A managed open-source vector engine on nodes you size, with no per-query charge, an exit to self-hosted Qdrant and a free cluster for about 1M vectors.
Qdrant Cloud bills the nodes you provision by the hour, so a steady query and write load costs the same as an idle one; our scenario comes to $102.51 a month on three small nodes in AWS us-east-1. The engine is Apache 2.0, and the cloud FAQ answers "Can I move workloads back from Cloud to OSS later?" with yes, through snapshots. Hybrid search, payload filtering, multi-tenancy and scoped API keys are on every plan, and Standard adds backups, high availability and audit logs without a contract.
No per-request billingThe pricing FAQ lists compute, memory, storage, backups and paid inference tokens as the charges, billed hourly; the cloud FAQ says there are no overage charges and size changes need your authorization.Evidence: Pricing page FAQ and cloud page (2026-10-16)
Exit to the same open-source engineThe engine is Apache 2.0, and a downloaded snapshot restores on self-hosted Qdrant of the same or the next minor version.Evidence: Cloud page FAQ, migration and recovery docs, GitHub LICENSE (2026-10-16)
A free cluster for about 1M vectorsThe free cluster (0.5 vCPU, 1 GB RAM, 4 GB disk) "supports serving about 1 M vectors of 768 dimensions" and needs no card.Evidence: Pricing page and create-cluster docs (2026-10-16)
Audit logs on StandardAudit logs are available for all paid clusters from Qdrant 1.17.0, stored on the cluster and downloadable through the API.Evidence: Configure-cluster docs (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams that want predictable node-based pricing and a plain path to running the same engine themselves.
Good to know
SAML SSO, private networking and customer-managed keys need Premium, a committed-spend contract with a minimum Qdrant does not publish.
How Qdrant Cloud compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Vector databases: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Qdrant Cloud compared with Zilliz Cloud, Pinecone, Weaviate Cloud
Worth the priceA managed open-source vector engine on nodes you size, with no per-query charge, an exit to self-hosted Qdrant and a free cluster for about 1M vectors.
Saves engineering timeManaged Milvus with a serverless option billed per request, free bulk import from object storage, and the Apache 2.0 engine as a way out.
Saves engineering timeA serverless vector index with hybrid search, hosted models, backups and bulk import on a plan bought online, with no servers or replicas to size.
Saves engineering timeThe open-source Weaviate engine run for you, with hybrid search, RBAC and multi-tenancy on every plan and no per-query or per-write charges.
Overall score
7.0
7.2Best
6.8
6.2
Free option
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Card to start
No card needed
No card needed
–Not measured
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$0.03566/node-hour
$4/million vCUs
$20/mo
$45/mo minimum
Pricing model
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Provisioned nodes per hour (RAM, vCPU and disk), plus backup storage
Serverless: vCUs and GB-month; Dedicated: CU-hours and GB-month
Read units, write units and GB-month of storage (serverless)
Vector dimensions, GiB of storage and GiB of backup, for each of 3 replicas
Free option
Free 1 GB cluster (about 1M 768-dimension vectors), no card
Free 5 GB cluster, no card; $100 trial credits for 30 days
Starter free tier (2 GB, AWS us-east-1); 21-day Standard trial with $300 in credits
Free cluster (100,000 objects), no card
Reference scenario (1M vectors, 1M queries)
$102.51/mo on Standard (3 × mx1 nodes), official calculator
$113.28/mo on Serverless (GCP us-west1), computed
$176.60/mo on Standard, computed
$255/mo on Flex, official calculator
Plan minimum
None on Standard; Premium minimum not published
None
Builder $20 flat; Standard $50; Enterprise $500 a month
Flex $45 a month; Premium through sales
Hybrid search
Every plan (dense plus sparse or BM25)
Every plan (BM25 full-text plus vector)
Every plan (dense, sparse and full-text indexes)
Every plan (BM25F plus vector, fused)
Backups
Standard and up, scheduled; collection snapshots on every plan
Dedicated clusters; point-in-time recovery on Business Critical
Standard and up, scheduled; $0.10 per GB-month
Daily on Flex, kept 7 days; restore through support
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not stated
SOC 2 Type II (under NDA) and ISO 27001:2022
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022 (Markdown copy of the security page)
HIPAA BAA
From Standard; BAA scope through Solutions Engineering
Business Critical, through sales
Standard add-on $190/mo (6-month minimum); included on Enterprise
Premium Dedicated, through sales
EU regions
AWS Frankfurt and Ireland, GCP Frankfurt, Azure Germany West Central
Serverless in AWS Frankfurt; Dedicated in AWS, GCP and Azure EU regions
AWS Ireland and Frankfurt, GCP Netherlands, from Builder
Region selection on Dedicated tiers; EU regions not named
SSO
Premium (console sign-in)
SAML or OIDC on Enterprise and up
SAML on Standard and Enterprise
SAML on Premium
BYOC
Hybrid Cloud and Private Cloud, through sales
Through sales, annual commitment
Enterprise only, priced by sales
Named on the security page; through sales
Data export
Downloadable snapshots; scroll API
SDK iterators; backup file export in private preview
List and fetch API; no bulk export
Cursor API; Parquet export not available on Cloud
Self-host path
Qdrant open source (Apache 2.0), restore from snapshot
Milvus (Apache 2.0), same SDKs
None (Pinecone Local reached end of life on Oct 7, 2026)
Weaviate open source (BSD-3-Clause; some enterprise features licensed separately)
Bottom line
From its public pages, Qdrant Cloud is managed open-source Qdrant billed by node-hour: no per-query charge, a large free cluster and a documented way back to self-hosting. Prices live in the calculator, and SSO and private networking need Premium.
From its public pages, Zilliz Cloud is managed Milvus with per-request serverless billing, free bulk import, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and an open-source exit. Serverless runs in two regions only, and several prices differ between its pages.
From its public pages, Pinecone puts the most on a self-serve plan here: hybrid search, backups, bulk import, SAML SSO and a HIPAA add-on all on Standard. Query cost grows with namespace size, and there is no open-source engine to fall back on.
From its public pages, Weaviate Cloud is the managed form of an open-source engine, billed by what you store with three replicas included. Enterprise controls sit on Premium through sales, and its rates are easiest to read through the calculator.
Evidence: Qdrant Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Zilliz Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Pinecone: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Weaviate Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
unit prices published; can be bought online; month to month; minimum shown on the pricing page or none; backup storage is billed, but its per-GB price is not published; extra disk and AWS disk-tier prices sit unlabelled in the calculator data and are not shown; paid inference models are priced only in the logged-in console; Premium minimum spend, Premium rates and the multi-AZ rate are not published; the Cloud Service Agreement makes each order a 12-month term renewing on 90 days’ notice, while the docs describe Standard as pay as you go; customer-managed keys cover AWS and GCP on the pricing page, AWS, GCP and Azure in the docs; SSO is "included" with Premium in the docs, a "Premium add-on" on the security page
Free tier and trial
9.0 / 10, Excellent
free tier: 1 node, 0.5 vCPU, 1 GB RAM, 4 GB disk, about 1M vectors of 768 dimensions, holds 1M 768-dimension vectors, hybrid search, paused or deleted when inactive, no card needed
Price for the reference scenario
6.9 / 10, Good
$102.51/mo on Standard, 3 × mx1 nodes (4 GiB RAM, 0.5 vCPU, 16 GiB disk each) in AWS us-east-1; official calculator: 1,000,000 dense vectors of 1,536 dimensions, replication factor 1, no quantization, 10 GiB RAM required; $0.04668 an hour × 24 hours × 30.5 days × 3 nodes; reads and writes not billed; no minimum; assumes the calculator’s allowance for payload ("includes some room for payload indexes"); backup storage, whose price is not published, is not included
Search and data features
8.5 / 10, Excellent
hybrid search on the scenario plan; metadata filtering on the scenario plan; multi-tenancy on the scenario plan; backups on the scenario plan; integrated embedding or reranking on the scenario plan; bulk import from object storage not listed
Compliance and deployment
6.1 / 10, Good
SOC 2 Type II on the scenario plan; no ISO 27001 stated; HIPAA BAA on the scenario plan; EU region on the scenario plan (AWS eu-central-1 and eu-west-1, GCP europe-west3, Azure Germany West Central); BYOC enterprise or through sales only; customer-managed keys enterprise or through sales only; private networking enterprise or through sales only
Access control and exit
8.6 / 10, Excellent
SSO enterprise or through sales only; RBAC or scoped keys on the scenario plan; audit log on the scenario plan; full export documented; open-source engine (Apache 2.0)
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Qdrant Cloud's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Qdrant's pricing page and plan comparison, its pricing calculator, the cloud, security, inference, serverless, startup and brand pages, the Cloud docs on pricing and payments, Premium, backups, cluster configuration, encryption, RBAC, multitenancy, snapshots and migration, and the Cloud Service Agreement, DPA and SLA on Oct 16, 2026; we did not create a cluster. The trust center is behind a bot check and did not load for us.
The pricing page shows plans but no prices; node prices appear only in the calculator, which picked Singapore from our location until we set AWS us-east-1. For 1M vectors of 1,536 dimensions with replication factor 1 and no quantization it recommends three 4 GiB nodes at $0.04668 an hour each, $102.51 a month. Extra disk and AWS disk tiers sit in the calculator's data without unit labels, backup storage is billed at a price not shown, and paid inference models are priced only in the console.
Some pages disagree. The Cloud Service Agreement makes each order a 12-month term that renews unless notice is given 90 days ahead, while the docs describe Standard as pay as you go; SSO is "included" with Premium in the docs and a "Premium add-on" on the security page; and customer-managed keys cover AWS and GCP on the pricing page but also Azure in the docs. A serverless offering is announced as "Coming soon" with no pricing.
Strengths
Apache 2.0 engine with a stated way back
The same engine runs self-hosted, and the cloud FAQ says workloads can move back to open source by exporting a snapshot and restoring it.
vs Pinecone: Pinecone and turbopuffer have no self-hostable engine.
No metering of queries or writes
Standard bills provisioned nodes hourly, so 1M queries and 1M upserts a month add nothing beyond the nodes in our scenario.
vs Pinecone: Pinecone bills read units per GB of namespace on each query.
A free cluster for about 1M vectors
The free cluster holds about 1M 768-dimension vectors with hybrid search, filtering and multi-tenancy, and needs no card.
vs Weaviate Cloud: Weaviate Cloud’s free tier holds 100,000 objects; turbopuffer has no free tier.
Audit logs and scoped keys without a contract
Audit logs come with every paid cluster, and API keys can be read-only or limited to chosen collections, with an expiry.
vs Weaviate Cloud: Weaviate Cloud lists no audit log on any plan.
Three clouds and EU regions on Standard
Standard runs on AWS, GCP and Azure, including Frankfurt and Ireland on AWS, Frankfurt on GCP and Germany West Central on Azure.
Things to know
You size the cluster
Standard bills the nodes you provision. When RAM or disk use stays above 80%, the account owner gets an email alert, and resizing needs your approval.
Workaround: The calculator and the capacity-planning guide estimate RAM and disk from vector count, dimensions, replication and quantization.
Prices sit in the calculator
The pricing page has no unit prices; node prices are in the calculator, and backup storage, extra disk and paid inference models have no published price.
Enterprise controls on Premium
SAML SSO, private links, customer-managed keys and multi-AZ clusters are on Premium, a committed-spend contract whose minimum and rates are not published.
The free cluster pauses quickly
Free clusters are suspended after 1 week unused and deleted after 4 weeks if not reactivated.
Pricing reality
Qdrant Cloud bills provisioned nodes by the hour, each a bundle of RAM, vCPU and disk: in AWS us-east-1 from $0.03566 an hour (2 GiB RAM) up to $4.56448 (256 GiB, 64 vCPU; GPU nodes cost more), plus backup storage and paid inference tokens. There is no minimum on Standard and no charge per query or write. For our scenario the calculator recommends 3 × mx1 nodes (4 GiB RAM, 0.5 vCPU, 16 GiB disk each): $0.04668 × 24 hours × 30.5 days × 3 = $102.51 a month, before backups. Costs rise with RAM: replicas, more vectors or no quantization need more or larger nodes. Premium rates and its minimum are set by contract; startups can get 20% off for 12 months.
Exit path
Collection snapshots are tar archives you can download through the API, per node on multi-node clusters, and restore on self-hosted Qdrant (Apache 2.0) of the same or the next minor version; the scroll API pages through points. Managed backups stay in the cluster’s provider and region and cannot be downloaded. The service agreement allows deletion 30 days after an order expires, and orders renew for 12 months unless notice is given 90 days ahead.
You want provisioned nodes in AWS us-east-1 and audit logs without moving to an enterprise plan.
Pick Zilliz Cloud when
You want per-request serverless billing, ISO 27001, bulk import from object storage and SSO on a self-serve plan.
Choose it if
You want a predictable monthly bill set by the nodes you choose.
You want the option to run the same open-source engine yourself.
You want a free cluster large enough for about 1M vectors to start.
Look elsewhere if
You need SAML SSO or private networking without a committed contract.
You would rather not size RAM and disk yourself.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Qdrant Cloud is managed open-source Qdrant billed by node-hour: no per-query charge, a large free cluster and a documented way back to self-hosting. Prices live in the calculator, and SSO and private networking need Premium.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Provisioned nodes per hour (RAM, vCPU and disk), plus backup storage
Free option
Free 1 GB cluster (about 1M 768-dimension vectors), no card
Reference scenario (1M vectors, 1M queries)
$102.51/mo on Standard (3 × mx1 nodes), official calculator
Plan minimum
None on Standard; Premium minimum not published
Hybrid search
Every plan (dense plus sparse or BM25)
Backups
Standard and up, scheduled; collection snapshots on every plan
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not stated
HIPAA BAA
From Standard; BAA scope through Solutions Engineering
EU regions
AWS Frankfurt and Ireland, GCP Frankfurt, Azure Germany West Central
SSO
Premium (console sign-in)
BYOC
Hybrid Cloud and Private Cloud, through sales
Data export
Downloadable snapshots; scroll API
Self-host path
Qdrant open source (Apache 2.0), restore from snapshot
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Qdrant Cloud yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Qdrant Cloud yet.
We read the pricing pages, calculators, trust, legal and documentation pages of three managed vector databases on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 1M vectors and 1M queries a month cost, where backups, SSO and HIPAA sit, how you get your data out, and who should pick which.