Pinecone review

by Pinecone Systems, Inc.Vector databases

A serverless vector database billed by read units, write units and storage, with a free Starter tier, a $20 Builder plan and Standard from a $50 monthly minimum.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Saves engineering time (main value)
  • Compliance included

A serverless vector index with hybrid search, hosted models, backups and bulk import on a plan bought online, with no servers or replicas to size.

Pinecone runs the index for you and bills by use: you do not pick node sizes or replicas, and Standard charges reads, writes and storage above a $50 monthly minimum. Dense, sparse and full-text search, metadata filtering, namespaces and hosted embedding and reranking models are on every plan. Standard, bought online, adds scheduled backups, bulk import from S3, GCS or Azure Blob, RBAC, SAML SSO and, for $190 a month, a HIPAA BAA with audit logs, on top of SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.

  • No capacity to sizeServerless indexes bill read units, write units and storage; the cost docs say top_k and the fields returned do not change query cost, only the size of the namespace searched does.Evidence: Pricing page and understanding-cost docs (2026-10-16)
  • Search and models in one serviceDense, sparse and full-text indexes are listed on every plan, and hosted models such as llama-text-embed-v2 ($0.16 per million tokens) and bge-reranker-v2-m3 ($2 per 1,000 requests) run inside Pinecone.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-16)
  • HIPAA on a self-serve planStandard can add HIPAA for $190 a month (6-month minimum) with a BAA and audit logs; the trust center lists a SOC 2 Type II report (an EY attestation from its 2025 audit) and ISO 27001:2022.Evidence: Pricing page, cost docs and trust center (2026-10-16)
  • EU regions from BuilderBuilder and up can create indexes in AWS eu-west-1 (Ireland) and eu-central-1 (Frankfurt) and GCP europe-west4 (Netherlands), besides US and Asia regions.Evidence: Create-an-index docs (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams that want a hosted vector index with hybrid search and backups on a self-serve plan, and do not plan to run the engine themselves.
Good to know
Query cost grows with namespace size (1 read unit per GB searched), and there is no open-source or self-hosted version of the engine.

How Pinecone compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Vector databases: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Pinecone compared with Zilliz Cloud, Qdrant Cloud, Weaviate Cloud
MetricPineconeZilliz CloudQdrant CloudWeaviate Cloud
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeA serverless vector index with hybrid search, hosted models, backups and bulk import on a plan bought online, with no servers or replicas to size.Saves engineering timeManaged Milvus with a serverless option billed per request, free bulk import from object storage, and the Apache 2.0 engine as a way out.Worth the priceA managed open-source vector engine on nodes you size, with no per-query charge, an exit to self-hosted Qdrant and a free cluster for about 1M vectors.Saves engineering timeThe open-source Weaviate engine run for you, with hybrid search, RBAC and multi-tenancy on every plan and no per-query or per-write charges.
Overall score6.87.2Best7.06.2
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measuredNo card neededNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$20/mo$4/million vCUs$0.03566/node-hour$45/mo minimum
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitRead units, write units and GB-month of storage (serverless)Serverless: vCUs and GB-month; Dedicated: CU-hours and GB-monthProvisioned nodes per hour (RAM, vCPU and disk), plus backup storageVector dimensions, GiB of storage and GiB of backup, for each of 3 replicas
Free optionStarter free tier (2 GB, AWS us-east-1); 21-day Standard trial with $300 in creditsFree 5 GB cluster, no card; $100 trial credits for 30 daysFree 1 GB cluster (about 1M 768-dimension vectors), no cardFree cluster (100,000 objects), no card
Reference scenario (1M vectors, 1M queries)$176.60/mo on Standard, computed$113.28/mo on Serverless (GCP us-west1), computed$102.51/mo on Standard (3 × mx1 nodes), official calculator$255/mo on Flex, official calculator
Plan minimumBuilder $20 flat; Standard $50; Enterprise $500 a monthNoneNone on Standard; Premium minimum not publishedFlex $45 a month; Premium through sales
Hybrid searchEvery plan (dense, sparse and full-text indexes)Every plan (BM25 full-text plus vector)Every plan (dense plus sparse or BM25)Every plan (BM25F plus vector, fused)
BackupsStandard and up, scheduled; $0.10 per GB-monthDedicated clusters; point-in-time recovery on Business CriticalStandard and up, scheduled; collection snapshots on every planDaily on Flex, kept 7 days; restore through support
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022SOC 2 Type II (under NDA) and ISO 27001:2022SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022 (Markdown copy of the security page)
HIPAA BAAStandard add-on $190/mo (6-month minimum); included on EnterpriseBusiness Critical, through salesFrom Standard; BAA scope through Solutions EngineeringPremium Dedicated, through sales
EU regionsAWS Ireland and Frankfurt, GCP Netherlands, from BuilderServerless in AWS Frankfurt; Dedicated in AWS, GCP and Azure EU regionsAWS Frankfurt and Ireland, GCP Frankfurt, Azure Germany West CentralRegion selection on Dedicated tiers; EU regions not named
SSOSAML on Standard and EnterpriseSAML or OIDC on Enterprise and upPremium (console sign-in)SAML on Premium
BYOCEnterprise only, priced by salesThrough sales, annual commitmentHybrid Cloud and Private Cloud, through salesNamed on the security page; through sales
Data exportList and fetch API; no bulk exportSDK iterators; backup file export in private previewDownloadable snapshots; scroll APICursor API; Parquet export not available on Cloud
Self-host pathNone (Pinecone Local reached end of life on Oct 7, 2026)Milvus (Apache 2.0), same SDKsQdrant open source (Apache 2.0), restore from snapshotWeaviate open source (BSD-3-Clause; some enterprise features licensed separately)
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Pinecone puts the most on a self-serve plan here: hybrid search, backups, bulk import, SAML SSO and a HIPAA add-on all on Standard. Query cost grows with namespace size, and there is no open-source engine to fall back on.From its public pages, Zilliz Cloud is managed Milvus with per-request serverless billing, free bulk import, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and an open-source exit. Serverless runs in two regions only, and several prices differ between its pages.From its public pages, Qdrant Cloud is managed open-source Qdrant billed by node-hour: no per-query charge, a large free cluster and a documented way back to self-hosting. Prices live in the calculator, and SSO and private networking need Premium.From its public pages, Weaviate Cloud is the managed form of an open-source engine, billed by what you store with three replicas included. Enterprise controls sit on Premium through sales, and its rates are easiest to read through the calculator.

Evidence: Pinecone: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Zilliz Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Qdrant Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Weaviate Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
4.0 / 10, Fair
unit prices published; can be bought online; month to month; minimum shown on the pricing page or none; read and write unit prices are given as ranges that vary by cloud and region, with no per-region list (the cost estimator applies $16 and $4); BYOC platform fee and node rate not published; cross-region restore transfer rate not published; audit logs are Enterprise only on the pricing page, but the docs also include them in the $190 HIPAA add-on on Standard; private endpoints are AWS only on the known-limitations page, AWS or Azure in the private endpoints guide; pinecone-rerank-v0 is not on Starter on the pricing page, but has 500 requests a month on Starter on the rate-limits page
Free tier and trial
6.0 / 10, Good
free tier: 2 GB storage, 2M write units and 1M read units a month, 5 indexes, AWS us-east-1 only, holds fewer than 1M 768-dimension vectors, hybrid search, inactivity rule not stated, card rule not stated, also a 21-day trial with $300 in credits, no card needed
Price for the reference scenario
5.8 / 10, Fair
$176.60/mo on Standard (serverless, AWS us-east-1); reads 1M queries × 7.14 RU (1 RU per GB of namespace) = 7.14M RU × $16 per million = $114.24; writes 1M upserts × 15 WU (7.14 KB new plus 7.14 KB replaced, rounded up) = 15M WU × $4 per million = $60; storage 7.14 GB × $0.33 = $2.36; above the $50 minimum; Builder ($20 flat) holds the data but blocks reads above 2M RU a month; assumes the low end of the published unit-price ranges ($16 per million RU, $4 per million WU), which the official cost estimator applies; the pricing page does not list the us-east-1 rate
Search and data features
10.0 / 10, Excellent
hybrid search on the scenario plan; metadata filtering on the scenario plan; multi-tenancy on the scenario plan; backups on the scenario plan; integrated embedding or reranking on the scenario plan; bulk import from object storage on the scenario plan
Compliance and deployment
7.6 / 10, Good
SOC 2 Type II on the scenario plan; ISO 27001 on the scenario plan; HIPAA BAA on the scenario plan; EU region on the scenario plan (AWS eu-west-1 and eu-central-1, GCP europe-west4, from Builder); BYOC enterprise or through sales only; customer-managed keys enterprise or through sales only; private networking enterprise or through sales only
Access control and exit
7.5 / 10, Good
SSO on the scenario plan; RBAC or scoped keys on the scenario plan; audit log on the scenario plan; full export documented; no open-source engine with the same API

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Pinecone's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Pinecone's pricing page and its official cost estimator, the docs on cost, billing, limits, backups, import, security and BYOC, the 2026 release notes, the Master Subscription Agreement and DPA, and the trust center on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start the trial or call the API. The pricing page served US dollars from our location.

The model is clear once you read the cost docs: a query uses 1 read unit (RU) per GB of the namespace it searches, at least 0.25, and an upsert uses 1 write unit (WU) per KB, at least 5, plus the size of any record it replaces. The pricing page shows RU and WU prices only as ranges that "vary by cloud and region" ($16–$18 and $4–$4.50 per million on Standard); the estimator applies $16 and $4 with no region choice, so we used those.

A few points differ between pages. Audit logs are Enterprise only on the pricing page, while the docs also include them in the $190 HIPAA add-on on Standard; private endpoints are AWS only on one docs page and AWS or Azure on another. Pinecone Local, the Docker emulator, reached end of life on Oct 7, 2026, and multi-factor sign-in is marked "Coming Soon".

Strengths

  • Hybrid and full-text search on every plan

    Dense, sparse and full-text indexes are listed on every plan, Starter included, and BM25 full-text search became generally available on Sep 2, 2026, all billed in the same read and write units.

    vs Weaviate Cloud: Weaviate Cloud and Qdrant Cloud also include hybrid search on every plan, but bill by stored dimensions or provisioned nodes rather than per query.

  • Backups and bulk import on Standard

    Scheduled backups ($0.10 per GB-month, restore $0.15 per GB) and import from S3, GCS or Azure Blob ($0.25 per GB) start on Standard, bought online.

    vs Weaviate Cloud: Weaviate Cloud and Qdrant Cloud document no import from object storage into their managed services.

  • SSO and RBAC without an enterprise contract

    SAML SSO, RBAC and API keys scoped by role are on Standard, from a $50 monthly minimum.

    vs Weaviate Cloud: Weaviate Cloud and Qdrant Cloud put SAML SSO on Premium, a committed plan arranged with sales.

  • HIPAA as a published add-on

    Standard adds HIPAA for $190 a month with a 6-month minimum, including a BAA and audit logs; Enterprise includes it.

Things to know

  • Query cost scales with namespace size

    Every query is billed 1 RU per GB of the namespace it searches, so a 7.14 GB namespace costs about 7 RU per query. Splitting data into namespaces, for example by tenant, lowers it.

    Workaround: Dedicated Read Nodes bill a fixed hourly rate instead of read units; their rates appear in the cost estimator.

  • Builder caps usage rather than billing it

    Builder ($20 flat) stops at 10 GB, 5M write units and 2M read units a month and returns errors beyond them; there is no overage on that plan.

    Workaround: Standard bills usage above its $50 minimum and keeps serving reads.

  • No self-hosted path

    There is no open-source engine; Pinecone Local reached end of life on Oct 7, 2026, and BYOC needs the Enterprise plan, with a platform fee and node rate that are not published.

  • Unit prices as ranges

    The pricing page lists RU and WU prices as ranges by cloud and region with no per-region table, and the cross-region restore rate is not published.

    Workaround: The cost estimator applies $16 per million RU and $4 per million WU on Standard.

Pricing reality

Pinecone bills serverless usage: storage $0.33 per GB-month, write units from $4 per million and read units from $16 per million on Standard (Enterprise from $6 and $24), above a $50 monthly minimum ($500 on Enterprise). For our scenario, 1M queries on a 7.14 GB namespace use 7.14M RU ($114.24), 1M upserts that replace 7.14 KB records use 15 WU each, 15M WU ($60), and storage is $2.36: $176.60 a month (computed). Builder ($20 flat) holds the data but blocks reads above 2M RU a month. Costs rise with namespace size, backups ($0.10 per GB-month), import ($0.25 per GB), egress beyond 100 GB ($0.10 per GB), the HIPAA add-on ($190) and paid support (Developer $29, Pro $250 a month).

Exit path

Records leave through the API: list returns up to 100 IDs per call and fetch up to 1,000 records, both billed in read units. There is no bulk export to object storage, and backups stay in the same project and region. Downgrading deletes backups and collections; after termination the MSA allows retrieval for up to 30 days on written request. With no open-source engine, moving out means loading the data into another database.

Compared with

  • Pick Pinecone when
    You want per-request billing with no nodes to size, and SAML SSO and a HIPAA add-on on a plan bought online.
    Pick Qdrant Cloud when
    You want an Apache 2.0 engine you can self-host, downloadable snapshots and a lower scenario cost ($102.51 a month).
  • Pick Pinecone when
    You want bulk import from object storage, SAML SSO on a self-serve plan and a lower scenario cost ($176.60 against $255).
    Pick Weaviate Cloud when
    You want an open-source engine with the same API and a bill that does not grow with the number of queries.
  • Pick Pinecone when
    You want a free tier, scheduled backups and bulk import from object storage.
    Pick turbopuffer when
    You want the lowest scenario cost here ($30 a month), billed by the bytes stored, written and queried.

Choose it if

  • You want a hosted vector index without choosing node sizes or replicas.
  • You need hybrid or full-text search, backups and bulk import on a self-serve plan.
  • You need SAML SSO or a HIPAA BAA without an enterprise contract.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want an open-source engine you can run yourself later.
  • You run many queries against one large namespace and want flat pricing without Dedicated Read Nodes.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Pinecone puts the most on a self-serve plan here: hybrid search, backups, bulk import, SAML SSO and a HIPAA add-on all on Standard. Query cost grows with namespace size, and there is no open-source engine to fall back on.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitRead units, write units and GB-month of storage (serverless)
Free optionStarter free tier (2 GB, AWS us-east-1); 21-day Standard trial with $300 in credits
Reference scenario (1M vectors, 1M queries)$176.60/mo on Standard, computed
Plan minimumBuilder $20 flat; Standard $50; Enterprise $500 a month
Hybrid searchEvery plan (dense, sparse and full-text indexes)
BackupsStandard and up, scheduled; $0.10 per GB-month
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022
HIPAA BAAStandard add-on $190/mo (6-month minimum); included on Enterprise
EU regionsAWS Ireland and Frankfurt, GCP Netherlands, from Builder
SSOSAML on Standard and Enterprise
BYOCEnterprise only, priced by sales
Data exportList and fetch API; no bulk export
Self-host pathNone (Pinecone Local reached end of life on Oct 7, 2026)

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Pinecone lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Builder (flat, usage capped), costs $20/mo.

  • PineconeFree
    Starter
    $0/mo
    Permanent free tier; AWS us-east-1 only
    • 2 GB storage, 2M write units and 1M read units a month
    • 5 indexes, 100 namespaces per index
    • Dense, sparse and full-text indexes
    • Hosted embedding (5M tokens a month per model) and bge-reranker-v2-m3 (500 requests)
  • PineconeLowest price
    Builder
    $20/mo
    Flat fee, card billing only; usage beyond the caps is blocked, not billed
    • Up to 10 GB storage, 5M write units and 2M read units a month
    • 10 GB egress a month
    • US, EU and Asia regions on AWS, GCP and Azure
    • No backups, bulk import or RBAC
  • Pinecone
    Standard
    $50/mo minimum
    Usage above the minimum: $0.33/GB-month storage, $4–$4.50 per million WU, $16–$18 per million RU; 21-day trial with $300 in credits
    • Scheduled backups and bulk import from object storage
    • SAML SSO, RBAC and scoped API keys
    • HIPAA add-on $190/mo with BAA and audit logs
    • Dedicated Read Nodes at hourly rates
  • Pinecone
    Enterprise
    $500/mo minimum
    Usage above the minimum: $6–$6.75 per million WU, $24–$27 per million RU
    • HIPAA and audit logs included
    • Private endpoints and customer-managed keys (AWS KMS)
    • BYOC on AWS, GCP and Azure, priced by sales
    • Service accounts and SCIM

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: pinecone.io pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site