Claude models from Haiku 5.5 at $0.10 / $0.50 per 1M tokens up to Fable 5.1, with no training on API data and a BAA you can sign in the console.
The Anthropic API gives you Anthropic's current Claude models through one Messages API, each with a 1M-token context window and tool use, and official SDKs in seven languages. Every model's token price is on one public page, and batch and prompt caching discounts can be combined. The Commercial Terms rule out training on your API content, the DPA is part of the terms, and the privacy center lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 for the API. Teams that want Claude without running inference get a pay-as-you-go service, and the same models are also sold on Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud and Microsoft Foundry.
A low-cost current model with a 1M-token windowClaude Haiku 5.5 (released Oct 7, 2026) costs $0.10 per 1M input and $0.50 per 1M output tokens for prompts up to 100,000 tokens, with tool use; our 100M + 20M token scenario comes to $20 a month (computed).Evidence: Pricing page and Claude Haiku 5.5 overview (2026-10-15)
Batch and caching discounts that combineThe Batch API is 50% off input and output, and cache hits cost 0.1x the input price on Haiku 5.5 (0.05x on Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5.5). The pricing page says the two discounts can be combined.Evidence: Pricing page, batch processing and prompt caching (2026-10-15)
Data terms and a self-serve BAAThe Commercial Terms say Anthropic may not train models on customer content, and the DPA is incorporated into them. Eligible organizations can review and sign the standard HIPAA BAA directly in the Claude Console.Evidence: Commercial Terms; API and data retention docs (2026-10-15)
The same models on four cloud platformsThe Haiku 5.5 overview lists the model on the Claude API, Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud, Microsoft Foundry and Claude Platform on AWS, so cloud billing does not mean a different model.Evidence: Claude Haiku 5.5 overview (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want Claude models on a self-serve, pay-as-you-go account, with clear data terms and a HIPAA BAA they can sign without a sales call.
Good to know
Zero data retention and Console SSO go through sales, the only region option is US at 1.1x, and the free credit amount is not stated.
How Anthropic API (Claude) compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in LLM APIs: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Anthropic API (Claude) compared with Mistral AI API, OpenAI API, Google Gemini API
Worth the priceClaude models from Haiku 5.5 at $0.10 / $0.50 per 1M tokens up to Fable 5.1, with no training on API data and a BAA you can sign in the console.
Worth the priceLow per-token prices on small open-weight models, with EU or US processing you can choose yourself and spending caps per workspace.
Saves engineering timeOne API key for OpenAI's GPT-6 models and hosted tools, priced per token with published batch, flex and caching discounts.
Easy to adoptGoogle's Gemini models by the token in US dollars, with an ongoing free tier to start and batch, flex and caching discounts to scale.
Overall score
7.2
7.4Best
7.1
5.3
Free option
Free trial
Free plan
–Not measured
Free plan
Card to start
–Not measured
No card needed
–Not measured
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.25/1M input tokens
Pricing model
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
How you pay
Prepaid credits by card, expire after 1 year; invoicing through sales
Prepaid pay-as-you-go credits, optional auto recharge
Prepaid credits ($5 minimum), expire after 1 year
Prepaid credits ($5 minimum), expire after 12 months
Free option
One-time free credits for new users, amount not stated
Free mode, no card; allowance not stated publicly
No free allowance stated
Ongoing free tier on select models, no card; limits shown in AI Studio
Reference scenario (100M in + 20M out tokens/mo)
$20 on claude-haiku-5-5, computed
$12 on ministral-3b-2512, computed
$20 on gpt-6-luna, computed
$55 on gemini-3.1-flash-lite, computed
Batch, cache and other discounts
Batch 50% off; cache hits 90% off on Haiku 5.5
Batch 50% off; cached input 90% off
Batch and Flex 50% off; cached input 90% off
Batch and Flex (preview) 50% off; cached input 90% off
Trained on API data
No (Commercial Terms)
Unless you opt out (Free mode and paid)
No, unless you opt in
Paid: no. Free tier: may be used to improve Google products
Default retention
Deleted within 30 days
30 rolling days for abuse monitoring
Abuse logs up to 30 days
Abuse logs for a "limited period", days not stated
Zero data retention
By agreement, through sales
By approval, pay-as-you-go, stateless endpoints only
By approval, through sales
Not guaranteed: paid prompts are logged for abuse monitoring (docs point to Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, formerly Vertex AI)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Both, listed for the API
Both, stated in the help center
Both, covering the API
Not stated for this API
HIPAA BAA
Standard BAA signed in the Console, if eligible
Not stated
Standard BAA accepted in the API Platform, if eligible
Not stated for this API
Data regions
US-only inference at 1.1x; otherwise global
EU and US endpoints at +10%
10 storage regions by approval; processing in US, EU, UAE
No region choice stated
Official SDKs
Python, TypeScript, C#, Go, Java, PHP, Ruby
Python, TypeScript
Python, TypeScript/JavaScript, Java (beta), Go (beta), C#, Ruby
Python, JavaScript/TypeScript, Go, Java, C#
Console SSO
Through sales
SAML on the Enterprise plan
Custom/Enterprise billing plan
Not stated (Google account sign-in)
Bottom line
From its public pages, the Anthropic API has a complete per-token price list, discounts that combine and strong data terms, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Region choice is US only, zero data retention and SSO go through sales, and a few pages disagree on billing details.
From its public pages, the Mistral AI API has the lowest reference price in this comparison, EU or US endpoints you can pick yourself and spending caps. Training use is an opt-out, rate limits sit behind sign-in, and ZDR and SSO need approval or the Enterprise plan.
From its public pages, the OpenAI API has a complete per-token price list, published batch, flex and caching discounts, and audit reports that cover the API. Stricter data controls, residency and SSO go through sales, and a few docs pages lag behind the price list.
From its public pages, the Gemini API pairs an ongoing free tier on current models with a detailed USD price list and published batch, flex and caching discounts. Certifications, zero data retention and data regions sit with Google Cloud's Agent Platform, and a few billing pages disagree.
Evidence: Anthropic API (Claude): facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mistral AI API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; OpenAI API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Google Gemini API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
per-token prices published for every model; paid online; pricing page says billing follows monthly usage; help center says prepaid credits bought in advance; US-only 1.1x applies to all token types in the docs, to input and output on claude.com; code execution free hours stated as 1,550 a month in the docs and 50 a day on claude.com
Free tier
3.0 / 10, Fair
one-time free credits (amount not stated)
Price for 100M input + 20M output tokens
7.0 / 10, Good
$20/mo on claude-haiku-5-5: 100M input tokens × $0.10 + 20M output tokens × $0.50 per 1M (prompts up to 100,000 tokens, so the lower Haiku 5.5 rates apply; global routing)
Data use and retention
9.0 / 10, Excellent
not used for training by default; kept 30 days by default; zero data retention by approval; DPA with the terms
Compliance and regions
8.5 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA self-serve, regional processing: US
Written from Anthropic API (Claude)'s public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Anthropic's API pricing page, the models overview and the Claude Haiku 5.5 page, the deprecations, rate limit, data residency, API and data retention, batch, prompt caching, structured outputs and SDK docs, the Commercial Terms and DPA, the privacy center articles on retention and certifications, the help center articles on billing, SSO and Covered Models, and the claude.com API and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up or call the API. The trust center (trust.anthropic.com) is a JavaScript-only page, so the certification list comes from the privacy center.
The price list is complete: every model has base input, cache write, cache hit and output prices per 1M tokens in USD, plus batch prices. Haiku 5.5 is the one model priced by prompt length, with higher rates above 100,000 tokens. The rate limit docs publish per-tier limits and monthly spend caps, and the data docs explain US-only inference, zero data retention and HIPAA readiness in detail.
A few pages need a question. The pricing page says billing follows monthly usage while the help center says usage is paid from prepaid credits; the docs say conversation content is not retained by default while the privacy center says API data is deleted within 30 days; the US-only 1.1x covers all token types in the docs but input and output on claude.com; and free code execution is 1,550 hours a month in the docs and 50 hours a day on claude.com. New users get free credits, but no live page states the amount.
Strengths
A low price on a current model
Claude Haiku 5.5 costs $0.10 / $0.50 per 1M tokens for prompts up to 100,000 tokens, with a 1M-token context and tool use. Our scenario comes to $20 a month (computed), $10 with the Batch API.
vs Google Gemini API: Google Gemini API's scenario model, Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite, comes to $55 for the same tokens; OpenAI API's GPT-6 Luna also comes to $20.
Batch and cache discounts that combine
Batch is 50% off input and output, cache hits are 0.1x the input price on Haiku 5.5 (0.05x on Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5.5, 0.025x on Fable 5.1), and the pricing page says the discounts can be combined.
Compared: DeepSeek API has no batch API; its discounts are cached input and off-peak rates.
No training on API data, in the contract
The Commercial Terms say Anthropic may not train models on customer content, the DPA with standard contractual clauses is incorporated, and the privacy center says API inputs and outputs are deleted within 30 days.
vs Mistral AI API: Mistral AI API's paid use is covered by an opt-out training control, not excluded by default.
A HIPAA BAA you sign yourself
Eligible organizations review and sign the standard BAA in the Claude Console. The privacy center lists SOC 2 Type I and Type II, ISO 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 42001:2023 for the API.
vs Google Gemini API: OpenAI API also has a self-serve standard BAA, but only after an established history of API usage; Google Gemini API states no BAA for its Developer API.
Seven official SDKs and published limits
Official SDKs cover Python, TypeScript, C#, Go, Java, PHP and Ruby, plus a CLI. Rate limits are published per tier and model, structured outputs follow a JSON schema, and you can set your own spend limit.
vs Mistral AI API: Mistral AI API's official SDKs are Python and TypeScript only, and its rate-limit numbers are shown only after login.
Things to know
Free credits of unstated size, then prepaid credits
The pricing page says new users get "a small amount of free credits" but gives no amount. After that, usage is paid from prepaid credits, which expire one year after purchase and are non-refundable.
Workaround: Buy small amounts with auto-reload rather than a large prepayment.
US is the only region option
Requests can be pinned to US-only inference at 1.1x the price on Claude 4.6 and later models; the default is global routing. No EU or other region is stated for the first-party API.
Workaround: The pricing page notes regional endpoints on Amazon Bedrock and Google Cloud, at a 10% premium over their global endpoints.
Zero data retention and Console SSO go through sales
Zero data retention is enabled per organization by the sales team and does not cover the Console or Managed Agents; Fable 5.1 requires 30-day retention. The Console SSO settings appear only after working with sales or completing a merge proposal.
Workaround: For health data, the self-serve HIPAA BAA applies; the docs say a HIPAA-enabled organization does not also need zero data retention.
Monthly spend caps by tier
Spend caps are $500 a month on Start, $1,000 on Build and $200,000 on Scale; at the cap, requests stop until the 1st of next month. New organizations may start in an Evaluation tier whose lower limits are not published.
Workaround: Request a tier increase in the Console before you reach the cap.
Pricing reality
Anthropic bills per million tokens, with input and output priced separately, from prepaid credits bought by card; invoicing is arranged with sales. There is no plan fee. Our scenario on Claude Haiku 5.5 is 100 × $0.10 + 20 × $0.50 = $20 a month at standard rates; the Batch API halves it to $10, and US-only inference makes it $22 (computed). Costs climb with prompts over 100,000 tokens on Haiku 5.5 (5x, $0.50 / $2.50), with larger models (Sonnet 5.5 $2 / $10, Opus 5.5 $4 / $20, Fable 5.1 $10 / $50), fast mode on Opus 5.5 ($8 / $40), 1-hour cache writes at 2x input, and web search at $10 per 1,000 searches. Claude 4.7 and later use a tokenizer that the pricing page says produces about 30% more tokens for the same text, so compare per-token prices with care. Fees exclude taxes, and posted rate changes take effect 30 days after posting, or sooner once you receive notice.
Exit path
Pay-as-you-go has no term: either party may end the Commercial Terms for convenience with notice (30 days from Anthropic). You own your outputs, and under the DPA Anthropic returns a copy of customer data on request and deletes it within 30 days of termination. Usage can be exported to CSV from the Console. Unused prepaid credits are non-refundable. The same models also run on Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud and Microsoft Foundry.
You want API data kept out of training by default, published rate limits and a self-serve HIPAA BAA.
Pick Mistral AI API when
You want a lower scenario price ($12 on Ministral 3 3B), a free mode with no card, and EU or US regional endpoints at +10%.
Choose it if
You want Claude models on a pay-as-you-go account with published per-token prices.
You want batch and caching discounts you can combine, and spend limits you set yourself.
You handle health data and want to sign a HIPAA BAA without a sales call.
Look elsewhere if
You need API processing kept in the EU or another non-US region.
You want a free tier with published limits to prototype on.
Bottom line
From its public pages, the Anthropic API has a complete per-token price list, discounts that combine and strong data terms, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Region choice is US only, zero data retention and SSO go through sales, and a few pages disagree on billing details.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
How you pay
Prepaid credits by card, expire after 1 year; invoicing through sales
Free option
One-time free credits for new users, amount not stated
Reference scenario (100M in + 20M out tokens/mo)
$20 on claude-haiku-5-5, computed
Batch, cache and other discounts
Batch 50% off; cache hits 90% off on Haiku 5.5
Trained on API data
No (Commercial Terms)
Default retention
Deleted within 30 days
Zero data retention
By agreement, through sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Both, listed for the API
HIPAA BAA
Standard BAA signed in the Console, if eligible
Data regions
US-only inference at 1.1x; otherwise global
Official SDKs
Python, TypeScript, C#, Go, Java, PHP, Ruby
Console SSO
Through sales
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Anthropic API (Claude) yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Anthropic API (Claude) yet.
Anthropic API (Claude) lists 6 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Claude Haiku 5.5 (prompts up to 100,000 tokens), costs $0.10/1M input tokens.
ACAnthropic API (Claude)Free
Free credits
$0/mo
One-time credits for new users; amount not stated
"A small amount of free credits to test the API" (pricing page FAQ)
ACAnthropic API (Claude)
Claude Haiku 5.5
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.50 per 1M output tokens for prompts up to 100,000 tokens; $0.50 / $2.50 for longer prompts; cache hits $0.01
1M-token context window, 128K output
Tool use and structured outputs
Batch $0.05 / $0.25
US-only inference at 1.1x
ACAnthropic API (Claude)
Claude Sonnet 5.5
$2/1M input tokens
$10 per 1M output tokens, same price across the 1M context; cache hits $0.10 (0.05x)
Batch $1 / $5
5-minute cache writes $2.50, 1-hour $4
ACAnthropic API (Claude)
Claude Opus 5.5
$4/1M input tokens
$20 per 1M output tokens; cache hits $0.20 (0.05x)
Batch $2 / $10
Fast mode $8 / $40 (research preview)
ACAnthropic API (Claude)
Claude Fable 5.1
$10/1M input tokens
$50 per 1M output tokens; cache hits $0.25 (0.025x); requires 30-day data retention
Batch $5 / $25
Not under zero data retention unless Anthropic authorizes it
ACAnthropic API (Claude)
Enterprise / Custom tier
Contact sales
Custom rate limits, no monthly spend cap, invoicing, volume discounts case by case
Zero data retention by agreement
Console SSO
Custom BAA
Dedicated support
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.
We read the pricing, model, data-usage, trust and docs pages of three LLM APIs on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 100 million input and 20 million output tokens a month cost, how each one treats your data, and who should pick which.