HCP Vault Dedicated review

by HashiCorp, an IBM companySecrets management

Managed single-tenant Vault clusters with dynamic secrets and rotation on every tier, billed per cluster-hour plus $72.92 per client a month.

Facts checked
  • Free trial
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Saves engineering time (main value)

Vault run for you by HashiCorp: dynamic credentials, rotation and fine-grained policies on a single-tenant cluster you do not operate.

HCP Vault Dedicated is a managed, single-tenant Vault cluster with most Vault Enterprise features. Every tier includes dynamic secrets, auto-rotating secrets, versioned key/value storage and path-based policies, and Essentials adds audit logs with streaming, high availability and snapshots. You pay per cluster-hour plus a monthly fee per client, so the cost follows how many people, apps and pipelines authenticate rather than how many secrets you keep.

  • Dynamic secrets on every tierThe tier comparison marks dynamic secrets and auto-rotating secrets on Development, Essentials and Standard; database plugins include PostgreSQL, MySQL, MSSQL, Oracle, MongoDB Atlas and Snowflake.Evidence: Vault pricing tab, Internet Archive copy of 2026-06-06; integrations docs (2026-10-16)
  • Vault policies and namespacesPath-based ACL policies are deny by default, tokens can be bound to CIDR blocks, and namespaces are available on all tiers.Evidence: Policies and token docs; tiers and features (2026-10-16)
  • Audit streaming on EssentialsEssentials streams audit logs to CloudWatch, Datadog, Elasticsearch, Grafana Cloud, New Relic, Splunk or HTTP, and keeps 30 days for download.Evidence: Logs and metrics and integrations docs (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams that already use Vault or need dynamic database and cloud credentials, and want HashiCorp to run the cluster.
Good to know
Cost starts at a cluster-hour fee plus $72.92 per client a month, and the managed service has no HIPAA BAA, customer-managed keys or FIPS mode.

How HCP Vault Dedicated compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Secrets management: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

HCP Vault Dedicated compared with Google Secret Manager, Doppler, AWS Secrets Manager
MetricHCP Vault DedicatedGoogle Secret ManagerDopplerAWS Secrets Manager
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeVault run for you by HashiCorp: dynamic credentials, rotation and fine-grained policies on a single-tenant cluster you do not operate.Worth the priceA pay-per-use secret store inside Google Cloud with a permanent free tier, IAM per secret and Google Cloud’s compliance coverage.Saves engineering timeOne place to store, sync and rotate app secrets across environments, billed per engineer with machine identities free.Compliance includedSecrets stored and rotated inside your AWS account, under AWS’s compliance programs, IAM controls and CloudTrail audit trail.
Overall score5.28.5Best7.37.0
Free optionFree trialFree planFree planFree trial
Card to startNo card needed–Not measuredNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$0.62/cluster-hour$0.06/secret version/mo$21/user/mo$0.40/secret/mo
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-basedPer seatUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer cluster-hour by tier and size, plus per client per monthPer active secret version per location and per 10,000 access operationsPer human user per month; no secret, API or usage feesPer secret per month and per 10,000 API calls
Free optionNo free tier; $500 of trial credit for 6 months, no cardPermanent free tier: 6 versions, 10,000 accesses, 3 rotation notifications a monthDeveloper: 3 users free, $8 per additional user up to 25; 14-day Team trial, no cardNo free tier of its own; up to $200 of AWS Free Tier credit for new accounts
Machine identitiesBilled as clients, like people, at $72.92 a monthService accounts and IAM principals, not billedFree; service accounts from TeamIAM roles and users, not billed
Audit log retention30 days for download from Essentials; none on DevelopmentSecret reads: 30 days once Data Access logs are on; admin activity 400 days3 days on Developer, 90 days on Team, custom on EnterpriseCloudTrail event history, 90 days; trails to S3 for longer
Dynamic secretsEvery tierNot offeredEnterprise (AWS IAM, Azure Service Principal)Not offered
Database rotationEvery tier (database static roles)Managed Cloud SQL rotation in Preview (regional secrets); Pub/Sub notifications otherwiseTeam for GCP Cloud SQL via API; proxied AWS databases on EnterpriseManaged rotation for RDS, Aurora, DocumentDB and Redshift
KubernetesVault Secrets Operator and CSI providerSecret Manager add-on for GKE (CSI driver), sync to Kubernetes SecretsDoppler Kubernetes Operator and External Secrets provider, all plansSecrets Store CSI provider (ASCP), EKS add-on
SAML SSO / SCIMHCP SAML or OIDC SSO and SCIM, no plan gate statedThrough Cloud Identity Free; Entra ID provisioning guideSAML on Team; SCIM on EnterpriseIAM Identity Center, no extra charge
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Restricted-use SOC 2 report, type not stated; ISO 27001 and 27017SOC 1, 2, 3; ISO 27001, 27017, 27018SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001SOC 1, 2, 3; ISO 27001, 27017, 27018
HIPAA BAANot supportedCovered by the Google Cloud BAA, every accountNot describedHIPAA-eligible under a BAA with AWS
EU data storageEU regions on AWS and Azure; snapshots in the USRegional secrets or user-managed replication in EU locationsNo EU region; GCP us-central1Any EU region you choose
Self-hostingVault Community (BSL 1.1); Vault Enterprise through salesNot offeredDoppler On-prem, Enterprise onlyNot offered
Secret exportPer path via CLI or API; no bulk exportOne version at a timeCLI and API download as JSON, .env or YAMLOne secret, or up to 20 per batch call
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, HCP Vault Dedicated puts the most secret-lifecycle features on its entry production tier, with SSO, SCIM and audit streaming self-serve. At $2,245.73 a month it costs the most for our scenario, and it offers no HIPAA BAA or customer-managed keys.From its public pages, Google Secret Manager is the lowest-cost option here, at $14.61 a month for our scenario, with a permanent free tier and Google Cloud’s compliance coverage. Rotation is mostly yours to build, and there are no dynamic secrets or push syncs.From its public pages, Doppler is a simple seat-priced secrets platform: machine identities are free, and Team at $21 a user adds SSO, rotation and 90-day logs. Dynamic secrets, SCIM, SIEM forwarding and customer-managed keys need Enterprise, and the cloud runs in the US only.From its public pages, AWS Secrets Manager is a low-cost, widely certified secrets store for AWS workloads, at $85 a month for our scenario with native database rotation. It has no free tier of its own, no dynamic secrets and no push syncs beyond AWS.

Evidence: HCP Vault Dedicated: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Google Secret Manager: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Doppler: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; AWS Secrets Manager: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
5.0 / 10, Fair
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month or pay-as-you-go price published; usage past the limits priced; the client fee is monthly on the pricing page and IBM list, but a flat-rate hourly cost per client in the tiers docs; Standard Small is $1.85 an hour on the HashiCorp page and $1.84299 on IBM’s list; Vault Radar is sold pay-as-you-go on the pricing page but available only on Flex Multiyear in the pricing definitions; the pricing definitions name a Starter edition that no pricing page lists; event notifications are marked No on every tier in the pricing table and available on Essentials and Standard in the docs
Free tier and trial
4.0 / 10, Fair
no permanent free tier; 6-month credit trial, no card needed; $500 of HCP trial credit for any tier, one Vault cluster while in trial; free self-hosted: Vault Community under BSL 1.1, production use allowed outside competing hosted offerings
Price for the reference scenario
0.5 / 10, Fair
$2,245.73/mo on Essentials Small, pay as you go, billed monthly: 730 cluster-hours × $1.57799 + 15 clients (10 engineers, 5 machine identities) × $72.92; IBM list prices; Development is left out because it has no audit logging; Essentials keeps 30 days of audit logs for download; secrets sync (Standard) would add a client per synced secret and is not in the scenario
Secret lifecycle and delivery
10.0 / 10, Excellent
database rotation on the scenario plan; dynamic secrets on the scenario plan; versioning with rollback on the scenario plan; CI/CD and hosting syncs on the scenario plan; Kubernetes delivery on the scenario plan; push secrets sync on Standard, the GitHub Action on every tier
Compliance and trust
3.5 / 10, Fair
no SOC 2 Type II stated (restricted-use SOC 2 report; type and product scope not stated); ISO 27001; HIPAA BAA not listed; EU data storage on the scenario plan (cluster data stored in the chosen AWS or Azure EU region; snapshots stored in US S3 buckets); FIPS crypto or customer-managed keys not listed (no external KMS keys, HSM auto-unseal or FIPS mode on Dedicated)
Access control and exit
8.3 / 10, Excellent
SAML SSO on the scenario plan; SCIM on the scenario plan; 30-day audit log on the scenario plan; SIEM streaming on the scenario plan; per-environment or custom roles on the scenario plan; no bulk export (per path through the CLI or API as JSON or YAML; example scripts only); self-hosted: Vault Community (BSL 1.1) or self-managed Vault Enterprise

Review

Review from public pages

Written from HCP Vault Dedicated's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read HashiCorp's Vault pricing tab, IBM's HashiCorp price list, the docs on tiers and features, pricing definitions, client counting, billing, Flex Multiyear, limits, logs, integrations, secrets sync, Kubernetes, policies, security, deletion and migration, HCP SSO, SCIM and MFA, the trust and compliance pages and IBM's PAYG supplement and general terms on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, use trial credit or create a cluster. www.hashicorp.com answered our requests with a bot check, so the Vault pricing tab was read from its Internet Archive copy of June 6, 2026; IBM's US list was read live.

Pricing is by usage, not seats: a cluster-hour fee by tier and size, plus $72.92 a month for each client on Essentials and Standard. A client is anything that authenticates, from people to apps and CI pipelines, counted once a month per cluster. Development is $0.62 an hour with up to 25 clients and no client fee, but has no audit logging. New organizations get $500 of trial credit for 6 months.

Some points need a question to HashiCorp. The tiers doc calls the client fee a flat-rate hourly cost, while the pricing page and IBM's list show it monthly. Standard Small is $1.85 an hour on HashiCorp's page and $1.84299 on IBM's list. Vault Radar is sold pay-as-you-go on the pricing page but listed as Flex Multiyear only in the pricing definitions, which also name a Starter edition no pricing page shows. The compliance page offers a restricted-use SOC 2 report without stating its type.

Strengths

  • Dynamic secrets from the first tier

    Dynamic and auto-rotating secrets are on every tier, with database plugins for PostgreSQL, MySQL, MSSQL, Oracle, MongoDB Atlas, Snowflake and Redshift, and AWS, Azure and GCP secrets engines.

    vs Infisical: Doppler keeps dynamic secrets on Enterprise; Infisical starts them on Advanced.

  • SSO, SCIM and audit streaming without sales

    HCP organizations can set up SAML or OIDC SSO and SCIM with no plan gate stated, and Essentials streams audit logs to Splunk, Datadog and other targets.

    vs Infisical: Doppler and Infisical keep SCIM and SIEM streaming on Enterprise.

  • Vault policies and namespaces

    Path-based policies are deny by default and can bind tokens to CIDR blocks; namespaces are available on all tiers.

  • A self-managed path

    Vault Community is free for production use under the BSL 1.1 license, except in competing hosted offerings, and Vault Enterprise can be self-managed through sales.

Things to know

  • Cluster and client fees add up

    Essentials Small is about $1,152 a month for 730 hours before clients, and each client adds $72.92 a month; a client that uses several clusters is counted on each.

    Workaround: Development is $0.62 an hour for up to 25 clients, though the pricing page positions it for exploring features in a limited environment.

  • Secrets sync on Standard, billed per secret

    Push syncs to GitHub, Vercel and AWS, Azure and GCP stores are on Standard only, and each synced secret counts as a billable client.

    Workaround: The Vault GitHub Action and Kubernetes integrations read secrets on every tier.

  • No HIPAA BAA or customer-managed keys

    The security overview says HIPAA BAAs and external AWS KMS or Azure Key Vault keys are not supported; FIPS 140 and HSM auto-unseal are only in self-managed Vault Enterprise.

  • Export is per path

    The CLI reads secrets path by path as tables, JSON or YAML; there is no bulk export command or migration tool, only example scripts.

Pricing reality

HCP Vault Dedicated bills cluster-hours by tier and size plus a monthly fee per client, pay as you go with no commitment; contract pricing is through sales. For our scenario, an Essentials Small cluster for 730 hours costs 730 × $1.57799 = $1,151.93, and 15 clients (10 engineers and 5 machine identities) cost 15 × $72.92 = $1,093.80, $2,245.73 a month in all (computed from IBM’s list). Development is left out because it has no audit logging. Secrets sync needs Standard and adds a client for every synced secret. Client counts reset monthly and cannot be reduced mid-month. Support is included: Silver on Essentials, Gold on Standard. IBM calls its prices indicative, before taxes.

Exit path

Secrets come out per path through the CLI or API as JSON or YAML; HashiCorp offers example scripts rather than a migration tool. A deleted cluster can be restored for up to 30 days. Audit logs can be downloaded for 30 days or streamed. Vault Community can be self-hosted with the same API and policies.

Compared with

Choose it if

  • You already run Vault tooling and want HashiCorp to operate the cluster.
  • You need dynamic database and cloud credentials on the entry production tier.
  • You want SSO, SCIM and audit streaming without a sales contract.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want to pay per secret or per engineer rather than per cluster-hour and client.
  • You need a HIPAA BAA or customer-managed keys on a managed service.
  • You want to export all secrets in one command.

Bottom line

From its public pages, HCP Vault Dedicated puts the most secret-lifecycle features on its entry production tier, with SSO, SCIM and audit streaming self-serve. At $2,245.73 a month it costs the most for our scenario, and it offers no HIPAA BAA or customer-managed keys.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer cluster-hour by tier and size, plus per client per month
Free optionNo free tier; $500 of trial credit for 6 months, no card
Machine identitiesBilled as clients, like people, at $72.92 a month
Audit log retention30 days for download from Essentials; none on Development
Dynamic secretsEvery tier
Database rotationEvery tier (database static roles)
KubernetesVault Secrets Operator and CSI provider
SAML SSO / SCIMHCP SAML or OIDC SSO and SCIM, no plan gate stated
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Restricted-use SOC 2 report, type not stated; ISO 27001 and 27017
HIPAA BAANot supported
EU data storageEU regions on AWS and Azure; snapshots in the US
Self-hostingVault Community (BSL 1.1); Vault Enterprise through sales
Secret exportPer path via CLI or API; no bulk export

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

HCP Vault Dedicated lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Development (Extra Small, up to 25 clients), costs $0.62/cluster-hour.

  • HCP Vault DedicatedTrial
    Trial credit
    $0/mo
    $500 of HCP trial credit, expires after 6 months; no card to start
    • Any tier, one Vault Dedicated cluster while in trial
    • Services end if credit runs out with no payment method
  • HCP Vault Dedicated
    Development
    $0.62/cluster-hour
    Extra Small, single node; $0.61644 on IBM’s list; up to 25 clients, no per-client fee
    • Dynamic and auto-rotating secrets
    • No audit logging or secrets sync
    • For exploring features in a limited environment
  • HCP Vault Dedicated
    Essentials
    $1.58/cluster-hour
    Small $1.57799 on IBM’s list (Medium $3.16299, Large $7.48857), plus $72.92 per client a month
    • Audit logs: 30 days for download, plus streaming
    • High availability and automated snapshots
    • Silver support included
  • HCP Vault Dedicated
    Standard
    $1.85/cluster-hour
    Small $1.84299 on IBM’s list (Medium $3.69099, Large $9.40599), plus $72.92 per client a month
    • Secrets sync and secrets import
    • Performance replication
    • Sentinel and control groups
    • Gold support included
  • HCP Vault Dedicated
    Flex Multiyear
    Custom
    Contract with a minimum spend commitment, through sales
    • Preferred pricing on committed spend
    • Up to three years to use the commitment

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: hashicorp.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site