9.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA, DPA on request, non-US data region
SSO on a self-serve plan, team roles, 2FA, audit log, support plans priced, tickets for every account
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Telnyx Messaging API's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Telnyx's messaging pricing page, its full rate sheet (telnyx.com/pricing.md), the numbers and Verify pricing pages, the SMS product page, the help center article "10DLC Fees and Charges", the developer docs (send a message, account levels, opt-outs, webhooks, 10DLC registration, data locality), the Data & Privacy page, the HIPAA architecture guide, the terms of service and the help articles on Organizations and SAML SSO on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up, send a message or call the public pricing API for this review. The trust center at trust.telnyx.com returned a bot challenge, so compliance facts come from the Data & Privacy page. The country links on the pricing page all lead to the US rates today, so other countries' rates were read from the rate sheet.
The pages make the US cost clear. A message part costs $0.004 each way on a local or 10DLC number, carrier fees are listed per carrier and passed through without markup, a local number is $1.00 a month plus $0.10 for SMS, and the 10DLC article lists the brand, campaign review and monthly campaign fees. The account level docs make the path clear too: a Trial account, which needs a fraud review, gets $5 of testing credit for texts to your own verified number, and the Paid tier lists "No access to 10DLC", so US A2P sending needs the Verified tier with KYC.
A few things need a question. The 10DLC fee article lists $0.003 carrier fees for AT&T and T-Mobile, the pricing page $0.0035 and $0.0045. The pricing page shows "$0 support · HIPAA", while the rate sheet lists a $2,500/mo BAA charge and "Community support" for pay-as-you-go. The pricing page names a $2,000/mo Growth plan where the rate sheet names a $500/mo Committed plan. And the rate sheet lists one-time T-Mobile campaign fees of $50 that the fee article does not explain.
Strengths
Lowest US rate and scenario figure here
A part costs $0.004 each way on local and 10DLC numbers, and our 10,000-text scenario comes to $85.89 a month (computed), about half of it carrier fees.
Compared: Plivo lists $0.0077, AWS $0.00774, Sinch $0.0078 and Twilio $0.0083 per segment before carrier fees.
Every messaging fee itemized on live pages
Carrier fees are listed per carrier for outbound and inbound traffic, 10DLC fees are passed through at cost, and the rate sheet adds messaging rates for every country in USD.
Compared: Sinch’s carrier fees are in a help article that calls them "only indications", and AWS gives one all-network carrier fee.
Volume tiers with published thresholds
Local SMS drops to $0.0020 for the next 150M parts above 100M a month and down to $0.0005; short codes have tiers from 500K parts.
Compared: Twilio, Plivo, Sinch and AWS publish no SMS volume tiers.
Opt-outs, 10DLC and webhooks built in
STOP and similar keywords create a block rule by default and START or UNSTOP removes it. Brands and campaigns register through the API, and delivery and inbound events arrive by signed webhook with retries.
SSO and a data region without a sales step
The Okta SAML guide enables SSO from an Organization in the portal, with no plan gate stated; permission groups and an audit log API are documented. Message records can be kept in the EU, Australia, the UAE or Canada.
Compared: Twilio and Plivo sell SSO through sales-priced plans, and Plivo lists no non-US region for SMS.
Things to know
US 10DLC needs the Verified tier
The account level docs list "No access to 10DLC" on the Paid tier; the Verified tier adds a KYC review and an AI agent evaluation. Some accounts use a separate Level 1 / Level 2 framework instead.
Workaround: Plan the KYC review before US A2P sending; the quickstart tests between two Telnyx numbers without carrier registration.
A narrow trial and no free sandbox
The $5 testing credit sends only to your own verified number, up to 100 messages a day, with one local number reclaimed within 30 days unless the account upgrades. The docs describe no test credentials or sandbox that does not bill; the Trial tier they call a sandbox uses the $5 credit.
Workaround: Test between two purchased Telnyx numbers, which are billed at normal rates.
Pages disagree on fees and plans
Carrier fees differ between the 10DLC article and the pricing page, the pricing page shows "$0 support · HIPAA" while the rate sheet lists a $2,500/mo BAA charge, and the plan names and minimums differ between the pricing page and the rate sheet.
Workaround: The rate sheet says its rates are read live from the same pricing API the /pricing pages render; ask for the BAA and plan terms in writing.
DPA on request and a yearly term
The DPA is available on request and signed electronically, and the ISO certificate copy is on request. The terms run one year and renew for 12-month periods unless you give 90 days’ notice.
Workaround: Terms 6.4 let you deactivate the account once the balance owed is $2 or less and no commitment applies; the agreement’s term keeps running while the account is deactivated.
Pricing reality
You pay per message part, sent or received, plus a carrier fee per part, number rental and 10DLC registration, with no platform fee. For our scenario: 10,000 × $0.004 = $40.00, carrier fees averaging $0.004167 add $41.67, a local number with SMS $1.10, a low-volume mixed campaign $1.50, and the $4.50 brand plus $15 campaign review spread over 12 months $1.63, for $85.89 a month (computed). With the fee article’s $0.003 for AT&T and T-Mobile it would be $79.23. Campaign fees are billed three months up front, and the article says a campaign may be submitted for review more than once at $15 each unless you give advance notice. Volume tiers start above 100M parts a month; below that, the Growth plan’s 15% discount needs a $2,000/mo minimum spend. Taxes are extra.
Exit path
The terms (11.4) let numbers be ported out with Telnyx’s written consent, with port-out fees paid in advance (the amount is not stated); trial numbers cannot be ported out. Message detail records give status and cost per message, with MDR reports for messages older than 10 days, and the opt-out list can be read through the API. The agreement renews yearly unless you give 90 days’ notice.
You want trial credit, carrier fees per carrier, support without a paid plan and a lower scenario figure ($85.89 against $122.88).
Pick AWS End User Messaging SMS when
You already run on AWS and want the BAA, DPA and CloudTrail under your AWS account, with SMS on your AWS invoice.
Choose it if
Per-message cost is your main criterion and you want every fee on a public page.
You send at high volume and want published volume tiers.
You want SAML SSO and an audit log API without a sales conversation.
You need message records stored in the EU, Australia, the UAE or Canada.
Look elsewhere if
You need a sandbox or test credentials that do not bill.
You need a DPA that is part of the standard terms.
You need HIPAA coverage for messaging outside the US.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Telnyx has the lowest published US rate and scenario figure in this group, with every fee itemized and passed through at cost. US 10DLC needs the Verified tier with KYC, the trial is narrow, and several pages disagree on fees and plans.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
US SMS rate (10DLC)
$0.004 per part, outbound or inbound
US carrier fees
Per carrier, no markup: AT&T $0.0035, T-Mobile $0.0045, Verizon $0.0045 (outbound)
We read the pricing pages, fee articles, security, legal and docs pages of three SMS APIs on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 10,000 US texts a month cost with carrier and 10DLC fees, and who should pick which.