One API key for OpenAI's GPT-6 models and hosted tools, priced per token with published batch, flex and caching discounts.
The OpenAI API gives you OpenAI's current models (GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna) plus built-in tools such as web search, file search and code containers through one Responses API, with official SDKs in six languages. Every current model's token price is on one public page, and Batch and Flex cut it in half. Teams that want OpenAI's models and agent tooling without running inference get a pay-as-you-go service with a SOC 2 Type 2 report and an ISO 27001 certificate that cover the API.
A low-cost current model with a 1M-token windowGPT-6 Luna costs $0.10 per 1M input and $0.50 per 1M output tokens with a 1,050,000-token context window; our 100M + 20M token scenario comes to $20 a month (computed).Evidence: Pricing page and GPT-6 Luna model page (2026-10-15)
Three published ways to pay lessBatch and Flex are priced at 50% of standard rates, and cached input on GPT-6 Luna is 10% of the input price (cache writes cost 1.25x).Evidence: Pricing page; batch, flex and prompt caching guides (2026-10-15)
Hosted tools in the same callThe Responses API runs web search, file search and code containers for the model; each has a published price on the pricing page, billed on top of tokens.Evidence: Pricing page, tools section (2026-10-15)
Audit reports that name the APIThe trust portal lists a SOC 2 Type 2 report for Jul 1, 2025 to Jun 30, 2026 and an ISO 27001 certificate covering the API; API data is not used for training unless you opt in.Evidence: trust.openai.com; data controls guide (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want OpenAI's models and hosted agent tools on a self-serve, pay-as-you-go account, with clear batch and caching discounts.
Good to know
Zero data retention, residency and console SSO go through sales, and the self-serve HIPAA BAA needs a history of API usage; abuse logs are kept up to 30 days.
How OpenAI API compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in LLM APIs: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
OpenAI API compared with Mistral AI API, Anthropic API (Claude), Google Gemini API
Saves engineering timeOne API key for OpenAI's GPT-6 models and hosted tools, priced per token with published batch, flex and caching discounts.
Worth the priceLow per-token prices on small open-weight models, with EU or US processing you can choose yourself and spending caps per workspace.
Worth the priceClaude models from Haiku 5.5 at $0.10 / $0.50 per 1M tokens up to Fable 5.1, with no training on API data and a BAA you can sign in the console.
Easy to adoptGoogle's Gemini models by the token in US dollars, with an ongoing free tier to start and batch, flex and caching discounts to scale.
Overall score
7.1
7.4Best
7.2
5.3
Free option
–Not measured
Free plan
Free trial
Free plan
Card to start
–Not measured
No card needed
–Not measured
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.25/1M input tokens
Pricing model
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
How you pay
Prepaid credits ($5 minimum), expire after 1 year
Prepaid pay-as-you-go credits, optional auto recharge
Prepaid credits by card, expire after 1 year; invoicing through sales
Prepaid credits ($5 minimum), expire after 12 months
Free option
No free allowance stated
Free mode, no card; allowance not stated publicly
One-time free credits for new users, amount not stated
Ongoing free tier on select models, no card; limits shown in AI Studio
Reference scenario (100M in + 20M out tokens/mo)
$20 on gpt-6-luna, computed
$12 on ministral-3b-2512, computed
$20 on claude-haiku-5-5, computed
$55 on gemini-3.1-flash-lite, computed
Batch, cache and other discounts
Batch and Flex 50% off; cached input 90% off
Batch 50% off; cached input 90% off
Batch 50% off; cache hits 90% off on Haiku 5.5
Batch and Flex (preview) 50% off; cached input 90% off
Trained on API data
No, unless you opt in
Unless you opt out (Free mode and paid)
No (Commercial Terms)
Paid: no. Free tier: may be used to improve Google products
Default retention
Abuse logs up to 30 days
30 rolling days for abuse monitoring
Deleted within 30 days
Abuse logs for a "limited period", days not stated
Zero data retention
By approval, through sales
By approval, pay-as-you-go, stateless endpoints only
By agreement, through sales
Not guaranteed: paid prompts are logged for abuse monitoring (docs point to Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, formerly Vertex AI)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Both, covering the API
Both, stated in the help center
Both, listed for the API
Not stated for this API
HIPAA BAA
Standard BAA accepted in the API Platform, if eligible
Not stated
Standard BAA signed in the Console, if eligible
Not stated for this API
Data regions
10 storage regions by approval; processing in US, EU, UAE
EU and US endpoints at +10%
US-only inference at 1.1x; otherwise global
No region choice stated
Official SDKs
Python, TypeScript/JavaScript, Java (beta), Go (beta), C#, Ruby
Python, TypeScript
Python, TypeScript, C#, Go, Java, PHP, Ruby
Python, JavaScript/TypeScript, Go, Java, C#
Console SSO
Custom/Enterprise billing plan
SAML on the Enterprise plan
Through sales
Not stated (Google account sign-in)
Bottom line
From its public pages, the OpenAI API has a complete per-token price list, published batch, flex and caching discounts, and audit reports that cover the API. Stricter data controls, residency and SSO go through sales, and a few docs pages lag behind the price list.
From its public pages, the Mistral AI API has the lowest reference price in this comparison, EU or US endpoints you can pick yourself and spending caps. Training use is an opt-out, rate limits sit behind sign-in, and ZDR and SSO need approval or the Enterprise plan.
From its public pages, the Anthropic API has a complete per-token price list, discounts that combine and strong data terms, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Region choice is US only, zero data retention and SSO go through sales, and a few pages disagree on billing details.
From its public pages, the Gemini API pairs an ongoing free tier on current models with a detailed USD price list and published batch, flex and caching discounts. Certifications, zero data retention and data regions sit with Google Cloud's Agent Platform, and a few billing pages disagree.
Evidence: OpenAI API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mistral AI API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Anthropic API (Claude): facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Google Gemini API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
per-token prices published for every model; paid online; the production guide quotes prices per 1,000 tokens; the pricing page lists them per 1M tokens; a note mentions GPT-5.6 Sol promotional pricing "at least through" Nov 21, 2026 without stating the regular price; the pricing page still lists models the deprecations page says were shut down on Sep 28, 2026
Free tier
0.0 / 10, Fair
no free tier or credits stated
Price for 100M input + 20M output tokens
7.0 / 10, Good
$20/mo on gpt-6-luna: 100M input tokens × $0.10 + 20M output tokens × $0.50 per 1M (standard, short-context rates; each request is under 272K input tokens); GPT-5 nano and GPT-4.1 nano are left out because the deprecations page lists them (gpt-5-nano-2025-08-07 shuts down Dec 11, 2026, gpt-4.1-nano Oct 23, 2026)
Data use and retention
9.0 / 10, Excellent
not used for training by default; kept 30 days by default; zero data retention by approval; DPA with the terms
Compliance and regions
10.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA self-serve, regional processing: US, EU, UK, Canada, Australia, Japan, India, Singapore, South Korea, UAE
Cost controls and developer tools
9.3 / 10, Excellent
batch 50% off, cached input 90% off, Flex processing at 50% of standard rates (beta), rate limits published, SDKs: Python, TypeScript/JavaScript, Java, Go, C#, Ruby, structured output, spend limits, SSO by sales
Review
Review from public pages
Written from OpenAI API's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read OpenAI's API pricing page, the models page and the model pages for GPT-6 Luna and the older nano models, the deprecations page, the data controls, rate limit, spend limit, batch, flex, prompt caching, structured outputs and SDK guides, and the trust portal on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up or call the API. The openai.com marketing, policy and help pages returned an error to our fetches that day, so we read their Internet Archive copies from Jun 18 to Oct 12, 2026 (the API page, the security and privacy page, the DPA, the enterprise privacy page, and the prepaid billing, SSO and BAA help articles).
The price list is complete and easy to use: every GPT-6 and GPT-5.6 model has standard, batch, flex and fast prices per 1M tokens, plus cached-input and cache-write prices. Billing is prepaid: the help center says the minimum purchase is $5, auto-reload is on by default, and purchased credits expire after a year. Usage tiers (Build, Launch, Grow) only lift rate limits and the monthly cap.
Picking the scenario model took care. GPT-5 nano is the cheapest row, but its only snapshot is on the deprecations page, as are GPT-4.1 nano and GPT-4o mini, so the reference price uses GPT-6 Luna, the current low-cost model. A few pages need a question: the rate limit guide names a Free tier and the quickstart mentions a free test request, but no page states a free allowance; the production guide still speaks of prices per 1,000 tokens; and the pricing page lists models the deprecations page says were shut down in September.
Strengths
A complete price list with cost levers
Every GPT-6 and GPT-5.6 model lists standard, batch, flex and fast prices per 1M tokens, with cached-input and cache-write prices beside them. Batch and Flex are both 50% off.
vs Anthropic API (Claude): Anthropic API (Claude) also has a 50% batch discount and 0.1x cache hits, but no published flex-style lower rate.
Audit reports that name the API
The trust portal lists a SOC 2 Type 2 report (Jul 1, 2025 to Jun 30, 2026) and an ISO 27001 certificate for the API, and the DPA applies with the Services Agreement.
Compared: Google's compliance scope lists name Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, not the Gemini Developer API.
Data residency in 10 regions
Storage can be kept in 10 regions, including the US, Europe, the UK, Japan and India, and requests can be processed in the US, Europe or the UAE. Eligibility goes through sales.
vs Anthropic API (Claude): Anthropic API (Claude) offers only a US option, at 1.1x the price; Google Gemini API states no region choice.
Spend limits you set yourself
Hard monthly spend limits and alerts can be set per organization and per project; at a hard limit, requests are refused with a 429 error.
Compared: DeepSeek API states no spend limit; spending is bounded only by the prepaid balance.
Six official SDKs and structured outputs
The libraries page lists official SDKs for Python, TypeScript/JavaScript, Java (beta), Go (beta), C# and Ruby, and Structured Outputs follow a supplied JSON Schema.
vs Mistral AI API: Mistral AI API's official SDKs are Python and TypeScript only.
Things to know
No stated free allowance
The rate limit guide lists a Free tier ($100 a month usage limit, allowed countries only) and the quickstart mentions a free test request, but no page states a free token amount, models or rate limits.
Workaround: Budget the $5 minimum credit purchase for a first test.
Prepaid credits with auto-reload on by default
New accounts buy credits first ($5 minimum, $10 default). Auto-reload is turned on during setup, and purchased credits expire after 1 year and are non-refundable except in listed cases.
Workaround: Turn auto-reload off or set a monthly reload limit, and add a hard spend limit per project.
Stricter data controls go through sales
Zero data retention needs OpenAI approval, and data residency outside the US also needs approved abuse-monitoring controls and a Modified Retention amendment. The standard HIPAA BAA can be accepted in the API Platform only once an organization has an established history of API usage.
Workaround: Set store to false on Responses requests you do not need kept; otherwise they are stored for at least 30 days.
Some docs lag the price list
The production guide quotes prices per 1,000 tokens, the pricing page lists models shut down on Sep 28, 2026, and a GPT-5.6 Sol promotion note gives no regular price.
Workaround: Use the pricing page and the deprecations page as the sources; GA models get at least 6 months of notice.
Pricing reality
OpenAI bills per token for each model from prepaid credits: the minimum purchase is $5, auto-reload is on by default, and purchased credits expire after a year. Usage tiers (Build at $5 of purchases, Launch at $100, Grow at $500) raise rate limits and the monthly cap; they are not plans. Our scenario on GPT-6 Luna is 100 × $0.10 + 20 × $0.50 = $20 a month at standard rates; Batch or Flex halves it, and cached input costs $0.01 per 1M. Costs climb with the flagship (GPT-6 Astra at $10 / $50 would be $2,000 for the same tokens, our arithmetic), Fast mode at 2x, prompts over 272K tokens, hosted tools such as web search at $10 per 1,000 calls plus content tokens, and a 10% uplift on data residency endpoints. Taxes are not stated on the pages we read.
Exit path
There is little to export: you own your inputs and outputs, Responses objects are stored for at least 30 days by default, and files can be deleted or set to expire. Assistants objects stay until you delete them. Fine-tuned models remain callable until their base model is retired; a weight download is not stated. Moving away mostly means changing the base URL and model names, since Gemini, Mistral, DeepSeek and Anthropic document endpoints in OpenAI's request format.
You want API data kept out of training by default, published rate limits and a HIPAA BAA path.
Pick Mistral AI API when
You want a lower scenario price ($12 on Ministral 3 3B), a free mode with no card, and EU or US regional endpoints at +10%.
Choose it if
You want OpenAI's models with web search, file search and code tools in the same API.
You want published batch, flex and caching discounts and hard spend limits.
Your review accepts SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 reports that name the API.
Look elsewhere if
You need zero data retention or data residency without a sales conversation.
You want a free tier with published limits to prototype on.
Bottom line
From its public pages, the OpenAI API has a complete per-token price list, published batch, flex and caching discounts, and audit reports that cover the API. Stricter data controls, residency and SSO go through sales, and a few docs pages lag behind the price list.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
How you pay
Prepaid credits ($5 minimum), expire after 1 year
Free option
No free allowance stated
Reference scenario (100M in + 20M out tokens/mo)
$20 on gpt-6-luna, computed
Batch, cache and other discounts
Batch and Flex 50% off; cached input 90% off
Trained on API data
No, unless you opt in
Default retention
Abuse logs up to 30 days
Zero data retention
By approval, through sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Both, covering the API
HIPAA BAA
Standard BAA accepted in the API Platform, if eligible
Data regions
10 storage regions by approval; processing in US, EU, UAE
Official SDKs
Python, TypeScript/JavaScript, Java (beta), Go (beta), C#, Ruby
Console SSO
Custom/Enterprise billing plan
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for OpenAI API yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We have not published API calls for OpenAI API yet.
OpenAI API lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, GPT-6 Luna, costs $0.10/1M input tokens.
OAOpenAI API
GPT-6 Luna
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.50 per 1M output tokens; cached input $0.01, cache writes $0.125; prompts over 272K input tokens cost 2x input and 1.5x output
1,050,000-token context window
Batch and Flex at 50% of standard rates
Fast mode at 2x
EU data residency at +10%
OAOpenAI API
GPT-6.1 Sol
$2.00/1M input tokens
$10.00 per 1M output tokens; cached input $0.10, cache writes $2.50; long context $4.00 / $15.00
Cached reads at 0.05x the input rate
Batch and Flex $1.00 / $5.00
OAOpenAI API
GPT-6 Astra
$10.00/1M input tokens
$50.00 per 1M output tokens; cached input $1.00, cache writes $12.50; long context $20.00 / $75.00
Flagship model
Batch and Flex $5.00 / $25.00
Fast mode $20.00 / $100.00
OAOpenAI API
Enterprise
Contact sales
Custom/Enterprise billing plan; Scale Tier and Reserved Tier for capacity
Zero data retention by approval
Data residency in 10 regions
Custom BAA terms
SAML or OIDC SSO
Dedicated account team
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.
We read the pricing, model, data-usage, trust and docs pages of three LLM APIs on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 100 million input and 20 million output tokens a month cost, how each one treats your data, and who should pick which.