Google's Gemini models by the token in US dollars, with an ongoing free tier to start and batch, flex and caching discounts to scale.
The Gemini API sells Google's text, image, video, speech and embedding models by the token, in US dollars, behind one API key from Google AI Studio. An ongoing free tier covers select current models, including Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite and 3.8 Flash, with no card needed. Paid use starts with a $5 prepay; Batch and Flex (preview) halve token prices, cached input costs 90% less, and paid prompts are not used to improve Google products. Teams that want to prototype for free and then move the same code to paid use get both on one key.
A free tier on current models, with no cardThe pricing page lists free input and output tokens on select models, including Gemini 3.8 Flash, 3.6 Flash, 3.5 Flash-Lite and 3.1 Flash-Lite, with no end date. Free-tier content may be used to improve Google products outside the EEA, Switzerland and the UK.Evidence: Pricing page and API key docs (2026-10-15)
Published ways to halve the token priceGemini 3.1 Flash-Lite costs $0.25 per 1M input and $1.50 per 1M output tokens. Batch and Flex are $0.125 / $0.75, and cached input is $0.025 per 1M, plus hourly storage for explicit caches.Evidence: Pricing page; Batch API and Flex docs (2026-10-15)
One key for many model typesText, image, video, speech and embedding models share one key and one price list. Grounding with Google Search includes 5,000 free search requests a month on Gemini 3 and newer, then $14 per 1,000.Evidence: Models and pricing pages (2026-10-15)
Works with the OpenAI SDKAn OpenAI-compatible endpoint accepts the OpenAI Python and JavaScript libraries with a changed base URL and a Gemini key, next to Google GenAI SDKs in five languages.Evidence: OpenAI compatibility and libraries docs (2026-10-15)
Best for
Developers who want to try current Gemini models for free, then pay per token with batch, flex and caching discounts on the same key.
Good to know
Zero data retention, data regions, and SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HIPAA coverage sit with Google Cloud's Agent Platform, not this API.
How Google Gemini API compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in LLM APIs: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Google Gemini API compared with Mistral AI API, Anthropic API (Claude), OpenAI API
Easy to adoptGoogle's Gemini models by the token in US dollars, with an ongoing free tier to start and batch, flex and caching discounts to scale.
Worth the priceLow per-token prices on small open-weight models, with EU or US processing you can choose yourself and spending caps per workspace.
Worth the priceClaude models from Haiku 5.5 at $0.10 / $0.50 per 1M tokens up to Fable 5.1, with no training on API data and a BAA you can sign in the console.
Saves engineering timeOne API key for OpenAI's GPT-6 models and hosted tools, priced per token with published batch, flex and caching discounts.
Overall score
5.3
7.4Best
7.2
7.1
Free option
Free plan
Free plan
Free trial
–Not measured
Card to start
No card needed
No card needed
–Not measured
–Not measured
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$0.25/1M input tokens
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.10/1M input tokens
$0.10/1M input tokens
Pricing model
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
How you pay
Prepaid credits ($5 minimum), expire after 12 months
Prepaid pay-as-you-go credits, optional auto recharge
Prepaid credits by card, expire after 1 year; invoicing through sales
Prepaid credits ($5 minimum), expire after 1 year
Free option
Ongoing free tier on select models, no card; limits shown in AI Studio
Free mode, no card; allowance not stated publicly
One-time free credits for new users, amount not stated
No free allowance stated
Reference scenario (100M in + 20M out tokens/mo)
$55 on gemini-3.1-flash-lite, computed
$12 on ministral-3b-2512, computed
$20 on claude-haiku-5-5, computed
$20 on gpt-6-luna, computed
Batch, cache and other discounts
Batch and Flex (preview) 50% off; cached input 90% off
Batch 50% off; cached input 90% off
Batch 50% off; cache hits 90% off on Haiku 5.5
Batch and Flex 50% off; cached input 90% off
Trained on API data
Paid: no. Free tier: may be used to improve Google products
Unless you opt out (Free mode and paid)
No (Commercial Terms)
No, unless you opt in
Default retention
Abuse logs for a "limited period", days not stated
30 rolling days for abuse monitoring
Deleted within 30 days
Abuse logs up to 30 days
Zero data retention
Not guaranteed: paid prompts are logged for abuse monitoring (docs point to Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, formerly Vertex AI)
By approval, pay-as-you-go, stateless endpoints only
By agreement, through sales
By approval, through sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Not stated for this API
Both, stated in the help center
Both, listed for the API
Both, covering the API
HIPAA BAA
Not stated for this API
Not stated
Standard BAA signed in the Console, if eligible
Standard BAA accepted in the API Platform, if eligible
Data regions
No region choice stated
EU and US endpoints at +10%
US-only inference at 1.1x; otherwise global
10 storage regions by approval; processing in US, EU, UAE
Official SDKs
Python, JavaScript/TypeScript, Go, Java, C#
Python, TypeScript
Python, TypeScript, C#, Go, Java, PHP, Ruby
Python, TypeScript/JavaScript, Java (beta), Go (beta), C#, Ruby
Console SSO
Not stated (Google account sign-in)
SAML on the Enterprise plan
Through sales
Custom/Enterprise billing plan
Bottom line
From its public pages, the Gemini API pairs an ongoing free tier on current models with a detailed USD price list and published batch, flex and caching discounts. Certifications, zero data retention and data regions sit with Google Cloud's Agent Platform, and a few billing pages disagree.
From its public pages, the Mistral AI API has the lowest reference price in this comparison, EU or US endpoints you can pick yourself and spending caps. Training use is an opt-out, rate limits sit behind sign-in, and ZDR and SSO need approval or the Enterprise plan.
From its public pages, the Anthropic API has a complete per-token price list, discounts that combine and strong data terms, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Region choice is US only, zero data retention and SSO go through sales, and a few pages disagree on billing details.
From its public pages, the OpenAI API has a complete per-token price list, published batch, flex and caching discounts, and audit reports that cover the API. Stricter data controls, residency and SSO go through sales, and a few docs pages lag behind the price list.
Evidence: Google Gemini API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mistral AI API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Anthropic API (Claude): facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; OpenAI API: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
per-token prices published for every model; paid online; gemini-embedding-001 is on the models page without a price; Gemini Embedding 2 is "gemini-embedding-2" on the pricing page and "gemini-embedding-2-preview" on the models page; billing page says unused prepaid credits are refunded when switching to Postpay; its FAQ says that switch is not supported
Free tier
6.0 / 10, Good
free tier that does not expire; limits not published; free-tier prompts may be used to improve models
Price for 100M input + 20M output tokens
4.8 / 10, Fair
$55/mo on gemini-3.1-flash-lite: 100M input tokens at $0.25 and 20M output tokens at $1.50 per 1M on the Standard paid tier ($25 + $30); Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite ($0.10 / $0.40) is left out because the models page limits 2.5 models to users who have used them before; assumes text input (audio input on this model is $0.50 per 1M tokens)
Data use and retention
5.0 / 10, Fair
not used for training by default; retention period not stated; no zero data retention stated; DPA with the terms
Compliance and regions
0.0 / 10, Fair
no SOC 2 stated, no regional processing option stated
Cost controls and developer tools
8.8 / 10, Excellent
batch 50% off, cached input 90% off, Flex tier at 50% off (preview, best-effort), some rate limits published, SDKs: Python, JavaScript/TypeScript, Go, Java, C#, structured output, compatible endpoint, spend limits
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Google Gemini API's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read the Gemini API pricing page, the models page and model pages, the deprecations page and release notes, the billing, rate limit, logs, zero data retention, Batch API, caching and Flex docs, the SDK and OpenAI compatibility docs and the Gemini API Additional Terms on Oct 15, 2026, plus Google Cloud's compliance scope pages and Google's processor DPA; we did not sign up, create a key or call the API. The docs say AI Studio creates a project and key for a new user and new accounts begin on the Free Tier; a payment method and a $5 prepay are asked for only when you set up billing for the Paid Tier.
The pricing page is detailed: every model has Free and Paid columns, Standard, Batch, Flex and Priority rows, and a line saying whether content is used to improve Google products. Picking the scenario model takes care. The 2.5 models carry the lowest prices but are now limited to users who used them before, so a new project starts on 3.1 or 3.5 Flash-Lite. Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is listed as stable, with a May 7, 2027 earliest shutdown date on the deprecations page.
A few points need a question. The billing page promises a refund of prepaid credits when switching to Postpay, while its FAQ says that switch is not supported. The troubleshooting guide calls the 2.5 models deprecated, while the models page says they are not. Paid prompts are logged for abuse detection "for a limited period of time", with no number of days, and free-tier and paid rate limits are shown only inside AI Studio.
Strengths
An ongoing free tier on current models
The pricing page lists free input and output tokens on select current models, including the scenario model, with no end date and no card. Google AI Studio is free as well.
vs Mistral AI API: Mistral AI API also has a free mode with no card, but its pages do not say which models it includes; OpenAI API states no free allowance.
Three published ways to pay less
Batch is 50% off, Flex (preview, best-effort) is 50% off, and cached input on Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite costs 90% less than standard input.
vs Anthropic API (Claude): Anthropic API (Claude) has the same batch and cache discounts but no published flex-style lower rate.
Spend guardrails you set yourself
Usage is drawn from a prepaid balance, auto-reload is optional and takes a monthly auto-charge limit, and projects can have spend caps (marked experimental).
Compared: DeepSeek API states no spend limit; spending is bounded only by the prepaid balance.
Five official SDKs and an OpenAI-compatible endpoint
The Google GenAI SDK is GA for Python, JavaScript/TypeScript, Go, Java and C#, structured outputs follow a JSON Schema, and the OpenAI libraries work with a changed base URL.
vs Mistral AI API: Mistral AI API's official SDKs are Python and TypeScript only.
Data use stated on every model
Each pricing table says whether content is used to improve Google products. On the Paid Tier it is not, and prompts fall under Google's processor DPA with the terms.
Things to know
Certifications and stricter controls sit on another product
Google Cloud's SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA lists name Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, not this API. The ZDR page points to Vertex AI for guaranteed zero data retention, and the terms say data may be cached in any country with Google facilities.
Workaround: The pages point to Gemini on Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI), a separate Google Cloud offer with its own prices.
Free and paid data terms differ
Free-tier content may be used to improve Google products and read by human reviewers, outside the EEA, Switzerland and the UK. Paid prompts are logged for abuse detection for a period the terms do not state; Search grounding keeps prompts 30 days.
Workaround: Link a billing account to move a project to the Paid Tier before sending data that should not be used.
The lowest listed prices are closed to new projects
Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite ($0.10 / $0.40) is limited to users who used 2.5 models before, so a new project starts on 3.1 Flash-Lite, where our scenario is $55 a month (computed). Its earliest shutdown date is May 7, 2027.
Workaround: Batch or Flex halves the scenario to $27.50 (computed) for work that can wait.
Prepaid credits, tier caps and unclear refund rules
Credits expire after 12 months and are non-refundable; at a $0 balance every key on the billing account stops with HTTP 402. Tier 1 is capped at $250 a month, and the refund-on-Postpay rule is contradicted by the FAQ.
Workaround: Set up auto-reload with a monthly limit; Tier 2 (a $2,000 cap) opens after $100 paid and 3 days.
Pricing reality
The Gemini API bills per 1M input and output tokens in USD, per model and tier (Standard, Batch, Flex, Priority); thinking tokens count as output. The free tier gives free tokens on select models at limits shown in AI Studio. The Paid Tier needs a Cloud Billing account and a prepay of at least $5 (the most you can prepay is $5,000), and credits expire after 12 months. Our scenario on Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is 100 × $0.25 + 20 × $1.50 = $55 a month at Standard rates, or $27.50 on Batch or Flex (computed). Costs climb with Gemini 4 Argon ($2 / $10, rising to $4 / $20 on Dec 1, 2026), the 3.8 and 3.6 Flash increase on Jan 1, 2027, Priority at 75-100% more, hourly storage for explicit caches, and Search grounding at $14 per 1,000 requests after 5,000 free a month. Linking a billing account puts you in Tier 1, with a $250 monthly cap. Taxes fall under the Google Cloud Terms.
Exit path
The Interactions API stores conversation state by default unless store is set to false. File API uploads stay until you delete them or they expire, explicit caches until their TTL, and opt-in logs for a window you set (7, 14, 28 or 55 days); logs saved in datasets have no set retention. Code on the OpenAI-compatible endpoint moves by changing the base URL and key; Google GenAI SDK code needs porting. Prepaid credits are forfeited if you close the billing account.
You want paid prompts kept out of training by default, the free models named on the pricing page, and SDKs in five languages.
Pick Mistral AI API when
You want EU or US regional endpoints (+10%), stated SOC 2 and ISO 27001, and a $12 scenario on Ministral 3 3B.
Choose it if
You want to try current Gemini models on a free tier with no card.
You want text, image, video, speech and embedding models behind one key and one price list.
You can send work that can wait through Batch or Flex at half the token price.
Look elsewhere if
Your review needs SOC 2, ISO 27001 or a HIPAA BAA that names the API itself.
You need zero data retention or a choice of data region on a self-serve account.
Bottom line
From its public pages, the Gemini API pairs an ongoing free tier on current models with a detailed USD price list and published batch, flex and caching discounts. Certifications, zero data retention and data regions sit with Google Cloud's Agent Platform, and a few billing pages disagree.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
How you pay
Prepaid credits ($5 minimum), expire after 12 months
Free option
Ongoing free tier on select models, no card; limits shown in AI Studio
Reference scenario (100M in + 20M out tokens/mo)
$55 on gemini-3.1-flash-lite, computed
Batch, cache and other discounts
Batch and Flex (preview) 50% off; cached input 90% off
Trained on API data
Paid: no. Free tier: may be used to improve Google products
Default retention
Abuse logs for a "limited period", days not stated
Zero data retention
Not guaranteed: paid prompts are logged for abuse monitoring (docs point to Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, formerly Vertex AI)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
Not stated for this API
HIPAA BAA
Not stated for this API
Data regions
No region choice stated
Official SDKs
Python, JavaScript/TypeScript, Go, Java, C#
Console SSO
Not stated (Google account sign-in)
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Google Gemini API yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Google Gemini API yet.
Google Gemini API lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite, costs $0.25/1M input tokens.
GAGoogle Gemini APIFree
Free tier
$0/mo
Free input and output tokens on select models, at rate limits shown in AI Studio
Gemini 3.8 Flash, 3.6 Flash, 3.5 Flash-Lite and 3.1 Flash-Lite, embeddings, TTS and more
Gemini 4 Argon, 3.1 Pro Preview, image and video models not included
Content may be used to improve Google products (outside the EEA, Switzerland and the UK)
No card needed; Google AI Studio is free
GAGoogle Gemini API
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
$0.25/1M input tokens
$1.50 per 1M output tokens; audio input $0.50; cached input $0.025 plus $1.00 per 1M tokens per hour of storage
1,048,576 input and 65,536 output tokens
Batch and Flex $0.125 / $0.75
Priority $0.45 / $2.70 (preview)
Function calling and structured outputs
GAGoogle Gemini API
Gemini 3.8 Flash
$0.75/1M input tokens
$3.75 per 1M output tokens through Dec 31, 2026; $1.50 / $7.50 from Jan 1, 2027; cached input $0.075 plus $0.50 per 1M tokens per hour
Also on the Free tier
Gemini 3.6 Flash has the same prices and the same Jan 1, 2027 change
GAGoogle Gemini API
Gemini 4 Argon
$2.00/1M input tokens
$10.00 per 1M output tokens through Nov 30, 2026; $4.00 / $20.00 from Dec 1, 2026
Paid Tier only
Explicit caching not supported
GAGoogle Gemini API
Enterprise (Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform)
Contact sales
A separate Google Cloud offer with its own pricing page
Dedicated support channels
Advanced security and compliance
Provisioned throughput
Volume-based discounts
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.
We read the pricing, model, data-usage, trust and docs pages of three LLM APIs on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 100 million input and 20 million output tokens a month cost, how each one treats your data, and who should pick which.